Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gemma not taking enforced retirement too well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

DubInMeath wrote: »

They're not wrong to take in the immigrants that can assimulate easier to their society. Poland and Ukraine are neighbours a bit like Ireland and England and both share similar cultures and traditions. Who would you rather British, American or European people who can assimulate fairly easily due to having a similar culture to come and live in Ireland or Pakistanis or Nigerians who have a completely alien culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Stephen15 wrote: »
    They're not wrong to take in the immigrants that can assimulate easier to their society. Poland and Ukraine are neighbours a bit like Ireland and England and both share similar cultures and traditions. Who would you rather British, American or European people who can assimulate fairly easily due to having a similar culture to come and live in Ireland or Pakistanis or Nigerians who have a completely alien culture.

They just want anyone and everyone. Not because they care about Ireland but because it will piss off people who do care about Ireland's future

Anyone I have worked with here in Ireland who are from Pakistan have no problem integrating they have been actually very positive about the country and us as a nation.
    I can't say the same thing about the French people I worked with as a group.
    The English people who l have worked with both here and the U.K. were for the most part lovely people but there's a strain of utter assholes in their society that has nothing to do with economic or social background.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

I really feel sorry for Gemma. I've seen it happen before to someone I knew. They were highly educated, had a sharp mind and good critical thinking.

They had a bit of a tailspin around the time of GWB getting elected, they had a difficult year, then 9/11 and off they went straight over the edge into gibbering tinfoil hat-land.

Its tragic, but his mind was just overwhelmed with the obvious probability that the whole thing as not a series of unfortunate events, but rather a planned and concerted conspiracy by a few to deliver a nice profitable war and a cushy second term to the hawks at the cost of hundreds of thousands (no joke - https://watson.brown.edu/costsofwar/files/cow/imce/papers/2018/Human%20Costs%2C%20Nov%208%202018%20CoW.pdf) of lives.

He saw the human side of the equation unfolding and it was too much for the man.

Gemma has a similar historical pattern there, personal loss, professional irrelevance and insecurity, tailspin, breakdown and now tinfoil hat.
    It's not too late for her to get help, but her friends and family really need to get their fingers out and help her before she does herself (or someone else) some serious harm or undertakes some crazy criminal mischief that lands her beyond the sympathy section of the courts.

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Anyone I have worked with here in Ireland who are from Pakistan have no problem integrating they have been actually very positive about the country and us as a nation.
    I can't say the same thing about the French people I worked with as a group.
    The English people who l have worked with both here and the U.K. were for the most part lovely people but there's a strain of utter assholes in their society that has nothing to do with economic or social background.

Arseholes and lovely people in every society including our own. I'm sure some of the Nigerians and Pakistanis are lovely too but that's not to take away from the fact their culture is completely different from our own.

I've had some bad expierences with Pakistanis who work in petrol stations or shops like Spar and Centra many don't speak good English or lack the nessecary customer service and interpersonal skills required to work in Ireland not saying they're all like and I've met nice ones too but plenty of ones that aren't suitable to working in Ireland.

Perhaps the more skilled ones that work in tech firms or as medical professionals are better able to integrate but less so the likes of ones that are unskilled working in shops. Which once again emphasises how introducing a points system like Australia is the most logical way to go.

I really feel sorry for Gemma. I've seen it happen before to someone I knew. They were highly educated, had a sharp mind and good critical thinking.

They had a bit of a tailspin around the time of GWB getting elected, they had a difficult year, then 9/11 and off they went straight over the edge into gibbering tinfoil hat-land.

Its tragic, but his mind was just overwhelmed with the obvious probability that the whole thing as not a series of unfortunate events, but rather a planned and concerted conspiracy by a few to deliver a nice profitable war and a cushy second term to the hawks at the cost of hundreds of thousands (no joke - https://watson.brown.edu/costsofwar/files/cow/imce/papers/2018/Human%20Costs%2C%20Nov%208%202018%20CoW.pdf) of lives.

He saw the human side of the equation unfolding and it was too much for the man.

Gemma has a similar historical pattern there, personal loss, professional irrelevance and insecurity, tailspin, breakdown and now tinfoil hat.
    It's not too late for her to get help, but her friends and family really need to get their fingers out and help her before she does herself (or someone else) some serious harm or undertakes some crazy criminal mischief that lands her beyond the sympathy section of the courts.

