Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

Do you not think there's value in parents being put at ease and being able to go home and communicate with their kids about what's happening?

I do and would rather that than the don't come near the school approach that some parents are being met with.

You think teachers would want parents on side because they will be relying on a lot of cooperation from home if they want to be able to follow the guidelines they have laid out.

A virtual tour would put parents at ease - the gov is asking people to wfh and avoid public transport. You don’t need to be physically in the building to have your mind put at rest. The whole response to this pandemic and even more so over the last week is to SD and to limit your contacts. A physical tour of the school is not adhering to that masks or no masks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

That's a rather narcissistic attitude to have, you think outside influences won't impact what happens in your "kingdom"?

I feel you'll be in for a rude awakening some day.

What was the point in shutting down your profile and then reopening it. Was being schooled about your inability to do a diagram properly, and your marquee proposals that embarrassing for you? You'd almost miss the days when you copied the Roadmap verbatim, when you now seem to be saying "ah Roadmap isn't practical".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Bobtheman wrote: »
    Will you get a life. You are perfect click bait.

Did you really just tell me to get a life young man? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

lulublue22 wrote: »
    Total pr stunt - total disregard for employees safety and welfare. Presume staff will be in and out getting things up and running for the return. It’s not like the building will be totally empty from now until the school is back.
    You sound like you don't want to back - ever. Did you not get an opportunity for input into the plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

Smacruairi wrote: »
    What was the point in shutting down your profile and then reopening it. Was being schooled about your inability to do a diagram properly, and your marquee proposals that embarrassing for you? You'd almost miss the days when you copied the Roadmap verbatim, when you now seem to be saying "ah Roadmap isn't practical".

I actually have no idea what you are talking about but definitely wasn't me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

50% capacity on school buses will have a big impact, especially being announced with a week to go.

At a guess 90% of our school wud be fed by buses. Implications for start and finish times. Also buses wud have to be wiped down if doing multiple runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

50% capacity on school buses will have a big impact, especially being announced with a week to go.

At a guess 90% of our school wud be fed by buses. Implications for start and finish times. Also buses wud have to be wiped down if doing multiple runs.

Our buses are running as normal, confirmed today. Is this another new restriction, so hard to keep up these days.

is_that_so wrote: »
    You sound like you don't want to back - ever. Did you not get an opportunity for input into the plan?

That’s fairly unfair comment- I don’t think opening the school building up to parents for a walk through is appropriate given the current restrictions in place. A virtual tour is a viable alternative. You extrapolated from that that I don’t want to go back ever really ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,404 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Will just mean utter traffic chaos on the roads as parents will drive their cars to the schools...
    What parent will leave their child on the side of the road waiting for a bus that probably won't stop when it's half full...

Our buses are running as normal, confirmed today. Is this another new restriction, so hard to keep up these days.

NPHET recommendation today

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0820/1160338-schools-reopen-bus-transport/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

lulublue22 wrote: »
    That’s fairly unfair comment- I don’t think opening the school building up to parents for a walk through is appropriate given the current restrictions in place. A virtual tour is a viable alternative. You extrapolated from that that I don’t want to go back ever really ?
    I got it from what seems to be a very antagonistic position on it. I did ask you a question. We all have a vested interest in making sure our workplace is safe to return to.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Will just mean utter traffic chaos on the roads as parents will drive their cars to the schools...
    What parent will leave their child on the side of the road waiting for a bus that probably won't stop when it's half full...

Wudnt be used to that system where we are. We're rural so they'd all be on their bus from 07.30 and arrive about 08.20. Pick-ups at villages and houses along the route. They'll need twice the buses now.

Good few private companies working under contract for Bus Éireann school runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭amacca

Do you not think there's value in parents being put at ease and being able to go home and communicate with their kids about what's happening?

I do and would rather that than the don't come near the school approach that some parents are being met with.

You think teachers would want parents on side because they will be relying on a lot of cooperation from home if they want to be able to follow the guidelines they have laid out.

I think its total bolox/horse**** tbh

Pandering to eejits.....you dont need to be physically in the building to be put at ease regarding school plans....as another poster said why would a thecwritten covid response plan and perhaps a virtual tour not serve the same purpose?

