Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A/R TT....Round 2 - 1 mile TT, Saturday May 30th *** please read post #1 ***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Lazare wrote: »
    It seems to my untrained and inexperienced eye that it's all about not killing yourself in the first 400.

Found it tough to get a feel for goal pace on the last session.

Especially on fresh legs. Would a pace alert be a help, a hindrance, frowned upon, immoral, cheating, some of above?

Hi

Do you not have an average pace function on your watch. Always worked for me always told me I started to fast and always told me I was bombed at the end :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭py

Especially on fresh legs. Would a pace alert be a help, a hindrance, frowned upon, immoral, cheating, some of above?
    You could print this out and stick it to your forearm as a reminder... maybe yer watch will allow you to download it to it.
    df0393a38393b057d99d8783d7e06969.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Lazare

lol, so just leggit yeah? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Lambay island

lol, so just leggit yeah? :)
    I tried that about a month ago. I was almost in tears in the fetal position after 800 metres :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

I tried that about a month ago. I was almost in tears in the fetal position after 800 metres :)

I am so full of dread right now:(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

py wrote: »
    You could print this out and stick it to your forearm as a reminder... maybe yer watch will allow you to download it to it.
    df0393a38393b057d99d8783d7e06969.jpg

:pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

The mile TT will be different gravy for most of us; what could possibly go wrong 🀣.

The course condition needs to include an area at the finish to assume the foetal position!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

Can i check something with the judge & jury please, I've 2 routes selected but i'm not sure about the elevation, Garmin doesn't seem to agree with Strava :confused: They're both point to point. Are either of these acceptable?

Route 1: Garmin +3.5m / -4.5m. Strava +1ft.

Route 2: Garmin +5.8m / -4.8m. Strava -23ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

If you're not in tears at the halfway point then you're doing it wrong.

Statler and Waldorf will be meeting on Zoom later to get their story straight.

ariana` wrote: »
    Can i check something with the judge & jury please, I've 2 routes selected but i'm not sure about the elevation, Garmin doesn't seem to agree with Strava :confused: They're both point to point. Are either of these acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Statler and Waldorf will be meeting on Zoom later to get their story straight.

Statler & Waldorf will forever be Ferris B and FBOT01. These two are more Lloyd and Harry!!

Haha.....Lloyd and Harry fits well.
    OOnegative wrote: »
    Statler & Waldorf will forever be Ferris B and FBOT01. These two are more Lloyd and Harry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

ariana` wrote: »

IMO

Don't overthink it, if it looks fair and you're not extracting the proverbial, go for whichever one suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭crisco10

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    IMO

Don't overthink it, if it looks fair and you're not extracting the proverbial, go for whichever one suits.

I liked the sense check a few pages ago, if you can honestly say from a gradient perspective that you wouldn't care which direction you ran it (i.e. A to B or B to A) then it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hi

Do you not have an average pace function on your watch. Always worked for me always told me I started to fast and always told me I was bombed at the end :)

TbL

No avg pace. Use Actual Heart rate as your only field. Your goal is to hit your max heart rate, ideally after the first 800 :D If you feel pain and look at it and its not max with 400 to go, you are not working hard enough :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

+1 to above.

Also I’d favour the Garmin elevation stats. I like strava but not its penchant for reprocessing data unnecessarily.

Not that it’s my call, but most of us are using Garmin devices for distance/time so that’s what I’ll be using to measure course elevation too. If you’re really pernicketty you could get a third opinion from google earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

No avg pace. Use Actual Heart rate as your only field. Your goal is to hit your max heart rate, ideally after the first 800 :D If you feel pain and look at it and its not max with 400 to go, you are not working hard enough :eek::D

If you have the wherewithal to look at your watch at all you’re not working hard enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    IMO

crisco10 wrote: »
    I liked the sense check a few pages ago, if you can honestly say from a gradient perspective that you wouldn't care which direction you ran it (i.e. A to B or B to A) then it's fine.

Thanks.

Good point about the sense test - i missed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I'm going to jump in without consulting Lloyd here. In all honesty it's just a matter of don't take the piss. Wouldn't worry ariana.

EXACTLY

I was wondering who these imposters/pretenders were!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Here's the latest table. We'll update it in a few days. If there are any new entries or changes that anyone wants to make simply put a post on the thread and we will add/amend as required.

