Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Christ, these threads are hilarious. The little blueshirts really have got themselves in a tizzy. Scared sh*tless, and rightly so. Not even the Coronavirus will help them.

Where will SF get the money? What will SF do? Who would you prefer in charge now?

:D:D

Forgetting that there is more than one party that ensured they didn't get the majority votes. It's funny, but also very sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭threeball

Not what I was disputing.

BTW, the money is in 'our' account until such time as Apple win their 'appeal'.

Gas to see guys giving out about 'diesel laundering' when Apple are getting away with a much more audacious scam with the assistance of Leo and Co.

It's not our account, it's an escrow, so not like there's a 17bn bond just sitting on Leo's desk. SF are watching too many father Ted reruns during their self isolation.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,072 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

threeball wrote: »
    It's not our account, it's an escrow, so not like there's a 17bn bond just sitting on Leo's desk. SF are watching too many father Ted reruns during their self isolation.

Escrow is a third party holder of monies.

The money was awarded to us..therefore it is technically ours until such time as Apple win the appeal.

I agree it cannot be removed from Escrow until the court proceedings finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭threeball

Escrow is a third party holder of monies.

The money was awarded to us..therefore it is technically ours until such time as Apple win the appeal.

I agree it cannot be removed from Escrow until the court proceedings finish.

I know what an escrow is and how it works, that's why I brought it up. Therefore the money isn't resting in our account as Mary Lou seems to think and it could be years before the case concludes. So she's talking through her hole as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Field east

piplip87 wrote: »
    There is going to be some very tough decisions to be made after this.

Whoever is in government will have to look after business to get them back on Thier feet and it will be to the short term detriment for many people.

The people of this country will have to make sacrifices to get the economy back on its feet, whoever is in government will have to make hard unpopular decisions for the long term stability of this country.

I cannot see SF or the left making these decisions.

Also the pot if money they where going to use to solve everything is now gone. I fully expect SF to sit on Thier hands and winge about everything for the next five years in opposition, while FF and FG make the unpopular decisions needed to get people back to work.

If FFG and ,say , the greens form a gov and run the country for , say,the next five years and , say , by which time we manage to stabilize the economy again, and we have exhausted the ‘national savings’. I doubt very much if the outgoing gov would be voted back in going on president. The opposition will highlight how the economy could have recovered faster, built no houses during that period, the hospital situation continues to be disastrous, etc, etc, etc , etc, there will be a sufficient cohort of voters out there that will swallow the lot and vote the gov very significantly out.

ronaneire wrote: »
    That was from the 2nd of March for two weeks. Self isolation is well over. If you are in self ioslation, there is still plenty of ways to communicate to the outside world!

Pearse Doherty broadcast live from his spare room in Dönegal on how the insurance sector is treating its clients. Angela Meryl is running Germany from her home . All she needs is the equivalent of an RTE camera service, a mobile and mobile line , tel no’s of main contacts, pen and paper and at least a coffee machine. Self isolation is no excuse to be inactive - especially in the area of politics -

• Registered Users Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭maccored

keep it going lads with these anti shinner threads - hilarious stuff in these trying times. its the same bunch of AOBSF's saying the same crap over and over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

maccored wrote: »
    keep it going lads with these anti shinner threads - hilarious stuff in these trying times. its the same bunch of AOBSF's saying the same crap over and over again.
    A bit like the S.F. spokespeople so

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JJJackal

I wonder would those who voted for them last time around do so again.

Although I am not a fan of Leo etc I cant imagine slab etc stepping up

• Registered Users Posts: 7,234 ✭✭✭facehugger99

JJJackal wrote: »
    I wonder would those who voted for them last time around do so again.

Never underestimate the stupidity of people.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Give S.F a prime time slot on the 9pm news to say what they would do to combat the current situation.
    RTE would never do that. They love Leo.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Feisar

threeball wrote: »
    I know what an escrow is and how it works, that's why I brought it up. Therefore the money isn't resting in our account as Mary Lou seems to think and it could be years before the case concludes. So she's talking through her hole as usual.

She's smart enough to know it's not sitting in an account for us to use. However she also knows how thick her target audience is...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

Limpy wrote: »
    Give S.F a prime time slot on the 9pm news to say what they would do to combat the current situation.

Would only create mixed messages and confusion of the general public, also may incite hate. Worst idea ever!

We need strong leadership right now, not a committee.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,248 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Suckit wrote: »
    Christ, these threads are hilarious. The little blueshirts really have got themselves in a tizzy. Scared sh*tless, and rightly so. Not even the Coronavirus will help them.

Where will SF get the money? What will SF do? Who would you prefer in charge now?

:D:D

Forgetting that there is more than one party that ensured they didn't get the majority votes. It's funny, but also very sad.

