Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friendship

• 06-06-2020 5:21pm

I've been having a think about the people in my life and what constitutes a friend. I am in the camp of quality over quantity and prefer a few close friends to a large group of acquaintances. A lot have gone from my life down through the years and I wonder about that. I don't just mean growing apart but actual stuff happening and one or both of us realising that this isn't a friendship we want.
    Someone close to me recently made the good point that not everyone wants or is able for long term attachment. I think I have definitely experienced this dynamic.

For me what makes a friend is a person who is loyal, who is kind, has a sense of humour and can have a laugh, who will listen and is reliable.
    That's what I offer so I expect the same back.
    Tell me great contributors of AH what do you look for in a friendship? Are you content with a fellow shooter of the breeze or do you want your intellect challenged? A yes man/woman or an honest view?

Do you have any sad or funny friendship stories you'd like to share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭spoonerhead

Ive got a wide group of friends, it has its benefits. I lost contact with the last ‘Best friend’ when I was a teenager.

I completely agree with you about what makes friendship work, except maybe loyalty and reliability. Reason being it’s great to be loyal but friendship isn’t a relationship, you’ll befriend others over time and see less of your normal group. So don’t be too focused on loyalty or you might start seeing bad in situations which aren’t meant to be taken that way. Also I’m extremely reliable, would say that’s a great thing for having more acquaintance. But most take advantage of you then.

Someone who is sound/get on with and usually similar outlook/hobbies

Wouldnt have,nor really want a huge amount of close friends,

I could go weeks/months without talking to my closest friends,would never ring them,but if met them in the village/called to visit em,could easily pass 2-3 hours catching up,dont really get anything from phonecalls/msging people

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

For me what makes a friend is a person who is loyal, who is kind, has a sense of humour and can have a laugh, who will listen and is reliable.

I think of the list you have there the only ones which cannot be found in an acquaintance (or even in a conversation with a total stranger) are loyalty and reliability.

My view on friendship is that the real thing is something like having a surrogate family member. A person where there are mutual bonds of obligation, voluntarily taken on.

I think you're correct to identify loyalty and reliability as key elements underpinning this, and I am the sort of person who would rather have one boring / dour / slightly obnoxious friend that I can depend on than have ten funny / intelligent ones who are a fair-weather friends.

Basically, it's about trust and backing one another up. The "having fun together" bit is a bonus, if it happens.

There is an exception to the above, which is where I have a friend that I know is going to let me down from time to time, but there is such a weight of shared experiences behind us that it makes up for it. Rare, but it happens.

I guess I don't consider I have that many 'real' friends. I'm still fun at parties though, I swear :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've a few close mates I've known since childhood, so a loooong time. Loyalty would be a major part of it. Reliability another. Sense of humour and similar and complimentary intelligence too. I've never really lost friends as such, though I have found women to be long term unreliable in that capacity. Oft great friends, but far more likely to drift. Also generally more likely to stew over any slight imagined or not, more than men anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Ive got a wide group of friends, it has its benefits. I lost contact with the last ‘Best friend’ when I was a teenager.

I completely agree with you about what makes friendship work, except maybe loyalty and reliability. Reason being it’s great to be loyal but friendship isn’t a relationship, you’ll befriend others over time and see less of your normal group. So don’t be too focused on loyalty or you might start seeing bad in situations which aren’t meant to be taken that way. Also I’m extremely reliable, would say that’s a great thing for having more acquaintance. But most take advantage of you then.

You make a great point about loyalty and my own expectation of it may be a reason why I am in this pensive mood regarding my friends.
    I suppose I see it as sticking by someone and not being shallow, not treating the friendship as a throwaway thing.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I've a few close mates I've known since childhood, so a loooong time. Loyalty would be a major part of it. Reliability another. Sense of humour and similar and complimentary intelligence too. I've never really lost friends as such, though I have found women to be long term unreliable in that capacity. Oft great friends, but far more likely to drift. Also generally more likely to stew over any slight imagined or not, more than men anyway.

My Male friends are so much "easier" than my female ones. They are just there. They don't drift. If they have an issue they say it and that's the end of it. They communicate in a more transparent way.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My Male friends are so much "easier" than my female ones. They are just there. They don't drift. If they have an issue they say it and that's the end of it. They communicate in a more transparent way.
    Actually my women mates down the years were straightforward too. Sometimes more than a few male mates. Though tbh I'd not be around anyone long if they weren't and a couple got dropped early on at the sniff of that nonsense.

