Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby World Cup Final 2019 Eng vs S Africa

• Subscribers Posts: 41,137 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Weepsie wrote: »
    Joe Marler too then.

Ah I love Joe... Funny fecker

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭I see sheep

castor 1 wrote: »
    Gatland won’t be happy at all.

Wales had the beating of SA last week and didn’t do it and if they had won they would have fancied beating England today.

Nah Wales wouldn't have been able to lift the performance to anywhere close to this.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭shootermacg

high_king wrote: »
    England can hold their heads higher than Ireland can, that's for sure.

Ah would you ever go back to crying into your morning beer. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Why are England so poor against South Africa??

They have an awful awful record against them, much better against Australia.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Sinckler was a huge loss. Coles not good enough of a back up. Not great for the game to see SA's style winning out but their basics have really improved. Replacing Jantjes with Pollard changed the whole picture.

I thought SA could have had several players binned early in the game. They were extremely cynical. De Klerk could have been binned a couple of times. But finals are won in that manner. You just need a stronger ref.

Congratulations to SA and especially Rassie.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭C__MC

BQQ wrote: »
    Only multiple grand slams

At a world cup

I wonder how much of a savaging Eddie Jones and his team will get from the English media after this result.

Already started, 'England Collapse' the DM headline.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭castor 1

Nah Wales wouldn't have been able to lift the performance to anywhere close to this.

You’re probably right, but Gatland wouldn’t see it that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

So happy for Felix Jones. I certainly gave him stick for his back work with us but he totally deserves this.

He had such a terrible end to his career and was injury ravaged.

IReland has a World Cup winner!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Anyway, hard luck England, never really got going and keeping the performances up after last week was always going to be tough. Congratulations to any SA fans here, well deserved clever knockout rugby. Can't argue with that scoreline.

Was there a poll done before the tournament, can anyone remember. Curious to see how accurate we all were in our guesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭BQQ

Brilliant interview from kolisi
    What a great captain and role model

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭GDK_11

Faugheen wrote: »
    They’re led by arrogance and their biggest player shouldn’t be playing international rugby because of his backwards views.

Not to mention Joe Marler who was so horrified by Folau’s comments but clearly doesn’t give a **** about Vunipola playing alongside him.

Kyle Sinckler one of the most arrogant players in the game.

Maro Itoje one of the biggest cheats.

So yes. Plenty to dislike about them.

Billy V fair enough, obviously don’t agree with his views.

The rest are a bit arrogant on the pitch, so what? Some players have an edge when they play but off the field are completely different.

Personally think every team needs a few cocky characters, all successful teams in any sport have a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Boks captain is a gent delighted for him

• Registered Users Posts: 21,609 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Anyway, hard luck England, never really got going and keeping the performances up after last week was always going to be tough. Congratulations to any SA fans here, well deserved clever knockout rugby. Can't argue with that scoreline.

Was there a poll done before the tournament, can anyone remember. Curious to see how accurate we all were in our guesses.

Prediction thread is probably the closest

• Registered Users Posts: 24,295 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Some speech there.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Pearlstone

What an amazing interview with the South African captain. Inspirational.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Superb speech

• Registered Users Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

They’re led by arrogance and their biggest player shouldn’t be playing international rugby because of his backwards views.

Not to mention Joe Marler who was so horrified by Folau’s comments but clearly doesn’t give a **** about Vunipola playing alongside him.

Don't forget Courtney Lawes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Get your setpieces right and you have a platform to win. Kinda what we did last year.

Need to look at how RSA even if dire one or 2 years before hand always seem to be ready to perform at a World Cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭hahashake

WOuldnt really agree there. Think NZ were the same against both Ireland and Eng. It was the opposition that produced the different score boards. Ireland were poor. England were good.
    The game suited SA. It was a contest of similar teams and they came out the better of the contested part of the game, stalling Englands forwards, and making more progress in return, themselves.
    NZ have to play a different game, and were totally unable to handle Englands forwards.

What would Graham Henry know abut rugby?:rolleyes:

Gatland made a similar comment to Henry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭shootermacg

GDK_11 wrote: »
    Billy V fair enough, obviously don’t agree with his views.

The rest are a bit arrogant on the pitch, so what? Some players have an edge when they play but off the field are completely different.

Personally think every team needs a few cocky characters, all successful teams in any sport have a few.

Hear hear well said. Lots of great honest, hard-working lads in the England squad. But some people love to get the knives out at any opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

what did vunipola do

Superb speech

ITV showing ads :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭tastyt

Jesus what a moving speech, like something from a movie but real and genuine.

Pure class

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

what did vunipola do

Supported Folau's homophobic Instagramming.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,903 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I wonder how much of a savaging Eddie Jones and his team will get from the English media after this result.

They get a fairly savage hammering I’m guessing. If they lost by 7 points in a close encounter it wouldn’t be so bad. Loosing by 20 points not having troubled the South Africa line basically the whole match.... as much credit as South Africa are due it was super apparent that after an hour that England looked shot... out of ideas and out of legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭patmac

Apart from all the bitterness on both sides here (the anti-English and the anti anti English) what a performance from South Africa deserved winners and the best team of the tournament. Watched it on ITV and thought they were very unbiased and graceful in defeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

As are RTE. Eir shooting the breeze.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Lots of ads. Gob****es.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭C__MC

The really big question is can south Africa do it at the main event next November in the Aviva?