If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.

"And why do we fall Bruce?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭ Comic Book Guy

Monday 10th - 8 miles @ easy

On a training course on zoom all week with people from all over the Europe and Asia. The stuff involved only makes up about 2% of the work I do so was heavy going so great to get out afterwards each day to detox the head!
    Just a handy multi loop around Clonmore and back around the locks in the village.

Tuesday 11th- 8 x 5 mins @6:00

The plan was for 6:20 pace but the guideline is that Tuesday sessions can be done a bit quicker. The quintessential question, how much is a bit!
    Around the bog again starting at the usual farm gate after a 20 minute warm up and strides. Had intended to go for 6:10 pace but decided to run the first one without looking at the watch. This one was into the wind and finished going up a hill so probably pushed it a bit too much and it came in at 5:58. Decided to try and stick at 6:00 pace for next 7 intervals and see how I got on.

Next 2 with the wind were grand, both at 5:58. Fourth one was back into the wind so tough enough going and it also came in at 5:58 so "now we're sucking diesel" (only starting watch LoD last month on the RTE player after hearing the hype. Finished ep 2 of season 6 last night on BBC iplayer. Have managed to avoid all spoilers even walking out of the room for the bits on Gogglebox!!).

Fifth one is kinda with the wind to the side back through the bog...5:59. Last 3 will either be with or against the wind depending on me turning left or right at a T junction at the end of this road. Decide to mix it up on the old main road and just run half of each split in either direction to level things out. 5:59 for the 6th rep. Glad to say my lace opened during this one so paused watch at the end of it to fix it and enjoyed the extra 20 seconds of recovery!
    5:59 for the 7th and finished bang on 6:00 for the last rep and walked this last 3 minute recovery before heading home via a 20 minute cool down.
    Deceivingly warm out today so was absolutely parched during this cool down.

Thursday 13th- Just a handy out and back 8 miles along the old main road with 5 x 20 second strides thrown in on the way home. First half was very heavy legged but the strides seemed to ease things out and was comfortable getting home.

Friday 14th- 50 mins @6:40

Mrs CBG was working nights this weekend so brought the long run forward by a day to fit things in.
    Headed into Longford town and out around the bypass. Usual 30 minute warm up with strides but still had that heavy type feeling in the legs. I always find the first couple of miles the hardest for whatever reason! First 4 miles come in at 6:38, and then 3 x 6:37. Next mile back in a back road that goes past Pearse park and Longford rugby club is the toughest of the entire route as it takes in 2 short but quite sharp inclines. Push these bits out to keep on pace and actually manage to speed up this split instead of having lost time so that was nice to be able to coast the last minute of this one and come in at 6:37.
    Back along the N5 again homeward bound and feeling great now so these ones are handy enough all coming in again at 6:37.
    30 minute cool down brings the trip to just over 15 miles.

Sat & Sunday- 8 miles @ easy

Just handy jaunts around the locality. Today's run was a lot easier than yesterdays! Spent most of it thinking ahead of the slaughtering The Dubs could give us in the football later. Sad to say that I was happy enough with a 9 point defeat even with Dublin rarely even going into 2nd gear. Ros were well short of top gear themselves but the gap in quality is stark.
    Pool's win capped things off :mad: In fairness ya would have to be happy for Alisson after the year he endured. Some header too.

Just over 61 miles for the week and into a step back week now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

His interview was so emotional, rightly so as you said given the year he's had! Thrilled for him...

Yeah Thrilled I was!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,669 ✭✭✭ skyblue46

A team playing with manic desperation against teams whose seasons are over.....:rolleyes:

Step back week so lots of easy runs on the menu.

Handy trips around the locality on Monday and Tuesday. Was in the office on Thursday so headed out at lunchtime just for a change of scenery. Didn't get to see much as the heavens opened and stayed open for duration of this one!

Brought the long run forward a day to Friday as Mrs CBG was working this weekend.
    60 minutes at 6:40 pace was the order of the day.
    No rain today but it was really windy and bloody cold, so much so that I reverted to long sleeves for first time in ages. Bloody hell, its mid May! This time last year the bbq was out most evenings.

