Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you texted your ex?

• 15-04-2020 11:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭

I thought this was just a funny instagram meme at first. And then I started hearing from random guys I've had everything from a relationship to a "thing" with in the past. All along the lines of "hey, how are you? Thought I'd check in to see how you are during these strange times..." It's been three so far.

So like, what's the dealio with this? None of them were what we'd call acrimonious breakups, each grand enough lads, but it would just quite simply never occur to me to get in touch with any of these fellas, leave the past where it belongs in the past like. I could be in solitary confinement with just one number in my phone and it could be one of them and I'd still be like, nah you're grand thanks.

Anyone else heard from their ex / exes since lockdown? What's the craic with this? Boredom to the point of scaling through your dating history to see who you can have a pop at?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

The last EX I had was in 1990 so I say she could be a fat oul heffer at this stage, like me, so why do you think I'd want to contact her?

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

uch wrote: »
    The last EX I had was in 1990 so I say she could be a fat oul heffer at this stage, like me, so why do you think I'd want to contact her?

I'm sure she'd be relieved to know you won't be bothering her again. I wonder why she dumped you?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,636 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Probably just bored

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I'm sure she'd be relieved to know you won't be bothering her again. I wonder why she dumped you?

Haha touché, and I hear from my ex everyday, sharing a child has that effect!

Bursting for their hole. Willing to venture over the 2km.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Sardonicat wrote: »

Ohhh Matron you assume a lot

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Heckler

bitofabind wrote: »
    I thought this was just a funny instagram meme at first. And then I started hearing from random guys I've had everything from a relationship to a "thing" with in the past. All along the lines of "hey, how are you? Thought I'd check in to see how you are during these strange times..." It's been three so far.

So like, what's the dealio with this? None of them were what we'd call acrimonious breakups, each grand enough lads, but it would just quite simply never occur to me to get in touch with any of these fellas, leave the past where it belongs in the past like. I could be in solitary confinement with just one number in my phone and it could be one of them and I'd still be like, nah you're grand thanks.

Anyone else heard from their ex / exes since lockdown? What's the craic with this? Boredom to the point of scaling through your dating history to see who you can have a pop at?

My ex-wife lives in Spain now so yeah although we haven't spoken in a long time I emailed her and now we're in fairly regular touch keeping each other updated. Might be my ex for whatever reasons, doesn't mean I don't care about and worry about her. Always have and always will. Especially now.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Augeo wrote: »

Getting nostalgic for just one more go on your old one-eyed aristocrat.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,369 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yes, I've checked back in. It's a time to see if people are doing alright on a basic decent human being level and to let bygones be bygones.

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Three checked in. Two were looking to get laid, one was just checking in cause he's a nice man.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭hynesie08

People are terrified their first shag after lockdown is gonna be terrible, so you reach out to an ex. If it's decent, no harm done, if its rubbish, blame the bitter ex....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭She is d.i.s.c.o

I've only one ex and that was around 15/16 years ago. It was a short enough relationship. He messaged me about 3 years after we split and I didnt reply. Not out of any kind of resentment but there wasnt any point in replying.

One of his pals use to get the same bus as me. That was sort of awkward, having to pretend we didnt know each other :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

Heckler wrote: »
    My ex-wife lives in Spain now so yeah although we haven't spoken in a long time I emailed her and now we're in fairly regular touch keeping each other updated. Might be my ex for whatever reasons, doesn't mean I don't care about and worry about her. Always have and always will. Especially now.

That's very kind and decent. Good on ya.

I haven't texted any exes, and don't intend on doing so. The past is a foreign country, possess the tiniest bit of resolve to leave it there. Catching up with friends and acquaintances from the present however. Perhaps a little more than usual, however it's good to have a natter now and then with traditional social outlets cut off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Why would anyone do this, it seems a little desperate to me, are people that much in need of a pat on the head and a little ego bump

• Registered Users Posts: 16,534 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Like Bertie, the past is a foreign country, and one that doesn't merit a second trip.

I'm indifferent to my exes and wouldn't like to hear from them again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Why would anyone do this

Alcohol

• Registered Users Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Nope. Don't know her number. Mind, she did leave me in 1989, so probably not much point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

I don’t text psychopaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh Jesus no, talk about a sleeping dragon... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

All my Exes live in Texas.
    And there is no phone coverage there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've txtd one but she's in the same boat as myself, married with a baby. Would speak to her on and off anyway.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I avoid these scenarios by making sure my break-ups are as harrowing as possible.

Bang and the dirt is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

No. I don't have numbers and not a lot of exes so.....There is someone I'm still very fond of and would like to text, but his level of disinterest is such that I'd only be embarrassing myself so, no. No texting and no-one texting me..

Yes, but we're still friendly and I'd have texted a few friends to make sure they were getting on okay. Particularly those living far from their families.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

My ex fiancée probably texts me more than my new girlfriend does. 3 year relationship where she was unfaithful twice. Despite blocking her numbers (same phone number since 1997 so I’m reluctant to change it and why should I?)

Despite numerous complaints made, An Garda Síochána only care if it’s a man harassing a woman in this country. Great sexist little country where you are a 3rd class citizen for health, housing(home owner thankfully), discrimination etc because you have a penis.

I just block block block these days and my phone is always on silent anyway. Takes her longer these days to accumulate SIM cards. Narcolepsy and excessive sleep helps too. And there’s the reason why she was unfaithful.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,536 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    Three checked in. Two were looking to get laid, one was just checking in cause he's a nice man.

All three were looking to get laid !

I have checked in with my most recent ex. We broke up before Christmas. I don't have numbers for the rest of them and I haven't heard anything and don't expect to.

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

cj maxx wrote: »
    All three were looking to get laid !

The last one wasn't, we've been on very good terms in the decade since we broke up! His fiancee checked in on me, too!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,180 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Augeo wrote: »

This :pac:
    100% this.

It's when someone gets horny and thinks well I was shagging them before. Maybe if I threw them a sly message I might be on for a ride.