Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overrated films that people seem to think are a great but really are not

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

The Shawshank Redemption

A successful banker that is wrongly jailed? Hilarious.

The Warden and the Guards entrusting an inmate with their financial affairs? Even funnier

Rich well to do banker befriending benevolent black murderer in prison, inviting him to join him in Mexico if he ever gets out? In 1947 America?

It's a liberal wet dream that's totally divorced from reality. Unsurprisingly written by Stephen King, who has a severe case of Trump Derangement Syndrome.

1968 America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Erranged

fryup wrote: »
    any Quentin Tarantino movie,

can't understand why so many fawn over him is it "uncool" to say you don't like his movies?? The Emperor's New Clothes and all that

stylish violence my ass its self indulgent crass tripe
    I’m shutting your butt down!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown were good, the rest is shíte.

Pulp fiction and Kill Bill vol 1 are masterpieces
    Inglorious B and Django unchained are excellent
    Hateful 8 was garbage

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

What actually happened in the movie? Other than a **** load of people standing on a beach waiting for their turn on the pedalo?

Oh and a reformed robber playing his now famous emotionless teenager that barely speaks role.

Who is the reformed robber?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Hard to believe Wes Anderson has avoided the chop thus far.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

fly_agaric wrote: »
    The Guard? Failed to make it all of the way through this one as well.
    Was finding the jokes cringe inducing, but then I believe I have a shrivelled, atrophied sense of humour.:(
    Maybe I'll dig the DVD out and try again.

Awful film. Brendan Gleeson looks embarrassed to be in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,115 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A lot of these recent, well-regarded films all basically have the same concept: journey through life with nothing really happening during the whole film. Its almost like you are seen a Philistine if you say you don't 'get' them either.

I am talking about:

Boyhood
    Manchester by the Sea
    Ladybird
    Brooklyn
    Birdman
    Lala Land
    Three Billboards....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Black Panther.
    I appreciate the cultural impact it had but as a movie - terrible

The last avengers movie - shocking bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Feisar

Greyfox wrote: »
    Pulp fiction and Kill Bill vol 1 are masterpieces
    Inglorious B and Django unchained are excellent
    Hateful 8 was garbage

I used to think that about Kill Bill however, hmm. To many nods to chop socky from Hong Kong film houses. Blood spraying from a severed arm like someone turned on a shower head?
    "If I can see further than you, it's because I am standing on the shoulders of giants". The idea isn't to hunker down to the same level as the past.

Edit - that's not homage, it's laziness. Homage would be taking the past and using it to help break through to new ground.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,442 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

agreed, only time i left the Cinema before the end of the movie - when the text "3000 years later" appeared. i just had enough :-)

So you left with about 10 minutes to go after watching for around 130 minutes and then missed the whole point of the film?

For me most films with either Ben Stiller or Will Ferrell in it (I'd give him credit for Elf & Stranger Than Fiction).

People referring to Zoolander or Anchorman as comedy classics are just misinformed imho.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Anything with the word Star or Galaxy in it.

Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Hunger Games. I know it's not a film but Game of Thrones.

Anything with Adam Sandler.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,998 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

A lot of these recent, well-regarded films all basically have the same concept: journey through life with nothing really happening during the whole film. Its almost like you are seen a Philistine if you say you don't 'get' them either.

I am talking about:

Boyhood
    Manchester by the Sea
    Ladybird
    Brooklyn
    Birdman
    Lala Land
    Three Billboards....

Boyhood is the only one that matches your concept description. All the others are based around a significant event in the life of the protagonist. Birdman was indeed a load sh*te though

xzanti wrote: »

Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Hunger Games. I know it's not a film but Game of Thrones.

I always find it strange to rule out an entire genre and probably judging them without watching them.

Like all other genres there are good and bad films that exist within it. It's all down to writing and acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭DSN

Couple which stick out in my memory as ones I really looked fwd to due to all the hype & then I was like wtf...

Mulholland Drive
    Birdman
    Breaking the waves
    Manchester by the sea

I am going to give it another go but disappointingly could not get into Once upon a time in Hollywood.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I am talking about:

Boyhood
    Manchester by the Sea
    Ladybird
    Brooklyn
    Birdman
    Lala Land
    Three Billboards....

A lot of literary fiction is like this - unlikeable characters doing f*** all in a middle class fashion.

But I take issue with you on 3 Billboards. That was a fantastic film

Lord of the rings?

You shut your filthy whore mouth

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Erranged wrote: »
    I’m shutting your butt down!

yep, throws a hissy fit when a valid question is asked of him

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

xzanti wrote:

Lazy comment 'anything with the word Star or Galaxy in it' xD

Are you a flat Earther by any chance??

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

Inside Llewyn Davis: A miserable film about miserable things happening to miserable people.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,254 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Inside Llewyn Davis: A miserable film about miserable things happening to miserable people.

Cracking soundtrack though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind - maudlin ole rubbish.

Wolf of Wall Street - thoroughly dislikeable characters throughout.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

You left out the cat.

I thought it was a great film, took me a good while to realise it was Oscar Issacs and not Jake Johnson playing the “lead” though.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Everyone has different tastes, i absolutely love all the above, particularly GOT. Once you've tried them for 30 mins though if there not your cup of tea that's grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 mousblaster17

Any science fiction movie. Period.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ipso wrote: »
    Pulp fiction

Ah here

I think people who think this way are missing out on some of the best things life has to offer

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

Greyfox wrote: »
    Everyone has different tastes, i absolutely love all the above, particularly GOT. Once you've tried them for 30 mins though if there not your cup of tea that's grand

I'm not into fantasy (well, fantasy horror - yes, fantasy magical powers/lands/creatures - no) but I enjoyed GoT and LOTR. Alright, Frodo gets a bit annoying in TT and RoTK, and when GRRM's direction ran out in GoT it really showed, but any work can have weaknesses.

A good story well told can transcend even subject matter that isn't normally your thing.

Ridiculous.

Films ranging from 2001 A Space Odyssey to Star Wars, Close Encounters of The Third Kind, ET, Star Trek, Blade Runner, Back to the Future, Gravity, Passengers, Alien to name just a few are all completely different and are as good as bad as any other film in other genres.

You can't just classify them as all the same, that's lazy and ignorant.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

From a lifetime of reading gaa programs “Player profiles” I can safely say after steak and chips a gaa players favourite thing is the shawshank redemption