Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family forced to squat in house....

15678911»

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

@IAMMORON- no need for the personal insults. Please be civil to other posters.

dudara

• Registered Users Posts: 17,255 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I assume the waiting list is some kind of point system based on circumstances, kids, disability etc?
    If so then your status when going on the list should be set in stone - if you decide to have 3 kids in the next 3 years then that's your problem and won't affect your position
    (Incurred disabilities excluded)

That on top of my resolute belief that any child allowance should be through tax rebates for the third child onwards, actually the second child onwards - why propogate even more wasters beyond one child

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Too many traveller shaming threads , they are boring after a while. Get on with your lives and think yourselves lucky. There is nothing appealing about being a traveller in this country, even if you get hand outs.

Where your tax money goes and what it may rise to fund is very much part of your own life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

ArtyC wrote: »
    Meanwhile we're living in extremely run down house we bought 30km from where we wanted. Doing a job a week from our wages... difficult but will be worth it .

Spent five years saving and persuading bank to give us a mortgage.

No kids, no pets, no holidays etc etc

Sometimes I'm sorry we bought in Ireland when I read this ****

Same here. Working my hole off day in and day out, working full time while also trying to retrain. Every penny I earn going towards essential living costs and food. Haven't had a holiday in God knows how long. Having some serious medical issues and putting off going to the doctor because I can't really afford it, and listening to these absolute bottom feeders whining because they're not given a house near mammy the very second they ask for it. It's draining. It's honestly completely draining.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Graces7 wrote: »
    Which county?

Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

• Registered Users Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Please listen to yourself for a change. What you have written here is the epitome of racism. You need to check the way you think about people in this society, for real.

I didn't know they were travellers until your one opened her gob, fact is this family are chancers and have to be called out on it. The quicker they get a kick up the hole the better, not being rewarded for elbowing past everyone else to secure a house. The sense of entitlement in these people is nauseating.

It's not just travellers. I went to school with piles of people like this. Plenty of them over the water as well. This is what happens when you create a country where the rich are grand, the poor are grand and everyone in between is absolutely screwed over, especially those working full time who are low to average earners. I've done nothing but work hard and try to do the right thing my entire life. Went to university, got a Master's, now retraining. At 34 years old, I'm living in a shared flat and cramming my groceries onto my one shelf in the fridge and desperately trying to save every penny I can in the hope of maybe being able to buy a tiny studio flat 10+ years from now.

Jacinta (yes, really) from school popped out 2 kids by age 19, has never worked a single day in her life and was giving out to my mam in the post office that she can 'only' have one foreign holiday to Tenerife this year and how disgraceful it is that 'they' give her so little to live on. Yes, this woman who has contributed absolutely nothing to society in her entire life, never paid taxes, cost the state thousands of euros in hospital costs for the birth of her children, dole money, child benefit, medical cards and God knows what, else, genuinely, truly feels hard done by.

It's sickening, honestly. Those who are better off than me say things like 'but sure, you wouldn't want her life' and 'you can't begrudge her kids a decent start' but they don't know what it's like to be working and poor. To come home wrecked every night and cook your cheap Lidl food and put off going to the doctor because you don't have the spare cash and then to listen to people like her whining. It's truly soul destroying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 Intrakota

It's not just travellers. I went to school with piles of people like this. Plenty of them over the water as well. This is what happens when you create a country where the rich are grand, the poor are grand and everyone in between is absolutely screwed over, especially those working full time who are low to average earners. I've done nothing but work hard and try to do the right thing my entire life. Went to university, got a Master's, now retraining. At 34 years old, I'm living in a shared flat and cramming my groceries onto my one shelf in the fridge and desperately trying to save every penny I can in the hope of maybe being able to buy a tiny studio flat 10+ years from now.

Jacinta (yes, really) from school popped out 2 kids by age 19, has never worked a single day in her life and was giving out to my mam in the post office that she can 'only' have one foreign holiday to Tenerife this year and how disgraceful it is that 'they' give her so little to live on. Yes, this woman who has contributed absolutely nothing to society in her entire life, never paid taxes, cost the state thousands of euros in hospital costs for the birth of her children, dole money, child benefit, medical cards and God knows what, else, genuinely, truly feels hard done by.