The usual 30 minute warm up with some strides before starting the faster stuff not far away from Longford Town FC. First mile was grand with the aid of a tailwind 6:40. Turned onto the bypass shortly after this and despite it only being something like a 20 degree change in direction the wind is now a full on headwind. These couple of miles ain't easy but I don't fancy trying to maintain a steady effort instead of focusing on the watch as I'm crap at judging stuff like that. These couple of miles both come in at 6:38. Next mile is mainly on a winding back road that eventually links to the N4. Wind is a bit swirly for the next couple of miles and splits come in at 6:37 and 6:39.
    Back along the bypass now again so have a decent tailwind again and these are the easiest couple of miles of the trip at 6:35 and 6:37.
    Same as the incoming trip once I get off the bypass and am back on the N5 hard shoulder heading home the wind has somehow turned and is a full on head wind again. Its not a strong one though so finish out the session with splits of 6:37 and 6:38.
    30 minute cool down brings me back home with just over 16.5 miles for the day.

Another easy 8 miles yesterday and again early this morning where once again I got drowned where I wouldn't have been much wetter if I had jumped into the Shannon which I ran beside during the last mile home!!

Mon 24th- 8 handy miles around the locality.

Tues 25th- 10 x 4 mins @5:55 pace (3 min rec.)

Last time out on Tuesday's session it was 8 x 5 mins @6:00 pace. Amazing the difference the minute less makes as this session felt so much easier.
    Usual route around the bog loop with a few extra out and back bits added in.
    Started each interval too fast and was usually 6-10 seconds ahead of schedule around the 2 minute mark so might push next weeks pace up a bit for the coming weeks 3 minute intervals.
    Setting out the sky didn't look too inviting but didn't bring my rain jacket as it acts like a parachute when the wind picks up! Got away with it for most of the run but the heavens opened during the recovery after the 8th interval and continued until I was just about finishing up the recovery for the 9th interval so got drenched over the course of almost 10 minutes!
    For the last interval my t shirt was stuck to me and was almost like one of those weighted vests!
    Splits for the 4 minute intervals were 5:55, 5:55, 5:53, 5:54, 5:55, 5:55, 5:52, 5:54, 5:54, 5:52.

Went thru 1000 miles early in this one.

Thurs 27th- 8 easy miles

Brought my gear to work but missed going out at lunch time thanks to some procrastination. Paid the price later doing it around the bog loop, I wasn't ditching the rain jacket for this one! Threw in 5 sets of 20 second strides at the halfway point. Got well drowned again which didn't go well with the Utd result the previous night :rolleyes:

Fri 28th- Another easy 8 miles around local loops.

Sat 29th- 40 mins @ 6:35/mile

Headed out just before 11 am for this one. Beautiful morning out of nowhere but made a mistake wearing a black t shirt in that sunshine!
    Usual 30 minute warm up and strides around the bog loop before starting into the faster stuff. Sweated buckets during the next 40 minutes! Most of the splits came in slightly quick but better that than the other way!
    Had to amend my route just before mile 5 as heavy traffic on main road meant i couldn't cross in time to access the road on my planned route but no big deal. Splits were 6:33, 6:29, 6:31, 6:32, 6:31 and 6:26.
    Last cool down mile was partially along the Shannon, would have been lovely to jump in! Fair play to healy1835 banging out a sub 80 minute HM
    TT in that heat :eek:

BBQ that evening and my first alcoholic beverages in what seemed like an age. No love for Chelsea but delighted they won. Have been totally ambivalent to City's success over the past decade but for whatever reason they and more particularly Pep have really annoyed me this season. Hilarious seeing him overthinking a big European game yet again. It's almost as if he has to go out of his way to show everyone he's a tactical genius rather than being a tactical genius.

Sun 30th- 8 easy miles

No mistake with clothing today! First time this year wearing a singlet. Lovely day out for an easy paced run.

