Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Damo 2k9 wrote:
    Will there be sambos?? I know of a certain someone who will be giving out if there aint!!

Even S isn't brave enough to go near Covid sandwiches.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

What's in the goody bag? I hope it's good... If not I'll complain on Facebook. Just saying.

There will be photos to but don’t be blaming me if your arse looks big in them!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

What's in the goody bag? I hope it's good... If not I'll complain on Facebook. Just saying.

A few bottles of Corona

I get my coat

Will do my 3k tempo tonight. Did two of these so far over the last two weeks in local park, 12:57 and 12:46. Its the loop of Griffeen park for the parkrun, two bridges so not the fastest. Will use Grange Castle for the 5k

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭ariana`

May as well throw me name in the pot! Not sure what the course will be and no where near PB shape but it'll be a good session right! F40-44. Thanks B.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Will there be sambos?? I know of a certain someone who will be giving out if there aint!! :pac:

Ah I'm happy in the present circumstances to have it as a BYOS event. I'll have fresh sliced pan and a selection of fillings. Really looking forward to bringing some crisp sandwiches and a can of Larkins IPA :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Ah I'm happy in the present circumstances to have it as a BYOS event. I'll have fresh sliced pan and a selection of fillings. Really looking forward to bringing some crisp sandwiches and a can of Larkins IPA :D

Ooooh, spiffing idea on the post-race refreshments there lad. All going well I might bring the young fella on a bike for 'moral' support, coaching reasons and as a carrier of the all-important IPA.......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

Stick me in for the craic. M35-39

I was in the best shape of my life up until 3 weeks ago. Pulled a calf muscle, followed by Club shutting down, running groups banned, put into isolation (as medical precaution) so loss of motivation, this migth help. Might scrape a 5k by that stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Omeceron

Ill give it a go as well, M 35 - 39

Itziger wrote: »
    Ooooh, spiffing idea on the post-race refreshments there lad. All going well I might bring the young fella on a bike for 'moral' support, coaching reasons and as a carrier of the all-important IPA.......

A pacer? :eek:

skyblue46 wrote: »
    A pacer? :eek:

In fairness I was going to bring mine to but wasn’t going to say!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Can I throw my hat in the ring too? God knows what my time will be but if we're allowed and out and back (and out again), I'm in. Should just about manage a sub 30 (and I'll pretend not to care about that....), I'll say 29 mins.

Fair play B, I saw something similar on FB but boards is home :).

Age cat F45-49, just about!!

This is what i have so far:

MEN:

25-29

Damo2k9

30-34

KSU
    deconduo

35-39

Dudda
    justdoit
    healy1835
    djemba djemba
    Mellow Yellow26.2
    Butterbeans
    Swashbuckler
    Guill
    Omeceron

40-44

OOnegative
    Sussex18
    shotgunmcos
    ComicBookGuy
    average_runner

45-49

jamule
    MrSkinny
    WubbleWubble

50-54

Itziger
    skyblue46
    snailsong
    dna_leri

55-59

Murph_D

WOMEN:

30-34

ReeReeG

35-39

Hedgehoggy

40-44

Laineyfrecks
    ariana’

45-49

YoungAnne

50-54

juke

55-59

Annie get your Run

Just run fookin 5k to quote a much better race organiser from these parts than myself, be it looped, out and back or point to point, run 5k and by 5k i mean 3.10 miles or more!!. I don't want to hear oh i ran a course that has a lot of trees, or my Garmin was acting up on the day. Run 3.10 miles or more or your result ain't counting. I won't bend anymore rules, ye know whats expected so go train.

Age cat F45-49, just about!!

I assumed this was a typo on your part, so i put you in your correct age category:p:p:p.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

OOnegative wrote: »
    I assumed this was a typo on your part, so i put you in your correct age category:p:p:p.

ah it's good to see nothing has changed in here :D

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭EnPassant

I will give it a go also M 55-59

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Cool idea - thanks for organising. I'm also in that M 35-39 bracket if I could be included plz

• Registered Users Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I'm in!

M40-44.

Hoping for 22:30.

Been a long winter with an injury, but starting to feel I'm on the way back!!!*

*Famous last words!

Cool idea - thanks for organising. I'm also in that M 35-39 bracket if I could be included plz

No short routes like this morning now!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Lambay island

OOnegative wrote: »
    No short routes like this morning now!!!

Busted- its almost like a track that!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

If the 2k from home rule is still in force (and I'd say it certainly will be) it could play havoc with my course choices. Certainly not going to do the Fairview parkrun route! But that all adds to the challenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

I'll do it. I'll aim for 21:20 and hope the wind plays ball :D
    F35-39

Thanks Barry

Most updated list:

MEN:

25-29

Damo2k9

30-34

KSU
    deconduo
    pconn062
    yiddo 1882

35-39

Dudda
    justdoit
    healy1835
    djemba djemba
    Mellow Yellow26.2
    Butterbeans
    Swashbuckler
    Guill
    Omeceron
    Lambay Island
    quick feet

40-44

OOnegative
    Sussex18
    shotgunmcos
    ComicBookGuy
    average_runner
    Zebra3
    Marty Bird

45-49

jamule
    MrSkinny
    WubbleWubble

50-54

Itziger
    skyblue46
    snailsong
    dna_leri

55-59

Murph_D
    EnPassant

WOMEN:

30-34

ReeReeG

35-39

Hedgehoggy
    career move

40-44

Laineyfrecks
    ariana’

45-49

YoungAnne
    Annie get your Run

50-54

juke

Just run fookin 5k to quote a much better race organiser from these parts than myself, be it looped, out and back or point to point, run 5k and by 5k i mean 3.10 miles or more!!. I don't want to hear oh i ran a course that has a lot of trees, or my Garmin was acting up on the day. Run 3.10 miles or more or your result ain't counting. I won't bend anymore rules, ye know whats expected so go train.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Put me down for the laugh. M30-34. Given my recent "training" I'll aim to break 20 mins.

Times like this I wish I wasnt 35-39

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

Times like this I wish I wasnt 35-39

I think you should get the Mods to allow you to change your handle to Sweatlicker....

healy1835 wrote: »
    I think you should get the Mods to allow you to change your handle to Sweatlicker....

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

I actually laughed out loud at that one. hahaha. Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

healy1835 wrote: »

This didn't make sense the 1st time i read it but after reading the other thread this is brilliant;)

Swashbuckler i have been in stiches laughing at everyone taking your comment so seriously & then your reply...bravo :D

I facepalmed many times this morning.

I could just picture that as I read the replies :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Haha i can just imagine! I shall now think of you as Sweatlicker...