Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭bolgbui41

Got a letter Monday telling me a hospital appointment for tomorrow morning is now going to be via telephone rather than in person. Which would be fine, except I'm supposed to be seeing if I can get a cast off my arm and I'm fairly sure I need to be seen in person for that. Rang the hospital Monday; no answer all day. Got through in yesterday afternoon and the receptionist told me that I must have been sent the letter in error and that she'd check and get back to me by close of day. No call back. Rang again this morning, was told the secretary knew nothing about my previous call and that she'd check with the doctor and ring me back. No call back again.
    Now beginning to wonder if my doctor has some sort of psychic powers that will let him check and remove my cast over the phone, or whether I'm condemned to go around with one arm forever.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    My clippers in one I bought in the US in 2003. It needs a transformer due to the voltage difference and sounds like an aeroplane jet engine.

My hair has had better days. It is the shaping at the back that I can't do. Ended up doing it with a razor looking in a mirror. The sides are a disgrace too.

To be fair the top is ok

Was that the bit under the bowl? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,213 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Just if anybody has a hospital appointment over the phone. My father had one for 10:00 and they rang a little after 9:00!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

My lovely cat is missing, going on three days now.

Baby blues have definitely hit and the inherent pressure to breastfeed is ever present.

Also baby's white noise machine is crashing waves so I wake every morning thinking I'm on a beach and then quickly realise it's just a nappy and feeding marathon that awaits 😂

Aldi trollies only take 2euro coins and not 1 euro ones so had to limit my shopping to whatever could be contained in a basket :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Out walking the dog earlier in the fields, I saw where barbed wire had been pulled down by someone trespassing. I stapled it back to the fence post, and hope it catches their a**e next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭Be right back

Guy Person wrote: »
    TA that I have developed this habit of being tired, going to bed and as soon as my head touches the pillow I instantly stop being tired.

Also loneliness is another TA. I haven't had a face to face conversation with another human in four months. I like alone time, probably I like it too much so I thought this lockdown would be grand for me and it has been mostly but for jaysus sake it's been awful lonely at times. I've never known anything like it. I've gotten very down on a couple of occasions with nobody to talk to or go see. Almost there now just another few weeks to go but it's dragging in at this stage for me.

That is hard. Hang in there. Nearly there now..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

There are not many of us in the office ,
    15 or so out of 220

One lady on another team works a few desks from me. She reads newspapers all day, nothing to do at all. Hey not my team so not my business

My TA is she needed a report from my team and at 11am
    she sends us an email and URGENT!!!!! in the title

I saw her wander in at 9:20 and spend the morning reading newspapers online

Last week she send us a Second Request !!! email but when I searched I couldn’t even find the first request

Fook off :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

A bike shop in the town next to me selling a couple of trade-in bikes [Halfords own brand] for 15 euro less than the price of a brand news one, same brand! Whoever traded those in probably got a tenner for them! That just grinds my gears so it does.

Dan.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

When yer on the bog footin' turf and you hear a Cuckoo I just know either my father or my father-in-law is going to talk ****e about the Corncrake.

Same as when yer driving out of the hell hole, "jaysus that lad would want to get his turf up". I don't give a fook, lets just get the hell out of here.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Was at a zoom meeting last week, two ta's from it.
    The bing bong sounds when someone joins or types a comment,
    specific to the content, the overly simplification of the issues at play, both misleading/lies/shows the meeting leaders lack of hands on knowledge of an unendingly complex situation.

No wonder there is a high rate of suicide in ppl impacted by this, overly focused on the positive side of things, when irl there are so few accommodations for it.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I dont do zoom meeting/get togethers in general, but I got a gift of a zoom function so Im partaking of that,
    there is a free concert I've been waiting on since march, at the same time!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I miss that great weather.

Feisar wrote: »
    When yer on the bog footin' turf and you hear a Cuckoo I just know either my father or my father-in-law is going to talk ****e about the Corncrake.

Same as when yer driving out of the hell hole, "jaysus that lad would want to get his turf up". I don't give a fook, lets just get the hell out of here.

I love the bog but its different for me since I never *had to* do a day in the bog.

I also love it when ould lads go on about corncrakes n stuff :)

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

I brought my boss into a corporate negotiation with one of my customers to use as leverage and she ended up butchering my deal and offering a price way below what we agreed we would offer below the call.