It's sickening, honestly. Those who are better off than me say things like 'but sure, you wouldn't want her life' and 'you can't begrudge her kids a decent start' but they don't know what it's like to be working and poor. To come home wrecked every night and cook your cheap Lidl food and put off going to the doctor because you don't have the spare cash and then to listen to people like her whining. It's truly soul destroying.

And people wonder why the Alt-Right are gaining power?

I'm not going to be 'holier than thou', God knows we need a welfare state, and I'm glad we have it, but its abuse gives rise to some rather extreme right wing sentiments. 'There but for the grace of God Go I', and all that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

Intrakota wrote: »

I'm not going to be 'holier than thou', God knows we need a welfare state, and I'm glad we have it, but its abuse gives rise to some rather extreme right wing sentiments. 'There but for the grace of God Go I', and all that.....

You use them terms very loosely, the alt right by definition is white nationalism, anti gay, anti immigration, anti feminist, neo nazi etc. Leaning towards the right economically is very far detached from any true "alt right" views.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 Intrakota

You use them terms very loosely, the alt right by definition is white nationalism, anti gay, anti immigration, anti feminist, neo nazi etc. Leaning towards the right economically is very far detached from any true "alt right" views.

True that, excessively loosely as well.

Its like any kind of welfare cut, which we see occuring in Britain, is met with an outcry, and Britain is a far more brutal society economically than Ireland. Any involvement with 'the system' there is designed to crush the heart and mind. I would'nt want that in Ireland at all, not that extreme.

It seems like the 'establishment' want to force a right wing agenda, and the surest and most certain way of doing that is by ramming the price of real estate to the point of insanity, so that those who have 'made it' can look down their shrone's at those who have'nt or are forced into the all loving arms of Mother Welfare State.

And as for the issue of travellers, and racism and what not, lets just say, do you really expect the welfare state to write its own redundancy notice by - you know, helping the Travelling community become 'employable', become 'integrated', become 'proud', be the best Irish people they can be, rather than being thrown on the margins of society to be denigrated, insulted, and spat at?

Because its 'them and us', when it should be 'them with us'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Kitty Holland is a cretin, nothing she has to say should be considered in any meaningful way.

Travellers expose the ****e they made themselves?? Give me a ****ing break

Intrakota wrote: »

'Grace of God'? Listen to yourself. I've had more setbacks, issues and serious medical drama in a year of my life than this girl has ever had, and you know what? I just feckin get on with things because I don't have much choice. Yes, we do need a welfare state, and perhaps if there were fewer people like this girl absolutely taking the p1ss, the money could be better allocated to those who actually need it. Right now, you have people working full time who have to choose between seeing a doctor and buying a monthly bus ticket, while they see people like this all around them who get it all for free and then complain that they don't have more.

Perhaps if you spent a week living among people like this, you'd get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

'Grace of God'? Listen to yourself. I've had more setbacks, issues and serious medical drama in a year of my life than this girl has ever had, and you know what? I just feckin get on with things because I don't have much choice. Yes, we do need a welfare state, and perhaps if there were fewer people like this girl absolutely taking the p1ss, the money could be better allocated to those who actually need it. Right now, you have people working full time who have to choose between seeing a doctor and buying a monthly bus ticket, while they see people like this all around them who get it all for free and then complain that they don't have more.

I’d thank this more than once if I could. I work full time and have asthma and need nearly 100e of medication a month to be “safe” - I can only afford the Ventolin at 10e. Meanwhile there are layabout wasters who have never contributed a cent to the state with medical cards getting both for 50c/1e or whatever it is. How in any sense is that a fair or justifiable situation? The ones who work should get the supports, the ones who have never and will never contribute anything to society should be left in the gutter where they aspired to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Meanwhile there are layabout wasters who have never contributed a cent to the state with medical cards getting both for 50c/1e or whatever it is. How in any sense is that a fair or justifiable situation? The ones who work should get the supports, the ones who have never and will never contribute anything to society should be left in the gutter where they aspired to be.

