Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Had enough of this lockdown am I the only person feeling like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

eagle eye wrote: »
    So basically no information but I've read articles saying it's much worse for cancer patients who contract covid-19. Here is an excerpt from one such article. I can't put in the link due to this app not allowing me to. As you will see the site is mentioned if you wish to read more.

That bears no resemblance to your statement that people with cancer would die from Covid-19 and die quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,086 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

polesheep wrote:
    That bears no resemblance to your statement that people with cancer would die from Covid-19 and die quickly.
    So because it's not every cancer patient dying it's unimportant?

You stated: "If somebody with cancer contracts covid-19 they are likely dead and in a very short timeframe."

Can you back that up? I say that you can't as it is patently untrue, but go ahead and try instead of trying to dance around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

polesheep wrote: »
    I think it's impossible to say at this juncture. What do you think?

I think it will be significantly fewer than the numbers saved by the restrictions (especially considering the long term impacts to the health of those who dont die from COVID-19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,086 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

polesheep wrote:
    You stated: "If somebody with cancer contracts covid-19 they are likely dead and in a very short timeframe."
    Can you back that up? I say that you can't as it is patently untrue, but go ahead and try instead of trying to dance around it.
    I said likely, not certainly. I then posted an article about how much worse a cancer patient's covid-19 is likely to be.

All you have done is talk with no proof of anything and try to dismiss what I'm saying.
    I won't be bothering responding to you anymore unless you come up with stats to back your argument.
    It's like talking to a teenager..

I said likely, not certainly. I then posted an article about how much worse a cancer patient's covid-19 is likely to be.

All you have done is talk with no proof of anything and try to dismiss what I'm saying.
    I won't be bothering responding to you anymore unless you come up with stats to back your argument.
    It's like talking to a teenager..

Why do so many people find it difficult to simply say that they got something wrong and then move on? And you still haven't proven what you claimed... because you can't.

GreeBo wrote: »
    I think it will be significantly fewer than the numbers saved by the restrictions (especially considering the long term impacts to the health of those who dont die from COVID-19)

I disagree, I believe, over time, it will be the opposite. Studies are showing that the long-term impacts to the health of those that don't die are impacting those that were already in poor health and possibly weren't going to live long-term anyway, so I don't think that's a significant issue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Lads, cancer referrals are down, more people are going to die because of restrictions and by some mental gymnastics which I like to call either 'selfishness' or 'I got mine, **** you', this means it's grand for me to break lock down and go off to visit friends and relatives and take a trip to the summer house down the south west. And by doing this I'm also preventing slavery.

I can pretty much guarantee the people thinking like this aren't dying because they are too afraid to get a cancer referral and are just bored selfish dicks. Reminder: You aren't that important and a few days in the house so that this is over quicker for everyone, not just you, is a small price to pay for saving some lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Lads, cancer referrals are down, more people are going to die because of restrictions and by some mental gymnastics which I like to call either 'selfishness' or 'I got mine, **** you', this means it's grand for me to break lock down and go off to visit friends and relatives and take a trip to the summer house down the south west. And by doing this I'm also preventing slavery.

I can pretty much guarantee the people thinking like this aren't dying because they are too afraid to get a cancer referral and are just bored selfish dicks. Reminder: You aren't that important and a few days in the house so that this is over quicker for everyone, not just you, is a small price to pay for saving some lives.

I think we've heard enough of that brain-dead hyperbole, thanks.

I've often noticed that a great many of the dullest posters on here, are moderators of one sort or another.

Could be a coincidence.

polesheep wrote: »
    I disagree, I believe, over time, it will be the opposite. Studies are showing that the long-term impacts to the health of those that don't die are impacting those that were already in poor health and possibly weren't going to live long-term anyway, so I don't think that's a significant issue.

Well it has a very long way to go to beat the numbers that have already died from COVID-19, nevermind the numbers that have been saved.

40K over 2 years of the greatest depression the US has ever seen versus 75K in 3 months.
    A LONG way to go.

Well it has a very long way to go to beat the numbers that have already died from COVID-19, nevermind the numbers that have been saved.

40K over 2 years of the greatest depression the US has ever seen versus 75K in 3 months.
    A LONG way to go.

I suppose we'll have to wait and see, but I do think it's important that they drill down into the stats and find out one way or the other. It will be very good to know should this or something similar come around again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

some stats on how people are feeling;
    https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2020/0508/1137264-social-impact-of-covid-19/

a lot on here will dismiss these things as irrelevant waffle but this stuff has consequences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

a lot on here will dismiss these things as irrelevant waffle but this stuff has consequences

More terrible reading. I've decided to give up the restrictions.

I wouldnt dismiss it as waffle, I would just question its usefulness...
    This household survey was carried out between Thursday 23rd April and Friday 1st May and was based on a sample of 4,033 persons 18 years and over. The survey utilised an online electronic questionnaire and telephone interviewing to produce a final achieved sample size of 1,362 individuals. The results presented in this publication have been weighted to best reflect the population. Due to time and resource constraints, there were limitations on the sample size and selection methodology. Consequently, caution must be exercised when making inferences to the entire population from these results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Based on what exactly?
    40,000 people took their own lives in the US during the worst two years of the great depression.

76,000 and counting have died of COVID 19 in ~3 months.

Last I checked I was in Ireland on an Irish site talking about the Irish lockdown. I’ve no idea why the US was brought into it. Have you?

Because they have stats around one of the largest recessions that the world has ever seen.

Do you think Irish people are more or less likely to kill themselves than an American during a recession?

