Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman raped while sleeping awarded €1m in damages

• 06-02-2020 10:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

I don’t see how she is going to collect the €1m, he lives in Norway and probably doesn’t have the money https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0206/1113681-niamh-ni-dhomhnaill-court/

This is a genuine question and I haven’t followed the case closely, it says she was asleep when she was raped but how does she know she was raped if she was sleeping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Didn't he admit it to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I don’t see how she is going to collect the €1m, he lives in Norway and probably doesn’t have the money https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0206/1113681-niamh-ni-dhomhnaill-court/

This is a genuine question and I haven’t followed the case closely, it says she was asleep when she was raped but how does she know she was raped if she was sleeping?

It says in the article that he admitted it to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

From the article:
    She said he admitted on 29 April 2012 that he had raped her and that this had been going on for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

From the article you linked to:

She said he admitted on 29 April 2012 that he had raped her and that this had been going on for some time. In May 2012, he had admitted in an email that he had used her body for his own gratification.

Ms Ní Dhomhnaill told the jury that receiving the email was "extremely shocking" and disturbing as it laid out in a clinical manner how she had been repeatedly violated in her sleep by him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,052 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Doubt 1million would be enough.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Saw this on the news and knew there'd be a thread about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Did she wake when being raped or was she drugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

As Rufeo said, he told her in an email. It's in the article you linked.

P.S. Rufeo is an incredibly apt username for this discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

It says in the article that he admitted it to her.

That doesn't mean it's true. I just find it a little bit odd that he admitted to raping someone in their sleep. So if he never told her about it and she was oblivious to what happened would she have suffered all that trauma?

Mod: Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Has proof been shown that he actually did admit this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

poisonated wrote: »

this enough for you?
    Hustveit pleaded guilty at the Central Criminal Court to one count of rape and one count of sexual assault against Ms Ní Dhomhnaill between 2011 and 2012, when both were in their 20s.

poisonated wrote: »

Apparently he admitted to it in an email...
    Seems very odd.

this enough for you?

Innocent people confess to things they didn't do all the time.

I'm not questioning the verdict as I don't know much about the case but does nobody else think this bizarre that the woman would not be aware of the rape only for he admitted to it in an email and then she starts having panic attacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

That doesn't mean it's true. I just find it a little bit odd that he admitted to raping someone in their sleep. So if he never told her about it and she was oblivious to what happened would she have suffered all that trauma?

Assuming you’re a guy. If you were one of the victims of Sinaga the Manchester rapist would you seek justice, I mean you were just passed out when you were anally raped so not traumatised just woke disorientated in a kindly mans flat feeling sore. So em just asking an innocent question here you understand but if you didn’t experience psychological problems after what’s the harm right? https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2020/01/06/world/europe/reynhard-sinaga-rape.amp.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Innocent people confess to things they didn't do all the time.

the poster asked for proof he admitted it. said proof was provided.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

He literally admitted it to her and then pleaded guilty in court and some people are still questioning it. Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

How does one not take wake up during rape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What is this guy worth? A million to him might be like €500 to Joe Soap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Assuming you’re a guy. If you were one of the victims of Sinaga the Manchester rapist would you seek justice, I mean you were just passed out when you were anally raped so not traumatised just woke disorientated in a kindly mans flat feeling sore. So em just asking an innocent question here you understand but if you didn’t experience psychological problems after what’s the harm right? https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2020/01/06/world/europe/reynhard-sinaga-rape.amp.html

There is the difference that she was actively shagging him.

This whole thing, regardless of judgement, has something annoying and weird about it. It's very Jeremy Kyle, very womens weekly.

I think they'd both be fine with it being made into a highly controversial feature film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Saw this on the news and knew there'd be a thread about it.
    Same here. And knew there would be suspicion towards her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

greencap wrote: »

This whole thing, regardless of judgement, has something annoying and weird about it. It's very Jeremy Kyle, very womens weekly.

I think they'd both be fine with it being made into a highly controversial feature film.

Is it okay to have non-consensual sex with someone if in other circumstances they have had consensual sex with you?