Mon 31st- 8 easy miles around home. Don't remember a thing about this one but Strava said I did it!

Tues 1st- Session Day

Last weeks 4 min intervals at 5:55 went well so skipped forward a bit this week and lowered the 5:50 pace for the 10 x 3 minute intervals to 5:40 pace instead.
    Bloody warm out for this one so stuck on a singlet.
    Usual warm up and strides for 20 minutes but even during these I knew I should have taken more water on board (rookie mistake).
    Not sure what it was but most of these intervals felt like the slight breeze out was against me which annoyed me no end.
    First couple of intervals done and already my eyes are stinging from that toxic mix of sweat and sun cream! My singlet is soaked thru (Not OOnegative level but bad for me!) and my mouth is parched. Manage to bang out the required splits but revert to walking for a minute or 2 of the 3 minute recoveries from the 7th one on.
    Splits come in at 5:35, 5:38, 5:40, 5:39, 5:39, 5:38, 5:40, 5:39, 5:40 and 5:41 :rolleyes:
    Slow cool down home and just over half marathon distance for the run.

Thurs 3rd- 8 miles at easy with a few strides
    Did this one during lunch break at the office. Much nicer day than the last time I ran here!

Fri 4th- 50 mins @ 6:35

Mrs is working this weekend so brought this one forward 24 hours.
    Serious warm day out again (great complaint to have in fairness). Thinking back on it I really should have left a bottle of water somewhere out on the loop.
    Took the bog loop again knowing the 50 minute session plus the warm up would bring me close to our village after adding in the clonmore loop and i could just take it handy going around Clondra as a cool down.
    30 minute warm up seemed to pass in no time mostly because I spent most of it ruminating on coaching the u11 local GAA team the previous evening. Well I say coaching but it was more like babysitting this particular evening as they have the attention spans of a goldfish :mad:.
    Really quiet out around the loop but the mile beeps don't be long coming around. Sweating buckets again and really feeling parched halfway thru. Pass the kids national school at one point and see my eldest out playing on his break so give him a shout and a wave :pac:
    Finish up the 50 minute block with the village in sight as planned with splits of
    6:35, 6:34, 6:35, 6:31, 6:33, 6:33, 6:31, and 6:34.
    Cool down around Clondra taking the opportunity to walk for a couple of minutes of it to mop my brow so to speak! 15 miles for the day.

Sat 5th & Sun 6th

8 easy miles both mornings. 6am starts both days to be back before Mrs left for work. Grey and raining yesterday but Glorious sunshine this morning, this country and its weather!

Mon 7th- 8 miles @easy

Bank holiday run around in beautiful sunshine. Most notable feature was that it was the first time running with a baseball hat. Not to protect my head from the sun but to hide a haircut gone bad!
    Decided to shave the head before going out for the run, blade 1 all over job. Just finished both sides around the temples when the battery went :pac:
    Said I'd get the run out of the way instead of waiting around for it to charge up. Missus said i had the head of one of those lads off kids programme The Body Brothers!

Tues 8th- 10 x 2 minutes at 5:35

Bank holiday take away and a few home beers didn't have me in 100% shape for this one!
    Usual trip around the bog loop for this one. Breezy out again which made the effort levels go up or down for the intervals depending on which direction I was heading. Usual mistake of pushing it too hard from the start of each set meaning i was ahead of schedule at halfway point for each and had to reign it in a bit but it kinda extended the 2 minute recoveries so not all bad!
    Splits were 5:28, 5:31, 5:33, 5:31, 5:31, 5:33, 5:35, 5:3, 5:32, 5:28, walked for a minute for each of the last 3 sets of recoveries.
    Finished just under 11 miles for the session which i thought was a bit on the short side compared to previous weeks but thought nothing more of it.
    Coached messaged me on Thursday wondering why i didn't do the 15 sets :o
    Flip sake i had it in my head for whatever reason that it was 10!
    Think I'll repeat this session properly next Tuesday instead of moving on.