Perhaps you have some facts to back up your argument?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Sure according to another poster it's only a few days in the house what's the problem.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I think a lot of people are putting on a brave face and inside are still in shock
    I wake up some mornings and think “ did this really happen or was it a dream “
    People will be traumatised by how it happened and people will be traumatised by death in the family . Many will not have grieved properly at funerals and frontline staff will need counselling .
    It was all new for the first week or two with funny whatsapp messages and Zoom quizes etc
    People are weary now and tired and feeling exhausted trying to stay upbeat
    I sometimes stand in a queue at Dunnes , mask on , hands sanitized etc and think what the actual F happened .
    We will all remember this with afeeling of loss of control and a supressed fear
    We can do it but it will have consequences for many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

While I'm sure some are having issues, I did some of those surveys and the questions were quite loaded to produce a result showing people struggling and anxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I think a lot of people are putting on a brave face and inside are still in shock
    I wake up some mornings and think “ did this really happen or was it a dream “
    People will be traumatised by how it happened and people will be traumatised by death in the family . Many will not have grieved properly at funerals and frontline staff will need counselling .
    It was all new for the first week or two with funny whatsapp messages and Zoom quizes etc
    People are weary now and tired and feeling exhausted trying to stay upbeat
    I sometimes stand in a queue at Dunnes , mask on , hands sanitized etc and think what the actual F happened .
    We will all remember this with afeeling of loss of control and a supressed fear
    We can do it but it will have consequences for many

Yeah it's like when you have a bit of a reality check and wtf moments once you start thinking about things. I do find it hard to wrap my head around it, I try not to think about the future too much.

Anxiety and fear come now and again, not for the virus itself but for the consequences of the measures taken to fight it.

How did we get here, how is this really happening. All the normal things we took for granted are no more it's like everything is paused, except we're a week into May already :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Because they have stats around one of the largest recessions that the world has ever seen.

Do you think Irish people are more or less likely to kill themselves than an American during a recession?

Perhaps you have some facts to back up your argument?

Alriiigghht then, good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    While I'm sure some are having issues, I did some of those surveys and the questions were quite loaded to produce a result showing people struggling and anxious.

does the Central Statistics Office have a history of asking loaded questions to produce results of anxiety?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

There is a very amusing group on Facebook “end the lockdown Ireland”
    While I can understand the frustration the group is full of “covid is a hoax”, anti-globalist, anti-5G, anti-EU, anti-Vaccine ‘patriots’.
    So less a group than a ramshackle assortment of fringe conspiracy nuts.

They are trying to organise a car protest around the Four Courts on Tuesday.
    Several are “doing it for their kids” and think the Nazi Garda will try to stop them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

The government went full r on the lockdown. They should never have restricted movement. Just tell people to keep apart and wash hand more often,if you want to wear a mask fire away.

Most of the deaths are from and age bracket and or people with illness.

Good luck Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 tltamdg

Thanks to both of you for saying what I am feeling and thinking. People who don't see why it's so difficult for some people are lacking in empathy and imagination on this issue. Mental ill health alone will probably end up causing more deaths. I do my very best to follow the rules but the unbiased scientific info is not presented in the media and by the government. Only one side ever gets presented, as usual. And really, it's not "sides". If occasionally the "other side" is presented, it is the extreme conspiracy side, not the calm, scientific side that is out there. The costs of lockdowns and similar restrictions on normal, necessary human activities create more harm than help. I want to protect others as much as anyone, but the protection is not very effective no matter how extreme you go with lockdowns. Are we willing to allow governments to keep information from us and feed us non-stop fear and social pressure calling us selfish and not concerned for the safety of others? There is no such thing as complete safety. Even if you choose to lie in bed for the rest of your life to avoid all danger, there are costs. And those costs are high indeed, especially on those who are most vulnerable. The elderly are not the only vulnerable ones, and the main problem they face is loneliness, which can kill anyone. I and some others I know would rather die of COVID than loneliness. You gotta die some time, and I would rather not die alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

and now the 5th of march not sure what year
    Fair play to the protesters in netherlands hope we see more around europe and uk goverments literally getting away with murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Presumably you have "unbiased scientific evidence" on loneliness causing 3k deaths per year?
    And I'm sorry you're feeling crap, but claiming lockdowns are ineffective is just untrue, and yes, there are people dying alone in hospitals around the country, from covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I've noticed a huge sense of hopelessness in a few threads lately on boards. Even the vaccine thread which was normally full of knowledgeable people giving reasonably optimistic views on 2021 has been invaded by pessimism. Personally I've lost all hope. I now believe it will be a few years before,what I consider normal, will return. As someone who works in aviation I'm now counting down the days till the inevitable closure of our facility and joining every other soul who has lost their job due to this pandemic/ government restrictions, whatever you think yourself.
    Actually now that I'm thinking about it, I don't care anymore. Life is for the living. And this hopeless situation with no end in sight is not living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ficheall wrote: »
    Presumably you have "unbiased scientific evidence" on loneliness causing 3k deaths per year?
    And I'm sorry you're feeling crap, but claiming lockdowns are ineffective is just untrue, and yes, there are people dying alone in hospitals around the country, from covid.
    They are not but they are brutally blunt and not consequence free in other ways. What's with exploiting the dying to make a point? Surely you can prove a point without that line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

is_that_so wrote: »
    They are not but they are brutally blunt and not consequence free in other ways. What's with exploiting the dying to make a point? Surely you can prove a point without that line?
    Eh? I was responding to the poster exactly in kind.