Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that make you happy - Part 3 - The Happyning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,246 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

just got a brand new still unopened board game for €4 in a charity shop

It costs€26 in Smyths . Game on grandchildren !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Bluebell woods

lovely thread 🤗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,647 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,764 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

my wireless bluetooth speaker, the sound is incredibly good but a feature I like is you can press a button and an automated voice calls out the remaining battery % which is nifty..I had the previous model and you just had to wait for the amber light and that meant it was about 6 minutes left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

One of the grown-up kids is away overnight and asked that I call in and feed the cat(who is its 11 yrs appox has never acknowledged my presence)

Th1 today the cat did hobble over to me for a head rub on the way to the food bowl, ta2 that the kid involved got a carefree few days for a change.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Flicking through channels and Forrest Gump is on .

That Lingo replaces Tenable . I have sweet F-all to do but watch telly

I had a difficult and emotionally bruising meeting with a career teacher and specialist. They asked all the usual questions about the impact of the labels involved but were challenging when they didn't understand the long-term impact of those labels.

I felt so battered and bruised for a few days after, but now I've bounced back I can see that in their annoyance/intolerance/ignorance, they gave me some absolutely vital information and pointers.

While it was an absolutely horrorfest of a meeting, the th is that I have all this current and v v useful info to move forward with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭Archeron

I was at a training course today and at the end there were dozens of cookies left over, big fresh cookie monster cookies. Trainer said ye may as well take a pile each to save waste so i happily obliged.

Now everything i own seems to smell like cookies, my car, my computer, my carry case.

Eau de Double choc chip for men.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

It's Friday. I get to stay in bed until I want to get up. Then I get to make a nice brekkie for myself. With coffee.

I also just found out a well known DJ is having a garage sale tomorrow. 12"s and 7"s.

was feeling too tired to go to the gym tonight, but went anyway as I didn’t want to miss any of the cricket tomorrow. After 5 minutes on the treadmill, ‘ fuçk, this was a bad idea ‘ but 5 min later again and I was flying, second wind mega recovery, maybe even had the best workout ever, takeaway after and free all day tomorrow to do sfa…

Getting a hair cut has changed since I was a nipper, and for the better I reckon.

Went to a barber today for standard hair and beard cut and it was like a salon treatment. Big comfy chair, scalp tonic, precision cut, moisturiser and a blowdry on the beard before cutting, styled, then aftershave balm, a head massage, a hot towel and cologne.

That doesn't happen everywhere but nice when it does. Aaaaaaahhhhhhh.

Waking up to Sky Arts . Started watching it and now I love these blues / jazz artists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,138 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I was about to give up on a Thrustmaster flight stick since one of the axes was malfunctioning, but found that it was a known issue with a fix. I had to disassemble the handle and move one of the wires a bit, but it worked and it’s like new again.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Charlo30

A pot of coffee. The Sunday papers. Nothing to do and nowhere to go

Today’s Tipping Point . A man from Zambia wanted to go home for the first time in 10 years to bring his wife and son to meet their mother in law /grandparents . 6 counters later 10K in the bag .

turned on my games console for the first time in months, first two games of FIFA… I’m shît, getting hammered but the timing and mindset bounces back and a while later I’m beating all comers and climbing the table….

I agree. I started going to a modern salon type place in my local shopping centre during the pandemic just because it was big, airy, spotlessly clean, ventilated and modern … turns out to be the best cut ever…….rarely have to wait, never rushed, they spend ages on your cut always offered a cuppa which I decline anyway…. Just a TH experience…..

Th local Dunnes stores have Alpro nut milks on sale for €1.39 ish. As it's a thicker texture so I can dilute it and so will last longer!!

Was washing my hands in the office bathroom today and somebody in a cubicle let a fart that was about 25 seconds long and sounded like a sad ghost falling from a great height.

I'm still laughing to myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,191 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

That is pure RTE in the 80s and 90s

Litterly a camera in a pub, talking bollocks. Yer man almost on top of him

Nighthawks

Weekend TV films . Just flicking around and Alien is on , the last couple of weeks I’ve found Forest Gump , Ella Fitzgerald and now another one I can’t remember

no idea what to make for dinner but there were two hotdogs left 😋😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,126 ✭✭✭sporina

not trivial at all imo but anyway - a friend had 5 of us over for a BBQ - weather was amazing and hostess pulled out all the stops - we ate our fill and had the craic - stayed outside till 8 then moved into the living room for karoke.. but throughout the day I just felt so grateful - for the food, the friendship - the leisure time, the lack of worries - soo blessed we are 💞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,314 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

TH1: An author I'm reading atm has their character read a book by another of my favourite authors

TH2: When a word at the end of a page is hyphenated, correctly guessing the complete word

TH3: Noticing a small detail mentioned in a plot, that will become significant later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,138 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I bought an inexpensive Bluetooth keyboard / trackpad combo to use with my Mac when sat back. The trackpad is OK, but the keyboard is much better than I was expecting. Really good feel and response. The layout will take a little getting used to because it's compact , but this is a nice surprise overall.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray