Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Party wish list.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

A bottle buyback scheme
    a permit for a private company to build a nuclear power plant
    heavy penalties for fly tipping
    a fine system (that can be taken at source from welfare) and / or custodial sentence for the mass dumping on halting sites
    as above for the constant roadside dumping issues in Dublin 1, ballyfermot, coolock etc...
    a levy on cheap imported frozen food sold in the likes of Iceland / lidl etc.. which always has plastic packaging and detracts from locally produced alternatives
    A provision tax on properties within 2km of a luas or dart line to help fund further infrastructure.

these measures would be effective.

Good luck with that getting past the electorate in a country who had enormous miscalculations with the costs of a children's hospital, and can't get their measurements right for a printer to be set up. A fupping nuclear power plant doesn't even bear thinking about FFS.

Don't see it being in any future manifestos myself Eric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

As they say the best time to do something was in the past, the second best time to do something is right now.
    Your comment on the 7% carbon reduction reminded of the Chinese tale, 'The best time to plant a tree, is 20 years ago, the 2nd best time, is now.' Yes, we should have started before, but we didn't so............

;) Chinese me arse.
    It’s mad when a Healy-Rae states that if Eamon Ryan ever got to be Taoiseach he’d have to find somewhere else to live.

A good reason to vote green then.

The attitude on this thread by the usual conservative suspects speaks of a massive failure of imagination. The Greens may or may not be part of the next government but the push is only in one direction now. Get used to it as much bigger forces than Eamon Ryan will dictate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

McMurphy wrote: »
    Good luck with that getting past the electorate in a country who had enormous miscalculations with the costs of a children's hospital, and can't get their measurements right for a printer to be set up. A fupping nuclear power plant doesn't even bear thinking about FFS.

Don't see it being in any future manifestos myself Eric.

Those were government projects paid for out of the public purse, Im talking about a completely private operation built and run. Letting the civil service run a nuclear power plant would end up making Chernobyl look like a gorse fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The Greens will be the whopping boys of FFG, it's the only logical reason anyone would want them in government.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Those were government projects paid for out of the public purse, Im talking about a completely private operation built and run. Letting the civil service run a nuclear power plant would end up making Chernobyl look like a gorse fire.

Completely free of government interference, fair enough. The Chernobyl v gorse fire gave me a chuckle though. :D

McMurphy wrote: »
    Completely free of government interference, fair enough. The Chernobyl v gorse fire gave me a chuckle though. :D

I wouldn't even let a politician cut a ribbon or turn a sod of turf on the site, thats how much we'd have to keep them out of it to stop it becoming a complete disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

KevRossi wrote: »
    Then there's the more achieveable stuff...

2. Massive development in renewable energy infrastructure including off-shore wind, solar power and an upgrade of national grid.

That would be all well and good until somebody, usually of a green bent, decides to protest against a wind farm. :rolleyes:
    11. Development of a national land use plan.

That would be grand if it wasn't for the fact that Greens are really anti farming, well unless it is some eejit with a few goats, a scythe and a load of cabbages in the garden and in their head.

Those green cabbages don't realise that agriculture is one of our few truly indigenous industries.

If they want to develop a land use plan for urban areas then fine, but the fookers will want to shove everyone into a village with a couple of cars.
    Wasn't that another of his brain farts recently?
    12. At least 20 per cent of transport spending on cycling and walking, and two-thirds of remaining budget on public transport.

Why not a drive to electrify all public transport in cities for instance in say 5 years?
    Why not a drive to give option to commuters from outside Dublin ?

I don’t understand what are people’s objections to things such as renewable energy and improving cycling infrastructure? Surely in a way, these things would be pro-business in that renewable energy isn’t subject to price increases. If one country goes to war with another and having good cycling infrastructure potentially makes people fitter, which can in turn increase worker productivity.

Then again, I suppose some of the rabid right-wingers on here would oppose anything progressive just for the sake of it.

I am pro renewable energy, but if anyone wanted to build in Ireland what is down in the South West of Andalucia in Spain (absolutely huge solar plant and hundreds if not thousands of wind turbines dotted around the place) the Greens would throw a hissy fit themselves.
    I’m a fairly hardline green so I am hoping Eamon and co can get plenty green concessions out of FFG. We need to reduce our Carbon emissions dramatically.

maybe if the Greens STFU with some of their mad ideas we would drastically reduce our carbon emissions.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Fair play to Eamon, he knows he won't get many wishes fulfilled but may as well throw them all out there. Slowing down the economy, better distribution of wealth worldwide, and less mindless consumerism may fill some of you with dread, but if we want to save this Earth we have to change our ways.

