Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lockdown for Kildare (Aug 8th-31st)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,127 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

How is it a lockdown?
    A lockdown is what occurred in wuhan in January.
    This is NOT a lockdown!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Glen Immal wrote: »
    Very surprised to read that some meat factory employees are in direct provision. If they are thus employed, why are they not on working visas and living self sustained in comunity. Are they in reciept of a full wage? Is this a source of cheap compliant labour, subsidised by irish state. Genuine questions...if someone can enlighten me.

about the only people they can get to work in back breaking meat factories are from direct provision centres ..... one of the toughest jobs you could have for minimum wage . Factories very profitable but that all goes to owners . Workers break their balls for minimum wage .

• Registered Users Posts: 16,516 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Well that would be up to HSA I think.

The issue may not be the factories themselves, but rather the living conditions of the workers when they go home.

That seems to be driving factor behind the infection spikes in German meat processing plants too.

Flat/House sharing, Direct Provision residents and the associated socialising have as great an impact on this particular cause as the nature of the industry.
    One would imagine that Irish plants, in particular, are hygienic and HACCP compliant.
    As such the plants themselves are not the driver of infection, rather the worker's accommodation and social interactions.

banie01 wrote: »
    That seems to be driving factor behind the infection spikes in German meat processing plants too.

Flat/House sharing, Direct Provision residents and the associated socialising have as great an impact on this particular cause as the nature of the industry.
    One would imagine that Irish plants, in particular, are hygienic and HACCP compliant.
    As such the plants themselves are not the driver of infection, rather the worker's accommodation and social interactions.

The workers can’t afford rent their terms and conditions are so poor .... modern day slavery by Larry Goodman and co

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Dis iS BuLlSh1t

De gubbermint dunt kno wat dey r doing. U kaNt loCkMe DoWn.

The numbers are rising people, the government are trying to control the spread. We are up to 90+ cases today, it hasnt been this high since May.

Anyone from Laois, Offally or Kildare that doesnt do their bit because they are "mad ladz" are fcuking d1ckheads. Heed the advice, respect the restrictions and stop spreading the virus.

Otherwise you are the reason for the restrictions. Plonkers.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Imagine imposing restrictions by county lines in this day and age. Backwards as anything

Leixlip and Celbridge despite being almost in Dublin and miles from the problem under restrictions. There's going to be instances of one household under restriction but next door neighbours not

So how do they do it by Parish, dioceses, province. All the same as you will have areas away from cluster. I am sure when they lockdown Victoria in Australia some said why us we are miles from any clusters. So how would you do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

LuasSimon wrote: »
    The workers can’t afford rent their terms and conditions are so poor .... modern day slavery by Larry Goodman and co
    They get one of the highest minimum wages in Europe. Slavery? :rolleyes:

The problem is they send a lot of their money home and don't want to waste it living in decent accommodation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Maybe they should all have to carry a bell and ring it if near any norms like us

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The boggers are raging now. Can't blame the Dubs anymore. Feck yez.

But on a more serious note, this is not a good signal is it for any county. From what I can see it is DP employees going back to either DP or shared accommodation that is causing a big problem now.

What Minister or ministers should make a statement on...

1. DP accommodation
    2. Asylum seekers working in factories when I understood the min wage should be 30k in order to be able to work legitimately. Maybe it is.
    3. Inspection of rented accommodation.

There is so much that could be done, but the usual terrified people, afraid of the R word and so on are silent.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

During the week Melbourne did an exercise of having police call to every confirmed case from the last 2 weeks.

Fines for everyone who wasnt home.

Have we a similar program?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Only the most desperate in society would work in a meat factory these days the way the staff are treated . Savage physical work for minimum wage . can’t get any Irish or even poles at this stage . Latvians and Syrians fleeing war that are afraid of been deported .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Fair play to the government, first time they grew a pair since in power

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Probably can’t afford it on minimum wage and been ripped off by their employer for sharing four or five to a room

Read on another thread that they are not employees but 'self employed contractors' (another scam) so if they go out sick it is tough sh1t, they dont get paid. They'll also likely lose their job, it is precarious employment where management have a boot on their necks. Also a lot of these factories are putting them up in houses with four bunk beds to a room and taking a nice slice of their wages for the privledge. So the meat processing companies themselves have some responsibility here for the squalid and cramped conditions they are living in.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Ludo wrote: »
    But as long as 80/90% people act responsibly then it works. there is never going to be 100% adherence as there is always the 10% of assholes.
    Behavioural scientists actually put it at 20%.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,251 ✭✭✭✭noodler

KiKi III wrote: »
    Yeah, definitely wasn’t anything to do with being housed in and working in close quarters.

Yup.