If you are concerned about the virus then going into an indoor space with a bunch of other possible sources of infectio n is hardly a sensible thing to want to do...not to mention its increasing the risk to your kids when they do get there.. (not to mention the teachers that work there)

I see it as a PR stunt with management looking to curry favour so they can climb later ...if you think about it they are trying to show you how careful and safe they are being and how low risk they have made the environment while simultaneously increasing risk by 8nviting groups of parents to be physically present in the building when they dont need to be...it doesnt add up from a refucing the risk of infection point of view

It does add up from a pandering or wanting to climb at the expense of others point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Micheal Martin demonstrating today how easy it is for a secondary school to implement social distancing in the classroom.
    Plenty of room in the clean fresh airy room he was filmed in for RTE 6.01 news.
    Out of curiosity I googled the school in question. It has a TOTAL enrolment of 196 pupils!

Hardly a typical secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

We went to an immense amount of work along with a different school and the local montessori to put together staggered drop offs. Should have guessed what would happen.

I've had 8 emails from this year's parents already complaining about the system and the time slot they have. Just set up an out of office saying to contact the school directly if they have questions regarding school reopening.

But that's not true, is it?

And if it is, why are you so keen to berate me and opine about what I have done/not done? That would surely be double standards on your behalf, no?

I'm not dictating anything ... I'm offering support to a fellow professional who is obviously upset and seems a bit lost and disillusioned. Please do take up my offer of support, advice and a friendly ear if you ever need it.

Sorry but someone who doesn't do their job isn't a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

We went to an immense amount of work along with a different school and the local montessori to put together staggered drop offs. Should have guessed what would happen.

I've had 8 emails from this year's parents already complaining about the system and the time slot they have. Just set up an out of office saying to contact the school directly if they have questions regarding school reopening.

You must have an awful lot of whingy parents .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Murple

35,000 teachers in Ireland - less than 1%. 19 is definitely an over representation

Actually more than 65,000 teachers between primary and secondary.
    Also anyone, from any career bar Gardaí and civil servants, is allowed to put themselves forward for election to public office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Choochtown wrote: »
    Micheal Martin demonstrating today how easy it is for a secondary school to implement social distancing in the classroom.
    Out of curiosity I googled the school in question. It has a TOTAL enrolment of 196 pupils!

He’s photographed with a drum kit. Except we’ve all lost our music rooms to base classrooms or had to remove the instruments because they were ‘clutter’. I am not impressed in the slightest. Cloud cuckoo land

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    You must have an awful lot of whingy parents .

At times. They have been enabled by a principal who doesn't impose proper boundaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Choochtown wrote: »

Here he is nearly backed into the wall to maintain social distancing with only a handful of people in a room that will probably contain up to 30 people next week.

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

https://www.thejournal.ie/micheal-martin-school-cork-covid-5181303-Aug2020/

This woman is single handedly doing what our unions should have been doing. Fair play to her.

is_that_so wrote: »
    I got it from what seems to be a very antagonistic position on it. I did ask you a question. We all have a vested interest in making sure our workplace is safe to return to.

I suppose my frustrations are seeping out. My main issue with this return to school plan is its longevity or really it’s lack of. I really want the schools to open and stay open. While it is very difficult in the midst of a pandemic to ensure that schools will stay open I don’t think this plan is conducive to keeping the schools open long term. I would have preferred a phased return of students ( staff obviously full term) with a view to increasing attendance. I would also like a clear standardised plan b if we do need to close to ensure some equality of access to education. I would also like parents to have the option of some form of blended learning if their child falls into the at risk or at high risk category. I would also like rapid/ priority testing for schools both children and staff to minimise impacts on schools while teachers and are children are self isolating. I think it will be easy to open the schools next week but much harder to keep them open. All any school can do is mitigate risk - having parents in the school for a tour given the current guidelines in my opinion doesn’t fall into that category.

Blondini wrote: »
    Here he is nearly backed into the wall to maintain social distancing with only a handful of people in a room that will probably contain up to 30 people next week.

image.jpg

Is that a perspex screen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Is that a perspex screen?

Who was the loser teacher in skibbereen today? Is she a public health expert or simply just a teacher?

Hubertj wrote: »
    Who was the loser teacher in skibbereen today? Is she a public health expert or simply just a teacher?

Why do you consider her a loser?

Was anything she said untrue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

Was anything she said untrue?

Ignore, report and ignore some more.

When they go low, we go high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,888 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

He doesn't really, he's just a WUM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Hubertj wrote: »

I wish the teachers in my child's school were like that.
    There are some really great teachers out there.
    Unfortunately, my child's teachers are not good when coping with change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Scoondal wrote: »
    I wish the teachers in my child's school were like that.
    There are some really great teachers out there.
    Unfortunately, my child's teachers are not good when coping with change.

I have watched it a few times and genuinely I have no clue what she is saying ?