Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back in my day...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The warm hug of the sun on a summers day,
    The mist on your face from a thick fog,
    The smell of the deep ocean after a storm at sea,
    The low flying bats squeaks at dusk,
    The birds calling at the yawning of the day,

It's all still there, the rest is just packaging.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

At the end of the summer you would have the track of your watch left on your wrist in white from no sun getting under it.
    Proper summer weather.
    Doesn’t happen anymore.

As a kid you would wait a week for the next episode of a show you would watch.no download or Netflix then.
    You would also watch the adds.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

walking to school in the rain and hundreds of worms would come up through the cracks and weeds in the footpath and you would try not stand on them.

having ‘indoor’ and ‘outdoor’ shoes for your school uniform so the nuns could keep the marble floors polished and dry

any parent could come out and give out to you and you would have to behave or you would be in big trouble when your father got home

Almost every kid had a father unless they were dead and lived in a married family with all children having the same parents

you would have to be in off the road before it got busy at 5 or 6 o clock when all the fathers came home from work in their car and parked it in their driveway.

Everyone knew and hated the family with 2 cars because they parked it on the road and got in the way of playing football / games of tennis in the summer

• Registered Users Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Back in my day we used to leave the milk in a bucket of water in the coolest part of the kitchen to stop it going sour.

A thin piece of lino would keep your holey sole shoes going a while longer.

Kids walked to school, by themselves! :eek:

And got thrashed for having homework wrong. Hitting people with a stick...:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭evil_seed

branie2 wrote: »
    Flat 7up cured everything

Still does :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Eventually going home after a marathon 'jumper for goalposts' game fished 24-22 due to one or all of the following reasons:

- ball owner gets called in after exhausting his "5 more minutes", can't leave the ball behind as its his older brothers
    - the grass is getting dew-y and lads are slipping everywhere
    - you've copped a hit on the inside of the thigh or side of the face and now you've been branded by Mitre or Adidas Tango
    - too dark to see where the ball went
    - the goalie gets tired and changes to "kicker fetches" and lads get the ball back but head home as they're halway there anyway

You then get told "you smell like outside go for a bath" after you've downed 2 litres of water with the thirst and you're still gasping.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

you had to have a bath because they hadn’t invented showers (yet).

You lived in a wealthy home if your bath had rubber connector on the bath tap that had a rubber hose with a shower head on it which you would have to disconnect when someone wanted their bath! The hose only went to elbow height so you had to be short or crouch down if you wanted to get all of you done. There was no attachment to hang it on the wall only a suction thing that never worked particularly if it got wet!

Bath night was once a week and you shared the water which got colder and dirtier depending on your age and position in the family. Dad always got a full bath of piping hot and fresh clean water on a separate night with nobody banging on the door to tell them to hurry up or that their turn was over. If you were good, or last, or fast or lucky you got to pull the plug and watch the water shrieking down the plughole.

If you committed some crime your mother would make you go over to the neighbours house and apologise on the doorstep and would watch from the door to make sure you did it. If it was a particularly big sin she would march you over and stand over you while you apologised and begged forgiveness and took whatever ear lashing you were given or punishment they gaVe you . You would then be marched home for whatever beating awaited you or ‘until your father got home’.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Bath night was once a week and you shared the water which got colder and dirtier depending on your age and position in the family.

For us, this was after Gladiators but before Blind Date.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

Omackeral wrote: »
    For us, this was after Gladiators but before Blind Date.

During Catchphrase if I remember correctly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

You had to apply for a job through the post? Or it was in the newspaper?

Now ye have to write all sorts of shyte in all sorts of fields written by some gombeen HR yoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Back in my day naughty movies came on at nighttime

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Pilgrimages to Lourdes were foreign holidays

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Floors had wool carpets with nasty orange/yellow/brown patterns. These carpets constantly needed 'hoovering'.
    Showers were planned 30/40 minutes in advance by turning on the immersion switch in the hotpress.
    Firesides (most common heat source) had brass boxes alongside for storing fuel. The scenes on these brass boxes were often some inexplicable 18th century rustic tavern scene.
    In the fires you burnt briquettes, coal, logs and any plastic or paper that you were too lazy to bring to the bin out in the kitchen.
    There were only two television channels. Yet people bought a special magazine every week that listed what was to be shown on them. When you were finished with that magazine, you simply left it on the brass fuel box so that it could be used some other day to start the fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Back in my day naughty movies came on at nighttime

Cineclub on RTE2 was great for racy subtitled stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Growing up in the 70’s when you were poor you had nothing and ate only the basics your parents could afford, if you couldn’t get a house you bunked in with family and everyone made do with what you had. All younger kids wore hand me downs.

Now our poor all have high speed broadband, everyone in their house has smartphones, full sky package, a decent car, minimum one holiday a year and drinking every weekend and don’t need to work to be this poor, the government pay them and house them.

There’s allot of very well off unemployed families, as sort of “CAB lite” department would be interesting to see how the hell they are funding these lifestyles without working.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭storker

When your television broke down you actually got it repaired, by driving it to the TV repair guy who would do things to the valves and you'd pick it up again a few days later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭storker

You played kickabout games of football with double digit scores but no matter what the score was when time came to wrap things up, "The next goal's the winner!".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Reading through all the thread, there's so many of these still happening, that I'm wondering if back in my day is the here and now for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

storker wrote: »
    You played kickabout games of football with double digit scores but no matter what the score was when time came to wrap things up, "The next goal's the winner!".

It’s funny how “next goal wins” grew organically absolutely everywhere. I’d say there is a young lad in Brazil saying it now.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Everyone out on the road playing tennis when Wimbledon was on, only time the racquets would be used all year :D

When the church bells rang it was time for dinner.

When the street lights came on it was time for bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

A dock leaf helped alleviate a nettle sting. Do kids even get stung by nettles any more?

Yes, and the council get sued for the pain and suffering, emotional distress caused by said sting etc. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Bonfires at halloween

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

If a young lad wanted to get the ride on a regular basis he just had to join the alter boys.

We used old 7up and coke bottles the 2 litre ones, with a hole in the lid for water fights.... No super soakers in my day :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Tayto were 10p and you could get 10 fags, a pack of tayto and golf ball chewing gums(about 5or6) for a pound. Matches were 7p a box.

You could buy loosies for 10p...used to come with a strip off a matchbox and 2 matches.

Hellrazer wrote: »

You could buy loosies for 10p...used to come with a strip off a matchbox and 2 matches.

For sure.
    A single and a match we called them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Sure we didn’t even have a car to go to Dublin.
    Couldn’t afford a bus or train either.
    Only option to walk in our bare feet. With turf.

The car had to go in for a full service before we went to Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Everyone out on the road playing tennis when Wimbledon was on, only time the racquets would be used all year :D

If you were posh enough to have an aluminium racket there would be scratches and lumps out of it from it hitting off the concrete.