Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 2)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Absolutely valid question when workers in the sector are being laid off.

Is there a plan or any info that can help people plan and prepare.

Jaysus..you are just ridiculous now.

Eh, the plan was published. Dublin and Donegal are not in Stage 3 of a lockdown which will last for 3 weeks. That’s the plan.

Everyone else at the committee were asking about the spread of the virus; testing capacity; how we improve contact tracing etc.

Then Cullinane (SF spokesperson for Health) goes and asks about when the pubs are reopening!!

You couldn’t make it up. He’s like Danny Healy Rae.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,337 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Eh, the plan was published. Dublin and Donegal are not in Stage 3 of a lockdown which will last for 3 weeks. That’s the plan.

Everyone else at the committee were asking about the spread of the virus; testing capacity; how we improve contact tracing etc.

Then Cullinane (SF spokesperson for Health) goes and asks about when the pubs are reopening!!

Yes and other areas has their lockdowns lifted early.

Is there a plan to get people back to work if the issue recedes. Perfectly valid in amongst other perfectly valid questions.

TD's and members of Committees are there to ask questions on behalf of the electorate and tax payers.
    The pandemic is affecting employment as well as the health of the electorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭atticu

So now you want the pubs open because workers are being laid off.

Previous you wanted businesses closed to stop the spread of COVID-19.

Now, before you say - but I just want a plan - can you let me know how COVID-19 will spread, how many more people are going to be infected, how many more deaths from COVID-19, who these people are who are going to be affected.

If you don’t know how COVID-19 will spread, who it will infect, then how can you expect to know when the pubs will open again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Jaysus..you are just ridiculous now.

not like innocent lives are a worry for sf ,

quite willing to sacrifice a few innocent lives for what ever cause suits

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Lads you should know Culliane & SF's script already, none of this is new.

They want:
    The pubs & restaurants open again but they want tighter restrictions to stop Covid
    They want wealthy people to pay higher taxes but they don't want to increase wealth taxes such as property tax
    They want more houses built but they want to campaign against the building of houses

They are a contradictory mess who tell everyone what they want to hear yet 30% or so (not a majority for the amateur mathematicians) seem to fall for it

atticu wrote: »

Now, before you say - but I just want a plan - can you let me know how COVID-19 will spread, how many more people are going to be infected, how many more deaths from COVID-19, who these people are who are going to be affected.

If you don’t know how COVID-19 will spread, who it will infect, then how can you expect to know when the pubs will open again?

Then that is the answer- that is what you need to tell people who have very real concerns about putting food on the table, paying a mortgage etc etc, not to mention those with wages to pay and bills.

It was a question...he didn't demand or request anything only an answer. Calm de f**k dwn lads. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Getting the pubs open is a big ticket item for Mary Lou and Sinn Fein. It is the perfect Trumpy kind of populist horsecrap that appeals to the Dessie Ellis mob who miss the ol' sing song but are too thick to understand the health risks in play

Then that is the answer- that is what you need to tell people who have very real concerns about putting food on the table, paying a mortgage etc etc, not to mention those with wages to pay and bills.

It was a question...he didn't demand or request anything only an answer. Calm de f**k dwn lads. :D

I am sorry, but what is your answer?

Can you please let us know when COVID-19 will stop infecting and killing people, as this answer will help determine when the pubs can open.

If you don’t know the answer, or don’t have an answer, just say that.

I am sorry, but what is your answer?

Can you please let us know when COVID-19 will stop infecting and killing people, as this answer will help determine when the pubs can open.

If you don’t know the answer, or don’t have an answer, just say that.

Dáil Committee meeting with NPHET is that way >>>>>

Is it that nobody is allowed to ask about the plan or just SF?

Did you ever stop to think how ridiculous and shrill you lads are? The question, I presume was asked on behalf of those who need to plan themselves.

Dáil Committee meeting with NPHET is that way >>>>>

Is it that nobody is allowed to ask about the plan or just SF?

Did you ever stop to think how ridiculous and shrill you lads are? The question, I presume was asked on behalf of those who need to plan themselves.

So you have no idea when COVID-19 is going to stop infecting people and when it will be safe to socialise without the concern of contracting COVID-19.

But yet you think that other people should know.

OK.

I am going to have to leave you to it, again you are happy to contradict yourself.

So you have no idea when COVID-19 is going to stop infecting people and when it will be safe to socialise without the concern of contracting COVID-19.

But yet you think that other people should know.

OK.

I am going to have to leave you to it, again you are happy to contradict yourself.

How am I contradicting something I never said?

Cop on here. You put words into my mouth and then tell me I am contradicting myself???

Straight out of the 'mis-representation playbook' you were handed.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,302 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

How am I contradicting something I never said?

Cop on here. You put words into my mouth and then tell me I am contradicting myself???

Straight out of the 'mis-representation playbook' you were handed.

Didn't know you had shared it, can I have a copy?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

I'm no expert, but wasn't it the case that one million Unionists wished to remain within the UK, hence either we had a Proper WAR on the island Orange Vs Green, North Vs South, or a border was erected to keep the North within the UK as per the wishes of its inhabitants, while we decided to break away from the rest of these islands and do a solo run ......

