Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Netflix Recommendations Thread 3.0

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Yeah I really enjoyed ferry over the weekend having seen undercover.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Has the full list for June come out yet? I see Happy Endings is being added to the US library next month and I'm hoping we get it too. One of the funniest shows of somewhat recent years. I don't think the network it was on knew what to do with it, so it got cancelled after 2 seasons, I think. Would love to rewatch it all.
    Has Happy Endings ever been available on this side of the pond?

It strikes me as the type show that would do incredibly well on Netflix.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Coming in June (early list)

Netflix Release Date TBA
    Record of Ragnarok (Season 1) N – Japanese anime series adapted from the manga of the same name which sees the Gods council assemble to decide that after 7 million years of human history they are irredeemable and must be extinct.
    Too Hot to Handle (Season 2) N – Netflix’s “hottest” reality series returns as a new group of gorgeous single contestants compete for the cash grand prize of $100,000 but at the cost of giving up sex.

June 1st
    Believe Me: The Abduction of Lisa McVey (2018) – Biographical crime drama centered around a 17-year-old girl who planned on taker her own life only to be kidnapped and fight to stay alive.
    Black Holes: The Edge of All We Know (2020) – Space documentary that takes an in-depth look into Black Holes and the incredible discoveries being brought to light by the observatories from around the world.
    Boogeyman (2005) – Mid-2000s horror starring Barry Watson as a young man struggled to deal with the childhood terror that has never stopped haunting him.
    CoComelon (Season 3) – Three more hour-long episodes of the animated kids series from YouTube.
    Colombiana (2011) – Action-thriller starring Zoe Saldana as a cold-blooded assassin who witnessed the murder of her parents as a child.
    Count Arthur Strong (Multiple Seasons) – BBC comedy duo series starring Steve Delaney and Rory Kinnear.
    elvis presley the searcher netflix uk june 1st

Elvis Presley: The Searcher (2018) – Elvis Presley documentary chronicling his evolution as a musician and a man.
    Married to Medicine (Season 2) – Reality TV series centered around the married ladies of Atlanta’s exclusive medical inner circle.
    Nigella: At My Table (Season 1) – Cooking series with famous celebrity chef Nigella Lawson.
    Octonauts (4 Seasons) – Children’s animated series.
    One Chance (2013) – James Corden headlines this biopic on Britain’s Got Talent winner, Paul Potts.
    Prince Charles: Inside the Duchy of Cornwall (Season 1) – Royalty docuseries looking at the life of Prince Charlies.
    Roh (2019) – Malaysian horror.
    Seven Souls in the Skull Castle: Season Moon Jogen (2013) – Japanese action-drama.
    Seven Souls in the Skull Castle: Season Moon Kagen (2013) – Japanese action-drama sequel.
    Soul (2019) – Malaysian horror centered around a family who is visited by a strange girl with a horrifying prediction.
    summoned netflix uk june 2021

Summoned (2013) – Lionsgate movie about a high-profile court case that sees members of the jury slowly being murdered.
    Super Monsters Once Upon Rhyme (2021) N – Children’s animated musical.
    The Real Housewives of Atlanta (Multiple Seasons) – Reality series focused on the personal and professional lives of the housewives of Atlanta, Georgia.
    Thomas & Friends: Marvelous Machinery: New Arrival (2020) – A new arrival at the Technology fair sparks excitement on the island of Sodor.
    Thomas & Friends: Marvelous Machinery: World of Tomorrow (2020) – The steam engines of Sodor worry for their future as Kenji, a high-speed electric engine, threatens the usefulness of steam power.
    Thomas & Friends: Thomas and the Royal Engine (2020) – The 75th anniversary special for Thomas the Tank Engine.
    Thomas and Friends (Season 24) – Animated adventures of Thomas the Tank Engine and the steam engines of the Island of Sodor.
    Top Coppers (Season 1) – BBC comedy series about two detectives trying to rid the streets of crime.
    What’s Coming to Netflix UK on June 2nd
    Carnaval (2021) N – Brazilian comedy that sees a heartbroken influencer take her friends on a free trip to Bahia’s vibrant Carnival where she learns life isn’t just about the likes of social media.

Kim’s Convenience (Season 5) – The final season of the Canadian comedy series.

June 3rd
    Creator’s File: GOLD (Season 1) N – Japanese mockumentary series from Ryuji Akiyama.
    Dancing Queens (2021) N – Swedish drama about Dylan Pettersson, a young woman from the Swedish archipelago who has dreams of performing on the big stage as a professional dancer.