Boll**ks to this shyte about distribution of wealth worldwide.
    Ordinary people's taxes are highjacked to make someone else feel good.
    Remember Bono the sanctimonious pr**k. :mad:

I am sick and tried of the Irish taxpayers coughing up for some other country, that more often than not are wasting money on weapons to fight their neighbours.

For example we gave aid to Uganda a while back whilst at the same time they were investing in old fighter jets.
    The world is always being asked to give aid to Ethiopia which seems to be on the brink of famine every couple of years, but nobody bothers asking why the fook they are investing millions in military to keep their little long running argument with Eritrea going or why they have allowed their population almost treble since 1985.

It is like how someone I work with raises money for something in India.
    Yes Irish people are asked to cough up for Indians, a country which has hundreds of billionaires (one of whom is theoretically Ireland's richest man) and which has one of the most expensive homes in the world sited next to one of their slums.
    It’s mad when a Healy-Rae states that if Eamon Ryan ever got to be Taoiseach he’d have to find somewhere else to live.

Once again the Healy-Raes are right.
    Ryan as Taoiseach would be lunacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,185 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

The answer to the climate change issues are not more taxes. The answer is to change people attitudes and behaviours. However, this can be achieved when options exist. Taxing the crap out of petrol & diesel is fine, once a viable alternative exists to replace it. Taxing it for the sake of taxing it makes no sense.

Higher carbon taxes make sense.

Especially when combined with lower taxes on labour/working.

Now, the environmental side of the GP want higher carbon taxes, and I agree with that.

I think most parties agree with higher carbon taxes.

Where the difference is - FG want lower taxes on labour, which I would agree with.

But the socialist aspect of the GP don't want to cut other taxes to compensate.

That is why I always feel a dilemma if I vote GP - I agree with all the env/transport stuff, ok, but I don't agree with the socialist/bogus asylum-seekers/trans crazy stuff.

A provision tax on properties within 2km of a luas or dart line to help fund further infrastructure.

This happens already, for new builds.

T
    Take building standards as an example. We have a housing crises and this is partly due to the cost of adhering to the building standards that exist today. If its now mandated every new or renovated house has to be to grade A+ for example (or passive), this is likely to make all housing more expensive. This in turn makes the housing problem more difficult to solve.

Maybe the answer is something like - all unit <100sqm have one rule, <150sqm have another rule and >150sqm have a different rule.

Higher building regs add a few % to cost of construction, yes.

But the main issue is land/site costs.

Which the GP want to reduce.

Geuze wrote: »
    This happens already, for new builds.

I mean an ongoing, reoccurring one, that even is charged to social tenants and is household income based. If you want to live near public transport, you've to pay for it.

As house values are higher closer to DART and Luas lines, then the LPT is higher.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,929 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

these measures would be effective.

Surely people like you in the middle of nowhere should be paying more LPT than someone in a city where services are cheaper to provide to?

with FG and now potentially the greens at the helm, Ireland is going to become disproportionately more Dublin service centric than it was before. People living rurally working in Dublin already pay a disproportionate amount more tax for services they can't access.

Also the lack of investment in our public transport systems countrywide is really mind boggling given we're a rich European country. Like it's quicker to drive to Galway or Cork than to take the train. We currently have no public transport projects actually underway, just bickering about the Metrolink and f*cking Bus lanes. Yet we seem to be able to get motorways and road bridges built all the time. It's depressing.

with FG and now potentially the greens at the helm, Ireland is going to become disproportionately more Dublin service centric than it was before. People living rurally working in Dublin already pay a disproportionate amount more tax for services they can't access.

If I'm right I believe you commute to work in Dublin by car. Why don't you live in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

Also the lack of investment in our public transport systems countrywide is really mind boggling given we're a rich European country. Like it's quicker to drive to Galway or Cork than to drive. We currently have no public transport projects actually underway, just bickering about the Metrolink and f*cking Bus lanes. Yet we seem to be able to get motorways and road bridges built all the time. It's depressing.

Our public transport really isnt that bad given population distribution and that we have amongst the lowest use of apartments in Europe. Roads are much cheaper to build than trains. Countries like Germany banned buses that competed with trains which put enormous costs on German conusmers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

The Greens are playing the game, history thought them how to. I cannot say I hold it against them. Just today we have the usual game on games where FF are mumbling about doing a deal with SF. Which to my mind will never happen. FF and FG together do not want a minority government as it would face a non-stop barrage of no-confidence motions from you know who. Which I might add, such motions are just stroppy acts and serve no worthwhile purpose only to toss stones across the floor.

