Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family forced to squat in house....

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Suggesting that a woman get an abortion in a facetious way and referring to the state of her nipples is being a d*ck, per the forum charter. I hope that clears up any lingering confusion in anyone’s minds.

If you want to debate this further, do not reply here, but go through the other channels.

dudara

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

whiskeyman wrote: »
    They named the kid Levi?

It must be in their genes...

I think that is the problem, they cannot keep it in the genes... ahem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

NSAman wrote: »
    I think that is the problem, they cannot keep it in the genes... ahem!

Ba dum

Tiss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

Dear people of the forum,

I, SirGerryAdams, apologise for a facetious comment about abortion and a joke about a womans nipples.

I hope no one in the forum was offended and that you accept my apology.

I will for the time being only ridicule Trump, Cork accents, Leitrim, people paying 6 euro for chicken fillet rolls, landlords, politicians and arts degrees.

I now understand a joke about a womans nipples has crossed the line.

Regards,
    SirGerryAdams

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

know the feels

My older sister hasn't worked since 2009 when she had her first child, she then had another a few years ago and was put into a lovely council apartment soon after because she lost her two previous rentals through not paying the rent.

Meanwhile I haven't a hope of buying a house in the near future cause I own a business and the bank seem to hate giving us folk any sort of finance. My other sister works full time and so does her boyfriend and they have to save for at least the next two years for the bank to even entertain them (kids are also out of the question for them in the meantime)

Cant help but see the irony that out of a family of 3 the one that doesn't work is the one that has the house (courtesy of joe taxpayer) and that all the two who work have to look forward to is getting lubed up for one hell of a riding from the long d*ck of some bank because they are contributing members of society.

Sometimes life just don`t make no sense

I've said it before on threads where we all moan about the human flotsam we must provide for. Essentially it is done to keep them where they are. Better to keep them and their offspring sedated on Dutch Gold and Johnnie Blues than robbing our houses. I accept paying them off doesn't fully stop them crossing over into our world from time to time however compared to countries with no sedation system we aren't too bad here.

There isn't the appetite in this State to deal with the issue effectively.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

I, SirGerryAdams, apologise for a facetious comment about abortion and a joke about a womans nipples. I hope no one in the forum was offended and that you accept my apology.

Regards,
    SirGerryAdams

Well said that man!

I have often idly considered opening a thread on AH to discuss the attractiveness (or otherwise) of pierced nipples on people of either gender (or both, or neither, or none) but I'm now very concerned that if I do, I'll be reprimanded by the mods.

My plan was for the thread to be an illustrated one, but on reflection, I think that I'll let the matter rest for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭witchity2

4 weeks pregnant!! That would barely register on a pregnancy test. They must have rang the paper as soon as she took the test

Feisar wrote: »

There isn't the appetite in this State to deal with the issue effectively.

I don't think that there is an appetite in any EU State to deal with this issue effectively. Furthermore, I'm not sure that effective solutions that aren't very unfair to the innocent children actually exist.

(And when I refer to innocent children, I stress that I'm far from being a signed-up member of the bleeding heart association, but just think that it's very unfair to punish them for their parent's (or parents') fecklessness.)

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

forced to squat? is the ceiling really low or something?

Council took the toilet seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hand is a very 'proud' family name around Navan.

Anyways hope they are up to date on their council Levi's. Wink. Wink.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Odelay

cursai wrote: »

???? Ha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

From 1/1/2021, no more child benefit after no. 2. From 1/1/2020, free contraception for the ladies via the medical card or public health nurse. I wouldn't trust the lads to wrap it up.

After that, it's up to yourselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Hand shandy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Says who?

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Says who?

The local Knack's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Hand shandy

Mr Hand would have served the country better having a **** than foisting yet another welfare child on the state. Personal responsibility is something that seriously needs to make a comeback, **** these sob stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ginger83

The local Knack's.

Yep........i'm aware of the family name

I don't think that there is an appetite in any EU State to deal with this issue effectively. Furthermore, I'm not sure that effective solutions that aren't very unfair to the innocent children actually exist.

(And when I refer to innocent children, I stress that I'm far from being a signed-up member of the bleeding heart association, but just think that it's very unfair to punish them for their parent's (or parents') fecklessness.)

