Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Cancelled] Electric Picnic 2020 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Subscribers Posts: 41,224 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

2017 Band of horses - funeral

• Registered Users Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    I think this thread needs a little life. So what about the greatest EP anthems - the most intense moments and biggest singalongs. I've missed a few - Sabotage in 2007 and Good Times in the Electric Arena on Chic's first ever Irish gig in 2009 are both big regrets but at least I caught this lot:

Arcade Fire 2005 - Wake Up - perfect start to a perfect gig.
    Pet Shop Boys 2006 - Go West - perfect end to a perfect gig, and weekend. Electric Arena was rarely so noisy.
    John Grant (& Sinead O'Connor) 2013 - Glacier. Moment of the weekend for me, surpassed even the Byrne & St. Vincent numbers.
    Iggy & The Stooges 2007 - No Fun - Hard to beat a mass stage invasion. Fun for all bar the Gardai & security.
    LCD Soundsystem 2016 - Dance Yrself Clean - Better than their previous visits.
    David Bryne & St. Vincent 2013 - Burning Down The House. Needs no explanation. You were all there.
    The Cure 2012 - 10.15 Saturday Night. EP's greatest set I reckon.
    Leftfield 2010 - Phat Planet. Has the bass ever been higher?
    My Bloody Valentine 2008 - Soon. As homecomings go....
    Sparks 2006 - This Town Ain't Big Enough ForThe Both Of Us.
    Magazine 2009- A Song From Under The Floorboards. Never thought I'd get to see them. What a treat this was.
    Beck 2014 - Lost Cause. My partner's fave track. She obviously rates our relationship.
    Portishead 2014 - Machine Gun. Again, you were all there.

And a few thousand more forgotten goodies. Any more suggestions?

This one will require a bit of thought. I'll just nominate Gorecki by Lamb for this year's outing. It's nice when anticipation and execution actually match up. Rubick's salty tears of joy just cemented the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Stillill42

sydthebeat wrote: »
    2017 Band of horses - funeral

Oh, seconded! That was epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Stillill42 wrote: »
    This one will require a bit of thought. I'll just nominate Gorecki by Lamb for this year's outing. It's nice when anticipation and execution actually match up. Rubick's salty tears of joy just cemented the moment.

Excellent Stillill. Nominate something that I missed by ten mins. Rub it in. Rubick & Kepler are now going to follow that up by listing every last track by Sons of Kemet.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Moments and tunes for me:

Kraftwerk (2005) We are the Robots
    LCD Soundsystem (2005) Movement
    Iggy Pop & the Stooges (2007) Wanna be Your Dog, and No Fun was class too, the whole bloody gig. From same year, Jarvis Cocker's cover of Boys are Back in Town.
    Bjork (2007) Hunter & Bachelorette
    Grinderman (2008) No Pussy Blues
    My Bloody Valentine (2008) Soon
    2ManyDJs (2009) Window Licker and Gossip tracks. :)
    Magnetic Man (2009) Can't remember track but splendid gig even when the bass monitor broke down.
    Fever Ray (2010) A toss between If I had a Heart or Coconut.
    Crystal Castles (2010) Celestica
    Public Image Ltd (2010) Religion (Lydon's rant about the pope, priceless)
    Pulp (2011) Common People
    Underworld (2011) Rez
    Squarepusher (2012) 4001
    Bat For Lashes (2012) Trophy
    The Knife (2013) Silent Shout and Raging Lung.
    David Byrne & St Vincent (2013) Road to Nowhere and Lazy.
    Bjork (2013) Miracles
    Robert Plant (2013) What is and Should Never Be.
    Portishead (2014) Glory Box
    Beck (2014) Loser
    Camille O'Sullivan (2014) Revelator
    Jon Hopkins (2015) Two Dancers - Wilde Beasts Remix
    Blur (2015) Beetlebum
    Despacio (2015) Loved this venue.
    New Order (2016) Waiting for the Sirens Call
    Daniel Avery (2016) Naive Response and Drone Logic.
    LCD Soundsystem (2016) Someone Great
    Madness (2017) One Step Beyond (great craic and atmosphere)
    Bill Bailey (2017) (First time I caught a proper comedy gig in the tent).
    King Kong Company (2017) The gig.
    Pretenders (2017) Brass in Pocket.
    The Haunt (2017) (Introduced in its first year)
    Duran Duran (2017) Wild Boys (Heavier live than their syrupy studio pop versions)
    Scarlxrd (2018) insane set.
    Massive Attack (2018) Future Proof
    Death Grips (2018) Black Quarterback
    The Prodigy (2018) Breathe
    Jarvis Cocker (2019) His n' Hers
    Amelie Lens (2019)
    Scary Eire (2019) Thief and the Liar.
    Kneecap (2019) H.O.O.D
    Four Tet (2019) Lion
    Johnny Marr (2019) The whole set.

