Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭portlaoisepal

Piss poor Tipp team

We should beat them with ease...so we should

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭decies

C778C036-0568-420D-9E8E-C32870F647EB.jpeg

Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Yea with Colin Dunford and DJ Foran we should hammer them FFS. Can anyone here put up a coherent argument for these 2 getting ANOTHER chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Yes. Dunford went to Liam Cahill in 2021 and told him he fully understood he wasn't playing well enough to get into the team but asked him what he needed to do to change that. Cahill told him he needed to get stronger and he did. He won two penalties against Dublin (and was almost relived of his head by a corner back). Didn't play against Laois and then scored two goals against Antrim before being sent off in a silly strike with the hurley. Came back in against Wexford for the semi final but went off with the hamstring injury early and never recovered. I'd say he's earned his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Probably 8 starters on the bench with Prunty, TdB, Hutchinson, Kenny and few Ballygunner players to come. I’m not a huge fan of very experimental teams. It’s not really fair to compare the service you might get from Aussie or Barron from someone who is making a start himself.

Great to be finally back though and to see Barron available so early. If he and TdB can play to their full potential we have a right chance. Neither were remotely near their best last year. If Prunty can avoid his annual injury, we have a really solid looking defense when you throw in the Dalys and Lyons ( another player with more in than he showed last year). Hopefully Mark Fitzgerald puts his hand up and gives us even more options.

Let’s hope Davy can get a tune out of them and we get some luck with injuries for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

He didn't win 2 penalties against Dublin Jack Prendergast was fouled for the 2nd penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,571 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Interesting team and the aim of this competition is too experiment, 12 day break for us til our next game away too Clare. No doubt there will be some challenge games giving more of the panel gametime

Cahill is just as competitive as Davy and will never want too lose too us no matter what competition it is

You're right. But I stand by the remainder of the post and Dunford getting his chance.

https://www.the42.ie/eoin-kelly-5959527-Jan2023/Eoin Kelly's excitement for Waterford challenge and admiration for game-changer Shefflin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭deise man

Match tonight moved to Mallow 7.30

'Mallow too Croke Park' (Story of Waterfords All Ireland Win 2023)

Wouldn't that be a nice title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

It would indeed. Great chance for Davy to get off to a good start and go for the Munster league win. Get silverware in the cabinet and then go all out to win the league. 2 in a row has a nice ring to it. And that ll keep everyone off his back for the rest of the season

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Where is game being live streamed plz. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Sri. I found it... thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭JD. 60

Cartharach Daly in for Fanning.

Pitch looks heavy enough but no surprise for time of year.

0-10-0-6 at HT too us

Real slog of a game which would be expected this time of year, Davy having words with the ref going in off the pitch

Waterford 0-21- Tipp 1-15 FT

A wins a win, some nice play from us at times

not out again til the 15th Jan away too Davys Clare who face Tipp on Sunday coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

good start

Take that Cahill you bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Yeah good win, we'll take it and hopefully build on it. Looked like we were going to throw it away when Tipp levelled but the lads did well to get the last few scores to seal it tbf.

Only watched updates from Buff Egan but from those it looked like Dunford did well and Leavey got through a huge amount of work. Lot of poor touches, mis-hit/under-hit shots which is to be expected this time of year. Bennett's penalty was very poor, Austin got a great point over the shoulder but missed one just before off his left when in acres of space. Reuben Halloran seemed to go well on the frees (on a difficult night for free takers).

very entertaining on twitter anyway

Real winter hurling alright so while there were a few points of interest it's hard to say if we see any of them develop. A couple of lads caught the eye nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

A bit dispiriting for the other keepers busting their balls in training every night while this fellah hums and haws about whether he’s arsed going back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Davy Fitzgerald has a habit of burning teams out before May. He’ll certainly give the league everything we’ve got but I’d worry about lads being flogged come Championship time.

I was able to get down to the game last night and for the time of year it wasn’t too bad a spectacle. As some have alluded to already, the first touch wasn’t there for some but that’s not what last night was about. I’d be worried come the spring if the first touch isn’t there. Eoin Kelly will have these lads playing like they’ve the ball on a string if that’s what he’s there to help with. Focusing on that on 3rd January isn’t fair to lads in all honesty.

Documentary On Ballygunners All Ireland win last year on the way

Let’s try to be a bit positive in the first week of January jeez .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

Ok Ballygunner are streets ahead in the county but what's with all the rugby talk lingo ??

Mind you Waterpark and Ballygunner share the same colours