Both cases involve people who had no knowledge of the rape until they were told by police/ by the boyfriend so they didn’t suffer trauma until they were told and that negates the crime.

Did she strike you as performative? Maybe he just wanted attention, to be highly regarded as a rapist in both Ireland and his native country? We have learned in previous threads that victims want attention, they want people to imagine them being raped by a stranger and to go through a lengthy intrusive trial where they are asked about their sex life for the attention so that could equally be extended to a rapist who wants attention and accolades for the rape, to be caught willingly and reap the obvious benefits of the high profile celebrity that will bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Jesus wept. The girl later tried to kill herself over the whole thing. So the suggestion that it's annoying is f.ucking stupid. Nearly as stupid as suggesting that she would be happy for it to be made into a movie. If this happened to your mother or sister you would be singing a very different tune.

Both cases involve people who had no knowledge of the rape until they were told by police/ by the boyfriend so they didn’t suffer trauma until they were told and that negates the crime.

Did she strike you as performative? Maybe he just wanted attention, to be highly regarded as a rapist in both Ireland and his native country? We have learned in previous threads that victims want attention, they want people to imagine them being raped by a stranger and to go through a lengthy intrusive trial where they are asked about their sex life for the attention so that could equally be extended to a rapist who wants attention and accolades for the rape, to be caught willingly and reap the obvious benefits of the high profile celebrity that will bring.

I don’t think we’ve learned that...

I am not a fan of the term “rape culture” - I don’t think it’s generally a helpful way of describing how rape is understood in society.

But when a man has admitted to rape in detail in an email to his victim and then pleaded guilty in court to the same crime, but men here are still somehow trying to claim he’s probably isn’t, I can’t think of a better term to describe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Who pays the 1m?

The State?

The ex-boyfriend?

The house insurance?

KiKi III wrote: »
    I don’t think we’ve learned that...

I’m being facetious.

Is it okay to have non-consensual sex with someone if in other circumstances they have had consensual sex with you?

Are you from jupiter.

Calling this rape makes a mockery of actual RAPE..

It’s non-consensual sex. How is that not rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

Proved in a court of law, good enough for me.

Fair play to her.

Fcuk him.

Again, not a huge fan of the term “rape culture” but when men dismiss a rape in this offhand way because it doesn’t fit what rape means in their head, that suggests a problem with the lense through which our culture views rape.

You’re not defending “real victims” CQD, and I’m disappointed to see you express this view.

sugarman wrote: »
    How do you know the gender of anonymous posters?

Okay, replace the word men with people.

Care to address the point I’m making?

Mezcita wrote: »
    Jesus wept. The girl later tried to kill herself over the whole thing. So the suggestion that it's annoying is f.ucking stupid. Nearly as stupid as suggesting that she would be happy for it to be made into a movie. If this happened to your mother or sister you would be singing a very different tune.

Im just commenting on the very amateurish, very small scale media circus attempt.

I'm 85% sure that it is what it appears to be.
    But in a world of generated controversy part of me wouldn't be surprised if it was a pair of book deal seeking nutters. So that's the 15%.

And im 100% absolutely certain that the main beneficiaries of the whole "affair" are our greasy, stuck for a story, journalists.
    And some soapbox third wave, blue hair feminists, who will be using this as waffle ammunition for an age.

The verdict... don't care really, double it, and give him a cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Not according to the prosecution and jury.

A better comparison would be if a man had an ex gf (who he lived with) one night plied him with drugs & alcohol, hopped up on him or digitised him and then sent him an email telling him what she did.

The whole thing seems utterly bizarre, am I the only one who thinks this story seems a little odd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 nolottoyet

Who pays the 1m?

Mezcita wrote: »

Ok then there's no difference.
    Being in an active relationship with someone. And being a guest in someone's home for the night are the same thing.

No really. They are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

This thread can’t be real. He literally admitted to raping her!

Some posters on this thread:

“na that be right”

But he admitted it.

“Sometimes people admit to things they didn’t do. Is there any proof?”

Yeah, he admitted it.

