Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

So Snake Martin And his incompetent government have a comprehensive plan to open schools next month.

That’s the big story yesterday and today before that super plan is revealed the snake is covering his back by stating that families risk schools not opening by going abroad.

What a hypocrite the man is and he only back from Brussels with no quarantine necessary.

Next it will be we will have to go backwards to phase two if the bold people of Ireland don’t wear masks in shops even though the has been no requirement to do so for previous 4 months when covid was in peak community spread

So from now on till the end of this extended pandemic anything that goes wrong will leave the government an easy out - Blame the people

So we’re going to continue on the same path as usual with government in this country.

Pay me a huge salary and lovely pension but don’t ask me to make a decision on anything because none of them will.

No accountability for anything and no ones ever to blame. It’s a win win cartel.

We’ve 5 people here in this country in ICU and around 20 cases per day average out of a population of 4.9million people and this sh1t continues on and on.

Hopefully the sheeple wake up to reality of the situation and get their own lives back and stop listening to the agenda from government.

It’s a sad country we’ve created.

We’ll be known as the Hiding Irish after this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The pubs should provide a microwave and tell people to bring their own food if bothered !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Arghus wrote: »
    Not really.

The argument is based around getting control of the outbreak of an infectious and dangerous virus and trying to protect public health.

However the "pro opening up" argument is indeed largely based around "open it up, sure isn't it grand."

These types of posts are just nonsense and ignorance. Look at our data ffs for the last 2 months. You are just trolling with this ****e. Jesus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

These types of posts are just nonsense and ignorance. Look at our data ffs for the last 2 months. You are just trolling with this ****e. Jesus christ.

Are you new here or something?

There has been people - the most prominent posters on this thread - saying "open up it'll be grand" for months. Fintan has been banging that drum for a very long time, even back when we were regularly getting hundreds of cases every day. It's not shyte, it's actually the argument people were making.

There is definitely a lot of ignorance and trolling around here, but it's not coming from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

So Snake Martin And his incompetent government have a comprehensive plan to open schools next month.

That’s the big story yesterday and today before that super plan is revealed the snake is covering his back by stating that families risk schools not opening by going abroad.

What a hypocrite the man is and he only back from Brussels with no quarantine necessary.

Next it will be we will have to go backwards to phase two if the bold people of Ireland don’t wear masks in shops even though the has been no requirement to do so for previous 4 months when covid was in peak community spread

So from now on till the end of this extended pandemic anything that goes wrong will leave the government an easy out - Blame the people

So we’re going to continue on the same path as usual with government in this country.

Pay me a huge salary and lovely pension but don’t ask me to make a decision on anything because none of them will.

No accountability for anything and no ones ever to blame. It’s a win win cartel.

We’ve 5 people here in this country in ICU and around 20 cases per day average out of a population of 4.9million people and this sh1t continues on and on.

Hopefully the sheeple wake up to reality of the situation and get their own lives back and stop listening to the agenda from government.

It’s a sad country we’ve created.

We’ll be known as the Hiding Irish after this

All mankind history shows that is highly unlikely. Usually "sheeple" choose to punish whose who "stoped listening to the agenda from government".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,010 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I believe the thinking is "Open up and try to salvage the thousands of jobs, childrens education and maybe even prevent thousands of suicide and cancer related deaths later down the line".

It isn't going to be "grand" either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

I believe the thinking is "Open up and try to salvage the thousands of jobs, childrens education and maybe even prevent thousands of suicide and cancer related deaths later down the line".

Point of no return was passed at the beginning of May. Unfortunately there is no way out of "lockdown" with happy end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,645 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I can see where opening pubs would get some back to work, but how it would help with childrens education, and prevent thousands of deaths due to cancer or suicide, not so much.
    With suicide it might even be counterproductive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Are you new here or something?

There has been people - the most prominent posters on this thread - saying "open up it'll be grand" for months.

I have no recollection of anyone saying anything like above.

Its a straw man approach to the discussion.

The most rational and pragmatic posters are making the point that the restrictions are not an effective tool to combat Covid.

