Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Proudly) Farting in public

• 30-08-2019 1:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭

I know one sometimes slips out but I have met/worked with people who could be talking to you and let one rip and just carry on the conversation. Some might say ''Good Arse'' ? I was beside a good looking girl on the 41 bus from the airport once,She was in a Ryanair hostess uniform and she let one rip, she looked at me and said Ahh I needed that ? wtf ? The smell was woeful so I moved seats.
    I know we all do it but be discreet about it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

PRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRP!

Jaysus lads, watch out for that duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭youtheman

Wtf ? wrote: »
    I know one sometimes slips out but I have met/worked with people who could be talking to you and let one rip and just carry on the conversation. Some might say ''Good Arse'' ? I was beside a good looking girl on the 41 bus from the airport once,She was in a Ryanair hostess uniform and she let one rip, she looked at me and said Ahh I needed that ? wtf ? The smell was woeful so I moved seats.

I'm afraid I have to call you out on this. Everybody knows that the loud ones don't smell, it the quite ones that sneak up on you and overcome you !.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Caegan

All fun and games letting a thunderclapper rip, until the wet bit at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Darranj85

A boss of mine years back used to say ''Good arse'' and i thought it was strange and never heard it since,thanks for the chuckle OP

PRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRP!

Jaysus lads, watch out for that duck.

Rodney Dangerfield style.

You're not of the "silent, yet violent" ethos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Better out than the gable end of a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I was beside a good looking girl on the 41 bus from the airport once,She was in a Ryanair hostess uniform and she let one rip, she looked at me and said Ahh I needed that ? wtf ? The smell was woeful so I moved seats.

She really shouldn’t have said anything except, maybe, to ask you if you “smelled bread”, or some other scent. For maximum effect.

A loud one should really be met with an “exclamation” of sorts. You know, “That one came out with its boot on!” or “Sounds just like a Golf”.

I’ve said it before on this site but I’ll say it again, it’s a sad arse that never rejoices.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

youtheman wrote: »
    I'm afraid I have to call you out on this. Everybody knows that the loud ones don't smell, it the quite ones that sneak up on you and overcome you !.

What, farts or Ryanair hostesses?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Better out then in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

A favourite of mine is, after letting it loose, put your nose in the sky, sniff and say "aaah, smell that country air".

If the person is offended by the stench, maybe followed by a "ya dirty bastard ya", just tell them to take small sniffs

She really shouldn’t have said anything except, maybe, to ask you if you “smelled bread”, or some other scent. For maximum effect.

A loud one should really be met with an “exclamation” of sorts. You know, “That one came out with its boot on!” or “Sounds just like a Golf”.

I’ve said it before on this site but I’ll say it again, it’s a sad arse that never rejoices.

Did you know that the old kings of Ireland used to retain the services of a professional braigetoír - a flautist. He was used to entertain guests after feasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Better an empty house than a bad lodger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I let one rip in me kitchen last week and it set the neighbours dog off barking! I'd be mortified if it was in public though, I hate it when you're walking to work and you think the street is empty and there's some wan camouflaged into a hedge that catches you blasting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

Seanachai wrote: »
    I let one rip in me kitchen last week and it set the neighbours dog off barking! I'd be mortified if it was in public though, I hate it when you're walking to work and you think the street is empty and there's some wan camouflaged into a hedge that catches you blasting.
    Set the dog barking, Love it !

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

(Powerfully) Farting in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Did you know that the old kings of Ireland used to retain the services of a professional braigetoír - a flautist. He was used to entertain guests after feasts.

I did indeed. One of the English kings employed one as well, “Roland the Farter”.

The greatest of them all was a man they called “Le Pétomane”. There’s a lovely short film concerning him starring the wonderful Leonard Rossiter, very enjoyable.

The last, I can think of, would be Will the Farter who appeared on “The Howard Stern Show”.

Long overdue another, I say.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

RyanAIR...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Colleagues in work do it in the lift ! Disgusting as there is no escape

I think a professional farter would need to be known for the decibel level and length of the dart, and opposed to the ‘pungency’ of the discharge. Which rules me out. Had a few pints last night and you could sew a button on them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    The ultimate move is to fart whilst exiting said lift and the doors close and encase at least 73% of the fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I was in Dun Laoghaire many moons ago heading to a friends house. The weather was atrocious so I needed to call him to come collect me from the train station. This being the age before mobiles, I headed to the ferry port to use the public phone. When I got there, someone was already using it so I stood about 8 feet behind him to wait my turn.

He looked around and spotted me waiting, and let our this absolute breakfast maker of a fart. It was genuinely the loudest arse biscuit I'd ever heard, but he just continued on his conversation as nothing had happened, oblivious to me chuckling away like a lunatic. When he finished his call he casually walked away like nothing had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I was beside a good looking girl on the 41 bus from the airport once,She was in a Ryanair hostess uniform and she let one rip, she looked at me and said Ahh I needed that ? wtf ? The smell was woeful so I moved seats.

