Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family forced to squat in house....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

The kids and herself look happy aand healthy
    gYrPbS3.jpg

and the council were "sitting"on the house for ages

May as well give it to them instead of a pair of methadone junkies who just might make it but in reality will probably wreck the place:

https://www.herald.ie/news/3300-heroin-addicts-on-hse-methadone-for-more-than-10-years-at-a-cost-of-20mayear-31068636.html

Sources estimate that running the methadone programme for the last 20 years could cost up to €200m. Currently it is running at almost €20m a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

LirW wrote: »
    Okay I really don't agree with them trying to pull a fast one. They're young and irresponsible and probably have never seen any better.

But let's break it down: they squat in an empty council house. Did they live there before and were given notice so they're overstaying? Did they effectively trespass and refuse to leave?
    Anyway, why can't they do better especially with young children? Probably both come from a background where education wasn't valued, neither was hard work. Their families don't have education and their peers most likely don't care about it either. All they've seen from a young age of was exactly what they're doing now.
    They should better themselves? Yes of course they should, especially with children but let's say Mr. Hand and Ms. Wilde are managing to put a CV together and go off merrily to apply for jobs. A quick Google search and their names come up with this headline grabbing story including full names of themselves, their kids and photos of these morons. I don't know about you guys, but I'd probably decide to Interview other applicants because it's not worth the hassle.

My point is that it is unfair, yes. But honestly I do not want these people on the streets kicking up a stink and running riot. I want them to be housed so they keep quiet and have some sort of stability in their lives that hopefully keeps them away from crime.
    It's sh*t but I see it as a ransom society pays in order to keep the full-time leeches satisfied and quiet. Not a life I desire to live to be honest.

I see a bigger issue that in times with ridiculously high property prices, high childcare costs people that have no intention to work get housed to the same standard as normal working people. They also get their front garden, back garden and 3 bedrooms. This model isn't up to date anymore and there's no basic accommodation that can be provided. They want all of the above? Go, work for it, otherwise a smaller apartment with no balcony will do. You're dry, warm and can cook food and wash yourself. It's just not as glamorous.

You want equality of outcome as well as equality of opportunity.
    Socialism.... making everyone poor, since 1917.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

"Pregnant Melissa Wilde (21), her partner Patrick Bernard Hand (26), and their children 20-month-old Cyra and three-month-old Levi are squatting in the vacant council property in the Windtown estate in Navan, Co Meath.

Link to story;

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/weve-nowhere-else-to-go-desperate-family-squatting-in-empty-council-house-faces-court-38246224.html

Maybe don't start popping out childer until you have secured a more permanent home

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Odelay wrote: »
    Last baby is 12 weeks old and she is up the duff already. Says it all.

Why don’t they ask why she keeps having unprotected sex when she has nowhere to live??

sure its the same as that one who was in the papers before, "ive been living in this hotel for almost 2 years now with my 3 year old, my 10 month old and im 2 months pregnant"

Self control and personal responsibility is so devoid in these people that I can't see how its safe to let anyone live next to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

I just checked out the estate on Google maps. There's a travellers site next to it, presumably where they came from initially. Plenty of room by the looks of it for another trailer in each bay.

But no, as usual the hand is out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

No ones a langer lads.

Sarcastic "offended Cork" reply to Gerry Adams funny post.

Jesus.
    This place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

splinter65 wrote: »
    You want equality of outcome as well as equality of opportunity.
    Socialism.... making everyone poor, since 1917.

I'm amazed that this is your conclusion of my waffling. This is exactly not what I was saying.

pablo128 wrote: »
    I just checked out the estate on Google maps. There's a travellers site next to it, presumably where they came from initially. Plenty of room by the looks of it for another trailer in each bay.

But no, as usual the hand is out.

pick off one or two houses in the estate and your family gets it all for free once you make it too miserable and dangerous to live there for anyone else.

free.jpg

gctest50 wrote: »
    The kids and herself look happy aand healthy

and the council were "sitting"on the house for ages

May as well give it to them instead of a pair of methadone junkies who just might make it but in reality will probably wreck the place:

The house was vacated on May 20th this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Where are all the do gooders who rallied to the cause of Ms Cash?
    Mary Lou, Rich Boy and all the other lefty Scrotes have realised there's no votes in helping freeloaders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

Edgware wrote: »
    Mary Lou, Rich Boy and all the other lefty Scrotes have realised there's no votes in helping freeloaders

Peadar Tobin is their ambassador in Navan. But he's probably lying low for a bit until he works out which voters he doesn't want to annoy if he wants to retain his Dail seat.