Thurs 10th- 8 miles at easy with a few strides

Usual Thursday run about but did this one at lunch time at the office. Spent a couple of minutes of it pinching my nose as i got a small nosebleed. Just like the last one i got while out running months ago I just had to be wearing a plain white t-shirt!

Fri 11th- 8 easy miles

Jaunt up the canal from Clondra and home again for this one. Very muggy out so sweating buckets despite the relaxed paces. Still haven't got plagued with the few head wrecking flies following me for miles on end this year yet though!

Decent start for Italy in the Euros. I always support them in tournaments. Wouldn't have the star power of previous sides but look a well drilled side.

Sat 12th- 60 minutes @6:35

Another 10 minutes added to last weeks long run. Not sunny out but really warm again so donned the singlet.
    Usual 30 minute warm up and strides before getting going.
    First couple of miles at the required pace always feel the trickiest and more of the same today but headwind didn't help. Took in an additional loop today just for some variation. Dying for a drink early into the 60 minute session and could kinda feel that boink feeling towards the end of it but got the splits done: 6:35, 6:33, 6:33, 6:35, 6:31, 6:34, 6:33, 6:32, 6:32, and 6:25 for the small bit extra at the end.
    Spent the 30 minute cool down walking for small section before running for a bit, massive hole in my stomach at this stage so another lesson learned on pre run nutrition and hydration. From now on I'll be hiding a bottle of water on the loop for these 2 hour runs.

Sun 13th- 8 miles easy around the silage fields behind our house which we baled up yesterday. Missus was on nights so in bed so this allowed me to get the run in while also keeping an eye on the kids who were playing in the fields and trying to occasionally join me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭ OOnegative

Some shape J, put a lot of them fellas that call themselves footballers to shame in that county of yours. Great to see man.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,308 ✭✭✭ Mr. Guappa

As B says, you look to be in cracking shape. Great to see. Are you working towards something in particular?

I'd always wear a baseball cap running. Avoids the suncream running into the eyes on days like today, and helps with the rain other days.

Italy looked decent the other night. Nice combination of defensive know how and some quality at the other end. Great to see a positive outcome for Christian Eriksen yesterday in Copenhagen.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Some shape J, put a lot of them fellas that call themselves footballers to shame in that county of yours. Great to see man.

Don't start! Another callow defeat today. While we've over achieved the last 4-5 years or so with a couple of provincial and div 2 titles I fear we are in proper decline now.

What's the mood like for the Euros in your part of the world? Always enjoyable watching the Dutch and their fans in tournaments.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    As B says, you look to be in cracking shape. Great to see. Are you working towards something in particular?

I'd always wear a baseball cap running. Avoids the suncream running into the eyes on days like today, and helps with the rain other days.

Italy looked decent the other night. Nice combination of defensive know how and some quality at the other end. Great to see a positive outcome for Christian Eriksen yesterday in Copenhagen.

Thanks A. Great to see your mileage steadily climbing all the time, some patience man!

Just training for the sake of it at the moment, not signed up for anything and in no rush either tbh. Have a slot from last year's DCM so will see what the announcement is in a couple of weeks but I'd say it's 50:50 on happening.
    Have you any goal or race in mind yourself?

Yeah that Eriksen thing was shocking. He was actually lucky it happened when it did with trained personnel and equipment right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,308 ✭✭✭ Mr. Guappa

Thanks A. Great to see your mileage steadily climbing all the time, some patience man!

Just training for the sake of it at the moment, not signed up for anything and in no rush either tbh. Have a slot from last year's DCM so will see what the announcement is in a couple of weeks but I'd say it's 50:50 on happening.
    Have you any goal or race in mind yourself?

Yeah that Eriksen thing was shocking. He was actually lucky it happened when it did with trained personnel and equipment right there.

Cheers J, it's great to be getting out regularly again and building. I've no intention of going near a race or TT in the short, or even medium term. I'll (hopefully) just keep building away, with a Half Marathon towards the end of the year, or even next spring the longer term goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭ OOnegative

What's the mood like for the Euros in your part of the world? Always enjoyable watching the Dutch and their fans in tournaments.

