Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want a shutdown NOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭oceanman

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    Anyone have the list of non essential retailers? Work in an off license so not sure where we stand.
    you are definitely essential!:)

Better shut-in than dead. We will enjoy renewed life and have learned valuable lessons in the art of living well when this is eventually passed and we have effective treatments and vaccines. Life will get back to normal, inevitably, a new normal.

ixoy wrote: »
    I mean trickier to police to ensure people are staying apart. I do think our lower density will help us a bit.

This is so true. The green folk are in favour of us living in much higher density (though not the high density of tower blocks and with storage, roof gardens, terraces etc) but in these situations that is not so good. The idea of these communal kitchens in living hubs that is in favour to solve the housing crisis is a huge mistake in my opinion, and these places will be either knocked down ir repurposed in the future, and looked upon with as much disdain as high-rise Ballymun was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

the pandemic payment is higher than my usual monthly wage... wtf... if they had this much spare money why didn't they solve the homeless crisis.. would it not make more sense to keep the pandemic payment low, or just raise it to 250, but freeze mortages and ask landlords to pause rent

anyway the decision was made by people much smarter than me so i'll shut up... i know i shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth, i better save this because it can't last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭growleaves

Ah come off it. Are you seriously saying people over 60 in Italy are not normally considered for respirator treatment?

I'm saying that younger people take priority over older people simply as a matter of course the world over and always have. It isn't as if doctors are just now being confronted with choosing between young and old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Are these the same experts who saw no problem allowing thousands of rugby fans come from the worst affected areas of Italy come and cram into crowded bars in Dublin. Seriously I am an admirer of the way all parties have come together on this but what Leo has announced just now is not firm enough IMO.

I have lost count of the number of secondary schools I've heard that had school tours to northern Italy around that time. Should they have been left stranded over there?

What else do you think Leo should have done?

the pandemic payment is higher than my usual monthly wage... wtf... if they had this much spare money why didn't they solve the homeless crisis.. would it not make more sense to keep the pandemic payment low, or just raise it to 250, but freeze mortages and ask landlords to pause rent

anyway the decision was made by people much smarter than me so i'll shut up... i know i shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth, i better save this because it can't last.

I completely agree. They should keep the payment lower and unequivocally insist on 3 month moratorium on mortgages from the Banks, in writing, without penalty or interest hikes......... this would also benefit landlords who are trying to repay mortgages from rental income as they could apply for it .

That pandemic payment is only €40 euro less than I get for a full weeks work in the Civil Service! I am still working at the moment. I know someone who was made unemployed last month and is only getting €203 and he has paid stamps all his life. How on earth is this fair? THIS will bankrupt the country far more than medical care and testing for Coronavirus. THIS is what will have us in another deep recession very soon and repaying it for the next 10 years :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

This is so true. The green folk are in favour of us living in much higher density (though not the high density of tower blocks and with storage, roof gardens, terraces etc) but in these situations that is not so good. The idea of these communal kitchens in living hubs that is in favour to solve the housing crisis is a huge mistake in my opinion, and these places will be either knocked down ir repurposed in the future, and looked upon with as much disdain as high-rise Ballymun was.

It's grand to have one shared kitchen as long as everyone also has a kitchenette, it's grand to have a shared living room as long as you also have a comfy chair and a desk in your room. The problem is right now ,since we aren't building these things, instead what you have is 30 people living in a flat designed for 4, that doesn't have what i mentioned

Most of the people I know are living in rooms with 5 other people (3 bunk peds a room) and sharing a bathroom with at least 20 , they would be much much safer in the type of thing you just described rather than in a flat designed for 4 as I said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

RTÉ to launch Operation Covid Nation in April

Kill me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,569 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

I know my job is definitely non essential, my boss heard the news this afternoon, and said
    " That don't include us look it saids ,Gyms, Hairdresser, Restaurants, Theatres" so back to work for me tomorrow, no choice cant live on thin air.
    Cant understand the €350 will this apply for a student who only use to work on a Saturday who is now out of work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,372 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Look at other countries it's not that hard, we have enough bodies in the army and gardai to spread out and manage the situation.
    I'm sure plenty of people would be willing to be redeployed too, including myself.

So you want to deploy people on the streets to keep people off the streets? Most people are staying at home, getting more strict will be counterproductive if it means you need people enforcing the restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭CWF

How long are gyms, cafes, restaurants etc supposed to close until, April 19th like the schools?

aido79 wrote: »
    I have lost count of the number of secondary schools I've heard that had school tours to northern Italy around that time. Should they have been left stranded over there?

What else do you think Leo should have done?

Isolate them for two weeks. Just as they should have done the same for anyone coming from a high risk area.

It's what China is doing now. When you arrive in China, you're quarantined for two weeks in a hotel (which you pay for). Three meals a day, visits by a doctor twice a day for tests.

CWF wrote: »
    How long are gyms, cafes, restaurants etc supposed to close until, April 19th like the schools?

Yes, all good after that Virus should be long gone.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

Sounds good but a little optimistic perhaps. Fingers crossed though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Closed until 19th April at the earliest. Expect that to be greatly extended.

How.. how will the virus be long gone by April?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Sarcasm detector in operation.

Thanks. I tend to be a bit blind to sarcasm on boards. So many people actually believe some really oddball things here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Sounds good but a little optimistic perhaps. Fingers crossed though.
    He thought you meant April 19th 2021!

But seriously, this will not end any time soon. I'd be surprised if we're out of the woods by schools returning in September. It all hinges on when we have a vaccine.

Or we could follow Donald Trumps example and just let nature take it's course! (that's not actually a suggestion!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Scotty # wrote: »

Or we could follow Donald Trumps example and just let nature take it's course! (that's not actually a suggestion!)

I suspect many governments may eventually follow Trump's course of action.

Leo said schools may be open in May or June so he's basically extending it to then at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Are builder's providers allowed to stay open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Are builder's providers allowed to stay open?
    Yes They are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

If we had a 3 week lockdown, everyone in the community who had it would get better without passing it on. Those bad enough to need hospitalisation would go there. Some would die some would get better. And that would be the end of it.

If we lockdown properly for 3 weeks why wouldn’t it be over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

If we had a 3 week lockdown, everyone in the community who had it would get better without passing it on. Those bad enough to need hospitalisation would go there. Some would die some would get better. And that would be the end of it.

If we lockdown properly for 3 weeks why wouldn’t it be over?

For starters essential workers, healthcare, shop assistants, etc. would still be getting in and pass it on.

And not everybody would engage in a lockdown.

easypazz wrote: »
    For starters essential workers, healthcare, shop assistants, etc. would still be getting in and pass it on.

This is it, my job non essential but owner said open tomorrow as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

easypazz wrote: »

These people could be tested regularly during the lock-down. A complete lock down would be more painful in short term but better longer term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Not in 1 week 2 weeks whatever, NOW!
    While most people are adhering to the health advice you cannot expect the gobshytes like those clowns packing beaches and parks to obey unless they are forced to.
    Shutdown NOW.

Off ye go... nothing to stop you. Make a good dictator :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

This is it, my job non essential but owner said open tomorrow as usual.

Some things are more essential than others. A good few things on the essential list could be taken off the list if we went for a three week lock down.