Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

The utter lack of interest they’ve shown for what is probably the biggest game of womens’ football on this island in its history tonight is wild. We had a flipping book review show after the first leg and today the main topic is the re-heated beans of beating Australia in a test three days ago.

We get more coverage of Bohs logistical decisions than the national team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭boccy23

Do you not think it is reflective of a general apathy towards Women's sport and football specifically. I have heard zero discussion in work or friends around this match or the previous leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

What match is this? The national team won't be playing until the new year no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

we qualified for a World Cup. This isn’t bigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

by far the most daft myopic fan/journalist on second captains is Ken when speaking about the Irish football team. I haven’t heard anything from the others such as arseblog or Atkinson as daft as saying Liam Scales’ second yellow vs England was a harsh yellow. Pure biased commentary and that’s just one example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,150 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Well, while I wouldn't necessarily agree with anything Tucker Tim has to say about Second Captains he does have a bit of a point here.

And the game that led to WC qualification happened in Scotland, so, yeah, "biggest game on this Island" is fair enough IMO.

I’d personally say the 2022 Euros play off for NI was a bigger game considering it was to qualify for their first ever tournament. That’s ignoring CL games and other Ireland games of huge significance.

I’m surprised it wasn’t covered but TTs post is sensationalist as usual. I’m sure there will be a reaction pod. Personally, I don’t need 2-4 pods on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭siblers

The fact they gave both legs almost no mention was a bit odd considering their previous coverage has been quite good. Assume they'll cover it tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Acosta

I just switched it off at that point. Well, just before it when the Liverpool audio bed that goes on for about 10 minutes started up.

It absolutely isn’t. There will be around 25,000 people at the match, on a weeknight.

VAR is the biggest pile of wànk since man discovered masturbation.

That was dreadful. Completely wasted opportunity

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

They were the better team in the first half, that penalty was harsh and changed the game.

I dont think that penalty was harsh. They showed an angle at full time which shows her moving her arm towards the ball. Looked pretty stone wall to me.

Yer man who sounds like he owns a stud farm appearing midway through a conversation with Shaggy was disconcerting

Also he’s still pretending Crowley is a really good player as if we haven’t seen Lowe baby-sit his kicking duties and him shank half his place-kicks for a year now. Give over lad.

Post edited by Tucker.Tim on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Penalty wasn't harsh and McCabe should have been off the pitch before half time

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Mustaki is a very clear and impressive interviewee.

horrendous take

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/dec/04/france-in-political-crisis-after-no-confidence-vote-topples-government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Dion Fanning again, fml

No idea how Ken thinks Diaz should have had a pen. Was a foul to be fair but was clearly outside the box

She very clearly pulled out of the challenge your eagle eyes seems to have decided was a second yellow. Nonsense. The final warning was entirely the correct decision.

Post edited by Tucker.Tim on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Do you go out of your way to be an obnoxious gobshite on this thread or is it just a natural habit?

Watch the video. McCabe kicks at her, thinks better of it, but has already kneed her in the thigh. It was a clear second yellow. The first yellow could have been red on its own. Maybe your own **** eagle eyes were a touch obscured by some green tinted glasses.

Post edited by EagererBeaver on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭joinme

Superb short interlude about Russell Martins beard on yesterdays pod, the lads riffing off each other for about 30 seconds before moving on. Great report on sport actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,740 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Lads I'm so keen for someone to make an audio bed outta this and tweet at them. Someone please! Slight mention of "you won't hear that sorta language on our pod" today after the abuse thrown at Ange after the Bournemouth win.

I beg....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,740 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Free tickets for kids. Honestly this isn't even a discussion. I heard the OTB lads moan about this during the week, the fact you could still see lines from the rugby international a few days prior, "it would never happen in the mens game". And yeah it wouldn't, it's simple economics. The women's game doesn't generate money, the mens game entirely props it up, I'm sure the staffing for an Ireland mens game whether it be soccer or rugby at the Aviva is 500% more than it is for a women's international. What's the point in staffing it fully and losing even more money. I mean I'm probably talking out of my arse when it comes to the women's game losing money, maybe it breaks even or turns a small profit but only because corners are cut. But I never thought I'd see the day when I see grown men on the internet having an argument over women's football, it's so utterly irrelevant.

Dion appears, unrepentant and triumphant, after Liverpool’s massive slide in form or, as non-anoraks wrongly call it, drawing one game away.

This guy is something else

Lowkey David Squires is an absolutely terrible comic artist. He basically writes essays in a format designed to be visual. Even if you enjoy his humour it’s pretty clearly being delivered in the wrong medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,150 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Oof... That's a bad take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Agreed. 10 years of strips in the guardian and 4 books. Absolute failure by any measure.

There better be a gloating email on Monday from Ireland’s only Nottingham Forest supporter after Big Chris Wood scored the winner at Old Trafford against Ken’s beautiful super genius.

Nuno is a very good manager and a very good man on top of it and Wolves should have done everything they could to have kept him.