Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that make you happy - Part 3 - The Happyning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I’ve only two days left in work then off till September!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,764 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

new browser… reactive, light lighting, zero lag, crash or any other shît. Like a brand new device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭Archeron

I bought a surprise bag of newsagent jellies for two euro, and it's possibly the best thing I've ever bought.

Milk bottles, giant cola bottles, strawbs, jelly sharks, jelly toothbrushes and so many more, jelly everything you could ever wish for.

I'll go back to being a grown up later.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,574 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Had a rather nice day yesterday. I went look at mattress in Acton, where I used to live. It's changed quite a bit but jumping on them was fun. Found a tiny shop beside Hammersmith hospital which had Club Orange as well as a Polish shop later with Barrys Tea. Had a wander around Wormwood Scrubs park as well.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

I saw my neighbour walking up the road with his arms full of lettuce.

I don't know what he was up to but it made me laugh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Driving home on Sunday night from Dublin and listening to TodayFM playing their EP sets - caught the end of Mark McCabes set, an hour of Dec Pierce, an hour of Steve Kay. I was raving and bopping all the way home in the car (safely, while both hands were on the wheel 😄)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Were you tapping your feet? Because that would explain the erratic behaviour of your car, all speeding up, slowing down and hopping along like a bad case of the hiccups...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That a bunch of Irish walkers are retracing the Trail of death and tears with some Choctaw to raise money for the Somali famine . I’m delighted of the bond between Ireland and the Choctaw nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Did online shopping, separate stuff all came in one box. After checking the stuff, I looked at the box, “Jayus that is a grand sized box for bottles/cans”

6AA8399B-119C-471A-B21D-0AEE19D5B2A8.jpeg

I even put stickers on it. I need a few pints to fill it up now to “see if it works”

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Those drivers (normally young lads) that insist on constant aggressive lane changes zig zagging through traffic, in souped up cars. They are more often than not white cars, for some reason. I always end up starting laughing when I catch up with them at traffic lights, while I go at at the more steady pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Lots of talk around that Riverdance is 30 years old so I decided to go see it. I’ve only good things to say about the Gaeity Theatre, been many times

I must say it was quite fantastic. All aspects, dancing, singing and the support staff who do the lighting, graphics, smoke etc. For me the star was the violin player, her talent is unreal!

If ya waited 30 years like me 🙃then I’d say it’s worth attending

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Getting indoors just before it started lashing rain, and also I don't need to go back out.
    Happy days.

went for my workout, place was so quiet as most Friday evenings, all staff relaxed in great form…

went for a takeaway after and only 2 ahead of me in the queue…in out and home to enjoy in no time and I’m out tomorrow night so weekend is progressing well.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Only 5 mins left in work for the week. Takes about 8 mins to cycle home. I should be in my bed napping in about 20 mins.

profiterole cake. Genuinely, I’d like to shake whomever had that genius idea for profiterole cake by the hand and thank them 😵‍💫😋

a pub localish to me has it on occasion… annoyingly not every time…

I’ll have to keep a lookout for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was at the The The gig in Dublin last night, and as they started the last song (Giant), a man in front of me excitedly shouted "GIANT!". He immediately looked behind, to see me standing there and he said "...and a giant appears behind me!!". 😂

I'm 6'5" and he was only about 5'7" (and he'd had a few pints and a few spliffs, I'd say) so his reaction was understandable. He insisted on shaking hands with me, in his excitement. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Flying can be stressful enough but my TH is our security officer in Dublin airport at 05:00 this morning.

A pure salt of the earth Dub. Telling the group of mature ladies there was no stress, their gin n’tonic was waiting for them. 🍹

Fist bumping 👊 a young boy and commenting about his comic book film top.
    A laugh and a joke for all and everyone who finished their tray and went forward to screening machine had a smile 😃

I want this guys energy for 5am work shifts, he is a legend !

Brother sent me a whatsapp of a picture of his young lad, holding back tears (not much over 8), putter in hand.

The caption was "Just shot 20 at the previous hole in crazy golf"

Even funnier still I said his Daddy was mean not letting him have a gimmie/pick up. But he said it was his mother (who likes to stick to rules) that made him finish.

Great life lesson/parenting (I suppose).

But that look on his little face was gas.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,574 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Mattress arrived. Delivery lads were very sound as well.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Had never heard of Lublin until yesterday. I can't remember where I read it but it was in an article, so I looked it up on Wiki.

It's the 9th largest city in Poland with a pop. of about 350,000, to save you a click.

To my surprise, I was driving today with the OH in the passenger seat and sure what did I see, only a personal reg plate with Lublin on it! There were some Polish stickers on the back too so I know it was legit. Crazy odds to see that within 24 hours of learning about it and looking it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭appledrop

This morning looking out at all the raining my first thought was 'Ah feck I'll have to stand on sidelines in football training tonight in that'

Fast forward to this evening and it was lovely and warm and sunny at training and I also got a few laps of pitch in aswell! Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,126 ✭✭✭sporina

acquired 6 penalty pts in Aug 21 - now I have none - woo hoo

couldn’t sleep last night. So got up and started looking for my missing drivers license renewal form. More out of frustration than any expectation of locating it… but I found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Got one of those ticket things from the reverse recycling machine in the closest tesco, chanced my arm by using it in another branch, the machine accepted it without issues.

So now I don't have to use and recycle in the same shop as it used to be.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Is it sad that I'm excited to sleep on my new mattress tonight? I could decide on medium or firm and it'll be too heavy to carry by myself when I move but it looks so cool just sitting there waiting to be slept on for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy