Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Someone wiser than me said It suited the exchequer better to pay him for 7 yrs than to pay his pension and another president's salary side by side.

Not sure if you are being serious or not. But thank god he is not a “Robespierre” given what he got up to.

As for MDHs cod philosophy, it makes little sense, his party trick is to ramble on and on and name check a few theories. Aul guff.

For proof of this listen back to his appearance on sat and try to decipher the riddles he winds himself up in. I doubt he knew himself what he was saying...

It got so bad that BOC gave up and started talking to him about pina colados and the dogs....and then tittle tattle about what did MDH and Leonard Cohen talk about when he met him....
    It's quite normal for an interview to end on a lighter note, but I didn't hear the discussion about piña coladas (O'Connor mentioned it, Higgins seemed a bit dumbfounded) or dogs. Are you sure you were listening to the Brendan O'Connor interview?

I thought Higgins's television interview with Ryan Tubridy was very weak, pretty incoherent, and lacked value. But not this one.

The conversation focused on the President's book, and on contemporary thought in economics – e.g. the works of Mariana Muzzacato and Ian Gough — even straying into diacritical hermeneutics, whatever that is.

None of this is "cod philosophy", though, it is contemporary thought, and it's impressive that an octogenarian (let alone a Head of State) would be aware of these emerging philosophies.

It strikes me that we are in the midst of an Elizabethan era in Irish political, artistic and social life. We have a president who quotes Paul Ricœur and Richard Carney, we have a thriving artistic and intellectual life, a healthy economy, and a great deal of social cohesion.

This won't last forever. States rise and fall, shine and grow dim. Philosophers are replaced by pig-ignorant pickpockets. I think history will judge this epoch as being something of a golden era for the development of Ireland as an important European state. Maybe even an example to other states who seem to be regressing.

Enjoy it while it lasts. I thought it was a very illuminating interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

elperello wrote: »
    I thought it was gas to hear BOC saying "listen" at the start of his sentences talking to Salman Rushdie like you'd hear a fella talking in a pub in Cork.
    Oh i thought it was so embarrassing and rude. To do it once would be an interjection you could forgive, to do it that many times was very cringey. I kept thinking "he doesn't want to listen to you, you're not interesting, he's the interesting one!"

Also the way he handles sensitive topics with a mallet is very RTÉ. "i know you probably don't want to talk about it but your granda was a paedo, was he?" paraphrasing
    Didn't seem to phase SR anyway because at the end he said "it was great fun".
    I'm convinced it was a figure of speech, one which he nearly forgot to add!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Oh i thought it was so embarrassing and rude. To do it once would be an interjection you could forgive, to do it that many times was very cringey. I kept thinking "he doesn't want to listen to you, you're not interesting, he's the interesting one!"

Also the way he handles sensitive topics with a mallet is very RTÉ. "i know you probably don't want to talk about it but your granda was a paedo, was he?" paraphrasing

I'm convinced it was a figure of speech, one which he nearly forgot to add!

When Brendan says "C'mere" you know the interview is coming to a close.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,538 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

The conversation focused on the President's book, and on contemporary thought in economics – e.g. the works of Mariana Muzzacato and Ian Gough — even straying into diacritical hermeneutics, whatever that is.

Pity he didn't ask him about the advantages of property investment, the advantages and difficulties of being a landlord and the ease or otherwise of evicting tenants.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,684 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

M Ds letter to Bob on his 80th

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Radio on

BOC interviewing sinead o connor

Radio off

• Registered Users Posts: 10,729 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Radio on

BOC interviewing sinead o connor

Radio off

She comes across as some airhead. Herself and the other O'Connor are well met for sure!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭archfi

Was enjoying it until she mentioned singing a song in her head to George Floyd.
    I mean.
    Come on.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Some singing voice though

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Shelga

I quite enjoyed that interview actually. She’s had an interesting life, and was more balanced and seemed to have more perspective than I would have expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,729 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Amazing the amount of penetration that the dining industry and so called celeb chefs have in RTE. On every other show regularly going on about their lives. RTE staff are obviously paid far too much if the ins and outs of this crowd are important to them.

Vast majority of people don't eat in these places and frankly couldn't give a 'f**k' about Chapter One and the rest of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

The interview with this cook whose restaurant I've never been to is sucking the life out of me - radio off.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    The interview with this cook whose restaurant I've never been to is sucking the life out of me - radio off.

Are we really a lot more compassionate, Maureen Gaffney?

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭DrSerious3

Pity he didn't ask him about the advantages of property investment, the advantages and difficulties of being a landlord and the ease or otherwise of evicting tenants.

Interestingly, a certain cohort of people who generally rail against political dishonesty and vested interests would be highly annoyed if Higgins was asked about his impressive personal wealth and property portfolio on radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

DrSerious3 wrote: »
    Interestingly, a certain cohort of people who generally rail against political dishonesty and vested interests would be highly annoyed if Higgins was asked about his impressive personal wealth and property portfolio on radio.

I thought it was just two. His family home and then a second house in Galway. Has he many more?

MDH been high on the hog for decades at this stage ...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,557 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This is no great revelation.

He was a university lecturer and became a politician. Both well paid jobs.

Now he is President which is another well paid job.

Describe it any way you like but he only gets the same as anyone else in his position would get.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Champagne socialist at its best.

He has done well of the backs of the taxpayer in this country.

mgn wrote: »

Serious question. What do you expect him to do? Hand all the money back? Use it to fund Marxists in Latin America.

What do the PBP do with there salaries?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,557 ✭✭✭✭elperello

That's just an old jibe.

Politicians collect their wages just like any other state employee.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

That's just an old jibe.

Politicians collect their wages just like any other state employee.

Miggeldy has a useful chap who does all that for him.

The 'Crowds on a Tiny Street in Dublin' national disaster being discussed now.
    'Flabbergasted'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Serious question. What do you expect him to do? Hand all the money back? Use it to fund Marxists in Latin America.

What do the PBP do with there salaries?

Give something back to country by not taking a salary for the privilege of being President would do, he has the big house, staff, chauffeur, gardeners, and wined and dined around the world.

As for PHP, a shower of muppets, the worst by far is that idiot Eoin O Broin who rents a house rather than buy one, just to be in the renters club.

Give something back to country by not taking a salary for the privilege of being President would do

I could be wrong, and I am sure someone can correct me if I am. But I don't think there is a mechanism to do that.

I know SF claimed for years that they only took the average wage. And as we all know they were taking the full payment and in most instances donating it to the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I could be wrong, and I am sure someone can correct me if I am. But I don't think there is a mechanism to do that.

I know SF claimed for years that they only took the average wage. And as we all know they were taking the full payment and in most instances donating it to the party.

He did something with one of his pensions where the money was to go back to the exchequer. Or it was, at least, talked about.

Must be great to have your room and board covered while pulling in a salary that would make you a millionaire once your term is up.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

He's only gathering it for the grandkids at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

This is no great revelation.

He was a university lecturer and became a politician. Both well paid jobs.

Now he is President which is another well paid job.

Describe it any way you like but he only gets the same as anyone else in his position would get.

From his recent interviews it comes across that his job was always poet.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

He even has cultivated the posh arisocrat accent to go along with his huge public earnings