Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

From his recent interviews it comes across that his job was always poet.

Be some craic if Bob Dylan didn't write back to him.

"As one poet to another." I think we'll miss the little fella when he's gone, but he certainly doesn't hide his light under a bushel.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,557 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I could be wrong, and I am sure someone can correct me if I am. But I don't think there is a mechanism to do that.

I know SF claimed for years that they only took the average wage. And as we all know they were taking the full payment and in most instances donating it to the party.

There should be no mechanism to refuse part or whole remuneration.

This type of virtue signaling by politicians of any hue should be rejected by the electorate.

Give them what they are due and let them sort it from there without any state involvement.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,963 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

From his recent interviews it comes across that his job was always poet.

And being an absolute pain in the A****, seems anything MDH as to say must be verse or rhymes other than that the rest is just incomprehensible patronising nonsense.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Beefy: "Listen...listen...listen...listen."

Jesus man, give it a rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

I could be wrong, and I am sure someone can correct me if I am. But I don't think there is a mechanism to do that.

I know SF claimed for years that they only took the average wage. And as we all know they were taking the full payment and in most instances donating it to the party.

The can find a mechanism very quick when it suits them, in fairness how long would it take if the will was there.

As for SF, most have being taking their full salary's for years, some donate a small percentage.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

"As one poet to another." I think we'll miss the little fella when he's gone, but he certainly doesn't hide his light under a bushel.

That’s it, he’s got his annoyances but, overall, he’s a good guy and a great representative for the country.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Very much doubt Bobby d will reply to him.

Wasn’t it an “open letter” more than a private correspondence? The first I saw of it was it was reprinted in the examiner

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Yesterday it was an interview with a cook, today an unknown English DJ.....off until the 1pm news.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Yesterday it was an interview with a cook, today an unknown English DJ.....off until the 1pm news.

Are you talking about Annie Mac there? She wouldn’t be an “unknown English DJ”.

You might not be aware of her but aside from being well known in the music industry she’s presented on ‘Other Voices’ for RTÉ.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

She’s fairly obscure all the same.

As a listener to bbc 6 I’ve never been overly impressed with her - “phoning it in” is the phrase I’d use

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

She’s fairly obscure all the same.

As a listener to bbc 6 I’ve never been overly impressed with her - “phoning it in” is the phrase I’d use

Not obscure at all

Comedian Stuart Lee would ask himself “what’s the funniest thing I can do in this situation “

When he heard James cordon was name dropping him in interviews he did a number on him said it was like a dog liking classical music

Funniest think Bob could do is do nothing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Not obscure at all

I have since discovered she's Irish, but whatever her nationality it was yawn inducing stuff which is the staple of BOC's woeful show.

Not obscure at all

Disagree. The average irish radio listener wouldn’t have a breeze if her name was mentioned

I’m afraid I didn’t know her either.

Legend in her own lunch break type

She was on the cover of the Irish Times magazine yesterday. But do go on telling us that she’s a nobody who shouldn’t be on the show, or maybe imply that she must be on the “books” of Noel King.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭KevRossi

M Ds letter to Bob on his 80th

I think that letter sums up what MDH has developed himself into today. It's a letter from the President of a nation to a songwriter. In it he mentions himself several times, and doesn't mention the people once. The letter comes across as a slightly obsessed fan asking to meet Dylan, rather than a letter from a head of state.

I first met Higgins when he was in opposition around 1987 or 1988. I still think his tenure as Minister for Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht to have been one of the most effective of any Minister in any role, he was certainly the best in his role.

But he has become an insufferable pontificator and I grew to dislike him strongly for a number of reasons during the campaign for his second presidency. He is the worst kind of champagne socialist there is.
    Furze99 wrote: »
    Amazing the amount of penetration that the dining industry and so called celeb chefs have in RTE. On every other show regularly going on about their lives. RTE staff are obviously paid far too much if the ins and outs of this crowd are important to them.

Vast majority of people don't eat in these places and frankly couldn't give a 'f**k' about Chapter One and the rest of them.

They get on some show, they hand out a few goodies (free or highly reduced meals) to those who matter in RTE and the wider media, and they get the necessary publicity. Greasing each other up (almost literally).

Would agree the letter is yet another example of what MDH has become

Extremely vain and egotistical

Very much out of touch with “ordinary Ireland”

A deeply insincere false and frankly embarrassing fake “posh” upper class English accent that he persists in using to underscore an elitist attitude (“I am separate and better than you, and you will accept that”)

Some sort of delusional idea that he was a serious credible poet. The poetry was not well regarded and it was very much a side line “quirk” of his career but for whatever reason he plays up to it at every opportunity

She was on the cover of the Irish Times magazine yesterday. But do go on telling us that she’s a nobody who shouldn’t be on the show, or maybe imply that she must be on the “books” of Noel King.

