Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are British people better at doing than Irish people?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Making tv and radio show,s ,when uk comedys are good they are brilliant .The office, fawlty towers , etc
    Can you think of one funny rte comedy show ?
    batchelor,s walk is the only one i can think of.
    Reality tv , many shows are invented in the uk, and then exported all over the world, dancing with the stars ,who wants to be a millionaire .
    I think they have dozen,s of small independent production companys ,
    so they are constantly trying out new idea,s ,and of course they have excellent drama school,s , so they produce great actors some of whom end up in hollywood movie .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

riclad wrote: »
    Reality tv , many shows are invented in the uk, and then exported all over the world, dancing with the stars ,who wants to be a millionaire .

The Lyrics Board was invented in Ireland. It might have been rubbish, but the format has been exported all over the world.

Also, Emmerdale was based on The Riordans.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I don't know about British people but English people are the masters of passive aggressiveness and faux respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,467 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

British do queuing, arrogance, genocide better.

Really? When was that..

1750?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Fantastisch

Better at

Arrogance
    Pathetic yearning for a past that never existed in reality
    Propaganda particularly when it comes to monarchy
    Rewriting history especially anything to do with their army and their so called empire

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Fantastisch

cloudatlas wrote: »
    I don't know about British people but English people are the masters of passive aggressiveness and faux respect.

Lots of this. Good at backslapping and fake laughter too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Tammy! wrote: »

Pronouncing the TH sound.

But not pronouncing the 'WH' sound. Or the letter 'R' (with their non-rhoticism ;) ), but some of them do like to stick in an 'R' sound where there isn't an 'R'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Tammy! wrote: »
    Pronouncing the TH sound.

I don't fink so.
    Or the letter 'R' (with their non-rhoticism ;) )

"The Republic of Island"

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I don't fink so.

"The Republic of Island"

In fact, they stick an R in at times which is curious, 'I have an idear'.

Not to mention them discussing 'former world snooker champion Ken Dockerty'

In fact, they stick an R in at times which is curious, 'I have an idear'.

Not to mention them discussing 'former world snooker champion Ken Dockerty'

That’s because no one’s thought them how to pronounce it I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Pageantry and narcissism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Queuing, if it hasn't already been mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Aegir wrote: »
    That’s because no one’s thought them how to pronounce it I guess.

There is a name Dockerty so they are not pulling it out of thin air but I'd imagine Ken introducing himself or his manager doesn't say Dockerty.

Even now, after everything that has gone on over the last 3 years, senior UK journalists and media outlets still spell Leo Varadkar's name incorrectly which is bad form at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,759 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

To be fair when that was uncovered it's been accepted and is being faced up to, at least by the public. There has been a general acceptance that bad stuff happened and it's something we need to deal with and take on board as part of what went on in this country.

Scandals from the UK with strong parallels: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Home_Children - this one doesn't get nearly the level of attention it should, or I think that it would if it had occured in Ireland.

I also think we faced up to the blood services scandals far earlier. That's still very much only emerging in the UK, even though the causes were very much the same - contaminated imported blood products.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Contaminated_blood_scandal_in_the_United_Kingdom

Ah for good Jaysus, the church scandals and industrial schools abuse had been rattling on since the founding of the state and even before, people pretended it wasn't happening in simpler times, people thought the religious and "their betters" knew best, the mother of all cover-ups. The dogs on the street knew they were bad places to end up in.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Milosmith

Wearing Cor Blimey trousers

Jellied eel

pork pies

Colonialism

Pulling a William Churchill

The guy is a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Growing massive vegetables for the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Curry Houses.

Every fish and chip shop makes their own chips and batters their fish.

Producing a Margaret Thatcher

• Registered Users Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭Be right back

Chasing cheese down a hill for the craic!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Talking S*it.

mgn wrote: »
    Talking S*it.

You're generalizing and point scoring

• Registered Users Posts: 13,376 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Nothing. We're better at everything

Curry Houses.

Every fish and chip shop makes their own chips and batters their fish.

Sorry but nothing beats Dublin Italian chippers.

The chippies in the UK rarely have smoked fish and the chips are too greasy after being taken out of the fryer. I am a bit of a connoisseur of fish and chips and have to say we do it better. I am referring specifically to the Italian Irish chippers

Sorry but nothing beats Dublin Italian chippers.

The chippies in the UK rarely have smoked fish and the chips are too greasy after being taken out of the fryer. I am a bit of a connoisseur of fish and chips and have to say we do it better. I am referring specifically to the Italian Irish chippers
    Liar
    Your username caught u out

• Registered Users Posts: 8,937 ✭✭✭pgj2015

riclad wrote: »
    Making tv and radio show,s ,when uk comedys are good they are brilliant .The office, fawlty towers , etc
    Can you think of one funny rte comedy show ?
    batchelor,s walk is the only one i can think of.
    I think they have dozen,s of small independent production companys ,
    so they are constantly trying out new idea,s ,and of course they have excellent drama school,s , so they produce great actors some of whom end up in hollywood movie .

Paths to freedom

Hardy bucks

anonymous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Literature (Chaucer, Shakespeare, Milton)
    Music (Beatles, Stones, Led Zeppelin)
    Universities (Oxford, Cambridge, UCL, LSE)
    Museums & Galleries (British Museum, V&A, National Gallery, Tate Modern)
    Architecture
    Finance
    Business
    Sport

...eh, pretty much everything, really.

Literature (Chaucer, Shakespeare, Milton)
    Music (Beatles, Stones, Led Zeppelin)
    Universities (Oxford, Cambridge, UCL, LSE)
    Museums & Galleries (British Museum, V&A, National Gallery, Tate Modern)
    Architecture
    Finance
    Business
    Sport

...eh, pretty much everything, really.
    Correct

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭4Ad

Describing exactly what road number and junction they used to get somewhere ..m25 to junction 25 then took the m1 to junction 4 etc etc...

I turned off by Joe Mcs field and went over a bit past the graveyard !

They once were the masters of the universe