Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The UK response to Covid-19 [MOD WARNING 1ST POST]

• Registered Users Posts: 19,172 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

shouldn't you be giving a press conference soon?

Multitasking

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

shouldn't you be giving a press conference soon?

He's having a day off today

• Registered Users Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

bubblypop wrote: »
    & that's the problem.
    The British public believed what their government told them..... Everything was great, no problem at all, until there was.
    The British public believed what they were told, even though every other country were putting things in place, they were doing nothing.
    Telling their people everything was OK.
    Well it wasn't, and it definitely is not now.
    That's true but the UK and the British people are not alone in their less than perfect handling of the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

devnull wrote: »
    Scottish CMO Catherine Calderwood has resigned, appears to have been a case of jumping before she has pushed, since apparently it was following a discussion with Nicola Sturgeon about how the focus on her would take away from the message that needs to be re-enforced with the public.

Hardly a surprise really and the right decision, I have to say.

She had zero choice. Sturgeon not exactly excelled herself on this either.

"On Saturday, the Scottish government said Calderwood had been working “seven days a week” and “she took the opportunity this weekend to check on a family home in Fife as she knows she will not be back again until the crisis is over”.

So: working flat out, seven days a week, they say, and yet she finds time to visit her holiday home not once, but twice, over the last 10 days, spending a saturday at the beach with hubby and kids while fronting an ad campaign telling the little people to stay at home.

Not much of a decision to be taken there.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Stheno wrote: »
    He's having a day off today

developed a dry cough?

• Registered Users Posts: 85,508 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

dogbert27 wrote: »
    Breaking news saying Boris has been taken in to hospital as a precautionary measure

His symptoms worsening?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    His symptoms worsening?

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/apr/05/boris-johnson-admitted-to-hospital-with-coronavirus

Breathing problems according to the Guardian

S.M.B. wrote: »
    That's true but the UK and the British people are not alone in their less than perfect handling of the situation.

Unfortunately their approach has put many of their people at risk , which will affect a lot if our people.
    Northern Ireland went with the UK governments approach, which will put a lot of people in our country at risk.
    A lot of people in this country have many relations in the UK........
    It's going to be devastating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

bubblypop wrote: »
    Unfortunately their approach has put many of their people at risk , which will affect a lot if our people.
    Northern Ireland went with the UK governments approach, which will put a lot of people in our country at risk.
    A lot of people in this country have many relations in the UK........
    It's going to be devastating

If our paths begin to diverge from them then our borders will go full lock down including the border with the 6'

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

devnull wrote: »
    Not really sticking the boot in at all. Regardless of my political views, I don't want to see anybody ill and he has my best wishes. Whether you believe me or not is your choice but they are very much genuine. He has a family just like anyone else, he's a father, has a wife to be and soon to have another child. He might be a PM but he's also a person first and foremost.

The UK has seen Hancock who has only observed 6 days of an isolation period rather than what he really should observe, a Scottish Chief Medical Officer who felt the rules did not apply to her and a House of Commons where a number of MPs have seen social distancing as being something that doesn't apply to them.

If the Lockdown in the UK is going to succeed and last and by all accounts it will need to last for many weeks yet, those at the top need to be setting an example that the rest of the population should follow. Even at the recent Nightingale hospital launch there were plenty in the background not observing social distancing.

Just a second here. I thought one might one not care less of the welfare of a racist, a lier, an opportunist, someone who doesn't care about anything except being PM. I would have though it quite natural not to care too much of a person like that. But you wormed out of that one by feigning concern for his family.

Don't buy your rhetoric at all, nice try though.

edit:
    The UK has seen Hancock who has only observed 6 days of an isolation period rather than what he really should observe, a Scottish Chief Medical Officer who felt the rules did not apply to her and a House of Commons where a number of MPs have seen social distancing as being something that doesn't apply to them.

7 days actually. Yet again you virtual signal and then get your dig in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

meeeeh wrote: »
    I wonder if Raab will be able to hide excitement tomorrow...

How the feck did he end up as the designated successor? Still at least it's not Pretti Patel.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Just a second here. I though one might one not care less of the welfare of a racist, a lier, an opportunist, someone who doesn't care about anything except being PM. I would have though it quite natural not to care too much of a person like that. But you wormed out of that one by feigning concern for his family.

Don't buy your rhetoric at all, nice try though.

Johnson was a decision maker who fucked up in the early days of this. His (in)actions will cost lives of front line workers who have to put themselves in harms way dealing with this. Not to mention the citizens suffering.

He'd be at the bottom of my queue for sympathy right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

His replacement is Raab (although Gove is probably somewhere sharpening his knives) so I think everyone should wish Johnson speedy recovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Johnson was a decision maker to fucked up in the early days of this. His (in)actions will cost lives of front line workers who have to put themselves in harms way dealing with this. Not to mention the citizens suffering.

He'd be at the bottom of my queue for sympathy right now.

Could end up costing him his own life tbh. I wonder what % of Coronavirus patients over 50 admitted to hospital make it out again?

MadYaker wrote: »
    Could end up costing him his own life tbh. I wonder what % of Coronavirus patients over 50 admitted to hospital make it out again?

It could. It's not nice of course. But the man was supposed to be in charge and he was "buffoning" around and joking about , what was it "operation last gasp" or something like that? Not to mention proclaiming he was shaking hands with everyone. People don't really listen to what they are told to do. They tend to partially comply. If your order people to stay at home, you'll always get the few that ignore it or think they are special. When the top fella is goofing around and making a laugh of it, sure the ones that would obey it don't even bother. You need the top people to take it seriously.