Dan.

Our public transport really isnt that bad given population distribution and that we have amongst the lowest use of apartments in Europe. Roads are much cheaper to build than trains.

Yes one of the reasons it's hard to provide public transport to rural Ireland is because of the amount of one offs and people not living in towns and villages. It's a planning clusterf*ck to begin with.

If I'm right I believe you commute to work in Dublin by car. Why don't you live in Dublin?

Finding a property with space for my 3x cars + guests and enough space around me to not receive noise complaints from neighbours, not be overlooked by anybody or have issues with vandalism, junk mail etc... in Dublin thats within an acceptable rental price and doesn't inflate my insurance cost to an unaffordable level is almost impossible.

during non peak hours I can get to the city centre in 25 minutes, my only downside is the trek can take up to an hour and a half during rush hour.

Finding a property with space for my 3x cars + guests and enough space around me to not receive noise complaints from neighbours, not be overlooked by anybody or have issues with vandalism, junk mail etc... in Dublin thats within an acceptable rental price and doesn't inflate my insurance cost to an unaffordable level is almost impossible.

during non peak hours I can get to the city centre in 25 minutes, my only downside is the trek can take up to an hour and a half during rush hour.

Right, well you can't have your cake and eat it. If you want the services of a city you'd probably have to live in a much smaller place, and maybe not own 3 cars. My gaf was relatively cheap but it was always a rough enough area, quieter now, but only 15 min walk from a dart station. You have to take the good with the bad, dems the breaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't think you have read the National Development Plan or the Green agenda. Limerick, Cork, Galway and Waterford are prioritised in the NDP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

The Greens are playing the game, history thought them how to.

I'm inclined to agree. They got badly burnt in their last coalition with FF and rightly so as the lure of power drew them in. The ordinary Green voters weren't wholly in favour either, so that turned out bad. Trevor Sargent was one of the few to come out with reputation intact.

As for now, I don't know. The Greens have become a 'comfortable middle class' urban party as far as I can see. I'd agree with many of their policies but they need to far be far less zealous and learn to hasten slowly - bring people with them. Their current list might please some but would alienate many.

Right, well you can't have your cake and eat it. If you want the services of a city you'd probably have to live in a much smaller place, and maybe not own 3 cars. My gaf was relatively cheap but it was always a rough enough area, quieter now, but only 15 min walk from a dart station. You have to take the good with the bad, dems the breaks.

But I don't , most people living in one offs don't , when I say I don't want to pay for Dublin services its not that I want them, its that I don't want to pay for them.

But Dublin and Cork prop up the rest of the country. How do you think the motorways you drive your 3 cars on are built?

https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/property-mortgages/property-tax-from-our-cities-still-props-up-rest-of-country-38443184.html

• Registered Users Posts: 20,928 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

the hilarious part of leaving our fossil fuels in the ground is when the sh1t hits the fan and a larger militarized country simply takes it on us

But Dublin and Cork prop up the rest of the country. How do you think the motorways you drive your 3 cars on are built?

https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/property-mortgages/property-tax-from-our-cities-still-props-up-rest-of-country-38443184.html

yet again, I understand that infrastructure provision is needed, everyone does. I'm already paying to prop up Dublin bus, Irish rail etc.. thats grand. The greens extra taxation and plans only benefit cities, mostly Dublin but are expected to be paid for by everyone. Their plan hurts rural Ireland to benefit a niche of Dublin dwellers who cycle. Thats unacceptable

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

Yes one of the reasons it's hard to provide public transport to rural Ireland is because of the amount of one offs and people not living in towns and villages. It's a planning clusterf*ck to begin with.

This low density pattern would be true even if we had no one offs.

Their plan hurts rural Ireland to benefit a niche of Dublin dwellers who cycle. Thats unacceptable

Cycle lanes cost f*ck all in the grand scheme of things, and I can only think of one or two proper cycle lanes in Dublin, most are just a line of paint. And all walks of life cycle to work in Dublin, as much as you think it's a middle class niche. Lots of people, many of them immigrants, are cycling to work in low paid jobs, public transport isn't cheap in Dublin and cycling is virtually free.
    I never drive and still pay for roads through general taxation, I'm not complaining. The more cycle infrastructure we have in Dublin the more will use it, and it'll lead to a cleaner city and healthier population. You can't expect all the tax you pay to only fund things that suit yourself.