Sweden is proof of that. Same death rate as Ireland (population adjusted for the over 65's).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Grand job with most using local takeaway menus. fair play to them.

yea i see a few doing it i know my local has got the blessing of local Gardai once they keep there hours right no lock ins or too late drinking no messing too much, they said they will call in and have a look once its up and runnning , if they delay august 10th , all pubs will just do this. My local would have maybe 8 max all at the same time from mon-friday. saturday and sunday maybe 20 max anyone time so very easy to work that.should have opened in june by right and did the token food but they tried to do things right and didnt serve them any use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

we have literally a best case scenario and many pubs are still closed? what do they want now? no new cases before re-opening? :rolleyes:

I have no recollection of anyone saying anything like above.

Its a straw man approach to the discussion.

The most rational and pragmatic posters are making the point that the restrictions are not an effective tool to combat Covid.

Sweden is proof of that. Same death rate as Ireland (population adjusted for the over 65's).

Selective memory there.

You have been arguing for months Fintan that lockdown wasn't needed.

Don't pretend otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Selective memory there.

You have been arguing for months Fintan that lockdown wasn't needed Fintan.

Don't pretend otherwise.

An entire lockdown was never needed. We should have shielded the elderly and vulnerable by pulling out all the stops to have made it safe for them. Instead they locked everyone indoors and murdered nursing home residents (elderly and vulnerable)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

dalyboy wrote: »
    An entire lockdown was never needed. We should have shielded the elderly and vulnerable by pulling out all the stops to have made it safe for them. Instead they locked everyone indoors and murdered nursing home residents (elderly and vulnerable)

Murdered nursing home residents? That`s an extreme comment. And everyone was not "locked indoors"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

charlie14 wrote: »
    I can see where opening pubs would get some back to work, but how it would help with childrens education, and prevent thousands of deaths due to cancer or suicide, not so much.
    With suicide it might even be counterproductive.
    Do you think it costs the government nothing to educate children, treat cancer patients and other medical needs? Do you not undertand the 300,000 currently out of work pay taxes in order to fund these services? Bitching about people wanting pubs open is far great than a lad wanting a few pints.

This is basic economics.

Murdered nursing home residents? That`s an extreme comment. And everyone was not "locked indoors"

They Knowingly moved infected Patients into nursing homes. Murder or manslaughter . Take your pick.

Everything was closed during the lockdowns and people shamed for unnecessary outside activity so people were effectively locked indoors

Thought I'd give an update to what's going on at arrivals in Dublin airport in regards to quarantine.

Arrived back from the UK last night, there was about 150 on the flight, a lot of older people on board which surprised me a little. Everyone was wearing masks on the plane, a lot incorrectly (not covering nose). Into immigration where there was panic as there's loads of passenger locator forms but not one pen provided. This pissed off many people, it was 10:30pm and people were tired, wanted to just get home, etc. Thankfully the older folk had a few pens and kindly shared them.

Form asks for name, address, DOB, point of travel, nature of travel and you sign it. Handed to immigration guy who checks passport, he didn't even glance at the form see if the matched.

I'd be shocked if 10% of that flight will quarantine.

Mask wearing became compulsory in shops in England on Friday, most shops had security guards at the door enforcing this. Massive difference in footfall from Thursday compared to Friday. Went into a supermarket yesterday, it was almost empty, wearing a mask inside a stuffy shop for any period of time can be an uncomfortable experience for some. We are all different.

Massive sacrifice for little gain is what I took from the whole experience.

Sounds like a piece of cake, but it's not as easy as it sounds I'm afraid.

Yeah sure. It was much easier to shut down the entire country .. wha ?

Yes, it's actually quite a complex problem and not as easy as people suggest.

The elderly - over 65's let's say - and the vulnerable are a sizable amount of the population, locking them away indefinitely - because you'll be letting the virus circulate freely for an indeterminate and unpredictable amount of time - is no slam dunk.

And what about the people who live with them, work with them, care for them etc, etc? If you're letting the virus circulate freely these people will also have to cocoon to some extent for an indefinite period of time. Because the virus is wildly infectious.

It's complex, not simple or straightforward.

Applying a large scale lockdown of limited duration to suppress the virus and then easing it carefully is actually a more practical option. There's a reason why it was used.

And these were decisions that had to be made quickly by governments, with limited information and with potentially grave consequences if incorrect.

All too easy to be wise after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,645 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Lundstram wrote: »
    Do you think it costs the government nothing to educate children, treat cancer patients and other medical needs? Do you not undertand the 300,000 currently out of work pay taxes in order to fund these services? Bitching about people wanting pubs open is far great than a lad wanting a few pints.

This is basic economics.