Sorry lads and lassies got carried away but makes up for my absence the last time.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Stillill42 wrote: »

Ive seen Lamb 5 times live, and was gutted to have missed them in this years B&S stage!

I still remember vividly an almost acapella version of gabriel from the jazz stage in glastonbury. Amazing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭rubick

Any joy on Sunday?
    F**k all mate. Got to the holding page on my phone's 4G (actually it was 'H' - thanks rural Co Antrim) and Lyn was the same on the desktop. iPad barely loaded the Seetickets page.

Entered two competitions so far, and registered interest to steward for Oxfam. I'm not beat yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Kepler21

Excellent Stillill. Nominate something that I missed by ten mins. Rub it in. Rubick & Kepler are now going to follow that up by listing every last track by Sons of Kemet.

Don't need to.
    Elbow - 2012 - One Day Like This. I think I had seen them perform it at Glastonbury (on BBC), and said 'I want to experience that live'; several years later there I was, and the reality was even better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Heading along to see these charming men this weekend to bring back the salty dog vibes. I might even smuggle in a can, just for old times sake..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭endainoz

This will take a bit of work, and apologies in advance, mine are a little bit more mainstream!

2010 Roxy Music - If there is something
    2010 The Frames, Damien Dempsey and Liam o Moanlai - The Aul triangle (think it was the first time they did it live)
    2013 Disclosure - White Noise
    2013 Ocean colour scene - Profit in peace (all their songs are anthems really)
    2014 Blondie - Atomic
    2014 St Vincent - Digital Witnesses
    2015 Blur - Tender
    2015 Belle and Sebastian - Boy with the Arab strap
    2016 LCD - Dance yrslf clean
    2016 The Avett Brothers - Satan pulls the strings
    2017 London Grammar - Strong
    2017 The XX - Intro
    2017 Madness - Baggy trousers
    2018 Garbage - I'm only happy when it rains (because it was raining I think?)
    2018 Chic - Get lucky
    2019 Richard Ashcroft - Bittersweet Symphony
    2019 The Strokes - Someday
    2019 Kneecap - C.E.A.R.T.A
    2019 Johnny Marr - This charming man

(Yes I enjoyed 2019) Well that was fun, could make for a good playlist!

Iggy Pop & the Stooges (2007) Wanna be Your Dog, and No Fun was class too, the whole bloody gig. From same year, Jarvis Cocker's cover of Boys are Back in Town.
    Magnetic Man (2009) Can't remember track but splendid gig even when the bass monitor broke down.
    Underworld (2011) Rez
    Squarepusher (2012) 4001
    Bjork (2013) Miracles
    Beck (2014) Loser
    Blur (2015) Beetlebum
    Duran Duran (2017) Wild Boys (Heavier live than their syrupy studio pop versions)
    Amelie Lens (2019)
    Kneecap (2019) H.O.O.D
    Four Tet (2019) Lion

Sorry lads and lassies got carried away but makes up for my absence the last time.

Are there several Bodhrandudes on site?

rubick wrote: »
    F**k all mate. Got to the holding page on my phone's 4G (actually it was 'H' - thanks rural Co Antrim) and Lyn was the same on the desktop. iPad barely loaded the Seetickets page.

Entered two competitions so far, and registered interest to steward for Oxfam. I'm not beat yet.

Sorry to hear that man. I got lucky for the first time since 2014 and hope you make it there. Volunteering is the best way i reckon, particularly if you get good shifts.

endainoz wrote: »
    This will take a bit of work, and apologies in advance, mine are a little bit more mainstream!

2010 Roxy Music - If there is something
    2010 The Frames, Damien Dempsey and Liam o Moanlai - The Aul triangle (think it was the first time they did it live)
    2013 Disclosure - White Noise
    2013 Ocean colour scene - Profit in peace (all their songs are anthems really)
    2014 Blondie - Atomic
    2014 St Vincent - Digital Witnesses
    2015 Blur - Tender
    2015 Belle and Sebastian - Boy with the Arab strap
    2016 LCD - Dance yrslf clean
    2016 The Avett Brothers - Satan pulls the strings
    2017 London Grammar - Strong
    2017 The XX - Intro
    2017 Madness - Baggy trousers
    2018 Garbage - I'm only happy when it rains (because it was raining I think?)
    2018 Chic - Get lucky
    2019 Richard Ashcroft - Bittersweet Symphony
    2019 The Strokes - Someday
    2019 Kneecap - C.E.A.R.T.A
    2019 Johnny Marr - This charming man

(Yes I enjoyed 2019) Well that was fun, could make for a good playlist!