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Eternal The Movie (Season 1) N – Popular anime feature films coming to Netflix.
    Summertime (Season 2) N – Italian romantic drama set during the summer on the Adriatic coast where the attraction between two lovers runs wild.
    The Girl and the Gun (2019) – Filipino crime thriller.

June 4th
    Breaking Boundaries: The Science Of Our Planet (2021) N– David Attenborough narrated documentary on the collapse of biodiversity around the globe.
    Human: The World Within (Season 1) N – PBS documentary series looking into the fascinating world of our own bodies.
    Sweet and Sour (2021) N – Romantic K-Drama centred around Jang Hyuk, a man struggling to juggle the relationships of two women in his life, his girlfriend and his competitive colleague.
    Sweet Tooth (Season 1) N – fantasy-drama based on the DC Comic of the same name. In a post-apocalyptic world, children are being born as hybrids, half-animal and half-human. Gus, a half-deer and half-human leaves his forest sanctuary and joins a lone traveller to journey across America in search of answers to his past.
    Trippin’ with the Kandasamys (2021) N – African rom-com.
    Yesterday (2019) – Danny Boyle directs this alternative reality where The Beatles never existed.

June 5th
    Kitty Love: An Homage to Cats (2021) N – Documentary about our feline friends.

June 7th
    Strange But True (2019) – Thriller about a woman who surprised the family of her deceased boyfriend’s family with a pregnancy announcement.

June 9th
    Awake (2021) N – apocalypse sci-fi drama starring Gina Rodriguez as Jill, a former soldier, whose daughter may hold the cure to saving humanity, who after a devasting world event has lost the ability to sleep.
    Fresh, Fried and Crispy (Season 1) N – Docu-series hosted by food critic Daym Drops looking for the best hot spots for fried food.
    Tragic Jungle (2021) N – Period drama about a woman fleeing to the jungle to escape an arranged marriage.

June 10th
    Locombianos (Season 1) N – New episode – Colombian stand-up specials.

June 11th
    Lupin (Part 2) N – Assane is back and he’s out for revenge in the return of Netflix’s biggest international series to date.
    Skater Girl (2021) N – Indian-American coming-of-age sports drama that sees Prerna, a rural Indian teenager, find love for Skateboarding and against all odds wants to pursue her dream of competing in the national championships.

June 14th
    Elite Short Stories: Guzman Caye Rebe (Season 1) N – A new spinoff series for Elite diving into some of the untold stories of characters from the hit Spanish show.

June 15th
    Elite Short Stories: Nadia Guzman (Season 1) N – Another spinoff for the popular Spanish series.
    Let’s Eat (Season 1) – Thai romantic comedy series.
    Rhyme Time Town (Season 2) N – More episodes of the animal animated series for preschoolers from Dreamworks Animation.
    Song One (2014) – Music drama starring Anne Hathaway about a young woman getting into a relationship with her brother’s favorite musician.
    the karate kid 2010

The Karate Kid (2010) – The rebooted Karate Kid movie starring Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith drops onto Netflix UK.

June 17th
    Black Summer (Season 2) N – The next set of episodes of the zombie-filled series from the creators of Z-Nation.

June 18th
    Elite (Season 4) N – Spanish crime-drama centered around the teenagers of a prestigious private school where a clash amongst the working class and the wealthy students leads to murder.

Fatherhood (2021) N – Kevin Hart stars as Matt, a single father raising his daughter after the unexpected death of his wife.
    Jagame Thandhiram (2021) N – Tamil and Tegu language crime-comedy centered around a nomadic gangster who finds himself torn between the forces of good and evil while trying to find a place to call home.

June 23rd
    Good on Paper (2021) N – Romantic crime-comedy starring Iliza Shlesinger and Rebecca Rittenhouse

June 24th
    Godzilla Singular Point (2021) N – Anime series featuring the classic lizard king himself.
    The Naked Director (Season 2) N – Japanese comedy-drama centered around the life and career of Toru Muranishi, the porn director that revolutionized the industry in the 1980s.

June 25th
    Sex/Life (Season 1) N – Drama following a love triangle.

June 30th
    'Sophie: A Murder In West Cork'
    The series will consist of three episodes, which will include footage shot both in West Cork and in France. Contributors who will appear include Sophie Toscan du Plantier's family, including her son Pierre-Louis Baudey. Residents from Schull and the local press who were writing stories about the mysterious and brutal murder which took place in her holiday home in 1996.

America: The Motion Picture (2021) N – A tongue-in-cheek adult animated feature that tells the story of how America won the war of Independence against the British with a chainsaw-wielding George Washington and his beer-loving bro Sam Adams.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Has Happy Endings ever been available on this side of the pond?