TA'd by working with so many disingenuous self-serving people who are sorely lacking in integrity and competence.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

My laptop has this annoying habit of constantly getting stuck in the magnifying mode, so screen gets large, gets small, large, small, large...... Ffs.

These days only used for photos but it's seriously head wreaking :(

Sick, headache and theperfume I lovedyesterday has started to make me feel sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Sick, headache and theperfume I lovedyesterday has started to make me feel sick.

May be the heavy weather. Sense of smell changes during pregnancy. I remember I couldn't go near the deli in the supermarket when I was last pregant.
    Hope you feel better soon

• Registered Users Posts: 13,402 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I love the bog but its different for me since I never *had to* do a day in the bog.

I also love it when ould lads go on about corncrakes n stuff :)

I loved the bog too, but I was young and stupid enough never to feel that I 'had' to do it

• Registered Users Posts: 13,397 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Restless legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Looked out the window today and decided that despite the fact it was dreary and grey, it was warm enough not to need a jacket. I'm smart like that. Ten minutes later into my walk, pisses from the heavens and a hurricane kicks off. I had nipped into Boots to get a few things and the paper bag disintegrated and I was like a drowned rat trying to gather up my deodorant and eyedrops.
    Ta it's ****ing June and it feels like a syberian winter.

TA is I don't know what the fcuk people are talking about when they talk about GBLTQ . What's the Q ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

cj maxx wrote: »
    TA is I don't know what the fcuk people are talking about when they talk about GBLTQ . What's the Q ??

Its the queue to get off this planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I tried to do something nice for someone and it all went wrong. Pretty much told where I could stick my good intentions.

The constant use on tv and social media of the terms
    " A New normal"
    " Stay safe"
    Oh add in " happy Friday everyone"

The Alison one on tipping point ATM
    Shut tfu!!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

The Alison one on tipping point ATM
    Shut tfu!!!

Have you not managed to get yourself a cat, yet? :pac:

New Home wrote: »
    Have you not managed to get yourself a cat, yet? :pac:

No pussy of any kind here :(
    Excuse my language :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

bitofabind wrote: »
    I brought my boss into a corporate negotiation with one of my customers to use as leverage and she ended up butchering my deal and offering a price way below what we agreed we would offer below the call.

TA'd by working with so many disingenuous self-serving people who are sorely lacking in integrity and competence.

What's with people in the workplace just being utter t1ts?

I did a massive load of work on a big project last week. Stayed late working every night, put in 12-13 hour days, the project manager was really grateful and kept thanking me.

Fast forward to the big all staff meeting on Wednesday, where this big project was mentioned. The project manager talked about it and thanked people on the team, and I kept waiting for her to mention my name, but she never did. Then she brought up a suggestion I'd made and passed it off as her own, and lapped up all the praise for thinking of it. I was absolutely fcking livid.

I just don't understand how people don't see through people like this. They're all talk, all full of charm and buzzwords and corporate speak, but are barely competent and would sell their granny to help them get ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

The constant use on tv and social media of the terms
    " A New normal"
    " Stay safe"
    Oh add in " happy Friday everyone"

Couldn’t agree more. Stay safe, CJ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

What's with people in the workplace just being utter t1ts?

I did a massive load of work on a big project last week. Stayed late working every night, put in 12-13 hour days, the project manager was really grateful and kept thanking me.

Fast forward to the big all staff meeting on Wednesday, where this big project was mentioned. The project manager talked about it and thanked people on the team, and I kept waiting for her to mention my name, but she never did. Then she brought up a suggestion I'd made and passed it off as her own, and lapped up all the praise for thinking of it. I was absolutely fcking livid.

I just don't understand how people don't see through people like this. They're all talk, all full of charm and buzzwords and corporate speak, but are barely competent and would sell their granny to help them get ahead.

I don’t really have a temper, but I hate leaving something unsaid when I feel wronged in situations like this or outside work. I would have made a smart comment I front of everyone like: ‘I’m glad to see you went with my idea.’ or ‘That’s a great idea, why didn’t I think of that...oh wait. I did’. Yes, childish and petty, but the person gets the message, and not saying anything at all is worse.