Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭decies

Joke honestly should have kept my money in my pocket !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Initially it had been reported that moving the Kilkenny game to Kilkenny would result in Waterford getting the next two at home. Has this been confirmed anywhere, because I haven't seen it though I may have missed it.

If this exchange isn't happening and it's just a loss of home advantage then we're being done again. And that would concern me when Munster championship venues are yet to be announced. Our record here is not good, from the nonsense of travelling to Limerick to play Clare in 2008, the date of all Ireland semi finals being changed in 2011(I think it was that year) so Dublin could have both minors and seniors on the one day which meant ours couldn't, going to Limerick for "home" games in 2018, losing home advantage in 2019 for a league game for having a training camp 45 mins outside the county while other counties went abroad and went unpunished...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,589 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It's confirmed that the next 2 league games between Waterford and Kilkenny will be held in Walsh Park. 1A and 1B been revamped after this year's league depending on league positions

Screenshot_20230125_141123_Gallery.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I’ll pull you up on the 2011 one, Dublin were their provincial winners in both grades Waterford were not so they got first preference. GAA came out and clarified that rule at the time tbf

agree on everything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Montys return

Dublin didn't win the Leinster Senior in 2011, otherwise the Minors would have been on the same day anyway. Is there actually a rule there? Doubt there is anything in the official guide to be honest with you

I see the date for the house draw has been extended by 2 months. I take it tickets are selling poorly?

I think they won the minor alright didn't they? And a rule was invented (but never published) to facilitate them having both teams play the same day due to that. Saved them all coming in on the dart two separate weeks while obviously it was no issue asking Waterford fans to make the trip twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Grats

Davy Fitz has to be the only manager who feels the need to give a run down on injured players. Don't understand why he can't just show more respect to the players at his disposal, and get on with it like every other manager. You'd hardly hear a word from the Wexford camp since he got out.

The capacity for the Waterford v Dublin Allianz Hurling League game on Feb 5th is 3,600. 

Due to the restricted capacity all patrons will require a ticket including juveniles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

If he was saying **** all you be the first on giving out that nobody knows what's going on. Give over

Thurles confirmed as the venue for Munster Championship games against Limerick and Clare. So we have 3 games there and 1 in Cork. Delighted with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Grats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

do you think these ,amagers just shout into the void ? journalists ask questions and get answers ,should they not answer a question ?

Have we any official link to news about all home championship games in Thurles ? Not seen one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Ye were playing us (Wexford) in a challenge match at Wexford's training centre in Ferns at 7.30 tonight, no idea of teams etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

Hi, have the tickets for Waterford v. Dublin league game for season ticket holders become available? Thanks

According to Wexford lads Waterford came fully loaded and Wexford had almost a second string. Waterford won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

think we’ll surprise a few people this year even ourselves. Davy factor will be huge given we are a wounded animal after last year and we still have a lot of talent in the panel aswell.

it’s last chance saloon for these lads in terms of throwing any more managers under the bus. Davys reputation is solidified already and He won’t stand for lads throwing in the towel.

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on

Best of luck to the Senior Footballers who start off there league campaign today against Leitrim

Some coincidence both out Senior managers are 'Fitzgeralds'

**** or bust in the next 2/3 years in terms of an All Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Footballers hammered in Leitrim, disappointing result but not surprising.

Anyone know more about that challenge match v Wexford the other night? Team, score, scorers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Venom69

Really demoralising defeat for footballers.

Should not be beaten by 16 points in division 4 by leitrim.was hoping ephie Fitzgerald and Peter leahy would improve the team this season.

Pity the result turned out the way it did esp with us leading at HT. We have a few big challenges in the division with trips away to Sligo and Laois too come. We play Carlow, Wexford, Wicklow and London at home

At the end of the day we're the only Munster team in Division 4. Sadly the talent is just not at the level required. Fair play to the players and management who give huge commitment for the Jersey

Kilkennys seniors play in the All Ireland Junior championship. Doubt it will ever happen here but maybe participating in that might be a future discussion for the county board. A championship in which we won AI honours in 1999 and 2004

Post edited by PTH2009 on

I didn't hear any more about the Wexford game but there's a bit on the Wexford thread on the Hogan stand forum. Obviously I can't stand over that though. Great to have the Dublin game to look forward to at the end of the week. Aside from the underdogs and Munster league it's 8 months since Waterford had a proper match.

GAA TV coverage next weekend:

Saturday

2pm: Antrim v Kilkenny (HL) - BBC iPlayer

5pm: Wexford v Galway (HL) - TG4

7.30pm: Cork v Limerick (HL) - RTÉ 2

Sunday

1.30pm: Kerry v Monaghan (FL) - TG4

3.30pm: Armagh v Mayo (FL) - TG4

Waterford v Dublin (HL) - TG4 deferred

sooner the county board stop putting money into football and sell Dungarvan the better for hurling in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Venom69

The players who play football for the county do it for the love of the Waterford Jersey.

There is no holidays,sponsored cars etc

Withdrawal of the senior team from competition is not the answer imo.development and a plan in place for the future is the key.tipp,limerick and clare all have had plans in place for football except us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Imagine spending your free time just posting inflammatory stuff here with the sole aim of getting a reaction out of people, quite the pathetic existence.