That was the track I most wanted to hear. Flashbacks of a Fool was the movie, wasn't it? That, Ladytron & In Every Dream Home excellent then I headed off to PiL. Half-empty tent for Lydon but they were stunning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭rubick

Sorry to hear that man. I got lucky for the first time since 2014 and hope you make it there. Volunteering is the best way i reckon, particularly if you get good shifts.

Ah deadly buzz, absolutely thrilled for you! :D
    What a time to beat The Bad Run of Failed Years.*

* title for your memoirs!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭endainoz

Seathrun66 wrote:
    That was the track I most wanted to hear. Flashbacks of a Fool was the movie, wasn't it? That, Ladytron & In Every Dream Home excellent then I headed off to PiL. Half-empty tent for Lydon but they were stunning.

Yeah I had decided to get big into Roxy Music that year as I needed to learn more about their music. If there is something blew me away completely though!

rubick wrote: »
    Ah deadly buzz, absolutely thrilled for you! :D
    What a time to beat The Bad Run of Failed Years.*

* title for your memoirs!

Thanks man. And royalties for the title forthcoming in 2/3 deacedes. Need to fit in some more debauchery first.

endainoz wrote: »
    Yeah I had decided to get big into Roxy Music that year as I needed to learn more about their music. If there is something blew me away completely though!

Felicity Jones probably helped as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Mucker46

The Script just announced Dublin gig hopefully that means no visit to Stradbally

Mucker46 wrote: »
    The Script just announced Dublin gig hopefully that means no visit to Stradbally

Have you just jinxed our lineup Mucker?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Tbh id be shocked if they didnt turn up at Picnic

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Davysulls86

Mucker46 wrote: »

You had to say it...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Underworld (2011) Rez
    Squarepusher (2012) 4001
    Bjork (2013) Miracles
    Beck (2014) Loser
    Blur (2015) Beetlebum
    Amelie Lens (2019)
    Kneecap (2019) H.O.O.D
    Four Tet (2019) Lion

Leftfield phat planet (2010) proper ****8ng loud!! :):)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Mucker46

You had to say it...

Get the dross out of the way early. Them or some lile tjem coming but will still be more than enough to bring me back

• Registered Users Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Fatfrog wrote: »

Yeah they were brilliant alright but I caught the full set at RockNess in Scotland that same year which was mind blowing and Aphex Twin before that on the same day. I went to see a bit of the LCD Soundsystem set and the Bloody Beetroots set at EP during that Leftfield set, but made it back for their last two numbers which also had Phat Planet. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Two guys from the band told me after the gig that EP had the best sound system they'd used all Summer. And they certainly tested it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Two guys from the band told me after the gig that EP had the best sound system they'd used all Summer. And they certainly tested it.

Portishead Machine Gun proved the quality of EPs sound system.

I remember the tent neighbours (bunch of lasses in their 20s at time) saying they’d not heard of Portishead, after that track (and the sub bass) I’d say they’d never forget them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Remember vividly how loud it was! The sound waves even through the crowd felt like someone pressing on you chest.
    I was speaking to guy who has family reasonably close to Stradbally, close but not close enough to hear it, until leftfield :):)
    I know they were the late act in 2010, so assume the other stages had finished but there must have been serious sound bleed into B&S!!!

They're banned from a theatre in Belgium, it's an old traditional auditorium with decorative plaster, the sound level caused pieces of the ceiling to break off and fall onto the crowd!.

Remember vividly how loud it was! The sound waves even through the crowd felt like someone pressing on you chest.
    I was speaking to guy who has family reasonably close to Stradbally, close but not close enough to hear it, until leftfield :):)
    I know they were the late act in 2010, so assume the other stages had finished but there must have been serious sound bleed into B&S!!!

They're banned from a theatre in Belgium, it's an old traditional auditorium with decorative plaster, the sound level caused pieces of the ceiling to break off and fall onto the crowd!.

Used to be banned from Brixton Academy for that exact reason. Let back in a few years ago for their Leftism gigs.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/pop-leftfield-at-the-o2-brixton-academy-sw9-w35lw7fmf

Anyone catch Bodega on the Sunday evening? Their Shiny New Model single is a proper earworm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭optogirl

Thom Yorke doing some 2020 festivals and Diana Ross at Glastonbury