Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭Bobby_Bolivia

Was it Noel McGrath got booked (!?!) a little earlier for Lyons's best Swan Lake impression?

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Montys return

19 home wins vs 15 home defeats since 2018.

That's not including Waterfords neutral home games, or Corks 1 or draws (obviously).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

okay , i always assumed it was the other way around ,

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Montys return

Close enough, I guess if you factored in draws and looked at teams failing to win at home its probably more than half.

I agree with your point though, the defeatist attitude about Ennis people have over here I particularly dislike.

there were one or two non events up here but that was under different management , and in fairness to how much some of us dislike fitz my self included , he deserves great praise for this year so far , and lets be honest its not two fingers in the air for one puck out three for another , he has waterford setup to play intense direct hurling and while there might be a few errors he has waterford playing to their strengths this way

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Gardner

Well said, there's a few simpletons in this thread all right.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,982 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Walsh Park has looked great and the pubs have been buzzing around the city before/after big games

Will be next April/May before we see the same crowds at a game again unless a big club game

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭siyo

Positives are only ourselves and Limerick have taken results from our opening two games.

We've run up two big scores in the two games and I feel there's more goals in this Waterford side.

It's absolutely still in our hands, we've two games to get one result.

The switch of Barron to wing forward and Monty to midfield is an inspired one, Jamie is flying and Monty is hurling the best I've seen in a Waterford jersey, I'd say he's gps stats are insane, seems to run and tackle himself to a standstill.

Deburca reminding the whole country of what a talent he is.

We have a decent bench. Curran, Fagan and Shane bennett all came on and got scores.

I do have worries about the puckouts, tipp pushed up, forcing us to go long and at times we struggled winning that ball.

Free taking remains an issue.

Onwards to Ennis and another huge battle!

i taught he was waving at babs , its been years since he seen him ….

• Registered Users Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Davy vs Lohan grudge match next it would give him no greater pleasure than to get one over on Lohan on their home ground in the Munster championship..cant see why not, lose and we're likely out as then Limerick but could they be already qualified? Munster is crazy this year since Waterford came back as a force its impossible to predict who will qualify with Limerick, anything can happen im finding myself looking up tickets for other matches

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭waterfordgirl

Anyone have any idea as to how serious Prunts injury is - would he be in doubt for 2 weeks time against Clare?

• Registered Users Posts: 29 LohansRedHelmet

yeah but there is zero chance Clare are losing both home matches this year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Greengrass53

Is aussie Gleeson hurling with mount sion or has he stopped altogether?

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭Deiselurker

He is to play with the club this year. I saw him sitting near me at game v Cork.

I'm getting to like the league style Munster championship a bit more now that we are winning some games in it and with Walsh Park improved. Good atmosphere around likes of Roanmore centre and the sun helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Was down there for the first time for the Cork game. Great addition to the championship that every county now has a proper home venue. Sure we had traffic issues but the more we go down the more we'll learn about where best to park etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭JD. 60

Free taking consistency (scoring 8/9 out of 10) has been a problem for years. Luckily, Tipp missed enough yesterday.

Waterford must get a result in Ennis, simple as. I wouldn't be relying on an already qualified Limerick to ease off too much in their last game, not with competition for places in their squad. Having said that, could Cork do the unlikely and beat Limerick next weekend. If they win, they will fancy their chances of beating Tipp and sneaking into 3rd place ; lose and their season is over which might allow Tipp to get through (i.e. if Waterford lost their last 2 games).

If Tipp & Waterford both ended up on 5 points, scoring difference will decide who goes though, as the head to head ended all square. Anyway, it's still all to play for but following Waterford can be bad for your nerves.

felt like a defeat coming out of that game 4 pts up and 71 mins in clock Ffs. A couple of observations….was the 4 mins additional time warranted……? Did we get more of the ref’s ‘poor decisions’ than tipp…..(a couple of Neanderthal tipp fans in front of us never let up the hole 🕳️ game about the 16 man team that we had😡)……should dessie be left on the ‘close in frees’ the one he missed was inexcusable at this level and you could argue cost us the game……? There’s a lot of debate about how the second goal could be allowed to stand given the booking/yellow card given for the ‘third man’ tackle….what is the rule here - Again the tipp fans in our vicinity were ‘apoplectic’ ? Should Shane bennett and Patrick Curran start the next day v Clare….? Ennis has not been a kind venue to us in previous visits there so we are well over due a performance there. A lot of the Clare fans have the view that they are the second best team and the ones to topple limerick would be nice to go down there and put one over on them…..a win could also secure qualification and possibly a Munster final appearance…..?

