Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy touches girls arm, faces 10 years for sexual assault

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

you just left out half the story, gah Boards really needs to let you call out OPs like this for what they are

Eh? Ive left out the whole storey, I posted the link, is it in the boards charter that I must post the full story and not just the link????

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Yeah. A girl touching a boys arm probably wouldn't have been worth reporting because of physical differences, strength, likelihood of causing harm. But I take your point. Never miss an opportunity to Bring gender into it.

The Dude does not abide.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Yeah. A girl touching a boys arm probably wouldn't have been worth reporting because of physical differences, strength, likelihood of causing harm. But I take your point. Never miss an opportunity to Bring gender into it.

Probably?

Just seen a clip of Scarlett Johansson walking up to Trump and squeezing his arm when she first met him (before he became POTUS). Are you telling us that probably should have been reported? Maybe if she goosed him .. grabbed him by the .. you get what I'm saying, but touching someone's arm should not be considered an assault, much less a sexual one.

Come on, this is all crazy. This should never have went to court. It's absurd.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,641 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

you get what I'm saying, but touching someone's arm should not be considered an assault, much less a sexual one.

Again for the lazy people who haven't read the court report and insist this guy was charged because he merely touched someone on the arm.

Here is the complaint from the perspective of the victim.
    She told the hearing: ''I was just set on getting home and revising for my mock exams but as I was coming over the bridge I saw him facing a hedge and I thought it was really weird. He wasn’t doing anything he was just facing the hedge, staring at it.

"As I walked towards him, I was watching him and he suddenly swung round so he was facing me.

''I remember it happening fast. As soon as he moved I moved and I said: 'stop' and he touched me on my arm. I sort of jolted out of the way and I went into the road to avoid him and he very quickly walked away.

"I think it would have been on my breast had I not moved. When it first happened I didn’t think much of it, didn’t click in my head, I just thought that was really weird. Why did he touch me?

“I forgot about it for a while because I had my exams. I just thought it was weird behaviour.”

She said she encountered Griffiths again on November 7 at lunchtime as she was on her way to school to sit a timed English essay having been revising at home.

She added: ''I was quite far up the road when I noticed him. He is someone who lives in my area, someone I have seen before. I thought I recognised him but I didn’t think it was the person from the first incident at the time.

''It was only when he moved to touch me and looked me in the eyes that I realised it was the same person. The pavement was quite wide but he suddenly moved to walk in front of me, looked me straight in the eye and touches me on my side and walked off.

''It was quite a while - three to five seconds. He smirked at me, he didn’t stop he just touched me and walked off and I broke down crying in the street - it was quite traumatic.

I had reported the previous incident to the police to days before hand as it had been going around that other incidents had occurred and I thought I could give more evidence, and then it happened again. It came up on a local Facebook group chat

She wasn't the only girl this díckhead was stalking and touching.

Certain people on here seem to have the inability to process the facts and apply them to context.

Your average Daily Mail reader really.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,998 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Probably?

Just seen a clip of Scarlett Johansson walking up to Trump and squeezing his arm when she first met him (before he became POTUS). Are you telling us that probably should have been reported? Maybe if she goosed him .. grabbed him by the .. you get what I'm saying, but touching someone's arm should not be considered an assault, much less a sexual one.

Misunderstanding. Most times a guy touches a woman it's not reportable either. Add in the fact that the guy was known for this stuff, an element of stalking , getting her in an isolated place and touching and yes, it's probably reportable (and is an offence according to the magistrate who is kinda an expert on the matter).

This thread is a funny mix of people saying "everyone knows you can't go around touching people do the guy knew what he was doing was wrong" and other people saying 'you'd us ridiculous and there's nothing wrong with what he did'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

What a silly boy for even going near a woman in 2019, I am a virgin and I will keep it that way, imagine the trouble a woman could get you into if you slept with them and they regreted sleeping with you.