The border had to be erected or it would have been all out proper war with the North, scary thought. Correct me if I'm wrong <

You don't seem to have much concern for the very large minority of catholics/nationalists who ended up living in a sectarian state where they were discriminated against, against their will.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

I think the businesses want more than a day or two notice if they are going to be shut down or not as they order supplies about a week in advance and a lot of it is going to waste if not given enough notice. Cullinane is a country TD (Waterford), so its hardly surprising that he is asking what they are planning to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Never had to do anything and another fantastic week for Sinn Fein

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

jm08 wrote: »
    You don't seem to have much concern for the very large minority of catholics/nationalists who ended up living in a sectarian state where they were discriminated against, against their will.

I never said I was unconcerned for Nationalists, I answered the question as to why the border was erected with the proviso that (I'm no expert). Let me ask you jm08 what would have done at the birth of this state, how would have coped with the North?
    Would you have gone down the war route? Or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Never had to do anything and another fantastic week for Sinn Fein
    Yes. Everyone was impressed with Kelly's tweet about the Long Kesh escape and the death of a prison officer.

Edgware wrote: »
    Yes. Everyone was impressed with Kelly's tweet about the Long Kesh escape and the death of a prison officer.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/fine-gael-councillor-defends-tweet-where-he-expressed-love-for-nazi-style-salute-picture-39272444.html

mynamejeff wrote: »
    what does one have to do with the other ?

Its what the Govt fanboys usually do when questioned, not asw and throw something back so im just doing that boards usual

so what does it have to do with the relevant topic ?

nothing right ?

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Edgware wrote: »

He didn't tweet about the death of a prison officer.

grayzer75 wrote: »
    He didn't tweet about the death of a prison officer.

People, real people died at the Battle Of The Boyne.
    Real people died in the War of Independence.
    Thousands of real people died unnecessary deaths in Cologne and Dresden.

But we allow people to remember and celebrate those events. In the case of some, it is insisted that they be allowed to remember them.

Usual side of the mouth democracy going on with the latest faux outrage.

But we allow people to remember and celebrate those events. In the case of some, it is insisted that they be allowed to remember them.

Bobby Storey was a member of the IRA ‘nutting squad’. That bunch of brave soliders were known for their creative approaches to torture - popping out eyeballs, removing ears, castration. Most of the victims of their handiwork were nationalists/Catholics. Gerry Adams wasn’t in it of course, but would have known Storey, Scappateci etc. All good republicans.

Explain how that improved the lot of the people up there, and what a SF contingent at his funeral did for a UI.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Bobby Storey was a member of the IRA ‘nutting squad’. That bunch of brave soliders were known for their creative approaches to torture - popping out eyeballs, removing ears, castration. Most of the victims of their handiwork were nationalists/Catholics. Gerry Adams wasn’t in it of course, but would have known Storey, Scappateci etc. All good republicans.

Explain how that improved the lot of the people up there, and what a SF contingent at his funeral did for a UI.

Whataboutery level 100

Unfortunate choice of words there, Francie, that give a real insight into the thinking of Republicans.

https://prezi.com/hsny4s7jhbwp/difference-between-celebrations-commemorations/

"A commemoration is an action or a ceremony that makes people remember and show respect for an important person or event in the past.

It is the act of honoring the memory of that special person or event."

"A celebration is a special event that is joyous."

The 12th of July commemorations are just that - commemorations, events that remember and show respect for events in the distant past.

The exuberance shown by many in Sinn Fein in respect of events such as the killing of Garda McCabe, welcoming his killers home and throwing a party, are celebrations. They are not events in the distant past, they are not about respect for such events, they are joyous celebrations at recent killings. Look at the scenes in the RDS after the election and the Up the Ra thuggish celebrations by Cullinane as more examples of the difference.

If you explain how partition or almost 70 years of a sectarian bigoted statlet was acceptable to anyone.

War/conflict is never an improvement, it is the failure of people that results in war/conflict and should never be celebrated by anybody.
    But it is...but seemingly it is only ok for certain people to do it...generally the winners.

Take your faux outrage about one sides actions somewhere else, somebody might tut tut with you.
    I will continue to believe that it was ALL wrong, from the beginning and work to create a society where it doesn't happen again.

grayzer75 wrote: »
    Whataboutery level 100

Bit of light reading for you, horse

https://irishpeaceprocess.blog/2018/08/29/the-iras-youngest-torture-victim/

Storey was involved in this. A man so loved by SF leadership they traveled up with hundreds of supporters during lockdown to attend his fake funeral. A 15 year old child with a learning disability. Jesus.

You’re the lads who have to defend these actions.

blanch152 wrote: »

The 12th of July commemorations are just that - commemorations, events that remember and show respect for events in the distant past.

The archetypal side of the mouth disingenuous melarky you constantly engage in.

Sure blanch...the 12th shennanigans are just a 'respectful event of rememberance'.

Proof positive you probably never stood in the north in your life. :D:D

The archetypal side of the mouth disingenuous melarky you constantly engage in.

Sure blanch...the 12th shennanigans are just a 'respectful event of rememberance'.

Proof positive you probably never stood in the north in your life. :D:D

You are the one who talks about celebrating killings, not me.