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|AG|Adjusted|Sandbag Factor
    career move|F38|6:30||||
    py|M37|6:30||||
    shotgunmcos|M42|5:40||||
    Crisco10|M34|5:30||||
    DeepBlue|M49|6:16||||
    coogy|M47|5:30||||
    Dubh G|M37|4:59||||
    tbukela|M37|6:05||||
    MisterJinx|M43|5:30||||
    TFBubendorfer|M50|5:59||||
    KSU|M31|4:59||||
    MrMacPhisto|M35|5:01||||
    Wubble Wubble|M47|5:59||||
    Pherekydes|M60|9:00||||
    woody1|M44|5:50||||
    IvoryTower|M37|4:48||||
    mister paul|M44|5:45||||
    Murph_D|M59|5:54||||
    Zebra3|M44|6:48||||
    Itziger|M54|5:30||||
    Skyblue46|M53|5:42||||
    Mr. Guappa|M37|6:16||||
    diego_b|M38|6:30||||
    OOnegative|M42|5:20||||
    token56|M32|5:45||||
    jamule|M45|4:59||||
    Swashbuckler|M38|5:15||||
    66_lad|M40|4:58||||
    ReeReeG|F34|5:59||||
    Laineyfrecks|F42|6:05||||
    MY BAD|M38|4:59||||
    EnPassant|M59|6:25||||
    quick feet|M38|5:15||||
    spc78|M42|4:56||||
    ariana|F43|6:45||||
    MrSkinny|M48|6:15||||
    yido1882|M34|5:50||||
    Lazare|M44|5:50||||
    MisterDrak|M53|5:55||||
    gucci|M37|5:29||||
    dna_leri|M53|5:20||||
    justdoit|M39|5:52||||
    Djemba Djemba|M36|5:30||||
    Lambay island|M38|4:59||||
    Scotindublin|M42|5:29||||
    AuldManKing|M47|5:05||||
    jackc101|M37|7:00||||
    slow_runner|M45|5:47||||
    Ecoenergy|M45|5:45||||
    Kurt Godel|M49|5:55||||
    JemsD|F37|8:00||||
    Duanington|M40|5:59||||
    blackbird86|F37|7:59||||
    Diablo Verde|M39|5:09||||
    Omeceron|M39|6:30||||
    ClashCityRocker|M35|4:59||||
    lenny palmer|M47|7:00||||
    pansophelia|F40|7:31||||
    nop98|M47|6:00||||
    the descent|M|5:10||||
    Comic book guy|M40|5:30||||
    Strawberry Swan|F40|7:50||||
    simonw|M33|6:15||||
    Ferris B|M52|5:43||||
    passinginterest|M37|7:15||||
    snailsong|M50|5:45|||||
    ThebitterLemon|M53|6:40|||||
    Tipptatlers|M30|6:15|||||
    Krusty_Clown|M45|5:15|||||
    BeepBeep67|M53|5:15|||||
    Alorra|M37|6:30|||||
    Sharkey47|M54|6:10||||
    Treviso|M40|5:05||||
    outforarun|M47|5:39||||
    laura_ac3|F35|7:44||||
    Marty Bird|M40|5:25|||
    Sheep1978|M41|5:29||||
    Classic21|M41|5:35||||
    Hannibal_Smith|F43|10:20||||
    ultrapercy|M45|4:59||||
    LastFridayNight|M47|6:10||||
    Hedgehoggy|F37|6:12||||
    eyrie|F36|6:45||||
    Sussex18|F40|6:40||||
    internet_user|M25|6:50||||
    healy1835|M39|5:15||||
    ByrneDCMBrian|M|6:50||||
    Damo2k9|M25|5:15||||
    annapr|F55|8:29||||
    Singer|M|5:59||||
    lulublue22|F44|8:30||||
    Younganne|F48|7:59||||
    ahnowbrowncow|M32|4:59||||
    CR 7|M31|5:30||||
    Crazy Fred|M44|5:15||||
    sdevine89|M30|7:29||||
    Speedy44|M54|5:40||||
    DelDonut83|M36|7:00||||

If your name is on this list please make sure you are a member of the Strava group and post your Boards name on it in the Posts section. Thanks all...2 more entries would be neat smile.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

More to do with previous TT - do people have a best performance strategy for 5km pacing for 18/19 min range - slightly positive or negative split or even? Have found my fastest have included a way too fast 1st km but been able to cling on but have also had bad results from that strategy!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Go on so stick me in. If nothing else I will help make up the numbers. After 5 weeks off it won't be pretty but will aim for 05:42 and see how we go. Age Cat is M50.

