Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but it can only be 5K away

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    It sucks, am sorry you can't get to have that meal with your parents BB .
    We need a glimmer of hope , a small one would do at this point .

At this stage, I just really, really hope we get to have Christmas dinner together. I'd sacrifice all other socialising if I could be guaranteed that!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,873 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

At this stage, I just really, really hope we get to have Christmas dinner together. I'd sacrifice all other socialising if I could be guaranteed that!

I don't blame you , I'd do the same as you tbh , sacrifice everything else if it meant you can be there Christmas Day , hopefully that'll happen for you :)

Thanks Mam. Maybe it's the not knowing that's driving us mad. Like most people would probably be ok to live like hermits if we knew the virus would be gone by, say, March 2021. But all the not knowing.... Will Christmas go ahead? Will anything be different next June? Will we go to level 5? Will things get better or worse? Will trump be re-elected? Will Seph ever get a cat of his own? Will the virus mutate???

• Registered Users Posts: 21,873 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Thanks Mam. Maybe it's the not knowing that's driving us mad. Like most people would probably be ok to live like hermits if we knew the virus would be gone by, say, March 2021. But all the not knowing.... Will Christmas go ahead? Will anything be different next June? Will we go to level 5? Will things get better or worse? Will trump be re-elected? Will Seph ever get a cat of his own? Will the virus mutate???

I think the only certainty there is Seph getting his own cat !

:D:D:D aaah that's a great day for all of us to look forward to!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,940 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

November tenth. Trying to stop house parties and trick or treating no doubt especially with a bank holiday coming.. Sigh

A full month! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I know of 2 community groups advertising openly online 'safe trick or treating' where goodies are left out on tables pre bagged and same family groups are arranged 'safely' to come in slots.
    That's just flaunting the rules. Get over it, I say. Trick or treating will be there next year. I don't agree with it anyway, I see it as begging :(

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I feel for you BB. I hope it can be some small comfort to you that by staying away like you have you've been taking good care of them.

Grumpy is currently in A&E with his hernia. Long day here with me waiting in the petri dish that passes as a waiting room in KUH. I was allowed in to see him for a few minutes and he's agitated and confused. I felt like such an arse hole leaving him and his face when we told him I couldn't go see him tomorrow would break your heart. Frustrated to the pint if despair at giving the same detailed history again and again . No one seems to look at the notes. Very worried, obviously.

Hope all is well with ye

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I feel for you BB. I hope it can be some small comfort to you that by staying away like you have you've been taking good care of them.

Grumpy is currently in A&E with his hernia. Long day here with me waiting in the petri dish that passes as a waiting room in KUH. I was allowed in to see him for a few minutes and he's agitated and confused. I felt like such an arse hole leaving him and his face when we told him I couldn't go see him tomorrow would break your heart. Frustrated to the pint if despair at giving the same detailed history again and again . No one seems to look at the notes. Very worried, obviously.

Hope all is well with ye

Ah no, sorry to hear that Sardi. Glad he's getting his hernia sorted though and hopefully he'll be all the better for it once he's home. Absolutely been there with the having to leave them in the hospital, not fully understanding. The guilt we can put on ourselves is unreal. But I'm sure your dad will get the best of care and this might sound cold to some but you should try to enjoy your break from him. As a carer, you need to recharge your own batteries from time to time and with respite, day services etc. not happening as normal this year, you need to take your break where you can. Trust that he's being looked after, let go of the guilt and look after yourself for a change.

For a bit if light relief: I'm watching "Abigail's Party"on BBC 4

"Have you ever tried pilchard curry? That's a very economical dish".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,940 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I'm watching old come dine with me, comfortable and low effort stuff, poifect.

I hope no one's serving pilchard curry!

Haha nope but oddities abound with the folk that show up on the show all the same..

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Haha nope but oddities abound with the folk that show up on the show all the same..

I never realised how many people have aversion to certain types of food since I saw bits of that show.
    If i had a cynical mind, I'd think people are chosen on this basis. Also the more "entertainment" value whether positive or not to your image may come into it.

Oh I'm a vegetarian who doesn't eat green vegetables and hate chairs with 4 legs. Guaranteed to get on the show.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »

Oh I'm a vegetarian who doesn't eat green vegetables and hate chairs with 4 legs. Guaranteed to get on the show.

This made me laugh before 7.30am. It's rare for someone to even get a smile out of me before 11. Well done Ted. Keep up the good work.

My work is done for the day. Well actually the week.

Off today & tomorrow. Still bedside, nothing to do and all days to do it.

Bedside, woke up hungry so went to make porridge and blueberries but when I opened the cupboard there was Tesco donuts leftover from yesterday so I'm back in bed ,full, may have porridge later.☺️ Have a great lads, I'm going to take it easy for the day, I'm on the second season of Succession so might just binge it for a few hours.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I never realised how many people have aversion to certain types of food since I saw bits of that show.
    If i had a cynical mind, I'd think people are chosen on this basis. Also the more "entertainment" value whether positive or not to your image may come into it.

It can feel like that, a place for the brendan kilkennys of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I’m like a zombie, got to bed 4 hours ago but had to wake up for swab test.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Deskside in my new office setup, housemate moved out a couple of weeks ago so converted his room into my office. 4 hours graft last night but so worth it!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,675 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Desk side working away, have to phone one of the dissertation students I’m supervising at 3pm to let him know whether he should be granted a two week extension or defer submitting to next year.

Then a good walk in the park and art class this evening. :)

Happy Thursday all!

Tried to attach a photo. File too big :(

• Registered Users Posts: 22,257 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Duvet is off work and Ted is off work if I was suspicious I might think there is something going on :D I’d say Seph keep an eye on the pair of them ;)

Afternoon all :)

Autosport wrote:
    Duvet is off work and Ted is off work if I was suspicious I might think there is something going on I’d say Seph keep an eye on the pair of them
    Ehmmmm ..

:o

Look Grem wants to show us something big
    Tried to attach a photo. File too big

**exits stage left**

Autosport wrote: »
    Duvet is off work and Ted is off work if I was suspicious I might think there is something going on :D I’d say Seph keep an eye on the pair of them ;)

Afternoon all :)

I thought that was suss too but I didn't like to draw attention to it! :D

Tried to attach a photo. File too big :(

When that happens me I just crop it a little and it's usually fine.

I'm in "werk".

Jaysus but you'd be tired doing nothing.

Must ring the daddy. He gone in for scopes today and is staying over night. That's because the last time, he didn't like the drinks so threw them out. Such a naughty daddy.

The apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

We can't go on together with suspicious minds..lol

I ended up taking returns back to the shopping centre because the bags were annoying me on the hallway but of course I purchased more stuff so I'm leaving them in the boot and pretending it never happened.
    Anyway, I had an altercation on the journey home , I was coming off a slip road on to a main road, there was a truck outside me and it seemed to be matching my speed ( I was waiting for him to move on so I could pull out), anyway as I was on a part of the road that leads to another slip road I speeded up and passed it on the inside, pulled out way ahead and nothing else around so very safely...he started blowing the horn ,I had the window down and he kept it pressed for ages. I looked in the mirror and he moved into the slip road, I genuinely don't think I did anything wrong, I hadn't indicated but neither did he, now I'm anxious that he's going to throw up a dashcam clip . FFS its annoying me now.

TLDR, I should have stayed home with Tedo today.

Daddy Frost is BOLD too