Bit like Senan & Frankie, more talent in the little toe style job. Big on your Italian love though, seriously impressive despite the manager being an idiot

Didn't get a chance to update at the weekend so will squeeze it in now before the match. Bit worrying as a Utd fan that Sancho still not making the team but Southgate is very conservative manager i guess....

Mon 14th- 8 miles @ easy
    Just around the Clonmore loop for some easy miles before lunch.

Tues 15th- 15 x 2 mins @5:35

Stubbornly said I would go again at this one after incorrectly doing it last week and thinking it was 10 reps.
    Down around the bog loop for it again. Usual 20 minute warm up and strides and starting at the silver gate yet again, my routine is pretty consistent if nothing else!
    First interval into the wind and next 2 were nett up hill and i feel bunched already and cursing myself for even thinking of repeating this session. How did i do 7 extra reps last week never mind how am i going to do another 5 on top.
    Next couple are with the aid of a tail wind and after that i settle into the and they become much easier. By the time the 9th one is done and dusted I'm in decent shape and looking forward to getting the next 6 done.
    Glad to get that session done and dusted and reasonably comfortable at the end, a million miles better than i felt after rep 3! Splits range from 5:29 to 5:35 with one hitting 5:38 in the middle where i eased off way too early and a manic 5 second sprint at the end couldn't save things!!

U11 game that evening so missed watching my Italian lads and had to make do with the highlights but all looks good. Waste of a trip over to our neighbours across the river, it was literally that phrase "they wouldn't keep it kicked out to us!". Not that we are great ourselves or anything, but these things come in cycles and i can see my youngest lads group just starting off at u6 level are already tight on numbers.

Thurs 17th- 8 miles @ easy

Back in the office again today so headed for an out and back through Mote Park. Threw in 5 20 second strides just after the turn around. Glorious day out.

Fri 18th- 40 mins @ 6:30

Kids had a couple of matches on Saturday at different times and throw in stage school session too i said I'd do the long run 24 hours earlier than planned.
    Down around the bog loop again for 30 minute warm up and then into the faster stuff.
    Another glorious day out, had to step in on the grass verge a couple of times with it being silage season but no worries. Keep things ticking over and keep an eye on the watch every few mins to make sure I'm not miles off the target pace (I don't think I'll ever learn to go at a suggested pace without the watch!).
    First 4 miles glide by ( a bit on the quick side), Working harder during the next couple of miles but get them ticked off. Had been so focussed on getting 6 miles done that i slowed after that mile beep thinking that was the quicker stuff over before copping on that i still had to keep going to get to 40 minutes :rolleyes: Splits were 6:29, 6:26, 6:26, 6:26, 6:23, 6:22 and 6:20 for the extra bit.
    Walked the first couple of minutes of the 30 minute cool down so had a chance to bury my sweaty head in my t shirt before getting going again.

Sat 21st- 6 miles @easy

Supposed to be 8 miles but just had a window for this distance instead before a quick shower and off to my second match of the day!
    My daughter was playing for the U8s against our nearest neighbouring club in Leitrim. Its more a social outing for her at this stage!
    Eldest son had to stand in goals for the u10 girls team as one of the poor things felt dizzy and sick with the warm day. Unbeknownst to him he conceded a goal to his second cousin but i filled him in afterwards :pac:

Sun 22nd- 8 miles @easy

Nice trip around the locality and the locks on a glorious day. Passed the village pubs lovely new beer garden which was teeming with people (not jealous at all!) and the outdoor dining areas of the 2 village restaurants almost drooling at the aromas!

Oh i see I've missed a Sterling goal, yeeeeaaahhhh :rolleyes:

Was away with the family since last Sunday so missed updating that weeks running so will do so now and catch up with this weeks worth on Sunday!

