Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm Lorenzo Chat Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

Hope all in Donegal are ok.. Hopefully the seas die down soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Just your average crappy night here in South Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Donegal town this morning
    uiVVfC6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭sporina

We arent under any warning..

yes we were - we were status yellow for a good while...

blah blah blah..

these exaggerated forecasts are v dangerous as eventually people will stop paying heed to them - and then when there really is a storm, there will be trouble..

stop crying wolf weather folk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭lleti

Imagine if every time we were told we were going to be murdered we'd have to change plans, possibly cancel meeting friends or going shopping....

Now imagine that every time you were told you were going to get murdered it never happened.

After a while you'll just not take any heed of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

lleti wrote: »
    Imagine if every time we were told we were going to be murdered we'd have to change plans, possibly cancel meeting friends or going shopping....

Now imagine that every time you were told you were going to get murdered it never happened.

After a while you'll just not take any heed of it.

:confused::confused::confused:

If someone is threatening to murder you, you really need to call the Gardaí....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Hooter23

There still at it on Rte.."we will get it right the next time" lol when have we heard that before:rolleyes:

Only 107 km/h gust in Mace Head? Valentia only for 67 km/h.

Way below what was expected. The forecasters got this one very wrong.
    We'll have 20 worse nights before April.

Is it not wonderful that no one died, that there was not more damage than there was? Had folk not been advised to take precautions?

Weather forecasting is not an exact science; they have to warn of the worst possible scenario to avoid danger and damage.

Never before heard anyone complain that it was not bad enough weather! Most of us are relieved. It was bad enough out here as it was.

And Met ie did not create the hype; their forecasts were well within safety and accuracy.

That was the media.

Over and out from here on this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

m17 wrote: »
    West cork
    oOLeYvL.jpg

Did you take that picture if you don’t mind me asking m17? Just wondering because my family has a house near there! Was wondering what it was like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Hooter23 wrote: »
    There still at it on Rte.."we will next it right the next time" lol when have we heard that before:rolleyes:

Can hand on my heart say, I have never heard that before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,723 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

m17 wrote: »
    Donegal town this morning
    uiVVfC6.jpg
    don't need a storm for that stream to flood

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

There is a certain amount of back tracking going on. When the kitesurfer dude needed a medi-vac yesterday there were calls of- 'Gob****e', 'Serves him right', 'Should have left him there' and 'Darwin award' because he was out in a storm in an area under a weather alert. Now it seems there was no warning and no problem. Truth is the weather wasn't at all bad on the east coast and that fella could have injured himself on a lovely day in July just as easily- in fact last Tuesday was far more windy here and I'd guess he's often been out in far windy conditions.

The yellow advisory seems to cause the most confusion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I think MetEireann and RTE will have learned some valuable lessons from this debacle. We are going to have a 'boy who cried wolf' scenario if this circus keeps playing out.

The problem is that the media bought into it too early and deployed teams to report on the 'hurricane'. They felt they could not pull back from the brink once they had released the hype.

1. MetE weather presenters need to better at dampening the hype within RTE e.g. they should not have left George Lee waffle on about hurricanes - they should have pulled him up on it. It was bull****.

2. RTE (and the rest of the media) need to understand what the weather warnings mean and present them in a matter-of-fact fashion.

3. If downgrades start happening MetE need to say it quickly and make sure RTE acknowledge it. Then RTE need to be brave enough to say it's going to be a non-event. There is nothing wrong with that. Instead RTE started running around the country trying desperately to make a story out of nothing (e.g. Prime Time).

4. The National Emergency Co-ordination group needs to shut up altogether. They just muddy the waters even more with their TDs just looking for air time. Eoghan Murphy :o

Just need to let it all go now?

The storm is over; the sun is shining and a lovely autumn day out there. Enjoy...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Graces7 wrote: »

The storm is over; the sun is shining and a lovely autumn day out there. Enjoy...

At least you never hype it up Graces ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Did you take that picture if you don’t mind me asking m17? Just wondering because my family has a house near there! Was wondering what it was like :)

I doubt if he did as he put up the donegal town picture as well, possible but it would be alot of travel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Graces7 wrote: »

What storm? I have been along the coast of 4 of the 5 counties in the orange zone and it didnt happen.