Brazilians sharing houses a big factor, for example.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Lundstram wrote: »
    Meh.. From Kildare but will not be adhearing to this.

Fcuking knee-jerking clowns in suits.

People like you have us the way we are now ffs.
    Suppose you were one of those not bothering to mask up going into shops either.

Im from Kildare and will be doing whats required as i have been all along.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Laois should be locked down permanently virus or no virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Could a Kildare person travel to Offaly as they are in the same restricted zone?

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Jimi H

Dis iS BuLlSh1t

De gubbermint dunt kno wat dey r doing. U kaNt loCkMe DoWn.

The numbers are rising people, the government are trying to control the spread. We are up to 90+ cases today, it hasnt been this high since May.

Anyone from Laois, Offally or Kildare that doesnt do their bit because they are "mad ladz" are fcuking d1ckheads. Heed the advice, respect the restrictions and stop spreading the virus.

Otherwise you are the reason for the restrictions. Plonkers.
    I’m from Kildare and agree that we need these restrictions to halt the spread. I just don’t think it’s enough. Phase 3 is clearly not working and there seems to be no additional measures to stop the spread in the other 23 counties. Seemingly no measures for meat factories where we know this virus thrives or to help people living in accommodation like direct provision. Without a travel ban or strict travel quarantine and short sharp targeted restrictions to bring the cases down to zero or close to zero, we’re going to have a very tough time coming into winter.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Could a Kildare person travel to Offaly as they are in the same restricted zone?

No its your own county i believe, im on the Kildare Laois border, guess i have two counties to play with :P

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

No, I don't agree, there are many sharing a small house now no matter what work they do, but the factory cohort seem to be particularly prone to infection/spreading. Maybe it is their culture or something.

They must be all earning above 30k anyway, otherwise under DP restrictions they would not be allowed to work. Overtime I suppose. It is not a nice situation to be in, but they chose it.

I am sure there are inspections, and minimum wage rules observed, so I still think it is the living conditions outside of work that is the cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭The HorsesMouth

I know directly of cases in one of the factories involved that it was brought back from people who flew to a green list country, drove onto their own country and back to the green list country when they were ready to come home so to avoid the 2 week quarantine.
    That's what we're dealing with here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I doubt the meat factories themselves are the problem, it is more than likely many workers returning to lodgings and mingling with many others in a crowded house, and then going out in their locality and a possible spread in the community.
    This is pretty much it. A relative used to work in one of the meat plants currently in the news. They said that apart from some students the vast vast majority of the staff are Romanians, Lithuanians, Poles etc. who will spend a few years (or sometimes just a few months of each year) working in meat plants in Ireland to save up money to live a more comfortable life back home.

Their sole goal is to save money so they'll voluntarily work as many hours as their employer is willing to give them, and to cut down on expenses they'll often rent a single 3 bed house between 15+ people and live on top of each other.

A workplace can be as careful and diligent as they can but it can be totally undone by your employees' living conditions being pretty much the opposite of social distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,313 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Cowen probably happy to stay in Offaly now :p hopefully they can get it under control in these three counties

How did the virus get into the factories?

The problem is they send a lot of their money home and don't want to waste it living in decent accommodation.

They have very little to send home , Larry Goodman and other greedy factory owners make sure of that . We should be ashamed that greedy people like Larry Goodman making huge profits in these factories don’t pay their staff a living wage .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Yeah ... that’s how the deal works, we need them to work, they think they get a good deal compared to wages in Brazil etc, can you blame them for sending it home(where I am sure they plan to move back to)?

They are not to blame here, the plant owners are, and the government are for not having inspections in businesses like this from the start.

thomas 123 wrote: »
    Yeah ... that’s how the deal works, we need them to work, they think they get a good deal compared to wages in Brazil etc, can you blame them for sending it home(where I am sure they plan to move back to)?

They are not to blame here, the plant owners are, and the government are for not having inspections in businesses like this from the start.

Not all stepped forward for testing, so stop the victim rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,557 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Absolute bollix, 48% of the cases are in Dublin, why aren't they locked down??

48 % since march but that's not the issue here it's the fact that nearly half of the cases from the past fortnight are from the three counties named.

I know directly of cases in one of the factories involved that it was brought back from people who flew to a green list country, drove onto their own country and back to the green list country when they were ready to come home so to avoid the 2 week quarantine.
    That's what we're dealing with here.

Indeed this is what we are dealing with.
    I spoke to a guy wednesday night whos brother in law checks temperatures in a certain meat factory, some of the non nationals admited to popping 5 or 6 paracetamol so they could hide any temperature and turn in for work as they dont get paid for missing work, these companies have human blood on their hands now .