While I am hear can I request that you either delist Duanington or get him to give you his mile target rather than his tempo pace :p

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Go on so stick me in. If nothing else I will help make up the numbers. After 5 weeks off it won't be pretty but will aim for 05:42 and see how we go. Age Cat is M50.

While I am hear can I request that you either delist Duanington or get him to give you his mile target rather than his tempo pace :p

Oh there are a few more than him... there's even one predicted time in there that is over 10 seconds slower than the last mile of a few recent longer TTs :pac::pac:

Jesus Lazarus himself!!!

When I heard that TbL was back from the Dead I couldn't resist putting down the bowls and popping in to say Hello.....also had to see DD prediction with my own eyes to believe it. Can't believe you let him away with that sh!te;)

To be fair I did call him on it, but the powers that be running this TT don’t like others having fun, all about the rules here!!!!!

Hey M

Exactly

Saw Double D’s time and I had a good auld laugh!

He was doing that into a gale up the hills in Howth ffs!

Distortion of Trumpesque proportions :)

TbL

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Here's the latest table. We'll update it in a few days. If there are any new entries or changes that anyone wants to make simply put a post on the thread and we will add/amend as required.

If your name is on this list please make sure you are a member of the Strava group and post your Boards name on it in the Posts section. Thanks all...2 more entries would be neat smile.png

If I’m reading that table right there’s a dozen lads that are running the kilometer.

Serious clipping folks

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

DD has revised his target to 5.20.

Cool. I'll put that in next time I update the table. :)

In a week :), what’ll he run in 2 weeks time

TbL

See he’s got himself a PA too :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

See he’s got himself a PA too :)

TbL

Pretty sure organisers sent an email notifying him of the amendment ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Not 100% sure I can do this as I have a club mile time trial the week before, but I'll put my name in anyway. I was going to one up Ivorytower by one second but that ain't happening. Put me down for 4.53 please, M32.

KSU wrote: »
    Pretty sure organisers sent an email notifying him of the amendment ;)

Healy1835 and Sussex18 should be checking their inboxes too :pac::pac:

pconn062 wrote: »
    Not 100% sure I can do this as I have a club mile time trial the week before, but I'll put my name in anyway. I was going to one up Ivorytower by one second but that ain't happening. Put me down for 4.53 please, M32.

Jazus Tea Cosy you’re still motoring well!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Jazus Tea Cosy you’re still motoring well!!

TbL

Ha, thanks! At the minute it's nothing but numbers on a page. Good to see you back! 6.40?! You know it's a mile, not a kilometre?! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭healy1835

Healy1835 and Sussex18 should be checking their inboxes too :pac::pac:

Fine. 5:16 then.

pconn062 wrote: »
    Ha, thanks! At the minute it's nothing but numbers on a page. Good to see you back! 6.40?! You know it's a mile, not a kilometre?! :)

:) I’m doing a test km TT tomorrow hoping to come close to 6.40!

TbL

:) I’m doing a test km TT tomorrow hoping to come close to 6.40!

TbL

ENJOY!!!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I'll be sorry afterwards cause the body is in sh*te after the 5K but stick me down please. According to Runners World, based on my 5k time I should do 8.44, doubtful but...

Point to point is okay as long as it's not net downhill, is that right? Category F49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Gonna make 100 participants on this one. Fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Nearly missed this. Stick me down for 5:35 please - 5 minutes of pain should be straightforward enough.....finding the best course is going to consume me for days! (M47)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Gonna make 100 participants on this one. Fantastic stuff.

And some people thought this would be the difficult second album after the chart topping debut!
    Well I know one person who thought so anyways!!

And some people thought this would be the difficult second album after the chart topping debut!
    Well I know one person who thought so anyways!!

Cheek......

Always knew the second album would be a hit, just didn’t agree with some of the material being put into it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Treviso

So by luck, the place where I am going to run this 1 mile TT has conveniently marked out the 1 mile start, finish and 400/800/1200 on the path in paint. Elevation of +2. Just need a nice tailwind on the day and I'm all set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Lazare

Treviso wrote: »
    So by luck, the place where I am going to run this 1 mile TT has conveniently marked out the 1 mile start, finish and 400/800/1200 on the path in paint. Elevation of +2. Just need a nice tailwind on the day and I'm all set

That's weird, I noticed markings like that on my route yesterday too.

You're not in Celbridge by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Treviso

That's weird, I noticed markings like that on my route yesterday too.

You're not in Celbridge by any chance?

No, in Cork. One of the local runners decided to mark the route himself with the prospect of running tracks not opening for the foreseeable future