It's the major gripe I've always had with romantic relationships. I've yet to not encounter it. Some way worse than others of course. What I have found interesting with women friends is that two in particular who never came out with that crap with me, their friend, were a complete nightmare for it with their actual boyfriends. I came to the broad conclusion that it was a control thing and a way of "testing" the romantic partner, something there was no need to do with me.

There's also a very different dynamic between opposite sex friends and same sex. And I mean actual friends, not one pining for something more type "friends"(usually the man). One woman mate I had who was very sound and supportive and great craic with me, could be a thundering wagon with her women mates(she was also one of the "high maintenance" types with boyfriends).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

My closest friends are the ones I made in school. I tend not to lose touch with close friends but it has happened sometimes. A lot more turnover with less close friends.

What messes with my head is getting friendly with someone who then drops you like a hot potato for little logical reason.

My closest friends are the ones I made in school. I tend not to lose touch with close friends but it has happened sometimes. A lot more turnover with less close friends.

What messes with my head is getting friendly with someone who then drops you like a hot potato for little logical reason.

I had a "friend" once who did this but gave a reason. Something weird like "we were never friends now go away". Wut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I don't over analyze friendship.

Are your friends important to you? How do you view them in your life?

I don't ask those questions. :o

I guess since you have asked me though i will analyze it.

I see friends as ways to socialize. And we have diff friends for diff things. I am open to be friends with anyone. I see people as new ways to see the world. I see friends as people i can nurture. I see friends as ways to do new things to learn new things. I see friends as ways to meet new people.

I don't have this set quota of time someone has to be willing to spend with me etc ...or this set criteria. Friendship is natural you don't have to set it up or plan it. People will leave when its right if you don't hold on to them. And if its right they will hold on to you.

A friend is someone you decide both of you would like to go and have adventures go and do things together. You can chat about things ..they give you interesting perspectives.

So i need sporty friends and nerdy friends if someone is both great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

I look for someone that's kind, loyal, reliable, funny and honest in a friend

someone that upon knowing your interests, tags you on Facebook/sends a text/email on things you might want to know. An example of this is a friend knowing I like things on sleep and dreams, and sending a message that a programme was on sleep that night (I hadn't a clue it was on)

It's taken me a few years cos of my Asperger's, but I have a few friends :)

I don't ask those questions. :o

You don't ask yourself if you do? Could you live a life without friendship? I'm just being curious is all.

Ah you expanded your post so discount the above :)

You don't ask yourself if you do? Could you live a life without friendship? I'm just being curious is all.

Ah you expanded your post so discount the above :)

Actually the whole lockdown things etc ...its kind of made me realize i could if i had to ..but no i would not like to and i don't think it would be healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Etc

Some years ago my "best friend" was going to be taken into custody for non payment of child maintenance, he needed a substantial amount of money at short notice and I lent it to him, never saw 95% of it again.

Given what he'd done I was naive giving it to him but I thought, because of our long friendship it would be fine.

Long story short, we're not friends anymore !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't have any friends now. Got rid of any so called friends that I had in school as soon as the LC was finished. I did make a small number of good friends in college, we had great times and we maintained those friendships for 10-15 years after graduation, sending emails very regularly and meeting up to play golf etc. I was conscious that some drift was occurring. Once they had children, the friendships basically ended within a couple of years, emails got less and less, efforts to maintain all seemed to be on my part and anytime I did get emails the main topic of conversation was their children. We were no longer "on the same wavelength". Maybe when their children are adults (long way to go) we'll start up again but I highly doubt it.

