Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Netflix Recommendations Thread 3.0

• Registered Users Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Managed to watch Role Models again before it leaves tomorrow. Great film, Joe Lo Truglio gets all the best lines.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,182 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Managed to watch Role Models again before it leaves tomorrow. Great film, Joe Lo Truglio gets all the best lines.

a2dc34f9-1104-4bd9-83cb-842c132f5ce6_text.gif

Such a funny film.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,198 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Mod note: Mic 1972, please take your culture war elsewhere. This is not the thread for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭appledrop

Just watched Sherpa.

Omg I'm soooooo angry after watching it.

Absolutely disgraceful the entitlement 'Westerns' feel about climbing this mountain.

It would make you sick. I had some idea about how wrong it was from the film Everest, but this documentary really highlights it.

It's a must watch.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Watched Fast Color tonight. Been meaning to for a while and saw it was leaving tomorrow.

Gugu Mbatha-Raw plays Ruth, a young woman who left her family when she lost control of her special powers/abilities, and has now been forced to return home, on the run after being discovered by government scientists who wany to study her.
    It's quite slow paced and I'm guessing was quite low budget but I enjoyed it all the same. I've seen people call it an arty superhero film but I don't think it really plays out that way. It's more about the relationships between 3 generations of the same family and the powers and dystopian world setting feed into that.
    I think Amazon were developing it into a series, not sure if that's still happening, but it's definitely something that could benefit from having a bigger budget and more time to flesh out the various threads of story.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Alma Matters: Inside the IIT Dream
    There’s the entrance exam, and then the real test. An institute with decades of legacy, millions of aspiring students, and one common dream. The IITs are the Indian version of the American dream that involves clearing the world’s toughest public exam for guaranteed lifelong success. But life is not an exam. It’s a hustle, one that nobody trained them for.

Love, Death + Robots: Volume 2
    What do naked giants, Christmas demons, and robots-gone-wild have in common? The answer, of course, is this distinctly adult animated anthology, which returns with a vengeance for Volume 2.

Halston: Season 1
    Ewan McGregor is playing fashion designer Roy Halston Frowick in Ryan Murphy’s new series.

The Woman in the Window
    Based on the gripping, bestselling novel and adapted by Tracy Letts, this psychological thriller stars Adams as Anna Fox, an agoraphobic child psychologist who finds herself keeping tabs on the picture perfect family across the street through the windows of her New York City brownstone. Her life is turned upside down when the Russell family moves in across the street, and she witnesses an unimaginable brutal crime. The question is… what really happened?

I Am All Girls
    A relentless detective finds common ground with a killer systematically targeting the perpetrators running a powerful child-trafficking ring.

Ferry
    Before he built a drug empire, Ferry Bouman returns to his hometown on a revenge mission that finds his loyalty tested — and a love that alters his life.

Jungle Beat: The Movie
    When a lost and lonely alien crash-lands on Earth, his new crew of talking animal friends helps him get back home — and try to save the world.

Move to Heaven: Season 1
    Finding life in all that’s left behind, a trauma cleaner with Asperger’s and his ex-con uncle deliver the untold stories of the departed to loved ones in this South Korean TV series.

Haunted: Season 3
    A menacing mansion. A haunting melody. A demonic cat. More real people share scary stories from their past — and the truth is terrifying.

The Strange House
    When a big-city family moves to a remote town, two young brothers and their new friends try to solve the menacing mystery that haunts their home.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan season 1
    Arslan, the prince of the kingdom of Pars, fights to regain his throne after Pars is conquered by the neighboring realm of Lusitania.

Ma
    When a woman agrees to buy booze for a group of teens, they begin to party in her basement -- but her hospitality soon turns into obsession.

Castlevania season 4
    A vampire hunter fights to save a besieged city from an army of otherworldly beasts controlled by Dracula himself. Inspired by the classic video games

added.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

Reviewers didn't get an advance copy of The Woman in the Window and there seems to have been a lot of chopping and changing of the original ending after negative test audience reaction. None of these things ever bode well so be warned.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

That's a pity; hopefully it works out cos the trailer looked like a solid psychological thriller with obvious, heavy Rear Window influences.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Finished the 2nd season of Love Death and Robots, much more conventional stories this time I think. They were fine, just maybe not as interesting as the first season (to me anyway).

