Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Transformation 2020

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Here we go. 5 participating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

The music teacher will be one of them. Always an educational person included.

Feck. To have that from a teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Hes 29? Looks so much older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Akabusi

What is his second job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭Azatadine

That Eddie lad is an awful spoofer. Cant listen to him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I'd love for once if they'd just had some fatty come on and say I'm fat cause I love takeaways, booze and sitting on me arse.

Akabusi wrote: »
    What is his second job?

The musical stuff in the evenings.

Big screech from Kathryn. She's back.

Azatadine wrote: »

Same for me Aoife. Think she contradicts herself alot.

That big man coming up is a shade under 30 stone. He's in a couple. Heaviest ever I'd say.

neonsofa wrote: »
    Hes 29? Looks so much older.

He has an older demeanour about him too.

Nice to have a couple. And some story with his neck break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭JoeCole26

Massive respect to everyone that decides to put themselves out there and try to better themselves, and generally just feel happier in their own skin. The very best of luck to them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Ah that was sweet of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭robinbird

The subtle insinuation though is that losing weight will make these people happier. Not sure that is the case.
    And that it is sustainable once the cameras go off. Very noticeable that the few leaders they bring back are from the last year or two and that they are all still overweight.

Eddies new age spoofing and psychobabble definitely the most annoying thing about the show.

robinbird wrote: »
    The subtle insinuation though is that losing weight will make these people happier. Not sure that is the case.
    And that it is sustainable once the cameras go off. Very noticeable that the few leaders they bring back are from the last year or two and that they are all still overweight.

Eddies new age spoofing and psychobabble definitely the most annoying thing about the show.

Very true. Year 13. Where are the 2008 crew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Can never understand why they strip right down for the weigh ins, seems like fat shaming to me. I know it's a weight loss programme but its seems unnecessary

He's like Brutus in Popeye!

Spoofer Eddie....Kathryn wants Eddie on speed dial for the girl no less...

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Very true. Year 13. Where are the 2008 crew?

A follow up study on The Biggest Loser, the equivalent us show found that it was practically impossible for them to keep the weight off.

Spoofing away and gets shut down by the annoying Aoife. How ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Even the past participants who have all become "advocates" for health and fitness are still well overweight.

I think the producers seek out the easiest people to manipulate and play up to the camera, as the majority seem to have been unable to do it for themselves once the cameras are gone.
    Its sad really when you think none of the people on it previously can come back say 5 or 10 years later and show slow but consistent improvement.

Didn't like the way Tanya had her man fetching things for her. Probably used the weight as an excuse but part laziness, part control thing.

A follow up study on The Biggest Loser, the equivalent us show found that it was practically impossible for them to keep the weight off.

Was there an underlying reason, something psychological?

12 cans of coke a day.. holy fcuk.

Even the past participants who have all become "advocates" for health and fitness are still well overweight.

I think the producers seek out the easiest people to manipulate and play up to the camera, as the majority seem to have been unable to do it for themselves once the cameras are gone.
    Its sad really when you think none of the people on it previously can come back say 5 or 10 years later and show slow but consistent improvement.

I've one guy as a FB friend, acquaintance really, on the show 7/8 years ago. Heavier than ever.

Yeah, imagine 12 cans a day of Coke. That cannot be a good thing even outside of weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ah this doesn't have a patch on biggest loser. Now that was good TV. 20 stone losses in a matter of months!!

I've one guy as a FB friend, acquaintance really, on the show 7/8 years ago. Heavier than ever.

You one Siobhan from a few years ago goes up and down in weight like nothing else. Follow her on FB and she eats like a pig at times and other times it's the lettuce diet with runs during her lunch break. No consistency at all.

Was there an underlying reason, something psychological?

Their metabolisms were permanently damaged and lowered. And you only have so much will power. They were constantly starving. The only participant out of 13 that has kept the weight off was obsessed and still exercising 5-6 hours a day.

Have seen it myself with others. Losing the weight is the easy part, particularly with the national spotlight.. Keeping it off is practically impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Azatadine wrote: »

He was on to one of the contestants about camouflage and I couldn’t stop thinking about his dodgy combover.

JoeCole26 wrote: »
    Massive respect to everyone that decides to put themselves out there and try to better themselves, and generally just feel happier in their own skin. The very best of luck to them all.

They are going the wrong way about it though.

They also need a good sob story and be able to turn on the taps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

I'd love for once if they'd just had some fatty come on and say I'm fat cause I love takeaways, booze and sitting on me arse.

I am that person you described. ^^^ "Im Bubo, I like chocolate, tayto and chineses-es and spend the day sitting on my arśe. My job involves sitting on my arśe too. I have a big belly and humongous tits. I don't cry over my weight because I'm not a bawling lardarśe"

I don't get the whole "shock" thing when their weight is revealed. Surely they hopped onto a scales beforehand for curiosity sake. Can't imagine going on the telly to get weighed not having a fcukin clue you're 18 stone.

Unfortunately I have no fcukin sob story to tell so I won't be appearing on it any time soon.

