Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 8)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭votecounts

All of the sneezing, I've a bright red hooter..
    Are you allright there Rudolph:D
    Workside with the sniffles myself, gotta get through it and anyway it's a Friday and It will be beer time soon:)
    Hope everyone has a good day.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Skybirdjb wrote: »
    Kitchenside wondering how I’m going to afford a good Xmas for little bird:(

On the other hand it’s about us being together really isn’t it ? And my mam and dad are coming to us

If you have people around you and your health, none of the monetary issues are worth worrying about. I faced two Christmases where Mrs G may not have been alive. These days, there's no splurging at Christmas, just a great sense of togetherness.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭wildwillow

On the other hand it’s about us being together really isn’t it ? And my mam and dad are coming to us

Don’t worry about spending for Christmas. Buy what you can afford and give your time instead of expensive toys. Lots of activities, indoor and out, will be remembered long after the toys are gone.

As echoed by others, having your loved ones around is a lot more important than money. Don't worry about it and don't get yourself in to debt to buy a few presents.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

From your posts I get the impression little bird is young....they really don't have a clue... Mine spent more time with the box and wrapping paper than anything else :) your parents will also probably spoil them rotten.

I know where you are coming from, but seriously don't let it stress you. Your time and attention is much more important :)

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Skybirdjb

Guys ye are all the best :) and ye are all correct like.
    Once we are all here together and healthy it will be great

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

From my experience a good Xmas has many meanings.
    We hadnt a lot when we were young, there were six of us at home.
    We have 4 kids ourselves and when they were young we hadn't a lot to offer them either, though we were in England when ours were young and expectations of children there seem less than here.
    My thoughts are, good food, a gift of some sort, lots of love and togetherness is the best kind of xmas
    We have unfortunately commercialised Xmas too much.
    Enjoy and do as much as you can and I'm sure you and your little bird will have a ball.
    Many children who will have lavish gifts given to them but maybe wish for more love and parent thought and participation with them than they get.
    I'm at home procrastinating

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Homeside having a brief few minutes rest between college and work. Waiting for the oven to heat so I can have some grub

Pubside having a cold one, was severely tempted to get a hot whiskey:)

votecounts wrote: »
    Pubside having a cold one, was severely tempted to get a hot whiskey:)

Nice! I was tempted, but decided to have a few early ones at home as I'm on the road tomorrow. Takeaway later.

Was dreading going back to work today, but it was great, kept my mind occupied & have a job to do that will keep me busy for next few days.
    Will plan something for my days off next week too, keeping busy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

On the couch thinking about this night 13 years ago. I was wearing dark purple framed glasses, a navy Nike hoodie belonging to my younger brother and a pair of light blue pj bottoms with sheep on them, so worn and washed so often they were baubley. I had been in the hospital all day and was so upset, in shock and wrecked that I left the hospital and everyone there and went home to relax for an hour. Driving out home I remember telling myself my mother would never die this close to Christmas, she was going to be fine. The crowd of people in the family room as I left was probably a good indication that things definitely weren’t going to be fine.

About 20 minutes later, around this time actually, I got a call and was told to go straight back in to icu. I didn’t even have time to change from my pjs. It didn’t matter anyway. I went back in. Eventually the drs brought us in and asked about resus. My dad said no but me and my brother couldn’t understand why you wouldn’t bring someone back to life, we said yes. My dad said to the nurse that they were to resus. 2 at a time were allowed to visit, and we were asked to leave at 11pm. I remember walking out of icu and seeing her cousin sitting in front of the door and he Got upset but I was so calm thinking she’ll be fine they’ll resus her and she’ll be grand. 15 mins later the nurse came out and closed the door behind her and brought the 3 of us in another door. We were brought in the new door directly into the nurses station, and they told us she had died. A container labeled “toe tags” was on the shelf in front of me and it caught my eye, I always thought that was a myth. But when I looked at my dad to show him the toe tags, tears was streaming down his face. I hadn’t ever seen him cry before but I don’t think I realised what had actually happened until I saw him do that. I sat down outside and was sobbing, the nurse from the night before came with me and was on her hunkers in front of me, she was upset too. At her funeral my dad sat between me and my bro and I don’t think I let go of him at all. All that was running through my mind that day was the next time I was sitting in the front row of a church seat, he’d be in the box and nobody would hold my hand. And I wasn’t wrong.

