Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overrated films that people seem to think are a great but really are not

• Registered Users Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Inception.

It was worse than shyte. It was scutter.

Indeed. The whole concept was a rip off of a Star Trek episode aswell. Nolan usually flatters to deceive.
    BattleCorp wrote: »
    I could never understand how the Blair Witch Project received critical acclaim. It was fcuking torturous to watch.

A few shots up a snotty nose is about all it was. Pure scutter.

One of the two worst movies I've ever seen in the cinema. 300 being the other one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

paw patrol wrote: »
    shawshank was dire

But worth watching to hear Morgan Freeman say Andy Dufresne when narrating.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

joeguevara wrote: »
    Bizarrely the first time I watched this I was like Annie from Misery (another Stephen king classic) when she went ‘this isn’t right, they just cheated us, he didn’t get out of the cockadoodie car’

https://youtu.be/Br5umHOm3TM

What I meant was the huge flaw in shawshank which ruins the film. Let me explain.

If you have never seen look away now.

Andy dufraine escaping is the point of the film. If he doesn’t the film doesn’t work. As we all know, he escaped via a tunnel hidden by a poster of a pin up.

Now when the governor, and guard checked the cell, they had no clue how he escaped. In anger the warden starting throwing rocks, first at red (Freeman) and then at the cupcake on the wall.

Now listen to 3.05

https://youtu.be/RQSmfzfg2MY

The stone the warden threw pierced the poster. Only way that could happen if poster was taught. If it wasn’t the stone wouldn’t go through, or at least pierce it. Now the only way a poster can be taught is if top and bottom were attached to the wall. If we presume the top was and the poster was lifted to allow Andy get through the hole, no way could he attach the bottom to ensure its taut.

So the fact that it was taut couldn’t happen. If that is faked, then the escape is fake. If he had left the bottom unattached then it works. But no. People, think it doesn’t make a difference. But fcuck it, at least get the most important thing right.

It does have a few inconsistencies. Also the only way to reattach the poster is to enter the tunnel feet first then stick the poster back on the wall and reverse through the tunnel. But we later see Andy crawling forward through the tunnel.

It's still one of my favourite films though.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,848 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

The Blues Brothers

saw it recently for the first time in about 20 years. Is it supposed to be a comedy? It's not very funny. Maybe if you're a fan of 1970s SNL and find John Belushi inherently hilarious, but it did nothing for me (good car chase though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

The entire star wars franchise! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 14,848 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Seamai wrote: »
    Vertigo.

Hitchcock's film is held up as a classic, caught up with it during lockdown. What a load of rubbish. While I'm at it, The Third Man was nothing to write home about either.

it's definitely overrated - it was voted the greatest film ever in the most recent BFI poll, it's not even the best Hitchcock film, and it's way too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,953 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It was a brand new way to make a movie. The fact that personal cameras were available and people knew what they were meant they could do a "reality" style movie. I distinctly remember there being loads of discussion around whether it was actually real footage or was some of it staged.

Yeah, I don't remember it being really critically acclaimed as a movie in the pure sense, but it was very different at the time, and there was loads of hype before it around it being real. It was shot on a budget of $60,000 (total budget including post-production and marketing was about half a million), and brought in almost $250 million in the box office alone. I think the fact that it was a tiny independent movie that totally crashed the mainstream though innovation (both in terms of technique and marketing) makes it worthy of its place in cinema history. But in terms of "sit in front of this screen and tell me what you think of the movie", it wasn't really up much. The hype was part of the movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,087 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The Shawshank Redemption

A successful banker that is wrongly jailed? Hilarious.

The Warden and the Guards entrusting an inmate with their financial affairs? Even funnier

Rich well to do banker befriending benevolent black murderer in prison, inviting him to join him in Mexico if he ever gets out? In 1947 America?

It's a liberal wet dream that's totally divorced from reality. Unsurprisingly written by Stephen King, who has a severe case of Trump Derangement Syndrome.