How much do you reckon it will cost if this virus is allowed run free through the country, overwhelming the health service to the extent there would be no cancer treatment or other medical needs served ?

What should be basic understanding is that we spent 57 Billion bailing out banks and that money did not save a single life, rather than people whinging because it is difficult for them to get a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Schools to fully reopen next month according to MM.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

charlie14 wrote: »
    How much do you reckon it will cost if this virus is allowed run free through the country, overwhelming the health service to the extent there would be no cancer treatment or other medical needs served ?

What should be basic understanding is that we spent 57 Billion bailing out banks and that money did not save a single life, rather than people whinging because it is difficult for them to get a pint.
    If the government hadn't bailed out the banks, three quarters of the country would have emigrated and caused a depression. Again basic economics.

"da gubberment bailed ou the bankerz hurr durr"

We as nation were no where near ever overwhelming the HSE. Fear mongering tabloid rubbish. They were the quietest they've ever been because the medical card holding hypochondriacs were afraid to sit in A&E for 7 hours with a sore thumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Lundstram wrote: »
    If the government hadn't bailed out the banks, three quarters of the country would have emigrated and caused a depression. Again basic economics.

"da gubberment bailed ou the bankerz hurr durr"

We as nation were no where near ever overwhelming the HSE. Fear mongering tabloid rubbish. They were the quietest they've ever been because the medical card holding hypochondriacs were afraid to sit in A&E for 7 hours with a sore thumb.

Do you have any theory why we weren't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Good to see familiar faces here still, even Arghus contributes after repeatedly telling us he wont post here. :)

Anyone been to St Green shopping center lately? Well i have. Fk me. 10 shops on the 1st floor closed permanently. there are about 25 shops in total on the 1st floor. The desperation in some places, some shops I saw today around city center was incredibly painful. Sales assistants wearing masks and begging with their eyes for someone to go into their empty shop.

Queues seem to be a never ending phenomenon. Some retail staff take great pleasure in coordinating these queues... you'd think get a special bonus if everybody in the queue is lined up precisely 2 metres apart from each other and not a centimetre closer! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Queues seem to be a never ending phenomenon. Some retail staff take great pleasure in coordinating these queues... you'd think get a special bonus if everybody in the queue is lined up precisely 2 metres apart from each other and not a centimetre closer! :rolleyes:

It's called 'social distancing'. Maybe you've heard of it?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

I've heard today that in France, Macron wants to introduce a 5bn plan of supporting younger workers throughout all of this, idea is below

Company hires a person, if a person is under a certain age their full wages for the first year will be covered by the govt, if they are a bit older then only 50% will be covered by the govt and 50% by the company. 2nd year follows similar pattern. After all is done and dusted - person has 2 years of experience, has contributed to a company, and has spent govt's subsidized wages in France (naturally work and spend where you are based)

Is our 2k wages for first year and 1k for 2nd year apprentice program the equivalent of this? If yes, we are fk ed and as always have dumb ineffective ideas coming out of the govt. If not - is there something similar in Ireland?

Penfailed wrote: »
    It's called 'social distancing'. Maybe you've heard of it?

You dont understand, 1cm is the variance both ways. 2 metres 1 cm apart - u ll be told to "move in a bit closer". Speechless really. But, does perhaps explain why so few shoppers are out there nowadays.

I have a feeling you may just enjoy that job, I dont know why :rolleyes:

The Government vilifying families for their own incompetence, and trying to get society to blame to arrogant folk who work hard and would like a holiday...

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/families-risk-schools-not-opening-if-they-choose-to-go-abroad-39396094.html

We've reached a new low as a nation (which is difficult to imagine).

Is this shi*e going on in any other EU country?

Nonsense. Especially given that our govt has made 4,000 calls to 60,000 Dublin airport arrivals over last few weeks, shows how seriously they treat the whole thing. I can envisage M Martin coming out soon with the "if you see tourists, ask them (while maintaining social distancing) if they've self isolated for 14 days, if they say no then inform the Gardai". Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

pjohnson wrote: »
    Do you have any theory why we weren't?

Low numbers of the population in the critical age group of over 65s. Also low population density.

The overwhelmed health services were seen in a region in northern Italy with 10m citizens in an area the size of Munster.

2 million citizens are over the age of 65 in Sweden, bizzare how they didn't get overwhelmed, but you're theory is Ireland's schools shut and citizens restricted to within 2km of their home's for month's, while crippling the economy aided the health service in Ireland