Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today Show with Sarah McInerney

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    That accent is like poison being poured into my ears. I can just picture Joe sitting there in his tracksuit with the white socks pulled up over the ankles, the €200 airmax, the Burbuddy hat, the Soverdidden rings, the greasy hair, sunken eyes.
    Sarah is a breath of fresh air to the show. Great interviewer, and easy to listen to.

All based on their accents...textbook stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Kalimah

This is Joe Doyle’s website:

https://joedoyle.ie/

Looking for Individual lending investors and dictating the terms.

Had a quick look at that website - God. It could do with a bit of editing to make a more professional impression. If I was an investor I wouldn't go near it based on what I see there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

mgn wrote: »
    Thought that at the start myself, but turns out he is on the ball. about time o' broin got put back in his box.

SF don't want people to be able to sell their property on the open market and don't want people to be allowed let their family members move in. Next they'll be making rent optional. As Joe was pointing out, most of landlords have one property for rent as a part of their pension plans and SF want to punish these people for making prudent financial decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

I'm a bit puzzled why you liked my post, Gwynplaine...it was meant as a criticism of attitudes and perceptions towards individuals based solely on their accent. Oh well

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

O’Broin is some spoofer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Cole wrote: »
    Sarah could do her best combative grilling act all morning with that Joe fella...going nowhere. Kind of entertaining

Well able for her and o'Broin, need a few more like him, but probably wont be invited back because he has no problem calling a spade a spade.

Incorrect advice by Eoghan Corry regarding EHIC covering you medically in all places Ryanair visit. If you are taken by ambulance in a Spanish resort you are most often brought to the local private hospital not covered by the EHIC, and need insurance for that. Don’t know if the government advisory would affect that, but insurance companies do try to slide out of everything they can. It’s different travelling to major European cities where the public ambulance will ordinarily bring you to a public hospital. It’s something people get caught out with all the time, and you can end up seriously ill in a private hospital with a major bill to pay if you need immediate treatment and it’s unsafe to transfer you to a public one.

Klonker wrote: »
    SF don't want people to be able to sell their property on the open market and don't want people to be allowed let their family members move in. Next they'll be making rent optional. As Joe was pointing out, most of landlords have one property for rent as a part of their pension plans and SF want to punish these people for making prudent financial decisions.

Cant stand that posh boy O'Broin playing the working class image, always out with line with ''I Rent'' ''I live in a rented property'' i'm sure he could afford to buy a place with his TDs salary not like someone on the minimum wage.

But i suppose its that image that keeps him in a job because i can't think of another one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Cole wrote: »
    I'm a bit puzzled why you liked my post, Gwynplaine...it was meant as a criticism of attitudes and perceptions towards individuals based solely on their accent. Oh well

It was a bit of joke. Seems people cant say anything anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Cant stand that posh boy O'Broin playing the working class image, always out with line with ''I Rent'' ''I live in a rented property'' i'm sure he could afford to buy a place with his TDs salary not like someone on the minimum wage.

But i suppose its that image that keeps him in a job because i can't think of another one.

Presumably he has asked his parents to cut him out of their will. It wouldn't really be appropriate for committed "socialists" like his curent partner and him to benefit from someone else's financial acumen.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,070 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Lot of fat cats, literally and metaphorically amongst the ‘socialist’ classes

MDH
    Pat Rabbitte
    Eamon Gilmore
    Ruairi Quinn
    Joe Higgins
    Fergus Finlay

And many many more.......check it out.

Lot of fat cats, literally and metaphorically amongst the ‘socialist’ classes

MDH
    Pat Rabbitte
    Eamon Gilmore
    Ruairi Quinn
    Joe Higgins
    Fergus Finlay

And many many more.......check it out.

And no problem taking a fat pensions either while still working on some board or another.

Presumably he has asked his parents to cut him out of their will. It wouldn't really be appropriate for committed "socialists" like his curent partner and him to benefit from someone else's financial acumen.

Imagine that pair moving in beside you,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Imagine that pair moving in beside you,

The neighbours from hell! The stench of virtue, mingling with the pong from Eoin's fish cooking would be utterly overpowering!

I wonder whether Ibrahim Halawa and his sisters regularly drop in to the Boylan/O'Broin gaff for a cup of tea and a chat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

The neighbours from hell! The stench of virtue, mingling with the pong from Eoin's fish cooking would be utterly overpowering!

I wonder whether Ibrahim Halawa and his sisters regularly drop in to the Boylan/O'Broin gaff for a cup of tea and a chat.
    :D Ha, I'd forgotten all about him! The media seem to have done so as well, now that they've served the purpose of securing a free house for him. No doubt they are holding him in reserve though for when they need to tell us what a shower of islamophobes we all are.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

:D Ha, I'd forgotten all about him! The media seem to have done so as well, now that they've served the purpose of securing a free house for him. No doubt they are holding him in reserve though for when they need to tell us what a shower of islamophobes we all are.

I could be mistaken but I'm sure I heard him on telling of his "Plight" to Ray Darcy or someone similar lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I thought many were telling us that Ibrahim was going to be constantly in the news recruiting people to the cause.