It strikes me as the type show that would do incredibly well on Netflix.

It aired on e4 originally and then they used to show it in double bills during the day, the way they do with B99 or The Big Bang Theory. It hasn't been on for years though, so I assume they don't have the rights anymore.

I'm kind of hoping it does well on Netflix and we get a revival. I don't think any of the cast have had any great successes since. Although I see Eliza Coupe is in another new show with Maggie Q, but it doesn't look like a keeper.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,137 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Excited to see Lupin return on June 11; a very enjoyable (French language) mystery thriller that felt of the mould of BBC's Sherlock - only good.

It aired on e4 originally and then they used to show it in double bills during the day, the way they do with B99 or The Big Bang Theory. It hasn't been on for years though, so I assume they don't have the rights anymore.

I'm kind of hoping it does well on Netflix and we get a revival. I don't think any of the cast have had any great successes since. Although I see Eliza Coupe is in another new show with Maggie Q, but it doesn't look like a keeper.
    I've no recollection of ever seeing it on E4.

Even without the Netflix bump there are endless rumours of attempts to revive the show so fingers crossed this could improve it's chances.

After seeking out a bit of info on its original air dates I was reminded of Marry Me. In my hazy memory I thought it was a story line in the final season of Happy Endings.

I've no recollection of ever seeing it on E4.

Even without the Netflix bump there are endless rumours of attempts to revive the show so fingers crossed this could improve it's chances.

After seeking out a bit of info on its original air dates I was reminded of Marry Me. In my hazy memory I thought it was a story line in the final season of Happy Endings.

I had forgotten about that one too. I think most of the cast went onto something new straight away, but nothing that's lasted.

They did a Pandemic special for charity last year where they were all zooming. It actually wasn't that bad, at least not compared to some of the other zoom things shows did, and it made me miss the show so much. I don't see it on that list posted above there, so I may be disappointed now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Choochtown wrote: »
    I thought Undercover (particularly series 1) was excellent.

I've not watched the 2nd episode yet but I'll probably get stuck into it over the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭jluv

den87 wrote: »
    Is Startup worth sticking with? Watched one episode and thought it was poor

I actually gave up on it after about 4 episodes. Didn't seem to be going anywhere..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

R.I.P.D is a fun family film. Very similar to Men In Black. 7/10

I've been trying to find the old General Streaming Recommendation thread to post this, but no luck. I've been watching For All Mankind on Apple TV and about 6 episodes in I'm really enjoying it. It's basically an alternative history of the space race where the Russians beat NASA to the moon.

Sorry..... back to Netflix

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Eminem six mile stands the test of the time.
    Great ending and a savage sound track

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,137 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I've been trying to find the old General Streaming Recommendation thread to post this, but no luck. I've been watching For All Mankind on Apple TV and about 6 episodes in I'm really enjoying it. It's basically an alternative history of the space race where the Russians beat NASA to the moon.

Sorry..... back to Netflix

It's possibly the best sci-fi show on "TV" nobody talks about; possibly cos it's on Apple TV in the first place so is kinda dying on the vine over there. Methinks were it on Netflix or Amazon it'd get a lot more eyeballs. Season 2 has a slightly more terrestrial pace but overall the show is fantastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Eminem six mile stands the test of the time.
    Great ending and a savage sound track

I felt Six Mile just comes up short.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Hating Peter Tatchell
    This documentary follows gay rights activist Peter Tatchell from his early life to his fight for justice amid controversy and political turmoil.

Jay and Silent Bob Reboot
    Jay and Silent Bob set out on a cross-country mission to sabotage a Hollywood reboot of a film based on them in this star-studded stoner comedy sequel.

Second Act
    After losing out on a promotion, an assistant manager at a Queens big-box store seizes the chance to reinvent herself for a high-powered corporate job.

Special
    A young gay man with cerebral palsy branches out from his insular existence in hopes of finally going after the life he wants.

added

pixelburp wrote: »
    It's possibly the best sci-fi show on "TV" nobody talks about; possibly cos it's on Apple TV in the first place so is kinda dying on the vine over there. Methinks were it on Netflix or Amazon it'd get a lot more eyeballs. Season 2 has a slightly more terrestrial pace but overall the show is fantastic.

Yeah, the Ted Lasso show seems to be the only Apple show that anyone pays attention to. I really enjoyed Dickinson too, it's such a fun show and I saw someone say it's what Bridgerton wishes it was, but it doesn't seem to be talked about much either.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭iniall

Yeah, the Ted Lasso show seems to be the only Apple show that anyone pays attention to. I really enjoyed Dickinson too, it's such a fun show and I saw someone say it's what Bridgerton wishes it was, but it doesn't seem to be talked about much either.