Actually thinking more on that: I'm an only child so in many ways I got to choose my brothers and sisters(with a smattering of cousins :D ). I just happen to call them friends. The saying "blood is thicker than water" today means familial bonds will always be the strongest, but another older interpretation is that the blood of "battle" shared is stronger than the bonds(water) of the womb. I'd go along with that. Certainly among most of my friends we'd be closer than their respective siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I find I'm very lucky with friends. But has you grow from school/work/relationships/ career changes and the different phases you have in life I seem to have amassed a vast amount of friends. But my closes friends are like family to me. Recently I was unwell and had to take the covid test, (thankfully.it was all clear) being a private person I kept it to myself. I had to inform the job. Within an hour I was only short of hiring a secretary. The fone hopped. I still don't know how it worked but I had friends from work, friends I hadden seen in the last few months, school friends from my teens, ringing me up to see how I was doing, I had a call from germany and another one from spain). I also know I've lost people too as friends, but if you lose them then there not really friends. With close friends you should be able to have arguments and then resolve your differences, because at the end of the day friends actually do look out for each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I've been having a think about the people in my life and what constitutes a friend. I am in the camp of quality over quantity and prefer a few close friends to a large group of acquaintances. A lot have gone from my life down through the years and I wonder about that. I don't just mean growing apart but actual stuff happening and one or both of us realising that this isn't a friendship we want.
    Someone close to me recently made the good point that not everyone wants or is able for long term attachment. I think I have definitely experienced this dynamic.

Tell me great contributors of AH what do you look for in a friendship? Are you content with a fellow shooter of the breeze or do you want your intellect challenged? A yes man/woman or an honest view?

I think I am a quality over quantity kinda person. I'm not in any mad WhatsApp groups with "the girls" and I don't have a regular Saturday night session with people, but I do have friends.

Many of my friends don't know each other. Some have never met. I am probably a different version of myself around different people, in terms of what I am comfortable of sharing with them or whatever, but generally I offer the same to all. I am loyal, trustworthy, generous with my time, I will listen, I am helpful, I can try problem solve with you... I can be funny, but also serious. I can be decent in a crisis.

In terms of "longevity"... I have one friend since I was a baby. There's a photo of the two of us at my first birthday party. We have drifted apart - this time it might be irreconcilable. She has met somebody new and no longer appears to have time for me. Unless of course she needs something ;)
    I have a friend I was in playschool with.
    I have a few friendly acquaintances from primary school. Not so many from secondary school. One or two from college...

I can probably count genuine friends on one hand. But I am happy with that. I'd rather have few decent friends than many half arsed friends.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I could go weeks/months without talking to my closest friends,would never ring them,but if met them in the village/called to visit em,could easily pass 2-3 hours catching up,dont really get anything from phonecalls/msging people

Not the same but your post reminded me of something similar that used to drive me mad with some friends in university years ago, I didn't get how they could be so friendly when you'd meet them but they'd make no more than the minimum of effort to actually be friends, the kind who'd never contact you unsolicited..

I still don't get it but I at least recognise it now and don't put any effort into those people from the beginning now, the thing is of course that it's grand when you live nearby and bump into each other every now and again but once you move away or live in a big city or whatever it doesn't work anymore and you lose touch with them very quickly once you get sick of being the one to always have to text first

Not the same but your post reminded me of something similar that used to drive me mad with some friends in university years ago, I didn't get how they could be so friendly when you'd meet them but they'd make no more than the minimum of effort to actually be friends, the kind who'd never contact you unsolicited..

I still don't get it but I at least recognise it now and don't put any effort into those people from the beginning now, the thing is of course that it's grand when you live nearby and bump into each other every now and again but once you move away or live in a big city or whatever it doesn't work anymore and you lose touch with them very quickly once you get sick of being the one to always have to text first

I could hide behind excuse of self confidence as it would be easy answer and i wouldnt be overloaded in that department anyway

But its just kinda more that my conversations just go better in person,like any msging/social media/phonecalls etc just appears disjointed/forced,while in person with people i click with,it just flows better

Like,between one thing or another,one of my best mates,only spoke maybe half dozen times over 4-5 years,no falling out etc,just way it is....while both of us,moved back and lived locally,and could meet up chat away for hours...no awkwardness

Hes living up country now,and if asked for a hand in morning,id have no hassle going up.and giving him a hand,(same with any mates),but if i fell out/got enough of someone,i wouldnt cross road to help em

(Sorry for long winded attempt at explaination!!!)

Edit:i do agree with your point in relation to putting in all effort,i got sick of that previously too with a larger group of friends,and realised it was all take,take,take.....so just stopped and would struggle to make conversation with em if met up nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Great thread,
    I can empathise with a lot of those storys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

I'd have different friends in different social circles, basically people I know through different interests. Like ILoveYourVibes, different friends for different things.