Isn't the bigger crime leaving them with their incumbents?

I, SirGerryAdams, apologise for a facetious comment about abortion and a joke about a womans nipples.

I hope no one in the forum was offended and that you accept my apology.

I will for the time being only ridicule Trump, Cork accents, Leitrim, people paying 6 euro for chicken fillet rolls, landlords, politicians and arts degrees.

Regards,
    SirGerryAdams

You were doing so well, until you crossed a line.
    You langer.

Reported. We shouldn't have to put up with these offensive posts in this day and age. Abortions and nipples are arguably fair game for fair comment.
    But that
    No way boi.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

You were doing so well, until you crossed a line.
    You langer.

Reported. We shouldn't have to put up with these offensive posts in this day and age. Abortions and nipples are arguably fair game for fair comment.
    But that
    No way boi.

Cop on.

Cop on.

You cop on you langer

In this case "cop on" means why don't you read a bit more of the thread before kneejerking.

And your use of the word "langer" is correct, albeit misdirected.

You cop on you langer

Are ye of the proud Navan family of the Hands?

Isn't the bigger crime leaving them with their incumbents?

Some people think so, others disagree. We have no idea whether this pair of young rabbits are good or bad parents; the fact that they chose to inflict idiotic forenames on their kids cannot be regarded as clinching evidence!

The accepted policy in Ireland seems to be that children should be removed from their natural parent/parents only as a last resort. And, given the shortage of foster parents in Ireland, that's probably not a bad thing.

Some people think so, others disagree. We have no idea whether this pair of young rabbits are good or bad parents; the fact that they chose to inflict idiotic forenames on their kids cannot be regarded as clinching evidence!

The accepted policy in Ireland seems to be that children should be removed from their natural parent/parents only as a last resort. And, given the shortage of foster parents in Ireland, that's probably not a bad thing.

And that's a fair point, we must be willing though to see young Levi in twenty years time with his girlfriend pregnant with her third child.

Another generation failed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

As the old saying goes.....

Many Hands make light work.

No wait..... many Hands don't go to work,because of the tax paying saps like us.

* That's the updated "foreva home" 2019 version.

And that's a fair point, we must be willing though to see young Levi in twenty years time with his girlfriend pregnant with her third child.

Another generation failed.

It's Levy not Levi. Us hardly think a hand would name his child after mid range label jeans.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

You cop on you langer

Why would you immediately start calling people names who challenge you ?. I'm not from the southern Capitol of our generous country. Are you by any chance from navan?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Okay I really don't agree with them trying to pull a fast one. They're young and irresponsible and probably have never seen any better.

But let's break it down: they squat in an empty council house. Did they live there before and were given notice so they're overstaying? Did they effectively trespass and refuse to leave?
    Anyway, why can't they do better especially with young children? Probably both come from a background where education wasn't valued, neither was hard work. Their families don't have education and their peers most likely don't care about it either. All they've seen from a young age of was exactly what they're doing now.
    They should better themselves? Yes of course they should, especially with children but let's say Mr. Hand and Ms. Wilde are managing to put a CV together and go off merrily to apply for jobs. A quick Google search and their names come up with this headline grabbing story including full names of themselves, their kids and photos of these morons. I don't know about you guys, but I'd probably decide to Interview other applicants because it's not worth the hassle.

My point is that it is unfair, yes. But honestly I do not want these people on the streets kicking up a stink and running riot. I want them to be housed so they keep quiet and have some sort of stability in their lives that hopefully keeps them away from crime.
    It's sh*t but I see it as a ransom society pays in order to keep the full-time leeches satisfied and quiet. Not a life I desire to live to be honest.

I see a bigger issue that in times with ridiculously high property prices, high childcare costs people that have no intention to work get housed to the same standard as normal working people. They also get their front garden, back garden and 3 bedrooms. This model isn't up to date anymore and there's no basic accommodation that can be provided. They want all of the above? Go, work for it, otherwise a smaller apartment with no balcony will do. You're dry, warm and can cook food and wash yourself. It's just not as glamorous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Start a crowd funding page to buy condoms .

And a course in how to use them..