Edgware wrote: »

They realise that they were played like violins. The results of the local elections were a wake up call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

Feisar wrote: »

And that's a fair point, we must be willing though to see young Levi in twenty years time with his girlfriend pregnant with her third child.

Another generation failed.

If young Levee is half the man that his father is, he'll have more than one girlfriend pregnant by the time he's 20!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The words "vacant" and "council house" do not belong in the same sentence together during a crisis. F*cking ridiculous.

vacant for a month, probably rejected by one family on the list or awaiting the issues fixed.

It was vacated by the previous tenants as it wasn’t suited to their disability.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭downtheroad

LirW wrote: »
    Okay I really don't agree with them trying to pull a fast one. They're young and irresponsible and probably have never seen any better.

But let's break it down: they squat in an empty council house. Did they live there before and were given notice so they're overstaying? Did they effectively trespass and refuse to leave?
    Anyway, why can't they do better especially with young children? Probably both come from a background where education wasn't valued, neither was hard work. Their families don't have education and their peers most likely don't care about it either. All they've seen from a young age of was exactly what they're doing now.
    They should better themselves? Yes of course they should, especially with children but let's say Mr. Hand and Ms. Wilde are managing to put a CV together and go off merrily to apply for jobs. A quick Google search and their names come up with this headline grabbing story including full names of themselves, their kids and photos of these morons. I don't know about you guys, but I'd probably decide to Interview other applicants because it's not worth the hassle.

My point is that it is unfair, yes. But honestly I do not want these people on the streets kicking up a stink and running riot. I want them to be housed so they keep quiet and have some sort of stability in their lives that hopefully keeps them away from crime.
    It's sh*t but I see it as a ransom society pays in order to keep the full-time leeches satisfied and quiet. Not a life I desire to live to be honest.

I see a bigger issue that in times with ridiculously high property prices, high childcare costs people that have no intention to work get housed to the same standard as normal working people. They also get their front garden, back garden and 3 bedrooms. This model isn't up to date anymore and there's no basic accommodation that can be provided. They want all of the above? Go, work for it, otherwise a smaller apartment with no balcony will do. You're dry, warm and can cook food and wash yourself. It's just not as glamorous.

So she got herself added to the council house list 3 years ago at the age of 18 and now has a 20 month old child, yet you don't think she'd trying to pull a fast one? At best she got pregnant within 6 months of being added to the council house list. Therefore she declared herself homeless and then goes on to have 2 children and now pregnant with a third. Sure, she's not trying to pull a fast one.

It was vacated by the previous tenants as it wasn’t suited to their disability.

And the fact that it wasn't allocated literally within the following several days is an abysmal failure by the council. In a time of crisis, we need more rapid responses than this. The minute that house was vacated, someone should have immediately opened the waiting list in their office and matched it to the next people whose demographics suited it.

I’m sure that it takes longer than a month to renovate properties. After all the standard expected by tenants is pretty high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

While that may be true, it doesn’t mean people can just break in and make themselves at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Not a hope young levi and wrangler aren't in their grannies houses at this stage. sure what time do the council stop working,5?

I’m sure that it takes longer than a month to renovate properties. After all the standard expected by tenants is pretty high.

I haven't seen any suggestion that this one was in need of renovation when the previous tenants left, nor that it was in the middle of being renovated when these folks broke in?

amcalester wrote: »
    While that may be true, it doesn’t mean people can just break in and make themselves at home.

I disagree in the current situation tbh, if direct action is what it takes to force councils to do something about this housing mess then so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

but just think that it's very unfair to punish them for their parent's (or parents') fecklessness.)
    Do you think leaving these children with their parents will do any good? Will they grow up educated and hard working citizens?

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

I think it's more health and safety rather than high standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,002 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Only saw this story earlier today.

I despair.

Zero contributors to the system, all take take take. Yet they will have supporters in their tens of thousands.

You'd think if you were homeless and struggling in life, you'd hold off having any more kids, wouldn't you?

Of course not, only fools who work have to think about the cost of raising kids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I'm currently living at home while saving for a deposit. Iv kind of become disillusioned with the whole thing.

What do I need to do to get a council house for free? Thanks

Blueshoe wrote: »
    I'm currently living at home while saving for a deposit. Iv kind of become disillusioned with the whole thing.

well it appears that for every conviction or child you have and the less days you went to school that it moves you up the list. Never ever ever having worked a day in your life is an absolute requirement though.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,002 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Blueshoe wrote: »

Get yourself unemployed, a girlfriend willing to have 3 kids in the next 3 years, would help if she already has a couple from a previous relationship, then get on to the Indo and say you are a couple of days away from sleeping on the street.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭dickangel

Must have a very low ceiling.