Mon 21st- 8 miles @easy

Out the door around 9am to get this done and dusted before my first vaccine. Just a handy out and back along the hard shoulder of the N5.
    Got my vaccine afterwards around half 11. Didn't even notice getting it and was grand afterwards but that night and the next day it was like that usual awkward all elbows lad at GAA training had caught me with a late hit!

Tues 22nd- 20 x 1 minute @5:25

First day in a long while back out in the field with work so had 15k steps already done in wellingtons before togging out for this one! Could feel a bit leggy early doors during the warm up but thankfully passed with the 5 20 second strides.
    Small bit apprehensive of this one as it looks simple when written down but knew it would be anything but!
    The first 2 intervals were a bit on the slow side at 5:30 and 5:29 as i struggled a bit with pacing it. A small drop off during an interval this short throws the paces all over the place so took me a bit to get used to it.
    Got used to the required pace after getting these 2 out of the way and the remaining 18 were in the range of 5:14 to 5:25. These had the usual patterns of starting too fast and around the 40-45 second mark when i would look at the watch it was usually at the 5:10 mark so backed off a bit in each to get closer to the 5:25 marker. Think it was around the end of the 6th interval that i started partially walking the 1 minute recoveries.
    Glad to get that one out of the way.

Thurs 24th- 8 miles @easy with a few strides

Out in the field again today. Was able to do my work up to lunch in a tee shirt but got absolutely drenched after that walking meadows of grass while it teemed rain :( Was actually glad to have my running gear in the car as i was able to change from the boot when i finished work!
    Was still raining starting into this run around the bog loop but eased off shortly afterwards. Legs felt grand today and threw in 5 individual 20 second strides just after the halfway mark.

Fri 25th- 8 miles @easy

Another lap of the bog loop for this one. Nothing very exciting.
    DCM decision date pushed back again but can't say I'm overly disappointed as I have it written off in my head and they are trying to give it every chance of happening but i just cant see it.

Sat 26th- 50 minutes @6:30 pace

Forgot to charge my watch the previous night so only got a small partial charge before setting out on todays run.
    Bog loop again with the usual 30 minute warm up with some strides towards the latter end. Don't know what it was but felt really leggy during these 30 minutes and knew the 50 minutes of faster stuff would be a bit of a slog and so it proved.
    Got the first couple of miles done at the required pace but the effort felt way harder than it should have been or it was during last weeks session. Watch is beeping about low battery so knew it wouldn't see the session through and cant say i was too disappointed when it finally gave up the ghost just before mile 4. I had a fairly good idea of the mile markers after this point so knew how far i had to go to finish out the 50 minute session but while I'm poor at judging pace i knew that it slipped off while finishing it out.
    Pissed off at that for a few hours afterwards but nothing to do but park it and go again the next session!

Sun 27th- 8 miles @easy

Out just before 9 for this one. Felt leggy during the early miles but thankfully it passed. Headed up to Bundoran with the gang afterwards and a nice time was had!

Nerves beginning to build for my Italian boys now. Rode their luck at times against Austria so will be interesting to see which version we see tonight. Belgium represents a significant increase in the quality of opposition but their back 3 wouldn't be hitting sub 5 pace for 20x1 minute intervals so can be got at!
    Rossies out on Sunday. Really disappointing league campaign and looks like we have bottomed out. Is there a kick in us? Time will tell!

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭ Mullinabreena

Just a handy out and back along the hard shoulder of the N5.
    Do you feel safe running on the hard shoulder? I remember one time I was dressed all in bright colours in the middle of the day, the sun was high so they weren't blinded by a low sun. I was running towards traffic on the right hand side and well in on the the hard shoulder too. When a car suddenly pulled in to answer a call. I just managed to step onto the grass and avoided getting hit by a split second. It was quite frightening. I've stayed to the back roads since. I'd often see people running on the wrong side hard shoulder.

Yeah its not ideal but I live on a short cul de sac that feeds onto the N5 so no choice but run at least a couple of miles on it before accessing s back road. I couldn't be bothered hopping in the car and driving somewhere quieter for a run.