He more than likely won't die and maybe it'll give him a kick up the arse for future not to be playing around with decision that could cost other peoples' lives.

It could. It's not nice of course. But the man was supposed to be in charge and he was "buffoning" around and joking about , what was it "operation last gasp" or something like that? Not to mention proclaiming he was shaking hands with everyone. People don't really listen to what they are told to do. They tend to partially comply. If your order people to stay at home, you'll always get the few that ignore it or think they are special. When the top fella is goofing around and making a laugh of it, sure the ones that would obey it don't even bother. You need the top people to take it seriously.

He more than likely won't die and maybe it'll give him a kick up the arse for future not to be playing around with decision that could cost other peoples' lives.

Apparently your day off is cancelled Don

Presser in 50 minuted

• Registered Users Posts: 5 2pints

Heard a comment saying that they better make sure that Borris is able to get Brexit done

meanwhile in Liverpool, Birmingham and elsewhere they have started torching phone masts, because everyone knows that Coronavirus is spread by 5G /phone signals ( att http:// www . in front of linlk)
    theverge.com/2020/4/4/21207927/5g-towers-burning-uk-coronavirus-conspiracy-theory-link

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

When the top fella is goofing around and making a laugh of it, sure the ones that would obey it don't even bother. You need the top people to take it seriously.

the problem with Boris is that he wants to be the class clown, he wants to the most popular in the schoolyard, he wants to be everyone's best mate....could be his downfall

Johnson is one of the three amigos of the war against covid-1, a crack hit squad consisting of:

Boris: nothing to worry about, let me shake your hand and hope you get over the virus soon.

Trump: this chinese virus, dont worry, it'll be gone soon, just a democratic hoax really.

Bolsonaro: "we'll just face it down like fcking men, not kids."

• Registered Users Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Last month
    'Boris Johnson said he was shaking hands with coronavirus patients just weeks before he tested positive for Covid-19. The prime minister confirmed he had entered self-isolation on Friday 27 March. Early this month, he insisted that people would be 'pleased to know' that the virus would not stop him greeting hospital patients with a handshake'

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Last month
    'Boris Johnson said he was shaking hands with coronavirus patients just weeks before he tested positive for Covid-19. The prime minister confirmed he had entered self-isolation on Friday 27 March. Early this month, he insisted that people would be 'pleased to know' that the virus would not stop him greeting hospital patients with a handshake'

PMQ's on Wednesday 25th March
    https://twitter.com/andrew_allison/status/1243620758603083780

• Registered Users Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭threeball

Stheno wrote: »
    Apparently your day off is cancelled Don

Presser in 50 minuted

Donald will give us the low down on Boris at the presser. He won't be able to help himself.

Alarmed to hear the pm may require the assistance of a ventilator. Nobody wants to hear that.

But going back to the HoC, i recall a clip of a tory frontbencher coughing and spluttering his lines at the despatch box. Forget who but it was freaking a lot of people out at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Hope Johnson recovers, as I would for anybody who gets the virus

• Registered Users Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

But going back to the HoC, i recall a clip of a tory frontbencher coughing and spluttering his lines at the despatch box. Forget who but it was freaking a lot of people out at the time.

Dominic Raab I think, and as far as we know he has been fine since then. He would be the guy to take over if Boris isn't well enough to run things anymore.

fr336 wrote: »
    Dominic Raab I think, and as far as we know he has been fine since then. He would be the guy to take over if Boris isn't well enough to run things anymore.

No it wasnt raab. It was a lesser known frontbencher, I'd know name if i saw it. I dont know if he subsequently tested positive or isolated, but he sounded terrible as he was talking.

Found it: was this guy here.

https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-video-covid-uk-minister-filmed-coughing-parliament-before-isolating-2020-3

The whole clip is worth looking at. Note the humourous tone of the house:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

With streets being empty sirens are not needed to get traffic to move aside...

UK deaths continue to mount day on day, 3x deaths of Ireland when adjusted for population (them being 13x more populous)
    That's true there still is the odd siren though, I can hear one now, and I don't think traffic is that quiet here that they're pointless. It's quite possible that the ambulance capacity is too stretched.

I'm under no illusion that everything is fine here, it's an absolute mess, but there are plenty of people taking it very seriously.

One can almost taste the palpable wish that some remainers think this crisis is going to take down the UK Gov and will change everything, including Brexit.

Last week a Labour journalist, Kevin McGuire called for another election soon. lol

Absolutely noting is going to change, especially not a change to a socialist led government.

AllForIt wrote: »
    One can almost taste the palpable wish that some remainers think this crisis is going to take down the UK Gov and will change everything, including Brexit.

Last week a Labour journalist, Kevin McGuire called for another election soon. lol

Absolutely noting is going to change, especially not a change to a socialist led government.

Brexit Schmexit. Nobody really gives a crap about Brexit right now. There is a thread there in the IMHO forum that used to be very active and nobody posts in it at all the last week or more.

UK can have whatever government they like. Preferably not populated by thicks, as the current one appears to be.

Brexit Schmexit. Nobody really gives a crap about Brexit right now. There is a thread there in the IMHO forum that used to be very active and nobody posts in it at all the last week or more.

UK can have whatever government they like. Preferably not populated by thicks, as the current one appears to be.

I'm astounded by 2 things.

1. You really think noone caress about Brexit anymore, when the trade deals haven't even been done; so it's not really over, is it?

2. You say the UK can have whatever Gov they like when in the same sentence you give your appraisal of the current Gov that you personally don't desire.
    Maybe the British electorate should check in with you before casting their vote.

Try to make some sense man.