Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,201 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Isn't discussing Pep scratching his head far more important? 🙄

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I'll never get tired of Ken reacting to FIFA's terrible content.

FIFA had a good thing going but their already considerable greed and corruption is off the scale now. The game is gone.

It'll be easier to boycott future World Cups for Ireland fans though as we'll never qualify for one again 😕

The lads seem resigned to us not qualifying for 2026, anyway…

Lucky escape for the lads (or rather, one they deliberately engineered, and why wouldn't they). Imagine having to sit through two hours of FIFA (or UEFA) shîte, even if being paid to do so. You'd feel sorry for the print journos forced to attend in person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

100%. In this case the game actually is gone, they can take their World Cup and f*ck off with themselves.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember hearing that 'I Need To Know Now' song on radio during the summer and laughing remembering Ken giving out about it being played during the World Cup.

Just listened to yesterday's pod, I love when it's just them talking sh1te, bouncing off each other going from topic to topic with no guest lined up, hope they keep format up on a Friday every few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,851 ✭✭✭Raoul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Branno has hardly been on recently, was good to have him back on, him moaning about Grant and Premier Sports was brilliant

Post edited by siblers on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

As was said earlier the episodes where the lads just bounce off each other are the best. Perfect for a Friday episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Yeah, was a good laugh alright. Certainly better than a Friday politics pod!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 sbtr2023

Stakeknife is poor, as was Where is George Gibney.. they talk about both as if they are groundbreaking, and I don't even think they believe it themselves.. and they talk about subscribers contributing to them as if we've commissioned the Book of Kells.. relax lads, you've hit upon a decent sports podcast formula, you're not Serial.. fair play if they want to do other things, but easy on the self praise.. I'll never forget them trying to flog the tickets to the Concert Hall Where is George Gibney show for a couple of months, if it was that popular, surely the tickets would have moved a bit better.. and when I'm on about tickets, the live shows annoy me full stop.. crap content for a week after them.. those interviews are only bearable after a few pints, painful on the commute home.. who in their right minds wants to hear about Brian Kerrs trip to the motor factors without about 9 pints of Guinness in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Totally agree, that should definitely be a much more regular thing. Great pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I'd listen to Brian Kerr read the phone book, he's good entertainment.

On the stake knife series, I think it's very poor. They are drawing it out so much. I've listened to the first 4 episodes, the content of the 4 could easily all have been in one. Mark keeps talking like he's about to reveal some massive bombshell but nothing comes from it.

I'll keep listening, but I'm disappointed so far. At least the terrible music from George Gibney wasn't retained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

>Mark keeps talking like he's about to reveal some massive bombshell but nothing comes from it.

Sounds like it's closer to Serial than some people think then

I don't know why they say subscribers make those series possible. The BBC are paying them to produce these series.

Subscribers pay them enough to employ people to replace Mark on the main show?

Does he do any work with the main pod now I wonder?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

They briefly mentioned that BBC go "some way" to paying but it's a joint venture. Also with him putting his time into those series I'd presume they're a man down somewhere in the production of SC and might need to hire in cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Don’t forget it’s the subscribers that allow them to stay ad-free and independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,851 ✭✭✭Raoul

I loved the first three episodes of stakeknife, the second was excellent but I have to admit the last two episodes probably could have been a single episode. I'm still enjoying it though

"Some way" my arse. They make no subscription or ad money from Gibney or Stakeknife, the whole thing is funded by the BBC and they'd be fools to do it without covering their costs and including a decent profit margin for themselves.

There is ad revenue on the BBC podcasts, just for those outside UK. I assume that second captains are paid a fee though and BBC claim the ad revenue themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Bringing back the positionism/relationism high priest they took the piss out of for six months for a group chat about City is a new high point for the show meta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,074 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

I don't lol a lot these days but Ken crapping on about Arteta and alternative branching history was pure comic gold 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Ken needs to go easy on the Amorim love. He’s stanning for him nearly as hard as he did for Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Really enjoyed the quiz. Murph and Ken have slightly ridiculous levels of knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

Not sure how much I enjoyed it. I think that it was a missed opportunity. I like a good quiz, but there were too many poor questions and it was just too messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭joinme

While I thought the format and rules were a bit shambolic, it added to the fun and having Killian Sunderman as host imbued it all with a slight hilarity from the off. Glorious win for Ken in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

While it was messy, poor questions, and clearly a rip off of the Friday night OTB quiz, it was good craic. Really enjoyed it.