That said despite how I might like to hang out with my friends more, I don't have as deep a bond with them as I do with my siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Actually thinking more on that: I'm an only child so in many ways I got to choose my brothers and sisters(with a smattering of cousins :D ). I just happen to call them friends. The saying "blood is thicker than water" today means familial bonds will always be the strongest, but another older interpretation is that the blood of "battle" shared is stronger than the bonds(water) of the womb. I'd go along with that. Certainly among most of my friends we'd be closer than their respective siblings.

Seems a bit revisionist and a quick Google seems to have multiple versions and ideas about it , I like the sentiment I've always felt true friends were the family you picked for yourself.

I'm an only child too so can relate to this. The friends I have are very important to me. They are like family. I think that might be partly to do with my tendency to hold on even when it may not be good for me. The stakes are higher when you care deeply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭gifted

I had two very close friends in secondary school....we were always together....left school but still remained close...out every weekend and the like.....then they met a couple of women and suddenly they started going out as two couples and I was pushed out....that affected me very badly . ..to go from very close friends to nothing after a lot of years......to the extent that I don't get close to anyone ....48 years of age and my best friend is probably herself and my friend that I know the longest lives in the arsehole of kerry.....I can count on him and vice versa......so that's it 2 people.
    Sad really.

gifted wrote: »
    I had two very close friends in secondary school....we were always together....left school but still remained close...out every weekend and the like.....then they met a couple of women and suddenly they started going out as two couples and I was pushed out....that affected me very badly . ..to go from very close friends to nothing after a lot of years......to the extent that I don't get close to anyone ....48 years of age and my best friend is probably herself and my friend that I know the longest lives in the arsehole of kerry.....I can count on him and vice versa......so that's it 2 people.
    Sad really.

I don't think it's sad that you haven't more than two people in your life who you can count on gifted. I do think it's sad that your earlier experience caused you to put the shutters up, understandable of course.

Friendships are different to intimate relationships but at the core they are both relationships. After having a heart broken too many times we can close ourselves off to love. Friendships can be like that too.

What you describe is loss. The pain of losing people who you valued and that hurts and is sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

In recent months I have come to realise that a lot of people that I would have classed as friends are actually more like acquaintances. I tend to know and get on with a lot of people but it's all surface level. I've never made it into any WhatsApp groups or get invited to virtual parties. Last year I had a bit of an epiphany about this and looked through my phone to see when was the last time any one (outside of work / family) called me just for the chats. It's been a very very very long time.

A friend's wedding a couple of years back also made me realise that the people I thought I was friends with didn't share the same views on our friendship - I had no +1 on my invite (which was fine) but I was put at the older people table and not with the friends that we all did a hobby. Same happened at a previous wedding. So I pulled back a bit, I stop initiating calls / texts and it all dried up. Now I'm just lonely.

I’ve the Mrs and happy enough with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Sad really.

Better two solid friends than thirty OK friends, though.

I'm still very close friends with one guy I went to secondary school with though we rarely meet. After the first few seconds of any call or conversation, we automatically start slagging each other as if we last talked just yesterday. Same with the three or four remaining college friends, life goes on around us with work, family and life but we're still able to ignore the sometimes years between meeting and sometimes months between calls and have a chat and a bit of craic no matter what downsides we're dealing with at the time.

One plus with the lockdown that I've found is I'm taking more time to ring those people more often than I used to and am receiving calls from them more often as well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,502 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I've a few very close friends. It's weird. We never see each other save for a few times a year but when we do it's like nothing's changed.

I go to a few Meetups but to be honest, while they're fun forging meaningful connections seems to get harder and harder as one gets older. Plenty of friendly and fun people but getting beyond that initial hurdle is impossible. The other thing is that most people don't really listen any more. They just want to talk themselves.

Ultimately, it's quality over quantity for me which is part of the problem.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

wyrn wrote: »
    In recent months I have come to realise that a lot of people that I would have classed as friends are actually more like acquaintances. I tend to know and get on with a lot of people but it's all surface level. I've never made it into any WhatsApp groups or get invited to virtual parties. Last year I had a bit of an epiphany about this and looked through my phone to see when was the last time any one (outside of work / family) called me just for the chats. It's been a very very very long time.

