Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭dilinja1

Excellent performance, full of grit and certainly not short of class. The backs really got on top of the kilkenny forwards who looked very dangerous at times. Our shooting was top class, especially during the periods when killenny were having a spell. Also as someone mentioned on here earlier was great to see a spread of scorers throughout. Overall An excellent game. Hon the Deise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Kilkenny man here. Well done on an excellent win. That is a fine Waterford team and I hope ye go on and win the final. Liked yere style of hurling. One thing I noticed is Paul Flynn on the line. He was also on the line when Waterford won the under 21 All Ireland about a decade ago and with yere camogie team when ye got to the final a few years ago. Why at senior level do ye always go for park the bus, play only a few forwards personnel and not have someone like him involved who is obviously very good as a selector/coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭decies

any idea how to see replay of game ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,653 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭decies

cheers jusT found it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dammo

A really good game. Fair play to KK, some good hurlers there. Delighted to get the win. Nerve wracking at times but great to see us take the pressure and come back. Some fine hurlers on that Waterford team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

still buzzing after that… as good a performance as I’ve seen from a Waterford minor team since that 2013 AI final, I’d argue this is a better side, maybe not as flamboyant but more structured and disciplined. I’ve never seen us physically dominate an opposition so much which is no mean feat as that KK team were not short of work rate and aggression. All our players from no 5 to 12 are strong in the air and this is paramount for any team to be competitive in modern hurling. All the talk before the game about Spain and Jack Power but there were so many other lads that were the winning of this game. Spain to be fair is different gravy, hes such a natural predator was held for the majority of the game but just needs a split second opportunity to strike and ended up with 2-6, also it was his run at the kk defence that stemmed the tide when they hit 0-5 without reply at the start of the second half and took a heavy blow in the process. He wasn’t even a starter on last years side, his progression has been incredible. Another poster mentioned Flynn, He’s the nearest thing to Paul Flynn I’ve seen since Flynn was in his heyday. Jack Power didn’t have his best game but he’s definetly one for the future. Interesting little side story his mother his a sister of Noel Hickey of kk legendary stock, whose own son was at midfield for KK aswell today. Hurling is all about pedigree. I know Lynch got motm and deservedly so but Id have given it to O Shea at midfield. He was simply outstanding.
    On to the final, it was like a completely different team to the one that limped out against Cork in the Munster final. I think this team has turned a corner since then and we will Rightly fancy out chances regardless of whether it’s Cork or Clare.

final word to an emotional Joxer on the interview after the match; ‘we needed this one in Waterford, we really needed it’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

The best performance I’ve seen from a Waterford team since the 2016 U21s or the seniors in 2007. Just fantastic to see high fielding, close touch, support play and super shooting.

I can’t believe those lads are 17 and younger. I’ve gone from thinking I’ll never see a successful Waterford team again in my life to looking forward to the next few years when those lads step up.

Whatever happens in the final, thanks lads for giving an auld lad hope again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I agree with your overall point, but would point out Paul wasn’t the main coach for those teams or this. Wayne Power was for the camogie, Tommy Ryan for this team. Paul obviously offers something though, whether that’s in terms of tips and advice or making changes within games I don’t know, but it’s surely not a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Absolutely brilliant win and great to see people coming out in numbers to support the team (even if I thought people could have been more vocal in their support last night).

Fantastic to see a team so good in the air and it was noticeable that everyone's first touch was absolutely spot on. It would be a fantastic lift for the whole county if they could win the final now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭mooz

Kilkenny man here. Congrats to the Waterford players and management on their well deserved victory. Magnificent display of hurling. Big powerful, mobile and some very skilful players. A credit to Waterford. Gearoid O Shea my MoM, thought he was outstanding but again could have picked young Lynch, Power or Spain also. Best wishes, hope you win the final. There'll be a massive Waterford support at it I'm certain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Ian OB

Might have to update this video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Best of luck to waterford in the final. A well balanced team with no obvious weaknesses. Some big strong lads mixed with the lighter nippier type.