Red wasn't black in the book Stephen King wrote. The character in the book was Irish. In the movie they left in the line where Andy asks why he's called Red and he says "maybe it's because I'm Irish". It was a funny line in the movie because he was obviously taking the p1ss out of Andy. But in the book is was a straight answer to the question.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Gorteen wrote: »
    Star Wars (all of them)
    Bond Movies (all of them)

Bond films are grand ,you know what to expect, big stunts, exotic locations, beautiful women and the flimsiest plot imaginable ,

murpho999 wrote: »
    Sleeper is one of the funniest films I've ever seen.

Woody Allen has a great catalogue.

Bananas is Ok

From a lifetime of reading gaa programs “Player profiles” I can safely say after steak and chips a gaa players favourite thing is the shawshank redemption

Disagree, its Con Air

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Disagree, its Con Air

Would have thought it was Any Given Sunday. Few lads would get all hot and bothered watching Pacino deliver that team talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

Sardonicat wrote: »
    There will be Blood was an awful film which could have been incredible. For me, the pacing was so off it destroyed the film

Yes!
    Apart from the amazing opening scene, the movie is a whole lot of dull characters talking about important events that have shaped the plot, which inexplicably, mostly happened off screen.
    P.T. Anderson should be slapped about the head with Hitchckcock's famous quote: 'Drama is life, with all the dull bits cut out'.
    Anderson seems to revel in leaving the interesting bits on the cutting room floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

It does have a few inconsistencies. Also the only way to reattach the poster is to enter the tunnel feet first then stick the poster back on the wall and reverse through the tunnel. But we later see Andy crawling forward through the tunnel.

It's still one of my favourite films though.

That was the sewage tunnel, not the stretch of tunnel he chiseled out leading from his cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Rothko wrote: »
    Do you generally like Hitchcock movies?

I do and don't know why it took so long so get around to seeing it but a big disappointment.

Would have thought it was Any Given Sunday. Few lads would get all hot and bothered watching Pacino deliver that team talk.

You are over reaching, most of them would only know Pacino from Jack and Jill

• Registered Users Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, total bollocks.

coolbeans wrote: »
    Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, total bollocks.

Don't think they were ever rated,

• Registered Users Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Don't think they were ever rated,

First one was very enjoyable.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

Annie Hall is a top ten film for me. I never tire of it.

"Hello? I forgot my mantra".

Wasn't that Jeff Goldblum's cameo.
    Great film.
    Was thinking of watching it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,938 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

quickbeam wrote: »
    Anyone who dismisses a whole genre needs to take a hard look at themselves. There are good and bad movies. There are no good and bad genres.

Ditto anyone who dismisses "all B&W movies" or "all foreign movies".

Slasher movies/splatter porn are kind of shyte.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Disagree, its Con Air

A top class movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Erranged

All that Tim Burton/johnny depp rubbish

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Slasher movies/splatter porn are kind of shyte.

Some are, some aren't.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

La La Land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

La La Land.

Yes. It's a musical with no memorable songs. Seriously, I cannot remember any of the songs from it. Think of all the best musicals and you can think of a few songs from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Wasn't that Jeff Goldblum's cameo.

It was indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

I tend to agree about most Superhero movies being money-grabbing **** for the most part.

I seemed to never get their appeal.

But I do have a few in my collection.
    The Batman films with Bale and Ledger are genuinely well done.

I've got Iron Man as well and like it.

But watching young fellas slavishly pay out every time the next Avengers 10 or whatever comes out always make me cringe.

Same with Fast and Furious type films. Utter rubbish.

I hope nobody has mentioned No Country for Old Men here.

A truly wonderful film IMO. Thoroughly deserving of all it's accolades.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

La La Land.

Funny thing about that movie is that it is a musical, but it seems to have the one song throughout. It's a one-tune pony with a mangy tail. Nothing whatever going for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I hope nobody has mentioned No Country for Old Men here.

It's a good film, but not one I'd watch again. Having the main character killed off screen was annoying