BuboBubo wrote: »
    I am that person you described. ^^^ "Im Bubo, I like chocolate, tayto and chineses-es and spend the day sitting on my arśe. My job involves sitting on my arśe too. I have a big belly and humongous tits. I don't cry over my weight because I'm not a bawling lardarśe"

I don't get the whole "shock" thing when their weight is revealed. Surely they hopped onto a scales beforehand for curiosity sake. Can't imagine going on the telly to get weighed not having a fcukin clue you're 18 stone.

Unfortunately I have no fcukin sob story to tell so I won't be appearing on it any time soon.

You sound like fat bastard, I read your post in a Scottish accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    You sound like fat bastard, I read your post in a Scottish accent.

Baby

Get in mah belly... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Wasn’t this show discovered to be over exercising and under feeding people? And encouraging them to dehydrate themselves on weigh in day? That was a competition so people were kicked out weekly. I don’t know for sure but I much prefer the OT way of doing it, seems more likely to have a lasting impact.

But it doesn’t as proven by former contestants.

The 29 year old music teacher seems a complete copy of the man with the shop last year. Working long hours and away from his family and no doubt the same rehashed advice for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I do like how OT motivates people to make better food choices and get up and get active over the 6-8 weeks the show airs. But once the cameras stop rolling it all falls by the wayside - I've seen it both with contestants from the show and in real life. The show helps to kick start healthy eating and exercise - which lets face it isn't exactly hard to do in January! - but it doesn't do much to help maintain those habits. There's no follow up with the OT program, no shows or check ins during the year. Most of the Nationwide walks and Light It Up campaigns had stopped in March. There's nothing wrong with needing external motivation (I know it myself, it's easier to go out for a run where there's a group or parkrun rather than try to motivate myself alone). What about a half hour program with the leaders once a month to check in?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I liked all the leaders. Looking forward to seeing how they get on.

Of the coaches, or whatever their title is, Karl and Aoife grate on my nerves.
    (I probably should post that on the AH thread about people you inexplicably dislike).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I do like how OT motivates people to make better food choices and get up and get active over the 6-8 weeks the show airs. But once the cameras stop rolling it all falls by the wayside - I've seen it both with contestants from the show and in real life. The show helps to kick start healthy eating and exercise - which lets face it isn't exactly hard to do in January! - but it doesn't do much to help maintain those habits. There's no follow up with the OT program, no shows or check ins during the year. Most of the Nationwide walks and Light It Up campaigns had stopped in March. There's nothing wrong with needing external motivation (I know it myself, it's easier to go out for a run where there's a group or parkrun rather than try to motivate myself alone). What about a half hour program with the leaders once a month to check in?

I agree about the motivation. I also think a follow up programme would be good.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »

I’d say a lot of the people that go on the walks while the show is on only want to see if they can get their mug on television.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I’d say a lot of the people that go on the walks while the show is on only want to see if they can get their mug on television.

Oh I agree. I remember when one year an OT leader was scheduled to attend my local parkrun - there were huge crowds down for the tv cameras. Following week the numbers were half!

But aside from that I think the publicity of the walks and other OT activities serves as a good reminder and motivator for people to get active. If we were all able to motivate ourselves to be more active well there wouldn't really be a need for OT! It's not a bad thing to need motivation - in fact I think it's normal and natural - it's just a pity OT finishes up after only a few weeks leaving everyone to fend for themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Moved from Television

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

only caught the end of this, but but bloody hell that is a lot of Coke! She has a cup of tea (with 3 sugars) and accompanies it with a can of coke. She wakes up during the night, and has a Coke! (which reminded me of this).

At least it provides a simple first step (though she seems hopelessly addicted to the stuff).

loyatemu wrote: »
    only caught the end of this, but but bloody hell that is a lot of Coke! She has a cup of tea (with 3 sugars) and accompanies it with a can of coke. She wakes up during the night, and has a Coke! (which reminded me of this).

At least it provides a simple first step (though she seems hopelessly addicted to the stuff).

I’m amazed that she still have her teeth, unless they are false teeth.

I'm not really a Coke drinker - if I was to buy a fizzy drink it would be way down the list. But my mouth was watering for a can last night watching OT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Eddie is some spoofer... and looks to be getting fatter himself each year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Enjoyed the show last night. I look forward to it every year. Hopefully the leaders get what they are looking for out of it.

Still can't believe that girl drinks 12 cans of coke a day!! Yikes. She cuts that out straight away and she will start to see the weight loss.

As said already, would love to see a full follow up show on how many of the previous leaders have kept to the weight that they have lost. I say the same every year. The ones featured last night looked good (David the Guard from a couple of years back looks years younger!)

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
    Enjoyed the show last night. I look forward to it every year. Hopefully the leaders get what they are looking for out of it.

Still can't believe that girl drinks 12 cans of coke a day!! Yikes. She cuts that out straight away and she will start to see the weight loss.

As said already, would love to see a full follow up show on how many of the previous leaders have kept to the weight that they have lost. I say the same every year. The ones featured last night looked good (David the Guard from a couple of years back looks years younger!)

It’s comedy gold.