Agree entirely; I have MS and asthma. I work full time, on a reasonable wage. Between paying my half of the mortgage, bills and running a car, I am in my overdraft by payday. I don't wear designer brands, I don't go out every weekend and we shop in Lidl 90% of the time. I put off getting my roots done, I rarely get nails done (maybe for a wedding) and we're putting off getting married and starting a family until we have a loan repaid.

I despair at these types who bring kids into the world so flippantly.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭whippet

I’m surprised that Ben Gilroy .. local enough to Navan isn’t all over this one .. he opposes all evictions apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭jo2509

Meanwhile there are layabout wasters who have never contributed a cent to the state with medical cards getting both for 50c/1e or whatever it is.

They probably whinge about having to cough up the nominal 50c too.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

jo2509 wrote: »
    They probably whinge about having to cough up the nominal 50c too.

Sure look at how violent they got about the water charges. Or the amount that wont even cough up the 30 quid a week rent. Cant make them pay for anything

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

This pair will get rehoused in record time now anyway. All they have to do is get the picture in the paper and get a mention from a politician and hey presto, house. Civil servants should have the power to tell their bosses to f*ck off in these cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭endacl

• Registered Users Posts: 33,002 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This pair will get rehoused in record time now anyway. All they have to do is get the picture in the paper and get a mention from a politician and hey presto, house. Civil servants should have the power to tell their bosses to f*ck off in these cases.

Appearing in the paper should not change the criteria or your position on any housing list.

Why should it?

Would it not leave the council open to someone with more points/worse situation taking legal action if someone skips up the list?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

endacl wrote: »
    Hardly an update?

So living in mammy's house in their own room = homelessness

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Lainey you deserve not to have to make those choices and I know that you're a good person who is just annoyed that other people squander their opportunities and act like children (babies having babies)

But these people have no power - they don't set the reimbursement rates for medicine or the price of bus tickets.

I think that our anger is better spent on those who have power than those who don't (even where they deserve it ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Similar to this case from last year, AFAIK this couple are still parked up outside a cemetery having allegedly had 2 council houses prior to this and sought a third.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/complaints-after-contents-of-caravan-emptied-onto-green-in-co-cork-472626.html

• Registered Users Posts: 7 sleepy_storm

Nope that's not any better.

Have you or anyone you know ever experienced addiction?

Yes, Healthcare costs money, what's your point?

Should people who have Diabetes as a result of Poor Diet be sent to an Island for six months with nothing but beans to eat, or whatever that other ludicrous post suggested?

How about Lung Cancer? Should smokers , or perhaps more to the point, ex-smokers, be denied Health Care?

Yes, some people on Methadone Maintenance, or Medication Assisted Therapy as it's called elsewhere do abuse the system, but should that mean that all people who are using Methadone as part of a programme of restoring their health and their lives be considered leaches on society?

gctest50 wrote: »
    Junkies that are now on methadone, that better ?

You should have copy/pasted in how much that costs:

Sources estimate that running the methadone programme for the last 20 years could cost up to €200 million

Currently it is running at almost €20m a year

• Registered Users Posts: 7 sleepy_storm

Again, please do even the most basic research on Addiction. It's not a joke. Riffing on Father Dougal's National Lotto ads doesn't make it a joke.

Whether or not you subscribe to the Disease Model of Addiction is up to you, but really, do you think anyone would make a conscious choice to be chained to a life of misery? And for the only reasonably amenable way out to be a Medication that in itself, in a horrible Catch-22, causes dependence? As well as a rake of other very unpleasant side-effects?

Maybe you should head for the Island yourself. You're certainly not doing any good here.
    If someone is being 'treated' with Methadone for over 3 years they need to be put on an uninhabitated island off our shores for 6 months with nothing but beans and water to treat them, otherwise it's a bloody joke use of resources.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭holliehobbie

I'm wondering why the young couple aren't married since they were 16 and 21? Or were they keeping the wedding money to buy their own house?