It also brings back a memory of 2010, I was a loner autist at school and a girl would slap my ass when I walked down the corridor so her friends would laugh. Could you imagine if I did that to a girl? I wonder what would have happened if I reported her for sexual assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Misunderstanding. Most times a guy touches a woman it's not reportable either. Add in the fact that the guy was known for this stuff, an element of stalking , getting her in an isolated place and touching and yes, it's probably reportable (and is an offence according to the magistrate who is kinda an expert on the matter).

This thread is a funny mix of people saying "everyone knows you can't go around touching people do the guy knew what he was doing was wrong" and other people saying 'you'd us ridiculous and there's nothing wrong with what he did'.

In fairness, there's no proof that he was known for it. Even the lady in question never said the schoolboy was the one doing the incidents, just that somebody was.

We only have gossip and hearsay that there was any other incidents.

Edit:

Also, why do people keep mentioning stalking? There no proof he followed her or isolated her, or anything. Just that they net randomly.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,179 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

In fairness, there's no proof that he was known for it. Even the lady in question never said the schoolboy was the one doing the incidents, just that somebody was.

Edit:

Also, why do people keep mentioning stalking? There no proof he followed her or isolated her, or anything. Just that they net randomly.

the second time just happened to be random?

What are the chances 2 Creepy Shy Hanson lookalikes with the same "make a friend" technique?

Edit:

We only have the testimony from the trial. The previous incidents were part of that testimony.

People keep mentioning stalking behaviours because he exhibited stalking behaviours. It could be complete coincidence but it might be what looks like. We don't know for sure one way or the other.

Boggles wrote: »
    What are the chances 2 Creepy Shy Hanson lookalikes with the same "make a friend" technique?

Fair enough. Link a qoute where it said someone of his description did the sane thing to other girls.

Its strange how people are adding facts here tbh.

the second time just happened to be random?

Which is more likely, he bumped into her as they were a schoolboy and schoplgirl going to the same school, or he followed her planning something malicious?

Fair enough. Link a qoute where it said someone of his description did the sane thing to other girls.

Its strange how people are adding facts here tbh.

The poisonous woman couldn't get a picture, he legged it.

Perfectly normal behavior.

The wholly stalk, touch and run friendship method can take one by surprise.

What a silly boy for even going near a woman in 2019, I am a virgin and I will keep it that way, imagine the trouble a woman could get you into if you slept with them and they regreted sleeping with you.

That's really sad. But it's not as bleak as you're suggesting. Most interactions between people are grand. But if you approach women in a similar way to the guy in the article, then you could end up in trouble.

In the past this guy's behaviour might have gone under the radar and he might have "gotten away" with it. He might have gotten a hiding from other lads for being unusual and that too might have gone under the radar.

But let's not pretend that his behaviour would ever have been considered good or normal. There's no way that in the recent past this guy's behaviour would have been considered a good interaction.

Which is more likely, he bumped into her as they were a schoolboy and schoplgirl going to the same school, or he followed her planning something malicious?

He was waiting facing a hedge.

Boggles wrote: »
    He was waiting facing a hedge.

Yeah be fair R&GB. He was standing on a bridge waiting for her so she would be isolated. That suggests stalking behaviour -not necessarily malicious, but not good either.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Yes but if we are to function as a society we have to all have a reasonable level of tolerance for strange or even slightly bad behavior that is non threatening. If you go to rock concert you may get another mans sweat on your back, if you walk down the street, you might meet a weird kid that you need to learn to confront or avoid rather than escalate. We all face situations that make us feel uncomfortable, now that I am an adult male less so but absolutely when I was a kid, we don't need to engage the law for every issue. Of course, if you feel threatened, or the person appears dangerous through their actions or words, then absolutely escalate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭joseywhales

For example, if she had approached this kid at the store that he works, with a parent with her as back up and told him to stay away from her and that he makes her feel uncomfortable, how much trouble would have been avoided here?

She did tell him not to go near her again the first time he tried it on. that message doesnt seem to have got through.

Creepy McCreeperson tried it on a second time after been told to stop the first time. that is not normal behaviour. whether he just accidentally bumped into her nobody can say for sure but it does seem coincidental that it happened at a place with limited avenues of escape.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,280 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Let's face it, if by chance he had attacked her and assaulted her on a third time, she'd be blamed for not having reported the first two times.