A friend's wedding a couple of years back also made me realise that the people I thought I was friends with didn't share the same views on our friendship - I had no +1 on my invite (which was fine) but I was put at the older people table and not with the friends that we all did a hobby. Same happened at a previous wedding. So I pulled back a bit, I stop initiating calls / texts and it all dried up. Now I'm just lonely.

Your better off,with no friends than crappy friends

They'll just keep wreaking your head

Sad really.

That’s what happened with the main friend I had in my life. When he met his Mrs she wanted to go out with other couples so squeezed me out. Couldn’t blame her though really so I went quietly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

None couple of people I was close with let me down took advantage financially and emotionally draining people ain't no good. It'll be a very long time if 3ver I ever let anyone in again but sure forever alone does mean sweet freedom and that ain't not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I think whatsapp - facebook has made a mess of friendship.

It has been great to stay in touch - but as humans, we seem to have forgotten that you can not replace the real thing.

A whatsapp group chat is not real friendship - you need to hear the person, feel their response, their body language and tone.

Then - people forget that you actually need to meet up.

Then there was a period (not as bad now) - when you did meet up , there was playing with the phone , and people almost lost the skill to hold a conversation.

Perhaps covid has made us realize that physical presence was very underrated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,502 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Your better off,with no friends than crappy friends

They'll just keep wreaking your head

Completely forgot this. So much this.

I had one guy who was obsessed with getting me to go to every party he knew of and he'd abandon me immediately.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

PiaAj69.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I'm kind of dreading the end of the lockdown now as since it started my social interactions have become near non existent. It really has me questioning how few of the people in my life are actually friends, most are sometimes drinking buddies and colleagues.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

One thing I’ve noticed in my late thirties, early forties is strain starting to show on some friendships. People have kids and more responsibilities in work meaning it’s harder to keep the bonds going. But also some people don’t mature and are still acting like teenagers where I feel I’ve long moved out of that phase now. One particular friendship feels like it's very much done but it’s awkward because we both have so many mutual friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Mattdhg

Lovely thread, I agree with a lot of it, but one thing not yet mentioned is accountability.

A truly good friend will hold you accountable for your actions, or lack thereof. One of my best friends in particular is a hayms and usually needs a kick up the hole to get things moving in his life. He finally repaid the favor a few weeks back and gave me a harsh, 100% sugar free reality check and I am so grateful he did. Its great to have someone who can rip you to shreds without an ounce of meanness in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

I was engaged many years ago, her brother and I got on ok but were never really close.

Then she cheated on me and we broke up, he stood by me and helped me through what was a very messy and awful breakup. We became best mates and he's still my best mate 20+ years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Im very lucky with friends I have about half a dozen good friends that I can trust with anything and vice versa, between us we've been through deaths/suicides of family members/drug/drink/law/money problems over the years but we always were there for each other.
    Why I'm particularly lucky is I'm useless with visiting/calling or even answering calls or replying to messages a lot of the time as I'm not really arsed with smalltalk but it's never used against me and if I contact them it's never mentioned and we continue as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

I think whatsapp - facebook has made a mess of friendship.

It has been great to stay in touch - but as humans, we seem to have forgotten that you can not replace the real thing.

A whatsapp group chat is not real friendship - you need to hear the person, feel their response, their body language and tone.

Then - people forget that you actually need to meet up.

Then there was a period (not as bad now) - when you did meet up , there was playing with the phone , and people almost lost the skill to hold a conversation.

Perhaps covid has made us realize that physical presence was very underrated.
    I'd disagree, I hate meeting people unless it's specifically for a reason like go away for a weekend or to a football match etc.
    This thing of meeting up for a chat or go for a walk with a friend is of little interest unless they specifically want to talk about something. Otherwise I think the WhatsApp chats are great can pop in and out as I so wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

That’s what happened with the main friend I had in my life. When he met his Mrs she wanted to go out with other couples so squeezed me out. Couldn’t blame her though really so I went quietly.