“Wow its just so mysterious”

Again, not a huge fan of the term “rape culture” but when men dismiss a rape in this offhand way because it doesn’t fit what rape means in their head, that suggests a problem with the lense through which our culture views rape.

You’re not defending “real victims” CQD, and I’m disappointed to see you express this view.

Like, really.. rape is like really the worst kind of crime..to equate it with this, in a presumably loving relationship, really I think it kind of looks like some feminist publicity stunt..get the likes of Louise o Neill fired up.. yeah, the whole consent thing has become such a big deal, but like, what you are saying is that this is of the same magnitude as a violent sexual assault, from which many women never recover..I think you're doing a lot of people a disservice..

Ok then there's no difference.
    Being in an active relationship with someone. And being a guest in someone's home for the night are the same thing.

No really. They are.

How hard is it to understand that any time you put your dick in someone you need their consent?

This applies regardless of whether they’re a gf/ wife/ houseguest/ bdsm playmate or whatever you’re having yourself.

I am not a fan of the term “rape culture” - I don’t think it’s generally a helpful way of describing how rape is understood in society.

But when a man has admitted to rape in detail in an email to his victim and then pleaded guilty in court to the same crime, but men here are still somehow trying to claim he’s probably isn’t, I can’t think of a better term to describe it.

"I'm not a fan of the term rape culture but I'm going to use it anyway because it gets me internet points"

In what world does this accurately describe what a culture of rape is?

How hard is it to understand that any time you put your dick in someone you need their consent?

This applies regardless of whether they’re a gf/ wife/ houseguest/ bdsm playmate or whatever you’re having yourself.

What? Really?

Jaysus. That's mad.

Like, really.. rape is like really the worst kind of crime..to equate it with this, in a presumably loving relationship, really I think it kind of looks like some feminist publicity stunt..get the likes of Louise o Neill fired up.. yeah, the whole consent thing has become such a big deal, but like, what you are saying is that this is of the same magnitude as a violent sexual assault, from which many women never recover..I think you're doing a lot of people a disservice..

I think the woman in this case was an feminist activist and the bf was a male feminist. Not joking.

Listen, stealing €1,000 and stealing €10m are both stealing even if one is a lot more serious than the other.

Punching someone once and punching someone 10 times are both assault even if one is more serious than the other.

And raping someone as they sleep and raping someone violently in an alley are both rape even if one is more serious than the other.

Attitudes like yours are the reason marital rape wasn’t even considered a crime until a few decades ago.

This thread can’t be real. He literally admitted to raping her!

Some posters on this thread:

“na that be right”

But he admitted it.

“Sometimes people admit to things they didn’t do. Is there any proof?”

Yeah, he admitted it.

“Wow its just so mysterious”

So nobody has ever admitted to a crime they didn't commit? Funny that considering some of the posters on here were all over Making a Murderer and how Brendan Dassey's confession shouldn't be taken as an admission of guilt. But that's beside the point. How can someone be so traumatised by something they slept through.

Listen, stealing €1,000 and stealing €10m are both stealing even if one is a lot more serious than the other.

Punching someone once and punching someone 10 times are both assault even if one is more serious than the other.

And raping someone as they sleep and raping someone violently in an alley are both rape even if one is more serious than the other.

Attitudes like yours are the reason marital rape wasn’t even considered a crime until a few decades ago.

So you agree that there a different degrees of rape, similar to murder, manslaughter etc?

So nobody has ever admitted to a crime they didn't commit? Funny that considering some of the posters on here were all over Making a Murderer and how Brendan Dassey's confession shouldn't be taken as an admission of guilt. But that's beside the point. How can someone be so traumatised by something they slept through.

The thought of my body being used as I sleep by someone I trust and in what should be the safest place in the world, my own bed, is pretty traumatising to me.

I can imagine it would be hard to get to sleep after that, and very difficult to trust someone enough to share a bed with them.

So you agree that there a different degrees of rape, similar to murder, manslaughter etc?

I literally just said that.

Both are rape, one should carry a longer sentence.