Wish they had been less dark visually, quite hard to see what was going on at times, maybe that's a fix for lower quality animation?

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Reviewers didn't get an advance copy of The Woman in the Window and there seems to have been a lot of chopping and changing of the original ending after negative test audience reaction. None of these things ever bode well so be warned.

Ugh, I was looking forward to watching it tonight. I'll still watch it but now my expectations are firmly lowered. The trailer was fantastic.

Similar to "things seen and heard", decent trailer and premise that turned out to be absolutely terrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Ugh, I was looking forward to watching it tonight. I'll still watch it but now my expectations are firmly lowered. The trailer was fantastic.

Similar to "things seen and heard", decent trailer and premise that turned out to be absolutely terrible.

Same here. I was looking forward to watching a good thriller tonight. But it looks like Woman in the Window is not going to satisfy the appetite.
    I'll still watch it too. Maybe with lower expectations, it might surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homelander

Oxygen is fairly decent. My only complaint would be that it's a bit predictable overall but there's plenty of low-key twists along the way. I enjoyed it anyway, not entirely unlike a more elaborate, sci-fi version of Buried with Ryan Reynolds.

Won't say anything more as it's a movie that could be easily spoiled. Watched it in French with subs, not sure how good/bad the dubs are, but usually can't stand them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

The film Angel of Decay is a good watch, the byline doesn't give away the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Wombatman wrote: »
    The worst padded out non story in televisual history. Could have been condensed into a half hour low quality YouTube video. Vomit.

I watched it. More fool me. What a load of.. it went absolutely nowhere.

At no time did anyone even mention a severe case of mental illness. The polite sycophantic talk wore me out towards the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

The woman on the window book was very good imo so I'll definitely give it a watch just to see how they translate in to film.

Love, Death & Robots 2. Yay. That's my weekend viewing sorted.
    The first was one of my top all-time favourite on Netflix. Seriously good. I hope Volume 2 is as good. Anyone started watching it?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,249 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Klonker wrote: »
    The woman on the window book was very good imo so I'll definitely give it a watch just to see how they translate in to film.

Reviews are pretty terrible so far...30 percent on rotten tomatoes

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

gmisk wrote: »
    Reviews are pretty terrible so far...30 percent on rotten tomatoes

I heard someone on the radio reviewing it today and basically said what have I just watched. Great cast but awful was the view.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Watched Woman in the Window and it's grand, I wouldn't say it was terrible but it's not a great film either

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I think it's funny how often there's a conversation in here about how bad something is according to other sources, and then everyone watches it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I think it's funny how often there's a conversation in here about how bad something is according to other sources, and then everyone watches it anyway.

I find I regularly disagree with professional movie critics reviews. When looking at Rotten Tomatoes I will always compare the critic score against the audience score. If they roughly match then I'll believe the critics consensus. If the critic score is high and audience score is low then I'd usually avoid it. If the audience score is high and critic score is low then it's probably worth a watch. I haven't watched woman in the window yet but the 50% audience score sort of matches up with what people are saying in this thread so far, it's watchable but nothing special. Bright is a good example, critics hated it but I quite enjoyed and it appears of a lot of other did too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Close Encounters of the Third Kind: Director's Cut
    The director's cut of this sci-fi classic includes a scene in the Gobi Desert and other footage not included in the original theatrical version.

3000 Miles to Graceland
    After two con men rob a Las Vegas casino during an Elvis impersonator convention, each tries to outsmart the other and keep the loot for himself.

Bakugan: Armored (Anime) Alliance Season 1
    Dan Kouzo and his crew of heroic brawlers battle both challengers and powerful, evil forces as they work to protect humans and the Bakugan

Beyblade Burst Rise (Anime) Alliance Season 1
    After training with legendary Valt Aoi, Dante and his trusty Ace Dragon lead the next generation of Bladers to battle in Japan -- Beyblade's birthplace.

Kuroko's Basketball (Anime) Alliance Season 2
    Five middle school basketball stars went to separate high schools, and now Tetsuya Kuroko and Seirin High are making their play for glory.

Booba: Food Puzzle Season 1
    Curious Booba is now a chef! With friends Loola and Spike, he creates tasty treats with delightful designs using fruits, vegetables and other food.