Im actually not even sad tonight, more reflective. With each year that passes she is more of a stranger and I am not someone she would recognize either.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,672 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Shoes, I hope you recall many happy memories tonight. The death of a parent is life changing.

Homeside thinking of the cider in the fridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Fireside thinking about bed after I do one more thing. On my own tonight. I can't remember what is scheduled for tomorrow. Bed by 7pm :/ but I'll be up at the very crack of dawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Time spent with family is the best thing about Christmas. You can't buy memories. I remember when I was about 7, we were building an extension to our house which included the kitchen. My dad was doing a good bit of the work and of course, it was dragging on and on. I think it was finished sometime Christmas Eve but what I remember is getting up on Christmas morning and going down to the new kitchen. My mam had the new range lighting and was smiling at me from ear to ear when I walked in. I'll never forget that moment of happiness and the smell of dinner being prepared on the new cooker!! I get reminded of it every time I hear the classic Barrys Tea ad on the radio...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

At home after a busy day at work, watching the news on TV.

Have to head out in the next 30 mins to get passport photos and a Garda stamp for my OH’s passport renewal to be posted off tomorrow morning.

Then for dinner afterwards! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Good post Shoesdayschild.
    I'm ready for a walk, all geared up, but the heavens have opened!

Deja Boo wrote: »
    agree with everyone :)

gather christmas picture books from library for lil birds bedtime reading (you can even wrap them so lil byrd can choose one each nite), create a tradition, sing carols, see lights, simple craft kits, 12 days or neighbourhood secret santa, elf on the shelf (or hide the stocking with a little treat inside), home scavenger hunts, invite kids over for pageant, homemade advent puzzles/calendar, anything festive will be a joyous christmas for your little one.

Wonderful ideas DB!

Gear packed and ready for loading for my one (maybe long day) in Cork. Suppin a Heineken light.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,473 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Wonderful ideas DB!

Gear packed and ready for loading for my one (maybe long day) in Cork. Suppin a Heineken light.

Happy Cork Birthday Hols!!!

agree with everyone :)

gather christmas picture books from library for lil birds bedtime reading (you can even wrap them so lil bird can choose one each nite), create a tradition like "Lil Birds giving tree" and he can go to town making cards, play music, sing to the tree, see lights, have candy cane baths (peppermint bubble baths), make paper chains, make simple craft or food kits as gifts, 12 days or neighbourhood secret santa, elf on the shelf (or hide the stocking with a little treat inside), home scavenger hunts, wrap cardboard boxes and make a christmas racetrack/village with paper dolls, invite kids over for a pageant or caroling or making ornament party, homemade advent puzzles/calendar, cocoa is always nice - ah anything festive will be a joyous christmas for your little one!

Such lovely ideas thanks so much !

Happy Cork Birthday Hols!!!

Happy Cork WORK.:eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Bedside again. Balls to the world.

Aw grem feeling any better ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Ghosteen

Im actually not even sad tonight, more reflective. With each year that passes she is more of a stranger and I am not someone she would recognize either.

That's the most personal post I've ever read on boards. I'm so sorry shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Ghosteen

Hope bed supplies you with boundless comfort. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

In my sister's for the weekend 🐱 I was running around the kitchen with my favourite wee man, he has these pull along toys and we were running around the kitchen going mad and he was following me around the place :3 he's gone to bed now :3.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Hope you have a better time with that baby than the other one Seph.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Eating too much & watching Netflix here.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Just whining and tired of sneezing, all will be well soon no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ghosteen wrote: »
    That's the most personal post I've ever read on boards. I'm so sorry shoes.

It’s ok, I actually have a pretty good life and lots of really good people around me. I am very happy with my lot. Just reflective!!

I am at home doing laundry and just had yummy dinner.
    Neighbours are having absolute war, poor kids must be nervous wrecks in there