Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back in my day...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

branie2 wrote: »
    Holidays on the costa del Waterford, Wexford or Cork.
    I was born and reared in wexford and holidays were in .... wexford. They were great though , caravan on a farm beside the sea for the summer f..king great times

• Registered Users Posts: 40,154 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Or chicken curry and rice :)

The chicken curry in Hollywood Nights in Stillorgan was fantastic. Depending on how lucky you got (or not) it might be the highlight of the night.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Queuing up outside a phone box to ring somebody, with a bag of 5p pieces and when the operator connected you, you pressed button A.

Everyone collecting the phonecards when they were released

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Silent Running

On frosty mornings we used to pour water on the footpath to make slides of solid ice. Taking a run and sliding on our feet... or going off the ice and breaking our collective bollix.

We knew which houses to avoid: the ould bats that would come out and pour salt on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

On frosty mornings we used to pour water on the footpath to make slides of solid ice. Taking a run and sliding on our feet... or going off the ice and breaking our collective bollix.

We knew which houses to avoid: the ould bats that would come out and pour salt on it.

we had them too bas..rds. sliding along grand then your feet would stop but upper body kept going . DISASTER

• Registered Users Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭corner of hells

We also had bin men who picked up and carried the bin to the bin truck.
    None of this wheelie bin recycling ****e either.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,356 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Bin men, the postman and the milkman knocking on the door to wish you a "Happy Christmas" for their tip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

We had to change the TV channels on the TV itself via knob

CHANNELS ???? That we'd be so lucky...:mad:

We had one channel until RTE 2 came on stream sometime in the late 70s'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

During the summers we went out after breakfast and didnt come home until it got dark. No phones to let anyone know where you were or when you'd be home.

None of these artificial Christmas trees either.
    Every fcukin year my dad bought a real tree and butchered himself with a saw trying to trim the tree bough down to fit in the stand.
    Then he blew the fuses setting up the lights on the tree before going to bed half full of whiskey.

SAMTALK wrote: »
    During the summers we went out after breakfast and didnt come home until it got dark. No phones to let anyone know where you were or when you'd be home.

Same here , came home covered in sunburn, our sun cream was " I warned you bout that sun " from our mother.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Field east

Our mother used to take the cream from the 20 gallon milk churn on Sunday mornings. as the creamery manager did not take a milk sample to calculate the % fat in the milk. God be with the days

• Registered Users Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Nightclubs were called discos.
    Cool kids drank Furstenberg
    There was a slow set at around 1-30 where you sauntered around asking girls out to dance.
    You devoured a Chinese before a racket broke out in the place.
    The designated driver would only have 2/3 pints

• Registered Users Posts: 51,493 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Lone Ranger was king.
    Hi Ho Silver.

Bins? You mean the black sacks of rubbish :) that one of the neighbourhood dogs would rip to shreds so there was rubbish everywhere.

Now we have wheelie bins blowing over so rubbish everywhere :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

And if you try telling that to the young people of today, they won't believe you.

Glazers Out!

The National Anthem was played at the end of the disco and lights turned up full !

My kids laughed at A. Calling it a disco and B. playing the National anthem

The same bin men my mother never answered the door to at Christmas when they came around with their hands out.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

Flat 7up cured everything

and vick rubbed on your chest :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

And the crows and foxes used to have all the bags tattered and tore for food.
    Foxy loxy can’t work the wheelie bin at all

SAMTALK wrote: »
    lights turned up full !

The sudden realisation of how feckin hammered you were :D

- glass Lucozade bottles in the grandparents drink cabinet contained Poteen.
    - computer games loaded up from cassettes
    - Mars bars were the most expensive item in the sweet shop at 28p
    - free kicks in GAA were taken from the ground

In relation to the glass lucozade bottles, they came wrapped in orange plastic at one stage, like a kind of sh1t giftwrap.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,154 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

nullzero wrote: »
    In relation to the glass lucozade bottles, they came wrapped in orange plastic at one stage, like a kind of sh1t giftwrap.

those glass bottles in the orange plastic were a miracle cure and a must bring item when visiting somebody in hospital.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

This was a quake only forum.

those glass bottles in the orange plastic were a miracle cure and a must bring item when visiting somebody in hospital.

That's my first memory of them as it happens. You didn't simply drink lucozade on a day to day basis, it was a serious thing.

Glazers Out!

The sudden realisation of how feckin hammered you were :D

:D:D after 3 pints ! and the inevitable punch up outside when waiting on the minibus to arrive to take home about 80 people

Manach wrote: »
    This was a quake only forum.

How many people have no idea what you're talking about?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Mearings

We had to change the TV channels on the TV itself via knob

"I can't change the channel, sure the cat is on my lap."

Ah lads I miss those days

• Registered Users Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Or if someone,God forbid, was driving to France they stuck them on the headlights