If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.
Hello all! This is just a quick reminder to ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere.

"And why do we fall Bruce?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭ Dubh Geannain

That's a great run. Congrats on the PB. Nosebleed territory 😲

• Registered Users Posts: 7,308 ✭✭✭ Mr. Guappa

Just watched that Nirvana documentary myself - really enjoyed it. There was something with Dave Grohl on after too which I've saved and will get round to at some stage.

Great going on the running front recently too - love the consistency.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭ MY BAD

• Registered Users Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭ Comic Book Guy

Sorry lad, didn't do great job describing it! It was 10 mins at HM pace and then 30 mins at 5 sec/mile quicker than HM.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭ MY BAD

Great session 👍

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Some great training J! Hahaha I hate it too when I always seem to see people I know or cars go by when I'm doing my recoveries full of sweat, looks like I'm struggling running slow😂

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭ Lambay island

The astro part made me smile. Pretty much identical experience when I started again back in the summer. It gets easier, although a following day session will always be tough going. I step back from it when approaching any races. It's nuts what muscle damage a lil kickabout can do do an ageing body 😄 . Fair play, you seem to be in good nick on the running front despite your tighter shorts.

Ah Stop D, I couldn't believe how sore i was Tuesday and Wednesday. The foam roller seen more use in those couple of days than the whole of 2021! I'm going back tomorrow night though, hopefully the legs have now got over the culture shock!

Glad it was just a niggle for you! Spiderman was absolutely brilliant

Thanks E, yeah you and me both!

How's your rehab going?

Ah getting there slowly! Walked 4mins, ran 6mins*3 today without any problems so thats good! Doing my exercises & foam rolling daily too, I'm being very cautious because I just want to get back running consistently. Hopefully that won't be too long away!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭ OOnegative

Few questions if I may:

1. From following you here & Strava, why the lack of races the past 18 months?
    2. What’s your goals over the next 12 months?
    3. Beard’s, hipster essentials or sexy distraction for bald men?
    4. Finally, Rossie’s, Connacht champions elect or a full rebuild needed?

Good man B, hope ya are over your "little" procedure! Thanks for the questions....

1. I wouldn't be the most confident person in general and that extends to my running. I'd nearly have a fear of races and being shown up as an imposter because I don't get a PB each time, silly I know cause nobody else couldn't care less about what times I do bar myself.

2. I hope to stay fully motivated and get out consistently each week for next couple of months and try and claw my fitness back. I have an entry for Dublin so hopefully I'm able to get in proper shape and give that a good bash.

3. Haha ya hoor! I've actually been meaning to shave it off but haven't been able to bring myself to do it yet after the time it took to get past the bum fluff stage!

4. The new manager talks a good game (a bit too media friendly for my liking) but we'll soon see how we're fixed in Div 1, no hiding places and I'd say realistically every other team has us marked down as a must win. We've been punching above our weight the last decade after having a good group of players come through together but I don't think they ever fully got the max out of themselves or maybe that's wishful thinking. Problem now is that that team have all aged together with very little younger lads holding their hands up. Let's just say I'm not looking forward to our trip to Castlebar this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,670 ✭✭✭ skyblue46

I don't think you're unique in that lack of confidence. I would be of the view that 90% on here are the same. The other 10% are either liars or sandbaggers!

Your easy training paces suggest you are in a good place. Set yourself aggressive targets and go for them.

Thanks S!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭ coogy

That's a great week of running J!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,670 ✭✭✭ skyblue46

I said it weeks ago...there's a big performance coming! Tell me about race plans...

Some savage training going on😉😁

Nothing planned yet thanks S. I just want to concentrate on getting through this base phase first and try and make inroads on where i would have been this time last year, a lot of work to be done but at least i feel like I'm starting to make tangible progress.