In that situation which let my say I’m very familiar with btw, the friendship looses its spontaneity, it becomes an effort. Around 2 in the afternoon one Saturday I called my friend and said... “hey just noticed it’s United vs Spurs at 5, fancy the pub or my place and a few beers ?”... all I got...”well, sounds great, I better run it by herself”... this was a regular thing now, regardless of a yay or nay outcome, the passport to fun needs to be stamped and authorized but he calls me back...”do you mind if I leave it, got United vs Barca on Wednesday and it wouldn’t look good if I try and sneak out for that having been out Saturday too”..

Fûck me I’m thinking, he’s tiptoeing around his wife, because he wants to spend a couple of hours in the pub. There are 168 hours in the week, his missus is going to have a canary at the idea that he might want to spend 5 of those away with his 2 best friends for some r&r, or in his words ‘sneak out’... spending 2.98% of his week with 2 friends... madness... he’s not too popular in his family circle, his ever dwindling friendship circle and in his brothers words... “ffs the cleaner in his apartment sees him more then his family”...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

"If you have one true friend you have more than your share." - Thomas Fuller

I've been blessed with one of those. When it comes time to paint the ponies you wouldn't have to go looking for him.

Then there's the Old Man. Solid as a rock with unquestionable loyalty however there is always the father son dynamic so friends doesn't fit really. However, we can sit in a car for hours and not speak or if needs be have a full blown conversation with a glance.

First they came for the socialists...

Much like in an intimate relationship the one we have with our friends is dependent on mutual respect and understanding for each other. There will be differences around expectation, for example If someone requires a phone call every day and the other is a once a month person then that can be tricky. With communication however and openness then that can be resolved or at least talked about.

A bit of balance and a chat can do amazing things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭andrewbrowne

Didn't read through the thread but here's one

Have a few friends that I only know through the pub (bad start says you). But I like many who were drowning our sorrows during the recession, it wasnt like you could be choosy with who you met in the pub anyway so you had to go with whatever was there. Small community so everyone knows everyone but still each clique to their own. The recession left me without a clique, not that I was looking for one. Those were just the times and I was happy enough to go solo. Comfortable in my own skin and all that

I was regular visitor to the pub to put it mildly, had savings built up and came back to live with parents. You had to go with whomever was there pretty much. My school friends had solid lives smart with money and all that but same couldn't be said for me

Anyway i have these friends whom i only know through the pub as a consequence of this. Getting back on my feet now but cant shake them off at all. They never did anything bad to me but dont think they are of great benefit to me either

They haven't contributed to work, love life, housing or anything non pub related like that. It's pretty much all me on their side rather than the other way. That was ok during the recession when i was part of the pub furniture but not now. All of us in our 30's btw

But what takes the biscuit with me is the leader of the pack, a someone quiet fellow, who is always the one for organising things and the herd would follow (not a peep out of him atm for example).

I could meet the woman of my dreams on the street and when the dust would settle he would position himself to be head man for a lads weekend away or the wedding almost. Something along those lines then this group would follow.

Believe me with how bad things got during the lost decade these lads would see pretty much anything as a cause for celebration even though the pub is the only foundation for our relationship

Not overly losing sleep about it, it will take its natural course in the end but anyone else had experiences like this and finding it hard to shake off people like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

A friend will help you move. A good friend will help you move a body.

I have two good friends. Lots of acquaintances too, like former classmates and colleagues who I get along very well with. The kind of people who make school/college/work more enjoyable than it ought to be. I think those kind of friendships are important too.

Truth be told, I'm probably not a very good friend myself. I have a tendency to 'drop off the face of the earth' every now and then. I regularly get texts enquiring if I'm 'still alive'. I don't know, I just sort of retreat into myself for long periods of time. I think I'd have more friends if that wasn't the case. I'd probably also not be pushing 40 and still single. I'm lucky in that the friends I've managed to hold onto seem to accept the fact that I go all 'Greta Garbo' from time to time, and are neither too pushy nor inclined to say "well, fuck him then".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭batman75

As we are social beings friendship is a core part of living. I would compartmentalise friends into close and acquaintances. Close friends would number 3/4 and the rest are acquaintances. It's important to have friends to socialise with, to share good times and bad with and to not feel alone.

One thing the pandemic has reinforced for me is the importance of human contact beyond the functional. In terms of your question op well

1. They have to be trust worthy
    2. A good listener
    3. Respectful
    4. Kind