Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Clue Girl wrote: »
    There’s no way Pat Kenny would have that Eoghan Corry Lenten malarkey on his show. Claire signed off the interview with Corry saying that it was “fascinating to hear about your regime”. I don’t know how anyone could have found what he said fascinating.

Basically Corry getting himself to sprout nonsense about a crash diet he goes on during length - words fail me

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

In the days if SeanO'Rourke, we would be having one of the radio highlights of the year this week, Paddy O'Gormans annual Dublin pub tour during Cheltenham week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭lab man

I've been listening to this show with years this week is the first time I've just turned off the radio it's so disappointing and all the money shes on an all she can chat about I'd a crash diet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Loose Women strength!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,451 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I listen to the podcasts, not the show live. I saw there was a piece about wills & probate. Delighted, went to listen. It wasn't Tim Bracken. Very disappointing.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,035 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Another day another person talking about diet nutrition and the immune system, complete with Claire dropping in a few buzzwords such as detox, fibre, flaxseed and bananas.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,958 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I rarely agree with that G******* MHR but this nonsense about the Kerrryman name is just another absurd notion coming from Josepha Madigan who excells in stupid gaffs. What next, re brand Kerrymaid to Kerry domestic servant. Just absurd stupidity

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Another day another person talking about diet nutrition and the immune system, complete with Claire dropping in a few buzzwords such as detox, fibre, flaxseed and bananas.

Missed that was it live from the Blackrock Clinic?, Claire very adept in promoting this institution

• Registered Users Posts: 81,705 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

MHR going to have a strong outburst of sense now.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Rubbish. Ask him about being one of the wealthiest tds in the dail instead of stupid fake controversies

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Will CB ask Maddigan about Maria ?;)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Rubbish. Ask him about being one of the wealthiest tds in the dail instead of stupid fake controversies

He's right JM is a clown

What is it about this clown MHR complimenting government ministers, I watched this buffon on the week in politics on RTE last Sunday, mother of God, he almost wet himself showering praise on Heather Humphries, also on the show, despite being remote, both seemed to be blushing. Maybe MHR exercising parish pump politics and looking for another infrastructure project in his constituency.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,705 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I pity anyone with a career in HR, this rubbish will turn in to an entire industry within an organisation.

What has happened to Josepha - once a good performer she is now gaff prone.
    This non story about the 'Kerryman' is showing Josepha in a very poor light.
    No fan of MHR but he is highlighting the stupidity of Josephas argument.

Infoanon wrote: »
    What has happened to Josepha - once a good performer she is now gaff prone.
    This non story about the 'Kerryman' is showing Josepha in a very poor light.
    No fan of MHR but he is highlighting the stupidity of Josephas argument.

Forgive me, when exactly was Josepha a good performer? Perhaps I'm missing something but like Norma Foley, I've never been inspired.

Kerry getting great coverage today, perhaps Dingle could do a deal with the Walrus :)

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Forgive me, when exactly was Josepha a good performer? Perhaps I'm missing something but like Norma Foley, I've never been inspired.

Before she took up her current ministry JM was one of the best FG performers. I could blame the fact that she has to tidy up Norma Foleys messes for recent gaffs but this performance will haunt Josepha for the rest of her political career.

Michael Healy Rae utterly destroyed Josepha in that interview - possibly the stand out moment in Irish radio so far this year - a 'Maria Bailey ' moment.

Infoanon wrote: »
    Before she took up her current ministry JM was one of the best FG performers. I could blame the fact that she has to tidy up Norma Foleys messes for recent gaffs but this performance will haunt Josepha for the rest of her political career.

Michael Healy Rae utterly destroyed Josepha in that interview - possibly the stand out moment in Irish radio so far this year - a 'Maria Bailey ' moment.

Fair points

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I rarely agree with that G******* MHR but this nonsense about the Kerrryman name is just another absurd notion

As a middle-aged, middle-class, university educated resident of Dublin 4 who enjoys the occasional latté, I might be expected to consider the entire Healy-Rae family to be subhuman pond life with appalling attitudes that make them a disgrace to the Irish nation............
    ...and generally speaking I do.

But they're right about this.

As a middle-aged, middle-class, university educated resident of Dublin 4 who enjoys the occasional latté, I might be expected to consider the entire Healy-Rae family to be subhuman pond life with appalling attitudes that make them a disgrace to the Irish nation............
    ...and generally speaking I do.

But they're right about this.

As a middle aged former Dublin 18 resident (now resident for 20 years of the side of a mountain , 3rd level educated & enjoy an occasional Bewleys Gold blend, I whole heartily agree, on a side note I lived in Dingle for 7 years and never met anyone as moronic as MHR :)

I lived in Dingle for 7 years and never met anyone as moronic as MHR :)

Not even his brother? :)

Not sure either of them welcome in Dingle :)

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

The cap is the perfect topping on a total gob****e. I actually get embarrassed watching him, Hoping nobody foreign is watching this :eek:

Ish66 wrote: »
    The cap is the perfect topping on a total gob****e. I actually get embarrassed watching him, Hoping nobody foreign is watching this :eek:

Agreed but THE HR"s not the only embarrassment in the Dail and regrettably theirs and others performances are televised and to my horror by default available world wide. I've actually had friends in Europe and US ask is this for real and I'm not kidding

Why would you care?

People do be very easily embarrassed I think.

I have long come to the conclusion (and this is probably off topic or even deserving of its own thread) that the most reliable predictor of an utter gob****e is: A man who wears a hat indoors.

This transcends nationality, race, age, religious affiliation, political outlook in fact everything.

Men who wear hats indoors, including in cars and especially in TV studios, are ALWAYS dickheads.

Some examples:

MHR
    Ted Nugent
    George Galloway
    John McCririck
    Every snotty rapper who has ever appeared on the Trevor Noah show
    Old gits driving cars with their hats on--even in the summer.

I can't remember any more off the top of my head but look out for it. I haven't found an exception to the rule yet. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I have long come to the conclusion (and this is probably off topic or even deserving of its own thread) that the most reliable predictor of an utter gob****e is: A man who wears a hat indoors.

This transcends nationality, race, age, religious affiliation, political outlook in fact everything.

Men who wear hats indoors, including in cars and especially in TV studios, are ALWAYS dickheads.

Some examples:

MHR
    Ted Nugent
    George Galloway
    John McCririck
    Every snotty rapper who has ever appeared on the Trevor Noah show
    Old gits driving cars with their hats on--even in the summer.

I can't remember any more off the top of my head but look out for it. I haven't found an exception to the rule yet. :)

A certain L Cohen RIP blows your theory out of the water.

I'm certainly not suggesting NPHET and Government have gotten everything right but I'd be more inclined to listen to Ronan Glynn over that mouthy Murphy. This absurd nonsense referring to the Midlands lockdown during the summer needs to stop. I live there, there was no lockdown, absolutely no increase in restrictions, certainly no increase in garda presence and Meat factories etc remained opened. It was a complete farce with only Pubs and Restaurants closed apart from the ridiculous takeaway concept.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,205 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This expert is saying no reason why we couldn't meet and socialise outdoors, or play sports etc.

That doesn't fit the negative narrative.

Surprised CB isn't trying to talk him out of such nonsense .