You mean the threads that are dominated by Sinn Fein supporting posters?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,248 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Why would you give any talking head with no power and no sense of what to do a prime time slot on the 9pm news, let alone one who could make things worse?

krissovo wrote: »
    Would only create mixed messages and confusion of the general public, also may incite hate. Worst idea ever!

We need strong leadership right now, not a committee.

The pesky interfering 'general public' who had the temerity to not give FG and FF enough of a vote share to swap power?

Imagine giving them the option to make up their own minds whose ideas are best.

The pesky interfering 'general public' who had the temerity to not give FG and FF enough of a vote share to swap power?

Imagine giving them the option to make up their own minds whose ideas are best.

Irrespective of ones political leanings it is crazy when you think of some of the imbeciles that have a vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JJJackal

Its not all about loving leo. They would let Michael Martin on too.

Its generally to avoid creating sheer panic with outrageous suggestions which are not possible eg use the Apple Money (money which isnt ours at all!)

Feisar wrote: »
    Irrespective of ones political leanings it is crazy when you think of some of the imbeciles that have a vote.

What's 'crazy'?

Weepsie wrote: »
    Mary Lou is on the news being an absolute gowl imo.

It's about us, we, our proposals, our ideas and what her and Pearse can do.

She's basically electioneering, it's got nothing to do with the crisis and she's doing nothing more than trying to keep Sinn Fein relevant

ML must be scratching her , Pearce Doherty’ ,the O’Reillyladys head for ideas to go on the media so as to keep relevant/ give the impression that they are serious operators with public being put before party when she picked the APPLE millions as the subject ,. She argued that the €13 Billion Apple money should be used Re paying let go workers much more than the 203 € as a initial temporary payment. Every dog in the street knows that Ireland will get only a small fraction of that pot as the distribution will be based on where the apple products were sold . The countries they were sold in. So the € ML referred to is very substantially not available to the Irish exchequer if and when it is EVENTUALLY released from the escrow account. Is there nothing else that bothers SF at the monument?

What's 'crazy'?

That people with very little between the ears have the right to vote.

Feisar wrote: »
    She's smart enough to know it's not sitting in an account for us to use. However she also knows how thick her target audience is...
    If ML says so then there must be some element of ‘truth’ in it. The fact that ML said it carries much more weight than if the Clare or Kildare SF td said it - which makes ‘ doubly true’ . Are you still with me?

She was absolutely spot on that everyone should be represented and that now is an important time that there is oversight in government.

She has shot down the Greens national gov proposal. Although she fudged it later be saying that she was not too sure about certain elements of it. SO, I assume that she is in concave with the Greens to further explore the option. But no media is reporting it

Field east wrote: »
    She has shot down the Greens national gov proposal. Although she fudged it later be saying that she was not too sure about certain elements of it. SO, I assume that she is in concave with the Greens to further explore the option. But no media is reporting it

And?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Field east wrote: »
    If ML says so then there must be some element of ‘truth’ in it. The fact that ML said it carries much more weight than if the Clare or Kildare SF td said it - which makes ‘ doubly true’ . Are you still with me?

Does anyone really care what she says :confused:
    ...always full of bluster and condemnation.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

And?

And, the idea of a unity government was float and she (and not only her in fairness) were not remotely receptive to it.

Now, and only it seems when Leo and Simon are getting a bit of buy in from the public does she want to stick an oar in and talk about "we" Sinn Fein, their nonsense mandate and not "we" everybody.

She's wants to be seen as being proactive, not that she necessarily wants to be involved.

If this all blows over and theirs a unity government involved, she'll be quick to claim credit. If it gets worse and she's in same government, shell distance the party, saying we called for this, and this. If they're not involved and whatever way it goes, they'll find an angle to say how they'd have done X and y.

In reality, Tony Holohan is running the whole damn show right now. What he says has more meaning than anything any of the parties can come up with

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

Credit where credit is due. SF have kept out of serious governance where they had nothing to offer and their interference could have have cost lives.

They'll sit tight and wait till it blows over, fair play to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Nitrogan wrote: »
    Credit where credit is due. SF have kept out of serious governance where they had nothing to offer and their interference could have have cost lives.

They'll sit tight and wait till it blows over, fair play to them.

are you pretending they or anyone outside the outgoing government have had a chance at serious governance? dont know if youve noticed but theres more serious issues than mere political squabbles at the minute. this thread is based on the erroneous thought that SF disappeared over the past month, when in fact theyve been very active

A few people need to get over that a political party have a voice and a mandate to be at any table discussing what we do going forward.

Seriously. You are in danger of sounding like maniacal dictators.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

blanch152 wrote: »
    You mean the threads that are dominated by Sinn Fein supporting posters?
    I wouldn't know, I didn't read through it, I just commented because I found it funny that FG can't handle it.