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭DeHorse88

As a Tipp Supporter I don’t think I’ve enjoyed an atmosphere like I did yesterday in a long time. Walsh Park & Waterford was fantastic yesterday of course the weather made it but small venues are the way to go it was electric. I really think we helped Tipp snatch a result got behind the team as much as we could.

Went to Norris’s before game it was ideal and went to Mt Sion after match for a couple hours..great craic up there really enjoyable. Heard Roanmore was hopping too. Presume the city was busy all over last night…these games do wonders for places like Waterford who wouldn’t have had much games in past. Walsh Park will be some venue once they tidy up terraces the pitch is unreal.

Really lookin forward to rest of the games, delighted for Cahill yesterday i think he knew with his celebrations he had to show how much it meant to him small things like might get more support in Semple in 2 weeks time. Big test for the Waterford supporters now they’re nearly back to their best so ye should travel in numbers to Ennis and Limerick better than other years. Lookin forward to next trip to Walsh Park in 2 years. Be great if somehow Tipp & Waterford could both advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭spideyman92

Something that stuck out to me yesterday was the over reliance on the diagonal balls. Tipp seemed to have it well sussed out occupying a lot of the spaces where the balls were being played into in the first half. Nice to see it changed up a bit in the second half but it felt like it could have been adjusted to much sooner. It's one of those atmosphere killers because it feels like an aimless ball to play hoping there's someone there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

is it unfair to say that old habits nearly lost it for us yesterday,’ the weight of the favourites tag, the amount of wides coupled with the inability to close the game

I’d agree with the poster that said the free given to draw the game was questionable but some dodgy refereeing helped keep our noses in front earlier in the game so I guess these things balanced out

one Observation was that Tipp seem to be able to orchestrate scores a lot more than us, and maybe this is credit to Liam Cahill getting the best out of a limited enough Tipp side. Typical Waterford fashion we rely more on opportunistic individual brilliance from guys like Bennett and Hutchinson to snuff out scores

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yeah have to agree with that, towards the end of the first half Lyons (i think) was in acres of space, stopped and played a diagonal ball to kiely who had two defenders on him and Tipp tured it over. Don't like naming players both had great games but the distribution in the first half was a bit off.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Greengrass53

Jeez ye could have badly done with him yesterday down the stretch.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭decies

all to play for

• Registered Users Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

….

https://x.com/IreMusPod/status/1786668327571448016

• Registered Users Posts: 37 cbwfd

So if Cork beat Tipp, Limerick beat Cork and Clare also beat Tipp the 3 points will qualify us. If Tipp manage to win one of those and get to 3 points with us itll go down to scoring difference.

This is me being pessimistic about our chances as I believe we have every chance of getting some result in the next 2 games. We're in a good spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭JD. 60

If Cork lose next weekend, they're hardly going to beat Tipp …. there's nothing in it for them apart from pride. It would be the reverse of 2022 where Cork had to beat a Tipp team already a beaten docket.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,982 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Suppose they might do what we done last year in the last round

Can't see it happening though

Feels like a defeat yesterday now, could see Tipp evolving now

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

I think we’re just going to have to look at the trip to Ennis as a knock out game. We can’t be relying on the other teams to do us favours and those odds aren’t great.
    Why does a trip to Ennis feel like such an impossible task? I think we’re probably haunted by our last two trips there but we’re well able for a tight pitch and as underdogs again, it might even suit us.
    I’m still sick over yesterday but we are where we are and if we get it right on the day we can beat them. They’re a great team but they do have off days like the rest of us.

nothing to fear from ‘low-Han’ and his lads. 50/50 game……think Shane bennett or Patrick Curran should start next day out……? Free taking also needs brushing up on. Is it true that dessies Hurley broke as he took that tap over free early in the second half…hence the miss…? Also anyone hear anything about prunty’s injury. Played 68 mins without him yesterday. He might have made the difference in the closing stages especially for that goal…???