If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef price tracker 2

1271272273274275277»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭DBK1

Have done it both ways and I also have another friend down Cork direction with a keen eye for stock and if he’s going that way he’d buy for me. He has bought for 5 or 6 neighbours of mine around here too over the years when they saw what I was getting from there.

Just as a disclaimer, I haven’t bought anything out of it this autumn as I changed system a bit last spring and reared a lot more dairy calves (thank god for that with the way things went since!) and I’m also locked up at the minute. Reading the test tomorrow and if that ones clear I’m back in the clear again so I will be looking to buy more then. But this is the first time in about 12 years that I wouldn’t have weanlings up the road from there at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

Do you plan on going rearing more Calfs this spring or did you just change your system for one year? Are you happy with the calf rearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭leoch

ive heard of lads from donegal travel down to it as they would be at marts in tuam or gort or ennis anyway so not that far if your most of way down anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,129 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

He is waffling as he cannot just like you understand there is a reason why. Why do you not go down to Dingle, Milton or Kenmare to buy weanlings. Kenmare and Miltown often have as good stock as Gortalea.

Traditionally stock in Kerry and West Cork were shared out amongst a couple dozen dealers who hauled them around the country and made a hundred plus euro a head profit on them. Listowel and Abbeyfeale were controlled by a group of brothers. Castleisland must hate LSL it will not leave mart recordings up. At present Kenmare ( I used to buy cattle out of it one time) put no details (age, breed, owners) up before or after a sale. You might as well be at the mart as buying on MartBids or Marteye.

So what did Mauty do he gaurantees a minimum price to sellers and after that the market decides. It's immaterial if you are the first lot or the last lot he will push your cattle to the minimum price if he gauranteed it.

If cattle were the same price in the midlands as in Gortalea would you travel down. It very easy in Mayo or Offaly to think Kerry lads are soft sellers. You have the smaller and midsized Northern Buyers traveling that far. Even Ennis with the Motorway from Tuam is within striking distance of Northern Buyers.

Tralee is another two hours. For a lad selling cattle Mauty will call and look at them gaurantee a price, arrange transport if there is smaller numbers. However a good few lads drop them in themselves and a lot of weanling do not arrive at the mart until 6pm or later.

On the buyer side I say he would arrange transport up the country for you if you only ended up with one or two

Am I saying he a saint no, he is a rogue and would cod you if he could. Previous to Gortalea and LSL you got rode trying to buy cattle in any Mart in Kerry. I buy from 4 Kerry marts mainly. I will seldom get a value CH heifer or bullock off Mauty a LM or Sim heifer if they have horns maybe or are very light for age.. I buy a few friesians heifers and bullocks. Most coloured cattle I buy I get out of the other 3 marts

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

i cant make heads nor tails of that first paragraph

its an out and out buyers mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Sami23

But if that's the case why don't lads sell elsewhere ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭grass10

You should spend a bit of time at that mart trying to buy cattle and you will definitely have a different opinion when you are up against the largest traders and feedlots buying every week and the mart owner bidding against you, plenty cattle are going in shortly before selling and are weighing plenty heavy and are making great prices. going back maybe 8 years ago cattle used to be in the mart early and weigh light but that day is long gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭DBK1

I don’t really understand what you’re saying about cannot in your first sentence, have you a few words left out or something?

I buy from there and not the rest of the Kerry marts because it’s the best value place to buy them. You might pay the same price per kg as you will in the other marts but the cattle are so empty from standing around all day that they weigh very poor in it. I thought I made that pretty clear in the first post I wrote.

The rest of your post is probably the dictionary definition of waffling as it’s all irrelevant to the discussion about Gortatlea, which is ironic considering that’s what you’re accusing other posters of doing.

All of that waffle is nothing unique to Kerry marts, every mart in the country has a dozen or so buyers that are buying the majority of stock in them and hauling them around the country, be it to sell on or to factory, and hoping to make a hundred a head on them and for as long as there are cattle being sold in marts that won’t change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,129 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The word missing is understand corrected it.

There Is no other Kerry marts that 8-10 buyers could bring 10-15 quality weanling out of every mart day

Slava Ukrainii

10 kgs would be a huge difference in similar weight and quality of weanling in different marts unless there was a dodgy scales. At present Gortalea is very strong for weanlings and has some of the best selection in the country. Even bucket fed calves very strongly priced there this year, hence we have bought little enough out of it this year

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭50HX

Over the past 3-4 weeks Gortatlea has paid higher prices.

Take the 300-400 weanling bull category.

That mart for the same period is 0.50 -0.60 c/kg higher on AAx, its up to 0.8c/kg higher on LmX.

Thats compared to Tralee & listowel marts which would be the closest to them ( can't see castleisland prices).

I was there Wed night & outside of the shapey 50-60lots of contenintal WH & WB the rest were bucket fed AAx/Hex runners & weanlings. They were melted with sweat & couldn't be touched price wise in general.

Its a grand mart to buy if you are willing to wear it out til the small hours.

With the last month castleisland has been a far better mart re getting value as a buyer.