Look Ile accept some of her views are bit out there and other times she starts talking about irrelevant crap but she does make some good points with regards to immigration and government corruption and I enjoyed her interviews with National Party members. Justin Barrett and James Reynolds even seemed to be thinking this one is a bit mental but she seemed in her element with Terry Lawton the chemtrail activist guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,799 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Even Gilroy came out after the election and said more or less, 'I'm done, the establishment vote is bullet proof, if millions want more of the same as it appears, then a handful of us are not going to touch that at the moment'

I give him credit for the self-awareness that Gemma totally lacks and it is true that serious conversations must be had about the direction of the Country, but window licking headcases like her and those she sucks in are not the ones to start them.

I'd quite like to see someone, or a group come forward that:

-Wants to tackle profiglacy and Union strangleholds in the public sector
    -Demands fiscal prudence and counter cyclical policy
    -supports the simplification of the EU and a return to first principles of co-operation, collaboration, trade and fostering peace in the region while acknowledging diversity
    -supports economic immigration tailored to the needs of the state and its people, with a contract of participation for those who do come here and that their first loyalty while here will be to an Irish society of these principles and not to the country of origin or any religion to the disadvantage of Ireland and its values
    -supports a list system for the Oireachtas to try to kill the parish pump
    -Wants the full detachment of any and all religion from the State and taxpayer funded services, yet fosters full freedom of worship for the individual and the family in their personal time
    -supports bodily autonomy and equality in health and social services
    -makes work always the better choice
    -provides social protection as a hand up not a hand out and properly supports the small minority of our people incapacitated by disability or serious illness for however long they need it with dignity and inclusivity
    -promotes a non-aligned Defence policy which includes sufficient strength to provide our own comprehensive air and sea defence without UK or other assistance, which is anathema to a sovereign country
    -introduces universal military service or specialised civic and community service where everyone of sufficient mobility and capacity gives time and support back to the nation at a young age and remains available and trained for their working life
    -has the objective of Irish reunification with consent under a Republic of the foregoing principles without being apologetic for it and without the marxism

Am I asking too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

If the wages and conditions were improved Irish people would gladly work these jobs but they're not. Mass immigration suits big employers but not hard pressed Irish workers and small businesses. That's why I believe that being anti immigration is actually quite a left wing viewpoint

This seems to be the catch all used anytime immigration is discussed in a non positive manner in this country "but the Irish emigrated all over the world". This is because in many cases due to the fact they had no other option due to our ruling government being inept.

Other countries can make their own rules immigration and Australia have much stricter criteria than our own which I would like to see similar here. I'm not against all immigration and would like to see a points system like in Australia where only those who have the skills/qualifications that are required in a particular area can come to lkve and work here.

I also have no problem if other countries want to deport Irish people back to here that are a burden on their society or have broken the law.

No it isn't. Poland is getting richer now and many Polsih are feeling less of a need to leave Poland and come to Western Europe.

Yes they are the problem but if people are willing to put up with crap then of course people will exploit that.

Know a fair few Polish people between mid twenties and early thirties. They're increasingly concerned by their governments shift to the right, none have any intent of returning to Poland for this reason. You're also the fellow who tends to praise the likes of the Hungarian government so ethics doesn't rank high on your list as proven multiple times.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Yes indeed, how could people from such alien cultures have any possible hope of assimilation?

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/watch-iraqi-born-zak-moradi-leitrim-412785

• Registered Users Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It’s the middle income working classes who have most to lose from any recession, and most can barely build up a pension.

Remind me again how many billions the pension tax relief for the 'squeezed middle' costs us?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,814 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Over 1 billion per annum handed to those on the live register.
    What a waste of my money

Edit. It's actually 2,397,434,000 euro down the drain every year

Do you not realise that that billion works its way back into the economy through VAT?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Down the drain. Wasted by layabouts who have no need to buy an alarm clock.
    700,000 on waiting lists in the health system. A disgrace.
    Hopefully you never have to experience it

So massively cut the dole then. Then watch as the housing and healthcare get way worse because the needs of the unemployed will rise!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Why should I have to suffer for someone that shouldn't be even in the country but they get treatment straight away as the authorities have a duty of care but yet I have to be on a waiting list, my mother had cancer and had to lay in a corridor in A&E for over 24hours listening and seeing all sorts of abuse etc.....