Penn wrote: »
    Let's face it, if by chance he had attacked her and assaulted her on a third time, she'd be blamed for not having reported the first two times.

this is it. those attacking her for reporting it would also be attacking for not reporting it if had progressed to something more serious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

I find this story outrageous. Their generation seems to have serious problems with social interaction and knowing what acceptable social norms are. How this could possibly be seen as sexual assault absolutely amazes me. A socially inept young man made a clumsy approach to some girl who has no idea what sexual assault is. Jesus, at this point we're going to have to start keeping young girls indoors at all costs unless escorted by a male chaperone, possibly veil them from head to toe so that nobody body shames them or assumes their gender whatever other twaddle they spout.

Creepy McCreeperson tried it on a second time after been told to stop the first time. that is not normal behaviour. whether he just accidentally bumped into her nobody can say for sure but it does seem coincidental that it happened at a place with limited avenues of escape.

When did abnormal become dangerous? Its far more likely (hundreds) that he's socially awkward than planning public groping or rape.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,683 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Beasty wrote: »
    It's not a mandatory sentence. Sentencing has not taken place yet. Sensationalist newspaper headline alongside sensationalist thread title

That's the Daily Mail for ya!

When did abnormal become dangerous?

Its far more likely (hundreds) that he's socially awkward than planning public groping or rape.

who mentioned dangerous?

blueshade wrote: »
    I find this story outrageous. Their generation seems to have serious problems with social interaction and knowing what acceptable social norms are. How this could possibly be seen as sexual assault absolutely amazes me. A socially inept young man made a clumsy approach to some girl who has no idea what sexual assault is. Jesus, at this point we're going to have to start keeping young girls indoors at all costs unless escorted by a male chaperone, possibly veil them from head to toe so that nobody body shames them or assumes their gender whatever other twaddle they spout.

or maybe young lads could keep their hands to themselves especially after they have been told to stop. You seem to think the problem is with the woman in this case. It isn't.

Out of curiosity, how would my female colleagues react if I told them to stop touching me? Would they see it as me sexualising normal female touching?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Depends on the Context.

If she tapped Jimmy on the arm to ask if he knows what time the bus is coming, then yes it would be extreme to call the police.

If she had form for potential stalking behaviours, waited for Jimmy to be isolated on a bridge and approached him without saying anything, touched him and walked away and this was the second time it happened, then no. Going to the police seems fairly reasonable.

I think it still sounds pretty extreme. It's certainly not good behavior, but if some woman did this to me and I didn't want her to I'd say 'would you cop onto yourself?'. But people's reactions to things is subjective. It is to be expected that people may sometimes have slightly irrational reactions. It is still totally within their remit to go to the police.
    If the police have had a few reports like this in the past and his behaviour appears to be stalking, then yes it is reasonable to prosecute.

You know, I wouldn't mind so much if he was convicted for stalking! It is somewhat salkerish in nature (it's pushing the definition a bit, but it's still within the scope of it). If an order had been placed on him not to come within x feet from her that might be reasonable (might be difficult while they were still in school though). It is the conviction for sexual assault that is completely insane. This isn't my opinion. Given the information, corroborated by the victim, this conviction is absolutely wrong, insane, and a perversion of the legal system.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

Newsflash, as a species we are tactile creatures. Now if the girl considers having her arm or waist touched she sounds like she needs to have a bit of cop on. He didn't sexually assault her, she wasn't sexually assaulted and that anyone could possibly believe that she was assaulted beggars belief. She has destroyed this lads life and reputation and by the sounds of it, all so that she could shift the blame for her academic inadequacies onto a random lad who touched her arm and waist.

He shouldn't have put his hands on her but we aren't talking about sexual assault, we're talking about an hysterical young wan and an inept young fella and the Police shouldn't have taken this seriously, the CPS should have laughed it out. The fact that nobody, neither her, her parents, the Police or the CPS had the gumption to point this out to her is bewildering.