The Real Housewives of New York City Season 3
    Five Manhattan housewives are quite sure in their own minds that they represent the elite of society -- and that other people know it.

Saints & Strangers Season 1
    To survive in the New World, the Mayflower pilgrims must endure internal strife, harsh weather and a fragile alliance with their native neighbors

added

I watched the Sons of Sam after one poster said it was okay, had not read the other poster's recommendation that it was awful.

Not all of us are on here all the time to check every response to questions.

As far as other shows are concerned, some people might want to see something for themselves as there might be a mix of reviews from outside sources. Nothing wrong with that.

As the Sons of Sam case was an interesting one and the investigation lengthy, I decided to see where it would go. Clips of late 70s NY was cool to see - Hill Street Blues, anyone? The documentary was dragged out so you would keep watching to find out where it went/what happened. I quit half way through the last episode.

I did not like that guy at all and they put in a lot of hard work to get you to like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

I find I regularly disagree with professional movie critics reviews. When looking at Rotten Tomatoes I will always compare the critic score against the audience score. If they roughly match then I'll believe the critics consensus. If the critic score is high and audience score is low then I'd usually avoid it. If the audience score is high and critic score is low then it's probably worth a watch. I haven't watched woman in the window yet but the 50% audience score sort of matches up with what people are saying in this thread so far, it's watchable but nothing special. Bright is a good example, critics hated it but I quite enjoyed and it appears of a lot of other did too.

Bright is better than expected

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    I watched the Sons of Sam after one poster said it was okay, had not read the other poster's recommendation that it was awful.

Not all of us are on here all the time to check every response to questions.

As far as other shows are concerned, some people might want to see something for themselves as there might be a mix of reviews from outside sources. Nothing wrong with that.

As the Sons of Sam case was an interesting one and the investigation lengthy, I decided to see where it would go. Clips of late 70s NY was cool to see - Hill Street Blues, anyone? The documentary was dragged out so you would keep watching to find out where it went/what happened. I quit half way through the last episode.

I did not like that guy at all and they put in a lot of hard work to get you to like him.

Tbh with Sons of Sam I did a bit of reading around and it appears to largely be down to a combination of "a psychopath who enjoyed the attention claiming that he had a group of followers" and "a journalist who saw the potential to spin this as a Manson-Family-alike story and got a book out of it". It didn't strike me as having a good enough chance to be worth watching several episodes of, particularly given Netflix's record for picking up documentary/true-crime series that are overly-dragged-out...

Fysh wrote: »
    Tbh with Sons of Sam I did a bit of reading around and it appears to largely be down to a combination of "a psychopath who enjoyed the attention claiming that he had a group of followers" and "a journalist who saw the potential to spin this as a Manson-Family-alike story and got a book out of it". It didn't strike me as having a good enough chance to be worth watching several episodes of, particularly given Netflix's record for picking up documentary/true-crime series that are overly-dragged-out...

Possible not, especially if you had any prior knowledge of how the case ended etc.

I did not and many of us will have thought there would be a big reveal at the end re: the investigation, the prisoner etc.

He was very unwell. I must say what was interesting was his biased, poor interviewing skills. Even those around him knew it was bad when all or any journalist/investigative objectivity had left him completely. But then I guess he was a product of the time, just as much as NYC police department was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Halston: Season 1

Ewan McGregor is playing fashion designer Roy Halston Frowick in Ryan Murphy’s new series.

Anyone try it yet?

Just 65% so far on RT

IMDB has it a bit better at 7.4/10 so far

• Registered Users Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Ferry is excellent.

It's about a Dutch crime boss and the gang culture that comes with it.

I watched it dubbed and it wasn't to bad, some movies come across terrible when poorly dubbed but this one was ok.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

The translation from Dutch to English isnt great as it comes to the swearing though :D

But thanks for the heads-up. I never really look for Dutch stuff on Netflix. Saw the series Undercover and that is about it as it comes to viewing anything Dutch.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Ferry is excellent.

It's about a Dutch crime boss and the gang culture that comes with it.

I watched it dubbed and it wasn't to bad, some movies come across terrible when poorly dubbed but this one was ok.

Just watched that, thanks. The main guy was in a series on Netflix a few years ago. Very similar story - drugs, caravan park, heavies. That was good too. :)