She’s fairly unknown in Ireland

As I said before I listen to bbc radio quite a bit and never particularly impressed with her -

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

Would agree the letter is yet another example of what MDH has become

Extremely vain and egotistical

Very much out of touch with “ordinary Ireland”

A deeply insincere false and frankly embarrassing fake “posh” upper class English accent that he persists in using to underscore an elitist attitude (“I am separate and better than you, and you will accept that”)

Some sort of delusional idea that he was a serious credible poet. The poetry was not well regarded and it was very much a side line “quirk” of his career but for whatever reason he plays up to it at every opportunity

It was a more upmarket version of Varadkar's note to Kylie!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Away from the compulsive liar guy who's wife fancied another stint in the lap of luxury...

O'Connor's interruptions, unnecessary interjections and continual finishing off of other peoples sentences are becoming a total turn off...literally. Did half an hour today and went over to Gavin Reilly. The difference in presenting styles is huge. Gavin lets people talk freely and finish their piece without jumping in every few seconds to prove it's his show.

BOC seem to think he knows more than anyone else irrespective of how qualified the guest is in their own field.

Stfu Brendan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Cole

KevRossi wrote: »
    I think that letter sums up what MDH has developed himself into today. It's a letter from the President of a nation to a songwriter. In it he mentions himself several times, and doesn't mention the people once. The letter comes across as a slightly obsessed fan asking to meet Dylan, rather than a letter from a head of state.
    jay0109 wrote: »
    It was a more upmarket version of Varadkar's note to Kylie!

Leo was slated and had the p1ss ripped out of him (deserved some of it), but Michael D essentially does the same thing and it's seen by many through a completely different lens. Because himself and Bob Dylan are seen as the acceptable type of creative artist (both are apparently serious and profound poets/philosophers), it has to be seen as something different...almost admirable.

There's nothing wrong with a bit of poetry and philosophy now and again, but how people can't see through the sheer level of pretentious rambling that Michael D comes out with is amazing to me. He's become a bit of a (social) media sacred cow who can only be seen as some kind of inspirational figure, rather than a guy who loves having his wannabe artist ego massaged.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Cole wrote: »
    Leo was slated and had the p1ss ripped out of him (deserved some of it), but Michael D essentially does the same thing and it's seen by many through a completely different lens. Because himself and Bob Dylan are seen as the acceptable type of creative artist (both are apparently serious and profound poets/philosophers), it has to be seen as something different...almost admirable.

There's nothing wrong with a bit of poetry and philosophy now and again, but how people can't see through the sheer level of pretentious rambling that Michael D comes out with is amazing to me. He's become a bit of a (social) media sacred cow who can only be seen as some kind of inspirational figure, rather than a guy who loves having his wannabe artist ego massaged.

Don't hey me wrong. I like MDH, but the poetry is fairly awful. Always has been.

Any grown man writing to Kylie needs a good look at themselves

Ah, surely writing the letter is ok-ish. Popping it in the post is the step too far :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,557 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Don't hey me wrong. I like MDH, but the poetry is fairly awful. Always has been.

It gives me a sort of a warm comforting feeling to be living in a country where people are exercised enough to complain about the quality of the Presidents poetic output. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,175 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I was part of an audience with Miickeleen recently and while I was on the pot submitted the following few stanzas to the President.

Above in the leafy Árus
    The Pressie spread his thighs
    Took up a spot on his sùgán chair
    Surveyed us with his eyes.
    The waistcoat nicely settled
    The hounds at peaceful heel
    A patient crowd awaited
    To hear his latest spiel
    Them ****ers out in Israel
    Are really off the wall
    The Yanks are kernts of the lowest sort
    They really know fuherke all

So lads get out and protest
    Get out and do your stuff
    I’m down to three auld pinshions
    It’s nowhere near enough.
    Break up the kip and light the match
    Reduce the place to rubble
    I’ll sit up here and cheer you on
    Steering clear of any trouble.

Submitted to Aras An Uachterán for inclusion in its archives.

Not included apparently …… very disappointed .

*May not be true

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Cole

I don't see anything wrong with it...each to their own...but not in an official capacity as the head of a national government. But that wasn't the point, it's that some see Michael D's slightly desperate sycophantic letter to Dylan as somehow different...because himself and Dylan are both 'real' artists and not some mere pop singer.

I think Michael D (as the head of state of a country) needs to take a good look at himself writing to Dylan. And maybe those who think it's somehow inspirational/admirable could do the same.

Anyway, elperello's point is well made...we're lucky that we don't live in a country where we have to worry about more serious issues around the presidency. But he's still a pain in the arse at times.

I don't see anything wrong with it...each to their own...but not in an official capacity as the head of a national government. But that wasn't the point, it's that some see Michael D's slightly desperate sycophantic letter to Dylan as somehow different...because himself and Dylan are both 'real' artists and not some mere pop singer.

I think Michael D (as the head of state of a country) needs to take a good look at himself writing to Dylan. And maybe those who think it's somehow inspirational/admirable could do the same.

Anyway, elperello's point is well made...we're lucky that we don't live in a country where we have to worry about more serious issues around the presidency. But he's still a pain in the arse at times.

IMO Higgins letter would be ok if he left out the Poet bit :) anyway I’m sure there’s a proper definition of a poet , should earn a living from it or something?