Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

True, but he is the best Waterford keeper of all time (imo) so I'm sure they do understand. Tough on them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

He either wants in or he Dosent. He shouldn’t need that much time to decide, he’s already had a year away from it. Just make a decision so everyone can move on with things

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Motivator

To be fair he made his decision, I don’t think it’s on him that this has been dragged up again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gardner

He's not coming back and sooner the numpties on here get over that the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Pretty ironic you referring to others by that name given some of the nonsense you've put on this platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

I'm not sure that's fair on him. From what is being said he made up his mind, two years ago in fact and has never deviated from that.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Some week for Reuben halloran, started against Tipp last week and scored 7 points. Then yesterday he scored all 1-14 for DLS in their 1-14 to 0-13 win over abbeyside in the u20 A county final. Some going, this lad could be very good.

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭Ian OB

"Roy of the Rovers" editorial team would reject that as being too far fetched

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭Ian OB

"Roy of the Rovers" editorial team would reject that as being too far fetched

• Registered Users Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭decies

No Walsh park for league or championship . Timing is very poor on this . Should have delayed till after Munster championship .

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭waterfordgirl

Walsh park not available for games til July

Couldnt have announced this sooner given ST holders had their league tickets released today?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Im guessing Fraher Field for the Dublin and Antrim games and possibly we give Kilkenny home advantage in the Leauge

Thurles for the 'home' championship games id imagine

Knew it was coming and was pretty ambitious of the County Boards to try play games in a Building site

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭waterfordgirl

Thats the frustating thing - everyone could see it coming!

100%, Big positve overall is that 'Work has finally started'

Not ideal for the supporters wth the price of petrol etc given its all on the road for the season, Limerick and Clare will be content too be playing in Thurles (if that will be our Home venue) but we love playing there too

is there any chance Fraher field could host championship games? what is the official capacity these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Jjjjjjjjbarry

Probably not considering we had to give up home advantage in the first year of the new format. "Fraher Field or Forget about it", did not work.

Should be grand for the league games though.

Hard to see the Limerick game being accommodated there as they have huge numbers of season tickets.

Even though the footballers use it for Championship they wouldn't attract a huge crowd like the hurlers

Yeah does seem like Fraher field won't be an option so, which puts us on the road for all our games again. It's going be very tough to get out Munster

I had thought the county board had progressed over the past few years since the low points like the jedward debacle but this is really poor.

As recently as a few weeks ago there was communication from the county board that this wouldn't be an issue and matches could go ahead. This suggests that either they didn't do their consultation beforehand, they did their consultation but badly, they knew the matches couldn't take place but said they could or the advice has changed (which is the least likely). The timing of this is criminal as this is the time of year where Walsh park is actually used. For right or for wrong Fraher field holds much more club matches so closing Walsh park from June wouldn't have been as big an inconvenience.

It should of been started last summer

Going by this article Fraher Field for Dublin and Antrim with us giving Kilkenny home advantage (in turn getting an extra home game against them in the future). Thurles for the Championship games (guaranteed 3 Championship games there with hopefully more)

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Pudz2180

Could they not have tried to get it started last summer once inter county games were finished? And why are they stopping in July!? Can they not just continue and finish it out! Most Club games can be played in fraher field and carraiganore

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭914

Presume for now they only have funding/budget to do phase one

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭upthedeise16

This article from August said it would start 2 months later in October but what happened in the intervening time???

They could have started going about this job at any stage from last May, after the Cork game. Club games could be accommodated anywhere else in the county, considering the poor attendances in general & even for a final. I’m sure Ballygunner and Mount Sion supporters would have accepted going to Fraher for 1 year, 30 minutes down the road.

Instead, for what is said to be a 6 month job, they don’t have it started within those 7 months in 2022 and start at a time that will have a major effect on our intercounty hurlers? Why not wait until after this years Munster championship at this stage and actually use common sense?

We are waiting for Walsh Park to be developed for probably 5 years, everyone could have waited another 6 months and if they started in June, Waterford intercounty hurlers would have home games in 2023 and it would be finished in time for 2024!

And then they mention it will be ready for the club championship (which I wouldn’t be surprised if it isn’t) and there will be probably 200 people there to watch a senior hurling club game next August. As people have mentioned, plenty of other venues to play these club games!

The local economy is majorly effected here. I went up to Ennis the night before last year and I’m sure Clare and even supporters would possibly do the same this year. The likes of the local shops, bars, restaurants etc will all lose out as well as us supporters who now have to fork out to go away for 4 games in total.

But most of all I feel for the players. Those lads only have a set time they will get to represent their county at this level. They have already had to put up with the same situation a few years ago, playing all games away and now, the exact same situation again. They are at a disadvantage straight away compared to other counties because of the incompetence of the county board. Why the hell would the likes of SOK be inspired to come back when you see bullshit like this?

Another poster stated that they felt our county board had moved on and were improving on what had gone before and I would have been of the same opinion but we were clearly mistaken. This is a huge error on their behalf and they are putting their own players at such a disadvantage.

Shame on them for being so inept that this has happened. An absolute joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

This just seems mad, surely the priority would be that the 2 Munster championship home games you have been facilitated, taking the hit of Dungarvan for the league games wouldn't be a big issue, given the support Limerick currently have a game in Thurles will be like a home game for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,854 ✭✭✭deisedude

The Dungarvan 10 mile road race is on the day of the home game against Dublin so there will be road closures in Dungarvan on the morning of the game.

I'm sure the Gardai will be delighted with this news

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭lim4ev

as a limerick supporter it's good news for us as I thought our 1st game away to ye could have been our toughest(still could be) but it must be a big blow for yer plans

Hardly play it later in the day

Floodlights get used

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭DeHorse88

Will this actually have much of an effect on Waterford’s chances?? 3 games in Semple Stadium where Waterford have always done their best hurling.

Limerick and Clare also play their best hurling in Thurles