In mitigation though the hard shoulder I run on in either direction has really long sight lines with the majority of it having a mile plus stretch visible in front of you so never had an issue so far (touch wood!).

Like you said though I see a crazy amount of people running on them on the wrong side, utter stupidity really and so dangerous.

In Bundoran for a short break away with the gang and brought my gear with me....

Mon 28th - 8 miles @easy

Only had a vague idea of a route to take from last time i ran here a few years ago. Headed out by amusements and up the cliff walk and around the back of the golf course.
    I think in the pre covid days that there's an annual 10K partially on this route, some killer hills at race pace!
    After that i headed out the bypass and then back into town doing a few mini loops around the apartment block we were staying in to bring up the 8 miles.

Tues 29th- 15 x 2 mins @5:30

2 evenings of fast food meals because it was bit too windy and cold for outdoor dining meant i was dreading this one!
    Same route as the day previous so after a 20 minute warm up i started into the faster stuff out on the bypass. First one was bloody tough but settled into the groove after that using my patented start too fast meaning i could ease up for the final 20 seconds or so and still hit the target. The extra miles meant i did a loop out around Tullaghan in Leitrim but don't think it was the one OOnegative recommended as i took the first right out the Sligo road instead of the second but there was a tough looking drag after that first right hand turn so said balls to that!
    Managed to hit the target time for the 15 intervals, think it was just one that had me working for the full 120 seconds that involved a tough long drag for majority of it. The range of the intervals were from 5:18 (2nd and final one) to 5:30 (first one).
    Finished a tad under HM distance for the morning.

Thurs 1st- 8 miles @easy

Similar route to previous days but headed out the Ballyshannon road this time before turning back when watch beeped for mile 4. Non descript route apart from passing Finner Army base. Threw in 6 20 second strides on the homeward journey.

Fri 2nd- 60 mins @6:30

Nervous of this one after not really hitting the paces for 50 mins the previous week. Mixed it up today and abandoned the bog loop and headed for Longford town instead.
    Legs felt good today and had to ease back for the 30 minute WU which was a good sign. This brought me up close to Longford Town's ground and then into the pacier stuff. First mile as normal was tough making the transition in speed and despite thinking i was bombing along i was right bang on the 6:30 pace. Thankfully it got easier from here.
    I did manage to lose maybe 8 seconds or so stuck trying to cross the road at a roundabout so spent the second half of that 2nd mile speeding up to hit the pace (i know i could have just kept an even effort but wanted to do each mile sub 6:30 after last week).
    After that the legs felt really good and the miles ticked along nicely so that i wasn't really paying attention to the watch anymore. The intervals came in at 6:28, 6:29, 6:27, 6:26, 6:21, 6:20, 6:23, 6:19, 6:21 and another 6:21 for the last partial mile.
    Why can't every run feel like this!

Sat 3rd & Sun 4th- 8 miles @easy

Legs felt heavy for both of these runs around local loops. Did i really run 6:30 miles only the day or 2 previous :rolleyes:

Italy still motoring nicely. Super first half the other night although Spinazolla is going to be a big loss as he was up there for player of the tournament so far.

Bloody brutal stuff from The Rossies today, awful regression in the last 12 months. Future looks pretty grim.....

And to cap the day off I have 3 Lions as a bloody ear worm :mad: This might be me soon enough!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭ healy1835

I fell asleep in the Hogan Stand during a Kildare defeat to Westmeath in 2016 in maybe the worst game of any organised sport I've ever seen (no offence Barry, the best team did win). It was on straight after Ireland - France last 16 game in Euro 2016, and there may have been other reasons than the football for my, ahem, grogginess.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭ ThebitterLemon

That’s a super effort and time. Well done 👏

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Great race & report! Keep logging it's good to read other people's logs😊

• Registered Users Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭ AuldManKing

Super report and well done - a great effort on a dodgy route and into the breeze. Top marks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭ Wubble Wubble

That was a great read J. Having to run alone for most of your first race in so long certainly wasn't easy !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭ Murph_D

Good man, great time on what sounds like a tough course!