Mythic Quest is really good too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Apple TV has good productions, just not enough (yet)

I've been watching For All Mankind. About 6 episodes into Season 2, and while it's not been as good as the amazing Season 1, it's still very good. It feels a bit more formulaic, building up to a finale, whereas the first season had special moments throughout it's run.

Loved Ted Lasso. Great ensemble cast, and Jason Sudeikis is a great lead for it.
    I've watched all of Mythic Quest to-date, and that seems to be a show going from strength-to-strength. Plenty of zany characters.
    Watched the first episode of Trying last night - and I'll be coming back for some more grounded comedy that Ted & MQ.

Most recent original I watched on Netflix was Jupiter's Legacy, found it an awful boring mess.
    Would have preferred no back story, or just the back story - splitting the two side-by-side didn't offer much of anything up.
    Felt like they were overly focused on teasing a Season Two, rather than trying to land Season One.

Apple TV has good productions, just not enough (yet)

This is the problem with streaming services though. They all start out only doing a few shows, and they put a lot of time and effort into them, and initially it seems like their quantity to quality ratio is really high. Then they slowly pivot to "content" providers, and the ratio drops considerably.

Amazon still has a pretty high hit rate, but Netflix, while still producing good stuff, is weighed down by the sheer volume of "content". People expect nearly a new show every week from Netflix now, and there probably is a new show every week, but I'm happy if I get 3 or 4 really good shows a year out of my subscription.

• Administrators Posts: 53,648 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Apple TV I am not convinced about, I get it for free but I don't think I'd pay for it.

The Morning Show was decent, albeit somewhat bland.

For All Mankind had a good first season but the second season was nowhere near as good.

Ted Lasso I thought was mediocre. I struggled through it.

If we're considering Netflix, Prime Video, Disney+/Star and Apple TV+ to be the major streaming subscription services, the latter is the only one I've never subscribed to. I couldn't even tell you how much it costs if you are not getting it for free.

I don't think I've any easy way to watch it without buying new tech which is the barrier for me that I don't get with the others although I could be wrong. There's definitely enough original content there that I'd be happy to pay for.

awec wrote: »
    Apple TV I am not convinced about, I get it for free but I don't think I'd pay for it.

I did the free trial back in December to watch Wolfwalkers and ended up watching S1 of Dickinson then too. They started adding S2 of Dickinson in January but I just waited til it was all up and paid for a month, watched it and then someone told me to check out For All Mankind while I had it. I don't think I'd keep it all year round, to be honest. I'll just wait until they have a couple of new seasons of things and get a month subscription to watch them all. Not much use if you want to be able to be involved in realtime conversations and what not about a show, but for me it works.

I don't think I've any easy way to watch it without buying new tech which is the barrier for me that I don't get with the others although I could be wrong. There's definitely enough original content there that I'd be happy to pay for.

I watch it on my Samsung Smart TV, I own no Apple products at all. I can watch it on my laptop easily too.

I had no idea Wolfwalkers was on apple TV+ and I see Boys State is also there. I had no idea that they even offered non original content.

Now I'm even more frustrated that there doesn't appear to be an easy way for me to watch on my TV without buying an additional bit of tech (it's not available on nowtv devices which is what I currently use).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

I had no idea Wolfwalkers was on apple TV+ and I see Boys State is also there. I had no idea that they even offered non original content.

Now I'm even more frustrated that there doesn't appear to be an easy way for me to watch on my TV without buying an additional bit of tech (it's not available on nowtv devices which is what I currently use).

I’m the same, my LG oled tv does not support Apple TV app as it’s too old

Yeah, Wolfwalkers is exclusively on there, and they're apparently only doing a limited edition physical release of it in a box set with Secret of Kells and Song of the Sea, which is a bit annoying, but I'm getting very off topic now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Night owl gal

anyone know if 'four good days' is coming to Netflix?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Miracle in cell number 7 is an excellent Turkish movie if your ok with subtitles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Need a Username

Nigzcurran wrote: »
    Miracle in cell number 7 is an excellent Turkish movie if your ok with subtitles

The are are a few versions of that - the original (I think) is the Korean one and classed as a comedy but I didn’t get far into as the the story leading up to the imprisonment was quite upsetting as I recall.

Nigzcurran wrote: »
    I’m the same, my LG oled tv does not support Apple TV app as it’s too old

I use a Roku which tends to negate issue of tv falling out of sync. It's pretty small and cheap. Lots of other options too.