Is this a one off or what's the age groups behind like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Pudz2180

well done to the team, joxer and everyone else involved last night. Fantastic display and it would do the heart good. Probably their best display of the year so far. Great in the air, tight marking, worked the ball well with some fine passing and some tremendous scores. Hard to pick a mom as there was some fine performances across the field tho I do have to tip my hat to that full back probably been our strongest line throughout the championship tight tigerish markers who attack the ball is great to see. The next 2 weeks will be nice having an all Ireland to look forward to. Am sure there will be a big crowd travelling. Obviously it will be fantastic to win it but the big thing from this age group is to get lads who will be able to step up to senior and from what I have seen there is definitely 7 or 8 lads with potential

ideally you’d have two or three teams come along in consecutive years. Does anyone know what this years 14s,15s &16s are like? I know de la salle college won I think the dean ryan (think it’s under15) and that is meant to be one of the best teams the school has had. Think today is Clare’s 4th straight minor semi final, that is what we need to be doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭skaface

Clare it is in the Minor final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭deise man

Will it be thurles in 2 weeks?

seriously impressive performance from Clare to beat cork. Hope the Waterford public gets behind this team in 2 weeks time, should be a cracker

DLS won the white cup earlier in the year, which is the u15 version of the Harty, they have an exceptionally good team bit no guarantees that will transmit through to intercounty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

I would have been an advocate for putting minor back to under 18 at intercounty level, as we have seen with the Waterford club championship but having watched these 2 All-Ireland semi-finals, they were an excellent advertisement for under 17 hurling, as well as these games not being delayed by Leaving Cert exams. The Clare manager said it in his interview, these lads are now at a level of S&C which is at the level of under 18 or even older in years gone by but watching this whole championship, the smaller players are still excelling as they are more powerful & faster & their hurling ability still ensures they stand out. The format is also excellent as at minor level, management & players both learn from matches.

2 great semi-finals with an exciting final to look forward to with 2 excellent teams facing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭HelloHello1234

16s aren't great. They will struggle next year at minor level. I suspect there will be a lot of this years u15s on that team and will build for 2 years time again. This years 15s are an exceptional team. the 14s is early days but are down a few due to players signing for Waterford FC being unavailable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spideyman92

Didn't get to see any of it but Clare beating Cork is a surprise. Repeat performance of the encounter in Fraher Field would do nicely in the final 🤞

this years 16s didn’t even compete at Tony Forristal 2 years ago, but in saying that some of the current minor panel are up to the age again next year and with the strong u15s coming though no reason why we can’t compete strongly next year aswell.

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

let the games begin , the reality is both teams can look forward to a very bright future in fairness , i think we have 5 or 6 really live candidates for senior hurling when the time comes

in terms of today i traveled more because i wanted to take a look at this impressive cork team , i did not expect us to win , talking to a few people afterwards we have agreed that has to be one of or best underage performances ever , that might sound like an overstatement but it highlights the gap between the two teams before the game

it will need to be repeated to win the final and then some more because ye were much the better team that night ,i dont know too much of the players on the waterford team but i will be doing a bit of research before sunday week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Mighty stuff last night. Thought the full back line was outstanding. Great to see some of the wonderful interplay. Would echo what someone else said, the high fielding from lads that age was outstanding hard to believe those are lads not even doing the leaving cert. Roll on the final, should have no fear, every chance to win the AI

any fixture announced yet? I think Nolan Park would be an outstanding venue but mightened wash with the Clare crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

No more than The Gaelic Grounds wouldn’t suit us. But this is the GAA. Didn’t we play a “home” fixture against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds when Walsh Park wasn’t available?

Thurles is the obvious venue but don’t rule out PuC either. There is zero chance it will be payed in a Leinster venue and you can’t argue with the logic of that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,653 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No sign of the fixtures in this week's confirmation yet anyway

Nice to see Limerick hurlers getting a trip to Croke Park because of the Dublin footballers

5:15 Saturday week in thurles