She didn't say "taxi"? You should have given her sixers, no returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Better out then in....

A boomerang fart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I think some girls are like this alright though it's rare. They seem to think it's cute and funny when they fart, that their fart isn't as disgusting as an old man's fart. Possibly being reinforced by pathetic lickarse male orbiters.

It's a disgrace Joe!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

I hate when this happens.

But to me, it happens with good frequency.

Especially at the gym, typically if I'm going for a BP or something and the chicks are staring at me.

Get to the bottom of a squat and commence the upward push - then the ground shakes with flatulence.

So damn embarrassing.

Normally I don't say anything - I just pull a stupid face and hope too many people didn't notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Aw , man , that's how Ryanair girls come on to you.
    She wanted you to answer her with an arse trumpet back.
    You missed an opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Aw , man , that's how Ryanair girls come on to you.
    She wanted you to answer her with an arse trumpet back.

Little known fact, but that bugle melody that’s played when they land a plane is performed live from the jacks by one of them on each and every flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

this thread needs some Billy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Sometimes you just need to go for a walk to clear the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

God that's wrong on so many levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

you can get off the lift when it stops

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

I just farted loudly in Tescos and some fat red faced phuck dropped the bottle of beer he was taking out of the fridge. Put it back gingerly as it was hissing up a storm and ready to blow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

phutyle wrote: »
    She didn't say "taxi"? You should have given her sixers, no returns.

That brings me back. :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Better than farting on a plane with no windows I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Yeah it's great to be able to roll down the window at 30,000 feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Not too worried about people farting. Everybody does it. The queen, Lionel Messi, Beyonce, everyone. Just let it out and carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

My fella told me yesterday he was in the sauna in the gym and the only other fella there left, so my fella let out the loudest 'shoes being kicked around the attic' fart of his life only to hear from the back 'Jaysus that was a good one'.

He never saw the bloke sitting up on the highest bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

As with the OP what’s with this thing of girls letting rip then saying good arse ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

A plane with no windows? I’ve never seen such a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

fussyonion wrote: »
    My fella told me yesterday he was in the sauna in the gym and the only other fella there left, so my fella let out the loudest 'shoes being kicked around the attic' fart of his life only to hear from the back 'Jaysus that was a good one'.

He never saw the bloke sitting up on the highest bench.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sbowzt_SrII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Gorteen

A work buddy of mine let an absolute ripper the other day. When I commented, his response was priceless.... "If you were stuck in a hole, you'd be glad to be out of it too"...

Not sure if it was the smell or the saying that brought tears to my eyes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

Got a gift of a flying lesson out of Weston years ago. Very excited and in a small plane with canopy and pilot right beside me. Having a great experience , controls for a bit. Then he dropped a silent shocker, I had to breath in a heavy air biscuit , nearly choked. Big happy head on your man though, made his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

I'm often very proud of my farts, some long and loud some just deadly.
    Was at a wedding last week and just as I was coming out of one of those photo booths and dropped a beaut, next in were in for a lung full of toxic deliciousness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

Is this thing of girls saying good arse a “thing” now?

I’m guessing either an actress maybe s Ronan or a singer billy elish started doing it??
    I never said she said ''Good Arse'' She said ''Ahh I needed that'' !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

I think a professional farter would need to be known for the decibel level and length of the dart, and opposed to the ‘pungency’ of the discharge. Which rules me out. Had a few pints last night and you could sew a button on them.
    I did indeed. One of the English kings employed one as well, “Roland the Farter”.

The greatest of them all was a man they called “Le Pétomane”. There’s a lovely short film concerning him starring the wonderful Leonard Rossiter, very enjoyable.

The last, I can think of, would be Will the Farter who appeared on “The Howard Stern Show”.

Long overdue another, I say.

Surprised to find you two in a scataological thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭knockers84

Remember a one in the office was in a breakout room which is just basically a tiny room with a desk and phone to make calls in private.

She said to me I’d give that room a few minutes before you go in when she was on her way out. Didn’t know what she was on about and walked in and shut the door behind me. Let’s just say I started gagging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

knockers84 wrote: »
    Remember a one in the office was in a breakout room which is just basically a tiny room with a desk and phone to make calls in private.

She said to me I’d give that room a few minutes before you go in. Didn’t know what she was on about and walked in and shut the door behind me. Let’s just say I started gagging

Was it goggles and gas mask territory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭knockers84

Was it googles and gas mask territory?

Yep dry heaving, was ****ing putrid. left the door open and went back 10 mins later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

FatherTed wrote: »
    Not too worried about people farting. Everybody does it. The queen, Lionel Messi, Beyonce, everyone. Just let it out and carry on.

yes, and even your local Bishop....