I work and work hard but every so often I come across those that take it upon themselves to scream racist.... I would hate to see their reaction if I actually was and did say disrespect them which by the way I would not and this is why I'm so strongly against it been used unless of course warranted....

I treat everyone with respect and as a human being and not by their colour or nationality or whatever they're into....

Exactly the same with gay, lesbian or whatever the next phase is, I don't care what they want to be and if they're happy then I'm happy too.

Simple I've been attacked by Irish people, foreign people and travellers so nothing really different between them only their behaviour shows them up as individuals....

Clearly you dont treat people with respect because of their nationality when you believe your nationality makes you a more worthy and important recipient of healthcare.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 39,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

They're not wrong to take in the immigrants that can assimulate easier to their society.

From Iraq to Croker joy: Refugee turned hurler Zak wins All-Ireland title

Clearly you dont treat people with respect because of their nationality when you believe your nationality makes you a more worthy and important recipient of healthcare.

Go away out of that. That mans taxes are helping to fund the system. He should get first preference

• Registered Users Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Go away out of that. That mans taxes are helping to fund the system. He should get first preference

So somebody paying a higher rate of tax should be seen ahead of somebody on a lower rate?

Odhinn wrote: »
    So somebody paying a higher rate of tax should be seen ahead of somebody on a lower rate?

No. Somebody paying tax should get preference over someone paying no tax.

But everyone pays tax, directly or indirectly.

Odhinn wrote: »
    But everyone pays tax, directly or indirectly.

No they don't. A tax is a deduction from income. Free money that is taxed is not a deduction from income. It's just less free money!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

No they don't. A tax is a deduction from income. Free money that is taxed is not a deduction from income. It's just less free money!

Really?

Whats VAT then?

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Really?

Whats VAT then?

Vat is a different type of tax. It's a tax on consumer spending.

So if I use my earned income to buy new underpants a percentage cost of the underpants will be vat.

If Johnny who does sweet f all every day also fancies getting new underpants he essentially gets them for free. He didn't earn the money to buy the new jocks. It was handed to him. He pays no vat. The taxpayer picks up the bill for him. He gets free cash every week and free underpants

You pay tax on goods and services, as yer man said - VAT.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Why should I have to suffer for someone that shouldn't be even in the country but they get treatment straight away as the authorities have a duty of care but yet I have to be on a waiting list, my mother had cancer and had to lay in a corridor in A&E for over 24hours listening and seeing all sorts of abuse etc.....

Statistically foreigners pay more into the system than they take out. They're on average younger and healthier than the general population. There's also lower unemployment since most come here for work. So statistically foreigners contributed more to the wage of the doctor you were waiting on than they did to the queue you are in.

The health service needs work but it's not the fault of foreigners.

But it IS A TAX and unless you're managing to survive on thin air in a cave somewhere, bollock naked, you're going to end up paying it.

So if I use my earned income to buy new underpants a percentage cost of the underpants will be vat.

If Johnny who does sweet f all every day also fancies getting new underpants he essentially gets them for free. He didn't earn the money to buy the new jocks. It was handed to him. He pays no vat. The taxpayer picks up the bill for him. He gets free cash every week and free underpants

Maybe in your galaxy. In this one, he pays VAT on what he buys.

Boggles wrote: »

Fair play to him he obivously made the effort to integrate into Irish society a good example of legal immigration working. Now the open borders brigade will use him as one example to promote their agenda of open borders and multiculturalism.

One person moving here is more likely to integrate than large numbers of immigrants from the same place. I'm pro legal immigration in small quantities which usually works to benefit the host nation but I'm against mass immigration from people all coming from the same place with a similar alien culture which has proved a disaster in may countries.

For example if an Irish person moved to Japan tommorrow on his/her own they would have to make the effort to integrate into Japanese culture and society order to get by fund themselves and do daily tasks. But if 10,000 Irish people moved to Japan tommorrow then they would likely stick together live in the same area only really see one another and fail to integrate into Japanese society.