I have spoken with locals who are well used to winter storms and the unanimous consensus is this was a non event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

How long till the next storm??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

easypazz wrote: »
    What storm? I have been along the coast of 4 of the 5 counties in the orange zone and it didnt happen.

I have spoken with locals who are well used to winter storms and the unanimous consensus is this was a non event.

I spoke to a friend in Kilkee today. He said they have had plenty of real storms over the years but Larenzo was a 'pussy cat' by comparison. By the time the RTE people arrived they knew that the 'storm' was going to be no worse than a dozen other wind events that they get every year and certainly nothing compared to a big storm they had 5 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

easypazz wrote: »

That's what I have got today from two long time residents in the so called orange areas. Both have said it was a normal Atlantic gale with a sea swell. Absolutely nothing abnormal and certainly nothing compared to what they would expect through the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Did RTE have that Lorenzo Special Live at 9 am this morning or did they see sense and axe it?

I was critical of the nationwide Red for Ophelia and still believe it was ridiculous. On the other hand, I think Met Éireann got their warnings fairly bang on this time, given the data available at the time. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. As it turned out the warnings proved to be overdone, but at the time they decided them I reckon the data warranted them.

The biggest disappointment this time has been RTE, normally one media outlet you can rely on for not overhyping. George Lee is a disgrace and should now be fired. Ray thingy presenting Six One has shown that he belongs back where he started, on TV3 / Virgin. He was almost as bad as Lee. The overall decision yesterday to air both Morning Ireland and then a live special on TV this morning is laughable. Even if the conditions turned out as bad as the most severe forecasts had earlier shown, there was no need for it. I fear RTE now feels that in order to survive among the increasing range of clickbait nonsense it has to follow the crowd and stoop to the same level.

The only good bit was Pat McGrath's report from Clare this morning where he seemed fairly tongue in cheek in reporting "a few twigs" was about the extent of it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Did RTE have that Lorenzo Special Live at 9 am this morning or did they see sense and axe it?

I was critical of the nationwide Red for Ophelia and still believe it was ridiculous. On the other hand, I think Met Éireann got their warnings fairly bang on this time, given the data available at the time. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. As it turned out the warnings proved to be overdone, but at the time they decided them I reckon the data warranted them.

The biggest disappointment this time has been RTE, normally one media outlet you can rely on for not overhyping. George Lee is a disgrace and should now be fired. Ray thingy presenting Six One has shown that he belongs back where he started, on TV3 / Virgin. He was almost as bad as Lee. The overall decision yesterday to air both Morning Ireland and then a live special on TV this morning is laughable. Even if the conditions turned out as bad as the most severe forecasts had earlier shown, there was no need for it. I fear RTE now feels that in order to survive among the increasing range of clickbait nonsense it has to follow the crowd and stoop to the same level.

The only good bit was Pat McGrath's report from Clare this morning where he seemed fairly tongue in cheek in reporting "a few twigs" was about the extent of it there.

And don't forget Theresa Mannions live report from Salthill which was embarrassing to watch giving out about people out walking while she was standing out in the rain for the drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

A nice extended spell out on the M6 Buoy to do a bit of reporting is the right place for a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,723 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Did RTE have that Lorenzo Special Live at 9 am this morning or did they see sense and axe it? .

its on the rte player ffs

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

Storm 10 wrote: »
    And don't forget Theresa Mannions live report from Salthill which was embarrassing to watch giving out about people out walking while she was standing out in the rain for the drama

I thought it showed good production thinking that when they went back to her for a second report she had dispensed with the headgear so that her hair got nice and wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Someone mentioned the eerie and ominous feeling before Ophelia landed. What actually causes that atmosphere before a major storm?

I often get that feeling when I am arriving home late from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I often get that feeling when I am arriving home late from the pub.

Alright Andy Cap! Is she waiting with the rolling pin? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I thought it showed good production thinking that when they went back to her for a second report she had dispensed with the headgear so that her hair got nice and wet.

Don't forget when she was bracing herself against the wind while a fella strolled past in the background with his hands in his pockets and not a bother on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

A vivid imagination.

Others were going on about the calm before the storm - it happened to be calm in places with no impending gales too.