Guess that didn't happen after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭bossdrum

sligojoek wrote: »
    I could be mistaken but I'm sure I heard him on telling of his "Plight" to Ray Darcy or someone similar lately.

Yes he was on Ray D'Arcy last week. I think he said he works at night and goes to college during the day.
    He changed courses to do Human rights law. No doubt some quango will employ him eventually.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

bossdrum wrote: »
    Yes he was on Ray D'Arcy last week. I think he said he works at night and goes to college during the day.
    He changed courses to do Human rights law. No doubt some quango will employ him eventually.

He was on Twitter last week trying to claim that his treatment during his period in prison was because of racism. He was essentially trying to link himself to the BLM stuff.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭golondrinas

TomTomTim wrote: »
    He was on Twitter last week trying to claim that his treatment during his period in prison was because of racism. He was essentially trying to link himself to the BLM stuff.

How can one be racist among ones own. Maybe its because everyone is racist now.??

• Registered Users Posts: 26,924 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Well well Smug Simon Coveney got slapped around by Sarah this morning, he got quite tetchy at times when Sarah moved on quickly from the news of Ireland winning a seat on the absurd UN security Council. I was watching on news now, if looks could kill he was not at all happy at Sarah's dogged persuit of answers re the lack of clarity for the proposed (equally absurd coalition), at one stage raising his eyes in frustration.

As an aside just as it was getting interest, RTE switch to live mass from Kerry, WTF is that about, I thought we'd moved on from the angelus and this stuff a long time ago.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Mav11

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Well well Smug Simon Coveney got slapped around by Sarah this morning, he got quite tetchy at times when Sarah moved on quickly from the news of Ireland winning a seat on the absurd UN security Council. I was watching on news now, if looks could kill he was not at all happy at Sarah's dogged persuit of answers re the lack of clarity for the proposed (equally absurd coalition), at one stage raising his eyes in frustration.

As an aside just as it was getting interest, RTE switch to live mass from Kerry, WTF is that about, I thought we'd moved on from the angelus and this stuff a long time ago.

I thought that it was she who got a bit ratty!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,924 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Mav11 wrote: »

She did but who would blame her, Coveney seemed only intent on listening to his own voice. He attempted yet again to claim it was only SF raising eyebrows about this proposed coalition and she rightly was having none of it. Notwithstanding infighting already evident internally on all concerned parties, there's numerous outside and unbiased entities predicting a train wreck.

Marvelous stuff, I think she's brought quite a bit of fresh air to what had been a predictably dull show.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Mav11 wrote: »

I thought that too, she slipped into the old habits that defined her brief career at Newstalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭serfboard

It's a pity that Sarah doesn't apply her Vincent Brown style of questioning to spoofers other than politicians who appear on her show.

This morning, she let Anne Graham of the NTA off the hook twice when asking about masks not being mandatory on public transport.

What should you do, says Sarah, if you are the only one wearing a mask on a bus and evryone else is not. Who do you complain to?

Well, says Anne, the passengers should "start a conversation" about wearing masks in an attempt to "encourage" their use. Sarah took that without followup, but went back to it again after people texted in.

And Anne Graham just repeated her bullsh1t. And Sarah let it go again.

Instead of saying this:

"Here you go Anne, here's a scenario. I'm a vulnerable older person in my 70s on the bus, and on come a group of teenage young lads, none of whom are wearing masks. I try and "start a conversation" and they tell me to get lost and start laughing among themselves.

What do I do then, Anne?"

Dempo1 wrote: »
    She did but who would blame her, Coveney seemed only intent on listening to his own voice. He attempted yet again to claim it was only SF raising eyebrows about this proposed coalition and she rightly was having none of it. Notwithstanding infighting already evident internally on all concerned parties, there's numerous outside and unbiased entities predicting a train wreck.

Marvelous stuff, I think she's brought quite a bit of fresh air to what had been a predictably dull show.

He wasn’t going to be interrupted and bet down by hectoring from Sarah.

Fair play to him.

In fairness to her she has to ask questions, but this Vincent Browne scattergun flashbulb type of hectoring was rightly batted down by Coveney and she was put in her box

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Mav11

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I thought that too, she slipped into the old habits that defined her brief career at Newstalk.

If she carries on like that, won't be long before there is some reluctance from guests, to be interviewed by her.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,769 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

padd b1975 wrote: »

She gets lost in anger - Seam O'Rourke had the skill to let them make the fool of themselves and not be the point.

He would often end with - "ok , sure we will see how that pans out , or works " - or ask a question in a softer way but make a point". The slow death.

Sarah is all anger too early - everything shuts down so quick.

Nice little vanilla interview by Sarah on MLMCD on at the moment.

The usual..... name checking all round and ‘ gentle ‘ questioning .

Big difference from the tone of the interview with Meehawl this am.

Cat is out of the bag here.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

An unfortunate retired Yank lady (who claims she is tech-savvy) was taken by the most basic scam for €26,000...you really couldn't make it up. Offered $500k and couldn't resist. Whatever happened to common sense e.g. phone a friend, solicitor etc. Greed leads to disaster once again. If something looks to be good to be true it always is.